The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Orbitz.comrefund refusal and denial of responsibility

On July 4, I bought a ticket on from Mexico City to Singapore on Orbitz, entering the exact name, as it appears on the passport, of the person traveling. When the confirmation arrived, the complete name was not included. The person traveling called and spoke to a supervisor at Orbitz named Sidney, who acknowledged the name was captured correctly but not passed to Singapore Airlines. Her solution was to buy another ticket where the two last names were joined together and we would receive an immediate refund (within 2 days), including the difference between the first and second ticket, which was of a higher value. She said to call if we had not received the refund on the date she committed to (July 10).

On July 14, I called and spoke to a supervisor named Linda. The call was cut off, I called back and spoke to someone who investigated the situation and told me that the refund would be credited in a matter of hours. It wasn't. I received an email from Linda saying that although we were cut off, she was investigating the matter and would respond. I provided her with contact details. On the 15th of July, I received this email from her:

Discussion Thread
Response Via Email (Linda) 07/15/2012 11:54 PM
Hello Mr. Brian X,

I apologize for the late response.

We are still reviewing the reservation and the refund for the original ticket with locator PBORB1316733234.

We understand that the passenger's name was incorrectly inputted online and having "X" as a middle name instead of adding it as part of the actual last name. Because of this, an attempt to correct the name has been requested multiple times to the airline but failed.

A refund request for the full amount of the ticket was sent to the airline and regrettably, the airline declined the full refund. Another refund request has been sent to the airline to retrieve at lease some of the unused taxes. The refund request for the taxes is still pending.

As we reviewed further, we found out that the root cause of this matter was because "X" was incorrectly placed on the middle name box instead of being placed on the last name box as per the traveler information requires. Regardless of how many first name or last name a customer have this personal information should be typed in accordingly in the respective boxes provided online.

We are still reviewing this matter and need more time. Please allow me to provide you another update tomorrow, July 16 within the day.

Your patience and understanding regarding this matter is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Linda
Orbitz Team

I responded to this message, citing many of the above facts, and went on to say:
Today, after not receiving your response on time, I wrote and received a message from you that now implies we are in the wrong, the airline won't refund the money and that maybe the taxes can be recovered. Clearly, this is not acceptable.

I am assuming the airline in question that is refusing the refund is Singapore Airlines and that you are aware that the replacement ticket that we bought at the suggestion of Sidney was also on Singapore Airlines. I fail to see how an airline could refuse a refund in this case, especially when the matter is explained to them. However, that is not my problem, it is yours. Your commitments are clear.

Linda then responded again:
Response Via Email (Linda) 07/17/2012 12:32 AM
Dear Mr. Brian X,

Please accept my apology for the late response. Also, the last email we forwarded was not meant to blame and it was never intended to offend. We only wanted to relay all the information gathered regarding this matter after reviewing the reservation multiple times. Please accept my apology for the misunderstanding.

The refund that was promised is still being reviewed for further approval. Although my updates are late due to the heavy volume of calls we are experiencing, I will continue to provide you an update regarding your refund. I will do my best to provide an update earlier tomorrow, July 17.

Sincerely,

Linda
Orbitz Team

On the 17th of June, a further follow-up from Linda:
Discussion Thread
Response Via Email (Linda) 07/17/2012 11:29 PM
Dear Mr. Brian Hubbard,

Please be informed that I am still waiting for the final approval for your refund. I will not be available from Wednesday and Thursday but I will be back on Friday, July 20. I will check if the refund has been approved and provide you another update with in the day.

Sincerely,

Linda
Orbitz Team

I had a phone call from Linda on July 22nd at 3:30am my time, in which she assured me that the refund was awaiting approval, it was too much for her to approve herself, and that it would include the difference between the 1st and 2nd ticket, which as mentioned, was of higher value. The implication was that it would happen within a day or two.

Today, I received this incredible email from the Orbitz refund department, once again shifting the blame and responsibility to Singapore Airlines and saying that IF the refund was approved, it would be approx. 45 days in being credited.

Discussion Thread
Message Via Email (Refund Department) 07/23/2012 04:30 PM
Dear Brian,

We wanted to let you know that we have submitted your refund request to Singapore Airlines.

• Orbitz Record Locator - AP110101NQRR7OH0

If the airline approves your refund, it will take an average of 45 days to process the refund to you. We will send you an e-mail once the airline has confirmed the final status of this request.

Thank you for traveling with Orbitz.

Sincerely,
The Orbitz Refund Department

I am incredulous at the amount of blame shifting and lack of responsibility and integrity Orbitz has shown in this matter. We bought a second ticket with Orbitz because they admitted their mistake, promised a refund and now they are doing everything possible to avoid responsibility and payment.

While in my mind, this has nothing to do with Singapore Airlines, I happen to live in Singapore and plan to take the matter up directly with them here and on their complaint site locally, sharing Orbitz's blame-shifting emails. It is interesting how Orbitz says that Singapore Airlines refused the first refund in a matter of days, but the latest request will take over a month to process.

Orbitz is deceptive, irresponsible and lacks integrity. What more can I say?

Responses

  • Ji
    Jimmy Feb 03, 2010

    My wife and I bought 2 return tickets from Toronto to Sydney Australia from Orbitz and checked all spelling etc. before we purchased on line. When we rec'd the confirmation of our "E" tickets they spelled my wife's last name wrong and hit the "A" key instead of the "S" key, making her name Ruaaell, instead of Russell and her first name was correct on the "E" ticket as "Violet" but they addressed the "e" ticket to Viole...without the "t".

    We phoned Orbitz to advise them of the error and they advised we would have to but another ticket and that it was our fault not theirs. When pressed for a copy of what we filled out they advised it was not available and hung up on four (4) separate occasions.

    We called the airlines and they seem to be OK with the obvious error because we used my wife's credit card which actually shows the proper spelling at the bottom of the "E" ticket, but they advise that Homeland Security may not let her through because the ticket and her passport won't match. If this happens we will have to buy a separate ticket at whatever stop the security won't let her through and it will be a one way ticket for the balance of trip to Australia and a one way ticket back from Australia to Toronto which could cost an absolute fortune...$4, 000 to??? Can anyone help??? How do we get to an executive of Orbitz???

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abjuge Feb 12, 2010

    Christmas vacation at $ 600.00 that went nowhere. Flight canceled due to snow, can't rebook for a week. Canceled vacation, call orbitz, they said we will be refunded. Three months later, hours on the phone, no refund, no help, they just say the same thing, expect the refund in 30 to 60 days. Never again, they suck, just wait, if you think they have always done you right, just give it a little time.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jiliya Mar 01, 2010

    My family flew in July 2009 and was sent an email that I would receive a price assurance refund 6-8 weeks later. It is now March 2010 and still have not received my refund. I've called Orbitz numerous times and even filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Orbitz stated that I would receive my refund (3rd time they said that, ) still have not received it. Calling Orbitz is not helpful, I'll either get the calling center in the Philippines that is not helpful at all, or get someone else on the phone that only books reservations. I will never book with Orbitz again.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agerna Jun 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased a fresh flower lei greeting in Oahu with staff assistance at airport. What a joke! The leis were so skimpy we were embarrassed and absolutely NO HELP or assistance in telling us where to go or what to do. A total ripoff and we feel that we should have some compensation - we paid double the rate for a beautiful lei, (which we purchased later) and had absolutely no help. Never again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Walkker Jun 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Why is it that in less in three months Orbitz can not get our names right on our travel tickets? The same mistake has been made in the past two months, and both times it stressed me out, as well as trying to reschedule our fleight tickets so we wouldn't have to pay more for our tickets, in both our names were spelled wrong, and nothing would be changed on the ticket names.This sure causes a problem for us.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anneofgg Sep 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Orbitz "lost" my reservation and I almost missed my flight home for Christmas. After admitting their mistake, I demanded they at least refund me their 60 dollar service fee. They agreed and it has been a month and I have called several times and have had equally terrible service and no refund.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heywood Jablowme Sep 24, 2011

    If you didn't miss the flight then why are you ### about it?? And why should anyone care?

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heywood Jablowme Sep 24, 2011

    And maybe you should be promoting Orbitz? "They lost my reservations and still got me home!" But no, you want everyone to kiss your princess ###, huh?

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    keikismomx3 Oct 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will never use Orbitz again. No seats on airlines after several requests and promises; long holds with customer service who just read scripted answers; not able to check in online or select seeats; airline counter said they can do nothing with Orbitz tickets; at least 5-6 hours of customer service time to resolve with only one resolution and no answers. I WILL NOT USE ORBITZ AGAIN. Not worth my time. Very unprofessional.

    0 Votes
  • Or
    Orbitz Oct 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi,
    My name is Kristi and I am contacting you from Orbitz Customer Relations. If you could e-mail me your Orbitz record locator to [protected]@orbitz.com, I will be glad to review your concerns. Please place the e-mail to my attention, and please include your blog and screen name.
    Thanks,
    Kristi
    Orbitz Customer Relations
    Chicago, IL

    0 Votes
  • Dy
    Dydia Nov 12, 2012

    I totally agree with you. I called orbitz two months ago and they promised me that I will have my refund back in 45 days. I called again one months ago and they said the refund is still in progress. But two months passed and the money is still not there. I called them again and they told me that my ticket is non refundable. They really lack integrity and they are deceptive.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    pulseps Jun 03, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Orbitz travel agent messed up my Honeymoon vacation package...!!! cant believe that...
    my first time experience with orbitz is WORST.
    agent name - Toni from philipines (i called 1-800 number but calls redirect to Phillipines)
    what she did - wrong last name in reservation of all three flights, hotel and car rental.
    my lastname used for reservation is Barbara instead of Babaria. however, billing information last name is correct!
    i am making complaint of Orbitz & sales girl Toni..
    i called orbits but not good answer... i called US Airways but said to me this is third party reservation they cant do anything... only options given are: 1. go to airport 3 hour erly then may take you in. 2. cancel trip with cancellation charge per flight $180... total 5 flight...$900
    what if they dont allow me on flight... this is my honeymoon... my wife will kill me. if something happens like this I will get you (Orbitz) to court.

    Dont do any reservation by phone... trust me. do online only...with direct airlines...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem