Netflixozark - islamophobia

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

When watching the TV show Ozark (Season 1 Épisode 1) tonight I was actually chocked by a scene happening from the 50th to the 51th minutes of the episode!
The character simply amalgamated Muslims and Terrorists... not even mentionning that this disrespectful and insulting comment comes out of the blue, since it has nothing to do with the topic of the show/scene...
Let me quote the script as it clearly speaks from itself :
« Mexicans, Mafia, Muslims. We all want to believe that these people are more than they are. And they're not. If they weren't... dealing drugs, extorting businesses, flying planes into buldings, they'd be cleaning toilets.
They're not criminal geniuses. They're pathological liars on the path of least of resistence. ... »
It is our responsability to ensure that racist, islamophobic or any disrespectful comments about any type of community are noticed, reported and not accepted as if it was a thruth or a normal thing to say... We must not exploit the fear of Muslims within the world by popularizing Islamophobia!
Thanks

Responses

  • Ju
    .Justin. Mar 19, 2021

    Such a deliberate hate comment generalizing, stereotyping billions of people. This is a mindset of a writer filled with hate.shame on netflix to actually let it go on air.

    0 Votes
  • Zi
    Zishan Syed Dec 17, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I turned the show off when I saw that scene and I will not be watching the rest of the series. This is disgusting and if it continues in future episodes, like some of the previous comments suggest, I'm glad I won't have to endure the pain.

    -2 Votes
  • An
    Anisa C Apr 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a Muslim, I agree, this is disrespectful and I won't continue watching the show.

    7 Votes
  • Pr
    Pranov Mar 29, 2020

    Yeah i totally agree.I also noticed how they indirectly poked fun of muslims by using the birds or starlings as metaphors to tell that muslims are invaders.

    2 Votes
  • Mo
    mohanbhagwat91 Aug 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They again followed it up with a comment after some episodes, BUDDY saying "I would never vote for a Muslim (referring to Obama).

    6 Votes
  • 45
    45DaBest Apr 28, 2019

    I've found that the more devout a Muslim is to the Koran, the more likely he is to be a terrorist.
    Don't like it???
    Ask your bros to stop killing people. Maybe get out of the 17th century.

    -24 Votes
  • Ho
    Hounist230 Jun 29, 2019

    @45DaBest In fact I think there’s always been something going on between muslim terrorists and USA governments.
    Let me remind you of Alqa’edah and ISIS .
    Alqaedah was the right hand of USA government during the war against Soviet.
    After defeating the Soviet USA Government started the war against Alqaedah to get red of them and thats when small fanatic groups started showing up including ISIS .
    They can’t get to USA because it’s way too far so they decided to kill muslims in islamic countries because some of Islamic countries are allies with USA that’s how they wanted to get revenge.
    13 people of them did fly a plane into 2 buildings in usa once but thousands of them still killing muslims in islamic countries including SAUDI ARABIA .
    Why don’t you grow up and start thinking.
    The KKK is the worst terrorist group on the planet does that make all christians terrorists ?
    YOU CANNOT delete 2 billion people existence but this way you can make them your enemy and that’s why grown up people believe that usa and most of western countries are driving the world to a brutal disaster
    To defeat terrorists we need to stop covering the ones that might be related to us In skin color or religion

    7 Votes
  • Do
    Doug00 Oct 26, 2018

    Shame on Netflix

    16 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara128 Oct 06, 2018

    So I'm not the only one who found it it uber disrespectful. This was an insul to all Muslims and I can't believe that it even happens in a tv serie...

    20 Votes
  • Sa
    Sando28 Feb 04, 2018

    Have you whiteaphobia? You never seem to care about all the other crap that is told, except when it tells the truth about your faith that is renowned for the destruction of other lives. Sure have your own faith but when it harms another, then i guess people have a right to retaliate. Point is stop believing in such nonsense as religion, it is the most destructive obsession on the planet the one that kills the most people, whether Muslim, Christian and what have you. I get annoyed how others wish to stop what they want to stop but when it comes to stopping certain things they then think that is unfair. For example White men stole Australia but i was never born for a start and secondly it was a queen that stole the lands, A WOMAN... Stil l have to suffer all the racism and just have to accept it, well i don't no matter what any of you hypocrits say. we should remove all the war movies and all the feminist crap and all the other garbage as well. In fact ets remove BEE Movie since it promoteds kids following a corrupt leader and doing as they say or else. Hell lets just get rid of all the earth. When the truth is denied, then the problems are never going to end.

    -30 Votes
  • Di
    Diana22156 Feb 02, 2018

    It's disgusting and calculated. That's the zionist jews' agenda, to brainwash the sheeple. Remember people, the minorities that you're talking about are 2 billion people AND GROWING IN NUMBER. You'll never see or hear anyone bashing jews, if you do, they will be scrutinized, persecuted and exiled from planet earth.

    16 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.