The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Nicor GasService Shut off- After Arrangement

After receiving a disconnect notice, I called Nicor to ask if I could pay half my total bill (current charges plus overdue amount). The rep told me that I could do this and then took my check by phone payment.

Once I got home that evening, my service had already been shut off. The only explanation I was offered when I called back was that the "rep did not see the disconnection order".

From there, the company agreed to set me up on another payment plan, but still would not reconnect my services for 6 total days - Oct 12.

I explained that I have 2 young children, already coughing and wheezing, and that I was concerned about the flue virus.

I spoke to two managers - one of whom thought that he was doing me a "favor" by allowing my service to be off for 6 days instead of two weeks.

There is no other gas company in the South Suburban area, and Nicor really takes advantage of this.

I am a single parent and I have never had anything disconnected, shut off, or repossessed.

Please help. I really need to have my service restored ASAP. I emailed someone at our Health Department and she directed me to this website.

Thanks

Responses

  • St
    stefu Sep 19, 2018

    This morning the guy come to my house, i was home at that moment, and ask him not to shut my gas, it was only 100$ delay, he still shot my gas . I pay like 5 min later and nicor gas representative told me i will get back gas from 1-5 days . This is ridiculous .Im not sure if its only in Naperville or everywhere else.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lorimac Sep 08, 2011

    Nicor came to work at my house today and I had to leave for a doctor's appt. They told me to call the number on the blue tag to have someone come and reconnect my gas and they would be here within one hour. I waited for 2 hours and 15 minutes and called them to ask what was going on. The emergency operator stated that someone had come to my house and called me three times, but no one answered. I told her that is a lie. I told her no one had called me, and no one had come to my house ... I am sitting here waiting in total silence for them. She said he knocked on the window. I said no one knocked on my window and he needs to come to my front door like a normal person. I said my dogs are inside with me because I have been waiting for him. She said she would put the request in again. About half an hour later I heard a light tapping on one of my windows and I told him I have been waiting for almost 3 hours ... he needs to knock or call like a normal person instead of sneaking around the alley tapping on my window. He said he would not go in my front gate because he is afraid of the dogs. I said my dogs are inside the house with me! I told him THREE TIMES that my dogs are in my house, shut in my bedroom, and he still refused to come in my house to reconnect my gas. He either has a serious attitude problem or he is stupid. Either way, he should not be doing this kind of work. He can't work in a house with dogs, even when they are locked up away from him? Really??? He refused to come in and said he was leaving. I called the emergency operator and told her to send someone else and she said there is no one else, and he feels it is unsafe to come into my house, so I have to call customer service in the morning. So I am without gas service because of this idiot's incompetence. He couldn't pick up a phone and call to say he's outside. He can't come into a house where there are dogs who are safely locked away. I can't believe they would employ someone who is such an idiot. I am without gas service now because they do!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad at NICOR Mar 10, 2011

    Nicor is terrible. I am the executor of my mom's estate. I tried to stop service and had 3 consecutive calls with Nicor's idiotic customer service team, each one telling me something different. One told me they couldn't talk to me because my name was different than the account holder's name. I explained that she was dead and couldn't call them. She argued with me so I hung up and called back. Idiot #2 told me I needed the social security number but wouldn't put me on hold for 5 minutes so I could get the information for him. Idiot #3 told me I needed a court order. When I asked to speak with Idiot #3's supervisor, she told me it was a legal issue. Funny, I am an attorney and FOUR other utilities let me cancel service without a court order. GO COMED!!! aVOID NICOR LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Gi
    GizmoTEK Oct 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Get everything switched to electric!Stop dealing with the greedy incompetent idiots at Nicor. Comed is much easier to deal with in setting up payment arrangements/budget plans. Also you can get on demand point of use for hot water heater and get infrared heater, which is healthier and safer than nicor gas. Most stores have a electric skillets, crock pots, small microwaves you can use for cooking as well as single electric burner. They also sell small wind turbines and solar panels to cut your comed bill in half or possibly go off grid completely...

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicor SUCKS!!!!!! Aug 26, 2010

    A PAYMENT ARRANGEMENT WAS SET UP...BUT, NOW A SUPERVISOR IS SAYING THAT I NEVER SET UP AN ARRANGEMENT...WHY WOULD I NOT SET UP AN ARRANGEMENT. THAT WAS THE ONLY WAY TO GET MY GAS TURNED BACK ON...NOW THAT SHE SAYS I DO NOT HAVE A FREAKING ARRANGEMENT...THEY TURN MY GAS OFF AGAINNNNNN!!!

    NOW THE AMOUNT THEY WANT IS SOOOOOO OUT OF MY REACH THAT I WILL BE WITHOUT GAS (HOT WATER, HEAT, AIR CONDITIONING) UNTIL WHO KNOWS WHEN!!!

    THEY ARE SUCH HEARTLESS !(*&#t#^re^%r!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Di
    Diane M. March Nov 24, 2009

    I truly feel for you. I have been battling Nicor Gas in Rockford, Il this past week. My gas had been disconnected over 14 days ago. I made payment arrangements 8 days ago. My son and I had been in a serious burn accident and incurred 1st and 2nd degree burns. My entire left hand had 2nd degree burns and my son was burned on is entire stomach and left leg. I spoke to Nicor about the emergency situation and asked for assistance in getting reconnected. After speaking to 3 service reps in 2 days, none of them informed me there was an emergency medical form I could fill out to expedite reconnection. After insisting on speaking to a supervisor (on day 2), she informed me of the form and I promptly had them filled out by my physician and sent them the next day (day 3). The afternoon of day 3 the emergency medical request had been denied because my disconnection was over 14 days... I don't know what this had to do with the medical emergency, however after speaking to over 10 service representatives, no one was able to connect me with anyone that could make any kind of a leadership decision for reconnect. The customer service was appauling, especially at the supervisory level and it was evident that Nicor believes in giving customers the run around and has no intention of working with customers in emergent situations.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nancy leyh Oct 08, 2009

    I too find Nicor awful to make people wait this long to be reconnected! I have asthma and so does my son. Its going to be 33 this weekend for a low and I did pay the bill. But to tell me a week is not even human!! I do now know that there are new gas carriers and I suggest that everyone switch and get away from Nicor. They are the worst in customer service.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.