Consumers Energy Logo

Consumers Energy

Having problems with Consumers Energy?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Consumers Energy Customer Service Contacts

+1 800 477 5050 (General Information)
+1 800 805 0490 (Business)
+1 855 477 9027 (Landlord)
+1 517 768 3092 (International)
4000 Clay Ave. SW
Wyoming, Michigan
United States - 49548-3017

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Consumers Energy Customer Service. Initial Consumers Energy complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for Consumers Energy above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about Consumers Energy. Discuss the issues you have had with Consumers Energy and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Consumers Energy Complaints & Reviews

Consumers EnergyWind turbine across from our home

We live on e bacon road in whetland county and have one of your turbines right across the street and now all we can hear is the motor of the turbine and the wushing noise from the blades, we were told there would be no noise from these turbines in a letter we recieved, so now because a land owner didnt want this noise by his home but wanted the monetary benefit we have to live with this noise i think not, wedonot want to listen to this noise every time we want to enjoy our pond and property we bought this property to enjoy it not to listen to all this noise!!!and we have 3 of these turbines near our home we didnt sign on for these turbines and feel we do not have to live with the negative effects of them, we are home owners and feel we should be able to enjoy the property we pay for!!!

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Consumers EnergyVery aggressive dangerous driver of consumers energy truck

    July 9th 2020
    Allendale/ Standale area Michigan
    At Cottonwood and Balwin street area. A big Consumers energy truck with an auger on top was riding our bumper for a mile or so until I could pull off. I was going 10 over the speed limit to get away from him he stayed on us. I caught up to him at a stoplight but could only get a plate number.
    PF05777. Very scary for us senior citizens . I don't think this young man should be driving a large truck. I called 911 and gave them the plate number. Please get this fool off the road! I will continue calling Consumers Energy until something is done.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Consumers EnergyPower outage due to equipment failure

      We had a power outage on july 3, 2020 due to equipment failure and it fried our circulating pump in our hot tub and its 250.00 for a new pump!! Is there anyway we can get money to pay for this pump because today again we lost power july 7, 2020!! We keep on loosing power when there are no storms or wind in the area!! The power outage on july 3rd was at first a partial power outage then the whole house went out and was out for 6 hours!!

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Consumers EnergyLocal rep parking on my lawn!

        Some local rep (Female)of yours parked on my lawn last Friday. I work extremely hard to maintain a beautiful lawn. This was a total disregard for my property. I worked on fixing the rut made for an hour. And readjusted a sprinkler head that was driven on. I confronted the individual down the block but was less than satisfied with her nonchalant response and lack on concern. To her it was no big deal. Please retrain your folks accordingly to avoid this kind of lack of respect and I will await your response.

        Local rep parking on my lawn!
        Local rep parking on my lawn!

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Nov 13, 2019

          Consumers Energy — security kicked me out of building

          I recently exited the building through the turnstiles. There was a single piece of construction tape which I...

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          Consumers Energyconsumer energy driver

          On 10/29/2019 at about 4:55pm I was driving westbound on Wildwood street in Jackson Michigan when a consumer's dump truck turned into wildwood street from a side street driving reckless, as I continued on wildwood this truck driver raced with me trying to get in front of my vehicle before getting to the light at Laurence and wildwood. When he seen that he was unable to get in front of me he got in back of my vehicle and tale-gated as if he was wanting to rear end me and push me out of his way. I put on my turn signal to turn into mancino's restaurant on wildwood, and after he passed I tried to make out the plate but only was able to get the first number or letter, I think it was 605S or 6O5S. I understand consumers has emergency calls to get to but still need to consider others on the road.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            Consumers Energynew service installation

            We have been waiting since August of 2018 to get service installed at our house we built. We started the process and decided to put it on hold in October due to house not being started and being told they couldn't run power in until the meter was installed. When we put it on hold the project mana at the time told us we could pick up where we left off. When we reached out to start the process again we were told we had to start over, as they didn't keep records after being told they would. Fast forward to April of 2019 we started the project back up and were assigned a new project manager. Things were moving along but we had uncooperative neighbors that wouldn't sing easements which is no fault of Consumers. That was resolved in early August then the process for permits began because we now had to bore under a road. This is where the cluster begins. We got the boring permit which was good through October 31st, then we were told we needed a soil erosion permit which we got in mid September. At that time the soil erosion guy informed Consumers they needed an overhead permit because of a county drain running though our property that could take an additional 4 to 6 weeks. In the meantime our house is now finished and we can't move in unless we use our whole house generator. In addition we had to go month to month on our apartment lease increasing that expense. I understand we need these permits but what I don't understand is how people that do this for a living miss this stuff causing delay after delay. If they have a plot of the land how can they not know there is a drain on it? To top it off the communication if weak at best. When you check in for a status update it takes a few days to hear back. Then what we are told we are finding out isn't always what is really happening. For example last week we were told the county had what they needed for the overhead permit only to find out yesterday from the county they submitted information on Friday, the same day I heard back from them. It seems like there is disorganization between departments and what is needed. I feel bad for the person handling our project because it seems like he is caught in the middle of the confusion. If they don't have the right people in the right positions they need to fix it. If they don't have enough people add to staff. Not like they can't afford it. I have never seen anything as ridiculous as this. We just want to get power to our new house and it shouldn't be this difficult or take this long.
            My name is Susan Pelto, partner is Ron Gardner. The property address is 220 S Williamston Rd, Dansville Mi. Help moving this along would be appreciated

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Oct 08, 2019

              Consumers Energy — tree take down

              The beginning of July a storm came through on Oakpark Dr. that took down the power lines and half of a tree...

              Consumers Energypower line

              We have had an ongoing issue with a power line the goes directly into my house that will spark and crack very loudly when it rains heavy or if it's windy. I've reported to consumers energy multiple times and my husband has as well. When the line cracks and sparks our electricity flickers throughout the house. This has been going on for at least 3 months and we've called approximately 5 times. Today the line started cracking and sparking again (it's been raining all day) but this time we completely lost power in the house excluding our kitchen light for some reason. My husband called and I have submitted a complaint with consumers and was told that the last time I called a technician came out and the line wasn't sparking so they left. So again, a technician should be out by 5 pm today but I am so concerned that now all of my appliances have been ruined due to their faulty power line and my ignored complaints.

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                Consumers Energy Northern Michiganelectric service

                I requested service disconnected at a resident I purchased so I could update it. They set up an account for it to be disconnected. Power lines were disconnected and meter was removed. Now they are charging me for service. What service? They told me as long as there was an account, I would be charged for service. I didn't request an account, so why am I charged for something I didn't ask for and am not receiving?

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  Aug 27, 2019

                  Consumers Energy — electrical power outages in the n e grand rapids area

                  In the last 5 months we have had 3 power outages in the 4510 Ashford Dr. N E area. We have found via the...

                  Jul 11, 2019

                  Consumers Energy — disputing bill

                  I am disputing $700 of my bill, $350 was paid but not credited and another $350 is pending from PNC Bank...

                  Consumers Energydriveway was tore up and they did not replaces right

                  There is no seam in the driveway in that area. They want to put the only seam in and it will look real bad. My wife asked them to stop pouring and I had a sign do not pour but they poured it anyway. Very poor customer service. Pictures show how the seam will not line up and how it will look like a bad job when the contactor did it right and consumer Energy is the one hodge-podge the job.

                  driveway was tore up and they did not replaces right
                  driveway was tore up and they did not replaces right
                  driveway was tore up and they did not replaces right

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    May 30, 2019

                    Consumers Energy — poor customer service with forestry division

                    November 2018 forestry came out to mark trees for cutting/trimming. Shortly after a crew was out and trimmed...

                    Consumers Energybilling

                    The account number on the bill is [protected] The service was started without my knowledge and when I found out it was in my name I requested it be shut off. Months later I got another bill so I called again then they shut it off. But told me I was responsible for the bill. I was in prison when the service was started and was released on 05/01/2018 so I don't understand why consumers energy thinks I'm responsible for any of the bill. I do have a proof of incarceration and if anything else is needed I can provide that too.

                    billing

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      Apr 02, 2019

                      Consumers Energy — fraud

                      Today (04/02 ) I received an automated call from what they said was Consumers Energy stating that they wa...

                      Feb 05, 2019

                      Consumers Energy — customer service

                      I've been trying to get ahold of someone to talk to for the past 3 days to set up a payment plan so my power...

                      Consumers Energyconstruction

                      that I work midnight's. There is construction across the street. First, trying to sleep and pounded on my door because the needed to see my sewer line in my house do to some rich jerk building a Bigfoot house across the street. So this stranger I don't know is walking through my house during my night.

                      Then, on the next Saturday morning, they parked 5 trucks with their diesel engines smelling the house and rumbling the ground in the house, THEN some concrete pounding machine starts pounding so strong, my wife's stuff on a shelve fell off and broke.

                      We/re a working class neighborhood, but I guess this rich guy paid off consumers to work on a Saturday. znd screw the peasants znd not notify them of the or talk to them about the obnoxious disturbing the piece, must of took some money on the side. they dug up my lawn a couple of months ago without a peep of notice.

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        Jan 09, 2019

                        Consumers Energy — the person at consumer power I contacted was rude, patronizing and distinctly unhelpful

                        i live alone and my bill usually runs between 150 and 225. this month is 306. when icalled to enquire, he...

                        Consumers Energy — heating rebates - the scame.

                        I had Furnace replace about March 2018 by a Consumers Contractor. I was told there was a rebate. When I asked...

                        Delton

                        IN THE NEWS

                        Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                        If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                        One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                        A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                        ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                        You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                        Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.