Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Fast Food Restaurants Pizza Hut racist staff and managers

Pizza Hut review: racist staff and managers

M
Author of the complaint
4:38 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I was hungry last night so I took my entire family to Pizza Hut to eat.

When we sat down, nobody came over to greet us or take our order. After fifteen minutes of waiting, I asked the girl at the front of the store if our server was ever goign to come by. She went and spoke to the server.

About seven minutes later, the server came over. He was ungroomed and had his shirt untucked and no hair restraint on his long, greasy hair. He gruffly asked us for our complete order, which we gave him. After he finished taking the order he asked the table, "so no watermelon or fried chicken, then?" Without waiting for an answer, he walked away.

I immediately went back to the girl at the front and asked if she could send over the manager.About ten minutes later, the manager came to our table. "What is it?" he asked abruptly. When I told him about our long wait and the incredibly inflammatory thing our waiter had said, he acted as if I was lying to get something for free. (I had not asked for anything but an explaination of what exactly was going on.)

"You ### ### are all the same, " he said. As my entore family's jaws dropped, he continued, "###s always want something for free, and you'll do or say anything to get it. Now, get the hell out of my restaurant, all of you!"

Needless to say, we left. We called the police, but they said that there was nothing that they could do. I called the Pizza Hut complaint line, and all they did was try to offer me some coupons for free pizza. Can you believe that?

I'm never going back there again.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Pizza Hut complaints & reviews

Pizza Hut - Pizza hut is ripping-off millions of consumers!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Pizza Hut - treatment of employees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Pizza Hut - treatment of employees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
14 comments
Add a comment
C
Mar 20, 2010 6:23 pm EDT

Maybe if you waited at the door untill the girl at the front was free and ready to sit you down then maybe you would have been given your menus when she walked you over to your seats, and your waitor would have been introduced.

I understand the level of racism this had raised to is unneccisary and very unprofessional, but i will use the same word again, "Professional". Pizza hut is a fast food establishment trying to become and achieve a "Professional" restaurant service, by just having blatent rude customers walk in and sit themselves down the staff at that specific hut may not have realised you were there, as they are concentrating on the whole restaurant itself and everyones priorities. By waiting at the door it is then possible for the "Hut Host" to then seat you, give you menu's and introduce you to your waitor.

Overall it would have been a better experience for you if you didn't seem like u were just common moody public by rushing in, and sitting yourselves down (which by this makes a bad impression on the staff, and doesn't give them the encouragement and happy manner to give u a satisfactory stay), then possibly this whole situation may not have elevated to the level it did.

Yours truly
Pizza hut waitor, UK

L
Mar 12, 2010 2:35 pm EST

Unbelievable...both the ignorant comments on this board, and the fact that ignorance of this magnitude still exists in American society. It was bad enough that the waiter said what he said, but for someone in a Management position to co-sign is truly reprehensible. I don't blame you for being angry.

W
Jun 26, 2009 11:26 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

peterantil, in response to this comment that you made, [quote]Why oh why did those stupid mother###ers bring these damn negroes here?[/quote]

It is people who think like you that caused the problem altogether. These people who brought africans over here as slaves, treated them the same way yuo treat them, like second classed citizens. I gotta wonder, what makes you think your any better than anyone else? Why do belittle others? Is that the only way to feel good about yourself?

P
Jun 26, 2009 7:24 pm EDT

Sorry, no thanks, but we were not rich enough to own negroes.

What term do you use to call negroes? african american? how many do you know that just got here? seems that hussein can be called african american, but not most of the general negro population.

atleast i can trace my family tree. yours is so muddled, you probably have brothers and sisters from different mothers and fathers.

P
Jun 26, 2009 5:11 pm EDT

You made all this ### up. Why do you even bother to post this?

Look, just because hussein is in office doesn't give you negroes the right to act how you please.

Why oh why did those stupid mother###ers bring these damn negroes here?

W
Jun 14, 2009 9:27 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I can be difficult to tell whether the author of this thread is telling the truth or not. Although sometimes people make stuff up, racist incidents do happen sometimes. If anone denies that there is racism in society, they are either trying to hide that it exists, or they are naive. My wife and I are interracial, and we've gotten racial prejudice from both sides of the fence. It's just that is this day and age, "usually, " racism is subtle. People that are racist, hide it and keep it within their own company.

Since we cannot prove that the author is making it up, it is only fair to assume she is telling the truth and take her word for it.

G
Jun 13, 2009 5:08 pm EDT

EXCUSE ME BUT, RACISM DOES STILL EXIST IN THE USA, especially in some of the southern states. For some reason, these people have yet to evolve into mature, intelligent human beings.
I am not a minority, but I cannot tolerate the use of racial slurs. What difference does it make the color of a person's skin? Don't we all have the same color blood? Those of you with a lack of understanding of this will eventually come back (reincarnated) as a minority, the very ones you looked down on while alive.
Personally, I'd love to see that. What a fitting punishment that would be.

B
Aug 05, 2020 9:56 am EDT
Replying to comment of ginger

I'm from Va but living in Pa, I see more confederate flags in Pa than Va.

W
Jun 13, 2009 4:22 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

It is pathetic that some people are racial, I know what that is like as my wife is black. This is absolutely stereotypical to say that you want something for free. Azalia made a good sugestion, to get media attention involved. That would expose them for who they are. They must be the worst pizza hut restaurant in all America.

A
Jun 06, 2009 3:39 pm EDT

Wow, if that is what really took place I do feel badly for you and your family. That is horrible! And even though the person you spoke with on the phone seemed to be uncaring... aside from apologizing I am not sure what else they COULD do but offer you coupons or free stuff. As a large chain, IF they confirmed the incident... I am pretty sure heads would have rolled for it. But if the person you spoke with was any kind of professional they would not have said anything more to you about it until they investigated more. I do think they should have gotten your name and number and let you know the outcome of their inquiry, but they really could not have told you if they fired the person or not anyway. They certainly could call back and assure you it had been dealt with and wouldn't happen again, but there are limits a manager has to have when disclosing anything to a customer.

One thing I would suggest, is that if this is how it all happened you should contact your local paper and or TV news. Write a letter to the editor.. SOMETHING. I am not suggesting you are lying by any means. I have just spent so much time reading crap and garbage from people who are perpetually complaining about petty and silly things that should not even be mentioned even if they did happen, that after a while it makes one wonder why ONE person would have SO many people treating them badly. I have not looked to see if you are a multiple complainer or not haha so it has hardened me a little. One thing I do know is that unless you were EXTREMELY belligerent and rude to the server there is NO excuse EVER for such talk. And NO nothing justifies racial offences. If you WERE rude and mean to the waiter for any reason there are OTHER ways he could have been rude back. So no matter the reason he spoke like that, there was NO excuse for WHAT he said. If the kid IS still there and it did happen the way you described here, a little threat of press might do them some good. There is NEVER an acceptable circumstance for racism. Nor should it ever be considered acceptable ... even if you had threatened the kid with bodily harm. Your family should NEVER have been subjected to it either. I am so very sorry you had to endure that.

R
Jun 04, 2009 11:19 am EDT

Complain265,

Why don't you shut up and go change some more bed pans? I read a complaint you wrote about how offended you were that some Subway was ticked about cleaning up your ### kid's mess. How much worse is it to get thrown out due to skin color?

And I don't think Ms. Johnson is off base complaining about the waiter's appearance. People serving food should at least look clean.

C
May 31, 2009 7:03 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Complain everybody else should tell you to shut the hell up then. Because all you do is ### and complain. And 90% of this country was made up of imigrants so get a ###king life. Better yet take some of that 80k that you make a year and do the world a favor take the kids to the ex's house buy a gun and blow your stupid, delusional, racist brains out.

R
May 30, 2009 12:53 pm EDT

I went into a dine-in pizza hut in KC, KS and had almost the same experience!

I ordered two pizzas with my husband and kids and instead they brought out four plates of beans.

When my husband asked what exactly the deal was with that, the waiter told us, "That's what Mexicans eat."

We were appalled. The manager accused us of wanting something for free, too, and threw us out.

Maybe the same store?

K
May 29, 2009 6:07 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Wow. What a horrible experience - sorry you had to go through that. Hopefully karma will come back and get 'em good ;]

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

2799 complaints
216 resolved 2583 unresolved

Pizza Hut contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
7100 Corporate Dr, Kentucky United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT