Netflixdesignated survivor/ season 3

K Jun 19, 2019 Review updated:

I loved Designated Survivor seasons 1 and 2. If fact, this series had become my favorite series out of anything I have watched on Netflix. It was refreshing to watch a show that had the ability to keep you on the edge of your seat without needing to throw in trashy sex scenes. I am so disappointed with season 3, and am absolutely disgusted with the gay sex scene that producers felt needed to by included in the show. Instead of focusing on real issues, in a tasteful manner, this show is overshadowed with an agenda that has derailed and ruined the series completely. One of the primary draws for those that love the series was that they could watch the show without it being full trashy filler content. I am so upset and frustrated with the crude content in season 3 that I will not watch it any further and am considering canceling my netflix subscription altogether as this seems to be a constant thread in many of the series being produced by netflix right now.

Responses

  • Ja
    Jasminalf Oct 24, 2019

    I loved season 1&2, but Netflix ruined season 3. The "F" word, "Sh" and "C" word...could hardly concentrate on the show itself. They got rid of some good characters. What happened to the President's brother? And that great computer guy? They replaced suspense and drama in season 1&2 to shove their agenda down our throats. I applaud the people who stopped watching the show. I wanted to stop, but also wanted to see how it ended. (I did fast forward through some scenes.) Upon completion tonight, wish I would have not watched any of season 3. I changed my thumbs up of the show to a thumbs down.

    3 Votes
  • Ge
    Geoff Lockwood Oct 21, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am from the UK, in British produced shows, we get the occasional f-word, when it seems appropriate to the character. We certainly don't get the quantity of absolutely appalling, out of character, language that ruined season 3, certainly no motherf***ers (this must be the worst). I enjoyed seasons 1 and 2 but the language in season 3 was enough to put me off even without the scene of two black homosexual men having sex. There was apparently an agenda of topics which the film makers felt they had to include: white people being horrible to black people, everybody being horrible to transgenders and poor homosexual black men with HIV. I will not be watching any more Designated Survivor.

    3 Votes
  • Rt
    rtgreaat Sep 18, 2019

    Same for me, I started watching season 3 and was immediately turned off by the new vulgarity. I tried to muddle through it and then we see Kirkman sitting in the toilet. Really necessary? But then we get to episode 3 i think, and the absolutely disgusting gay sex scene stopped me right there. I could not get to the remote fast enough to keep from throwing up. I can tolerate a little innuendo regardless of which sex, but a scene with man on top of man going all out, making sounds that would scare the hell out of any animal at a zoo, was vomiticious. That was very unnecessary to get a point across. So I am done with that series and don't give a damn how it turned out. Very Very disappointing, but alas, in this day and age, not surprising.

    4 Votes
  • Re
    Renee Davis Aug 24, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Maybe sounds repetitive but like so many others season 3 of Designated Survivor has been disgusting. Loved sitting down and getting drawn into season 1 and 2, but from the opening of 3 it's been horribly done. The characters I loved are now a big turn off. Why cant you just make a good clean show that inspires instead of forcing your views and trash down people's throat. I think I'll be cancelling Netflix. It's been my fault supporting this type of behavior

    6 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris’ wife Aug 19, 2019

    My family loved season 1&2 but we will NOT be watching anymore of season 3. I could not believe how many times the f word was used. It seemed like almost every character had to say it. No reason for it at all! Then gay sex scene was awful and was the last straw. Netflix, you ruined the show! Shame on you!

    8 Votes
  • Lu
    lulu w. Aug 07, 2019

    Unlike some of the other commenters, I do/have watched other netflix original content with sex and f-words. But I turned on season 3 because I liked season 1 and 2 just like they were. No sex and no profanity. I feel like someone used bait and switch on me.

    7 Votes
  • Ji
    jillal Jul 31, 2019

    I agree with all of you. We are a Christian family and were glad to find a show with little or no profanity and sex scenes. I have never been in a situation in real life where people talk that way. At least not all of the time. We also have dropped the show from our viewing list. Netflix needs to clean up their act.

    8 Votes
  • St
    Steve5118 Jul 26, 2019

    I too was disgusted by the gay porn and will never watch the show again!

    8 Votes
  • Co
    Col80 Jul 20, 2019

    Series 3 so disgusting!!!

    7 Votes
  • Pe
    Petedakin Jul 18, 2019

    Loved 1 and 2. Discussed at 3, shame on you for ruining a great family show. Someone should get sacked!

    10 Votes
  • Vc
    VCH1 Jul 07, 2019

    My husband I were excited to see that there would be a season 3 of Designated Survivor. However I agree that this show has turned into an obscene version of itself. The language is horrible! It was a great show without all the swear words. We are no longer watching what was once a fun show to watch.

    12 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned4sure Jun 28, 2019

    I agree completely. I felt betrayed after they won me over with such an excellent first 2 seasons. Netflix is losing touch with its audience but how do we actually get our voices heard? I can’t imagine they’d be reading this thread. So how do we get this seen by the right people?

    14 Votes
  • Wi
    wixxxx Jun 25, 2019

    So true, what plonker was it that thought that It could change from a 'family type show' for the first 2 series to this obscene version. We only got as far as a few minutes til the swearing started before turning it off//.Its a shame that Netflix thinks that a high proportion of its customers want to hear continual profanity and gay sex in so many of there programs, unless things improve soon we will be switching off for good

    16 Votes
  • Tr
    Trife Jun 23, 2019

    I enjoyed designated survivor season 1 and 2 but this season 3 is horrible. I am very disappointed in so much cursing. The profanity is unbelievable! The “F” bomb is dropped so many times. Maybe I am old school, but I was raised to be polite and not to curse like that. The gay sex scene was way too much to see. This is not what I want to see. I do not like a porn type movie nor in my home. Where are morals in today’s times? Shame on you Netflix!

    17 Votes
  • Di
    Disappointed and Embarrassed Jun 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Netflix rescued "Designated Survivor" only to turn it into trash. The first two seasons were well written, well acted, and delivered a positive, inspirational message about politics in general and the presidency in particular. But after squirming three about half of season three's third episode, I turned it off and will never return to it.

    Netflix has succeeded in ruining "Designated Survivor." I no longer care about any of the characters or any of the politics or any of the narratives. The ugly, obscene, profane language has overwhelmed everything. And the middle school sex scene pandering is an affront to loyal viewers of the series.

    Netflix, you should be ashamed of yourself. I am certainly ashamed for you.

    21 Votes
  • Mi
    mitchyd Jun 20, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just because you can include every curse word in the book doesn't mean you need to. Designated Survivor WAS one of my favorite shows and had great stories, great characters, and great drama in Seasons 1 & 2 on ABC. All of that is still true in Season 3, but unfortunately under Netflix's creative control, all of a sudden every character now has a potty mouth. When will Hollywood figure out that entertaining stories can be told without all that trash language? I am one of the vast neglected population of people who don't use that kind of language and would prefer not to hear it. We shouldn't be forced to watch nothing but The Hallmark Channel to avoid it.

    21 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathryn Sprowl Jun 19, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I second that. Perhaps we should start a petition.

    14 Votes
  • Ja
    Jade Chan Jul 01, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Kathryn Sprowl YES, PLEASE!!!

    5 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.