The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Petco (P.A.L.S.)p.a.l.s. is a scam

Petco claims that when enrolled in their P.A.L.S. program, if you purchase 10 bags of dog food, they will send a coupon for a free bag. After purchasing 10 bags of dog food, staying with the same size and brand I received nothing. When I contacted their customer service department, the gentleman was very nice and told me that he would have another coupon sent. At that time he told me that there was another coupon that I was eligible for and that he would send that also. I received the lesser value coupon but not the coupon for a free bag of dog food. A complaining message sent to the P.A.L.S. program was not answered at all.

Responses

  • Ci
    Cinnysams May 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I use the rewards program ALL the time. I just keep an eye out for the coupons to be sent to my account and if they are not sent in a timely manner, I just call the 800 number and they are ALWAYS more than happy to fix it for me! EACH AND EVERY TIME THEY HAVE DONE THIS! And they do make errors...either on Petco's part or computer errors or whatever but they ALWAYS have accommodated me! Sometimes they will take my order right over the phone at that time if I am ready! So, those that have issues just don't know how to use the program!

    0 Votes
  • Or
    oroneill May 31, 2011

    Find a local mill or other animal/livestock store and buy Diamond brand. Inexpensive with the same crude protein/fat/moisture etc. mix as science diet...about half the price. My dog never has any digestive problems and i have no need to think about coupons or free bags of food. Petco is fun to visit, but the prices are outrageous.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    agzsbfraesrh Jan 30, 2011

    http://www.petco.com/Content/HelpList.aspx?PC=helplist&TopicID=42

    1 Votes
  • Al
    alisabnguyen Jul 06, 2010

    They had change the PETCO policy to where you can get a discount book and also get a 5 dollar reward card for every 100 you spend which is very good to have

    -1 Votes
  • L9
    l9veme Jul 06, 2010

    I called and verified my information and they told me the coupon had already been sent out. I called again several weeks later and they said they would reissue one. I met all the requirements in February for a free bag. I have made a total of 4 phone calls, still no resolution. I did receive a flyer for other coupons (including Science Diet which I don't use) and noticed that my name is STILL not spelled correctly despite updating it myself online and over the phone. I am not CHARYO, my name is Cheryl. Maybe one more phone call will do...if not I am done with Petco

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    Employee Jun 16, 2010

    I work at Petco and the PALS program is not a scam.. and when you buy 10 bags of dog food you should get a coupon for a free one.. mistakes happen and coupons accidentally dont get sent out or they get lost in mail.. things happen but its definitely not a scam.. and alot of times we get customers that wonder why they didnt get a coupon when they didnt fill out the information for the PALS card.. obviously a coupon cant get sent out when the information isnt there to do so.. all you have to do is call the number and get things straightened out they are normally really good about getting out the coupons..

    2 Votes
  • Lu
    luvmy2labs Jun 16, 2010

    I also had the same problem. I have gotten the coupon in the past, but when I purchased my 10th bag again in April, we didn't get a coupon. I called twice, the first time she told me to wait 4-6 weeks. The second time I called I got the same story about having the store manager call the 800 number for the coupon code. Also, I asked if they were discontinuing the program, and she said after July, PALS was discontinued. P.S. PetSmart is usually cheaper anyways!

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
    juliemg Apr 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also bought the 10 bags of food and didn't receive my coupon! I earned it in December and have called the customer service dept. 3x's and was told every time they would reissue it and AGAIN, no coupon! However, this last time I called I asked for a Manager and the gentleman I spoke with (yes, friendly ... just as friendly as the last 3 people) said before he transferred me to a manager he suggested that I go to the PetCo store and ask them to call the [protected] and they will give them the coupon code over the phone. I got a reference # for the conversation and his name. You might want to give them a call to see if you can get them to offer the same for you. That being said, please wish me luck! If I come out empty handed I'm going to have to laugh at that point!

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    dog momgsd Mar 20, 2010

    they stink! I was hung up on today by their customer svc. rep. They told me they did not have my information on file (no name, no address)...how could that be? they sent me a free coupon last year for dog food under the buy 10, get 1 free program...recently, they have changed that program and they are phasing it out. No more free bags...just a discount coupon . Almost everyone one of their service reps have horrible phone service, and my local store is no better.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.