The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Priceline.comliars and cheaters

M

On 5-7-09 I attempted to purchase 2 first class tickets thru priceline.com and I bid what was a reasonable price for first class tickets, I had to enter in the credit card info that they would charge for the tickets, the bid was accepted, I had to initial that I was going to pay for the tickets, etc. All this without their showing me what I was saying I would pay for. Then the screen pops up with 2 coach class tickets! I immediately tried to get Priceline to delete or void the transaction and they refused. I talked to a supervisor, she refused. I emailed the VP of customer relations and she referred the problem to another customer service rep. and she also refused. This transaction was a "bait & switch" scheme. I talked to the airline and they told me they couldn't help because Priceline purchases a "bulk" set of tickets and that Priceline still held the tickets, technically, so they couldn't change, cancel, etc. the tickets. I tried Priceline again and they said it didn't matter, I had basically promised to pay and they refused to cancel. I am talking to my credit card company right now to get the payment stopped because I am being charged for something I did not ask for and also I don't have the item, it was not used, etc. There has to be something that the FTC and other agencies could do about these things. I saw there are lots of other complaints against Priceline on this website. They truly use bait & switch tactics on the consumer. I think I should have been able to see what I was supposedly accepting before I agreed to pay. Stupid move on my part but I was trusting them to be a reputable company, they are large and they advertise all over the place. I even plan to complain to William Shatner. His voice is even on their hold message! I will also report them to the FTC, their state's attorney general, their state's BBB, to news media, and everywhere else I can think of to stop this and I want my money back, I want the tickets canceled, and I will never use their services again!

Responses

  • De
    Debra Osborne May 13, 2009

    me too.. they ripped me off too. They set me up in a ratty hotel that they claimed was 40% the listed price. Their price was $50.00, if I had booked directly with the hotel they charged $36.50 per night. I would have never stayed there and it was no where near where i was going to be... out $513.00. Someone needs to file a class action lawsuit.. what abou the 3 day cooling off period?

    0 Votes
  • Te
    terry nicholas May 25, 2009

    they also set us up in a {dive} motel, bad neighborhood, when we called to cancel and use another hotel, they said they had already charged 0ur credit card even before we checked in.by the way, when we got to that motel, nobody was there, and the door was locked, so we had to stop payment on our card and cancel it. my husband talked to priceline for an hour, and they had us believe they were going to help us, but when the superviser got on they said they couldn't do anything since they had already sent the charge.they had over charged for the room also, they charged us $55.00 a night and the advertised charge was $29.50 at the motel.priceline evidently charges the second they get your card #, so they can get there commission. so BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    richardddg May 31, 2009

    I've used Priceline multiple times for 3 star and above hotels and have pretty much be satisfied...
    however yesterday----here is what happened----

    We were going to a small town that had limited # of hotels-

    I did a search for all 2 star hotels as we did not want to spend much $$ 5 hotels came up.. at the bottom of the search results pages they said ALL THESE HOTELS MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE. I looked at the features ---and all 5 had a pool- a must have feature for the family on these trips.

    I then did a name your own price and bid a reasonable bid (this process started after i had attempted bidding at 3 star and above...

    Much to my dismay the 2 star bid was accepted- but not to one of the 5 hotels but to an Extended Stay america- that did not have a pool-----
    Calls to Priceline was met with--
    not easy to fine a number to call that went beyond the automated attendant to verify a reservation.
    no agreement that they baited a switched...

    I don't see how this is NOT a bait and switch if you claim that a search result is ALL the hotels in the area rated 2 star (that Priceline has a relationship w/ and then BOOK me at a different one.

    BOTTOM LINE---- don't use them for the 2 star hotels- way too sketchy behavior...and they will hear from me again, and again.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    cumspiro Sep 14, 2009

    Cheaters and liars We used them first time this July but never again.
    We wanted to book a vacation package; no "name your price" bid was involved. They lied during the booking process from the first moment to the last - three times ensured us that we can change or cancel the vacation package up to the point till they got my cc numbers. During the very same phone conversation we asked them to change to another package to add one more day - same departure date, same hotel, just one extra day. They cannot do it -they said - the hotel would not agree. I called the hotel immediately and, needless to say, it was a lie, they would have been happy if we wanted to stay longer.
    I wanted to cancel the entire package and notified my credit card company that promised me several times that they would take care of this business and on my behalf. Now Priceline sent them a bogus copy of the alleged course of events as if I clicked and agreed on the terms. I never clicked on anything since the entire booking process was done by phone and I asked them to send me the itinerary for review before i agree to it and give my CC numbers to them but they refused.

    I wonder what would Delta say about the plethora of warm lunches and dinners Priceline offered in economy class when it is known that no free lunch and dinner is offered on domestic Delta flights. I will surprise them with this part of the itinerary and send another copy to my credit card company to prove that I could not click on these delicacies. Fraud, fraud, and swindle. Racket is the whole company.

    By the way, to contact BBB in CT is almost hopeless, I checked their treatment of costumer complaints against Priceline (There are more than 1, 000 complaint filed) and BBB of CT almost always sided with Priceline. Guess how independent and consumer friendly is BBB is in CT...

    It is high time to start a class action suit against Priceline again as to their fraudulent policies.

    0 Votes
  • We
    weinerlady3 Sep 17, 2009

    agreed... Class action Suit needs to be filed on them. They continue to hurt people. They don't care about their consumers. BIG DOWNFALL

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimmy78 Nov 18, 2009

    I THINK PEOPLE MAKE UP STORIES IT IS FUNNY I HAVE USED PRICE LINE .COM 4 TIME'S NOW FOR HOTEL'S AND AFTER USING THEM ONCE I WAITED AND WENT TO MY MOTHER IN LAW WITH OUT USING THEM AND IT COASTED ME 20.00 DOLLAR'S MORE BY NOT DOING PRICE LINE.COM YOU AND WITH 4 KID'S AND JUST MY HUSBAND'S INCOME YEA 20.00 IS A BIG DIFFERENT IT COULD PAY FOR ONE OF ARE MEAL'S WHILE TRAVELING TO SEE MY INLAWS SO WHAT SOME PEOPLE HAVE NOTHING TO DO SO THEY GOT TO TRY AND MAKE PRICE LINE.COM A BAD THING WHEN IT DOES SAVE MONEY AND DOES NOT CHARGE IF YOU DECIDE NOT TO GO IT DOES CHARGE YOU FOR HOLDING ROOM IF YOU DON'T HAVE INC. AND THEY TELL YOU THAT STRAIGHT UP SO WHY NOT FIND A HOBBY PEOPLE.

    -2 Votes
  • Se
    sedona01 Dec 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me. They said they would refund price of mistakenly booked hotel room in wrong area, then they only gave me a $15 credit only if I rebooked. I am writing to the CT DA's office. I would suggest you do to. There is a pattern of unresponsive misleading claims and customer service.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    edith saulnier Apr 05, 2011

    Dont deal with priceline!!! I got a rental car through them for 42dollars aday for fifteen days.They locked me in at that price.My brother got A car rental from the same company with out priceline for 12 dollars aday.You tell me who got robbed.Then thriffty sent me a rental for half that price.I will never deal with them again.I got robbed.Thank you priceline for nothing.They need a class action against them for sure.

    0 Votes
  • Ig
    igettoff Aug 08, 2012

    I have a problem with priceline right now. on july 29th 2012 i booked a room at the days inn in west palm beach on 45 st. when i got to the hotel they asked for my credit card
    and my picture id. when the asst gen mgr gave me back my card and id i saw that he photocopied my id and imprinted my full card with the exp date on a blank piece of paper. when i asked why did he do this he said that was the hotel policy. when i asked what happens to my information he said they file it away. i said no and took my private
    information from him and called days inn corp from the lobby. now priceline refuses to refund my 104.86 because days inn saids i was a no show. no where on priceline's
    website does it say you must leave this kind of private information behind only that you must present it. beacuse of this treatment by priceline and days inn i will tell everyone
    I know not to use there service or stay in days inn.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chg123 Mar 21, 2016

    This is so true. they put low star hotel in the bid and hide them from the hotel list. I was so angry because I bid a three star hotel, they gave me a motel. I could have booked in other website with lower price.
    I will never use priceline ever again. The they don't need customer service, basically they just say I'm sorry you're not satisfied and the money is not refundable. Liar!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chg123 Mar 21, 2016

    I agree to Class action lawsuit to priceline.com, with so many people being cheated, their business should go to the water.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David customer Feb 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I tried their best price guarantee they wouldn't honor it the lost a customer for life over 18.00 it wasn't the money it was the lies involved

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Gay May 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @David customer I'm with you! It is the principal.

    0 Votes
  • Js
    J Sammy May 31, 2017

    @David customer They did the same thing to me. I rented a car and 10 minutes later found it $23.00 cheaper on Hotwire.com. They refused to honor the lower price. They lost me and everyone I know as a customer for $23.00.!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions