Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Netflix

Netflix review: designated survivor 7

J
Author of the review
2:22 pm EDT
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Netflix took a great show and turned it into a filthy, crude and offensive series for Season 3. We couldn't wait for the series to return -- loved all of the actors. However, it became apparent from the first episode that the Hollywood sewer had polluted what could have been a fantastic Season 3. Watching two gay black men go at it in Episode 4 was the last straw. We NEVER wanted to view such a disgusting portrayal. There should have been a warning! Consider the very, very small percentage of viewers who are gay compared to the vast majority of viewers who are not! We are done with this series, and contacted both of our forty-something married kids to warn them not to bother. (They were also planning on picking up Season 3 and hadn't gotten around to it.) Wise up, producers. You're losing your audience!

More Netflix reviews & complaints

Netflix - mastercard debit 79
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Netflix - unauthorized billing 24
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Netflix - unauthorized charge 33
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Netflix - No customer service 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
7 comments
Add a comment
J
J
James Fain
, US
Jun 14, 2019 4:09 pm EDT

Agreed! A burly man humping another man is not my idea of entertainment. Please make it stop!

N
N
netflixwizard
, US
Jun 14, 2019 9:11 pm EDT

You people are ridiculous, this is politics, the F word is used all the time. I have even heard local politicians using it. So just relax, they made this show ten times better than when it was on ABC. This is real world people!

M
M
Melita Quinonez
, US
Jun 15, 2019 10:05 am EDT

What is offensive is what they are trying to pass off as independent. The liberal agenda is clearly played out as modern and progressive thinking people and conservatives are played by racist idiots. The underlying agenda is no longer about a bi partisan view. It was the one political show that didn’t give me a stomach ache. Also the action is missing, Maggi Q gets like 10 seconds of screen time? And she is looking for a new threat to security, that it’s obviously a white enemy hating on a racial community, Because after two other seasons their couldn’t possibly be any other enemy to the USA than stupid white Americans, who somehow are smart enough to figure out genetic editing. ... plot holes and pandering! Yuck. Just saying! I mean Hollywood was probably going to have problems making a show like this when the topic is politics and the goal is neutrality but it’s loosing its neutrality a little more with every episode. Before it was thought provoking but left the viewer able to make his or her own conclusion, now it is forcing a person to take sides. And truth be told when you add the sex, and cussing it takes it from a polished professional show to less sophisticated and kind of trashy show. It’s like the newsstand version of a tabloid vs a magazine that doesn’t need gossip and grit to sell itself. ... to be fair one thing I do like is the interviews from real people, some of the questions and things that are disguised in those little bites are more thought provoking than the forced political rhetoric throughout. One last thought, I noticed they are calling out actual countries instead of making up fake countries to not offend. Syria was mentioned for the first time... I think this is another way the political neutrality was violated. The bold, let’s tell it how it is approach is new and edgy perhaps yet people watched the show to “not” see how it really is, but rather how it could be. It feels like we traded a family vibe in the White House for an edgy vibe. When you loose the softness, when you loose the family or rather trade the family in (mom dead, brother gone, uncle?) for a dad and daughter and a trans gender aunt, it just doesn’t flow. It is a political statement to say the least. A few things in the writing feel unnatural... the daughter wants a dog. And it is something he will think about?she is going through puberty and All she has is a busy dad, an absent until now, transgender aunt who never went through female puberty, but somehow knows what that is like? And the dad will think about it... the second her mom died that girl would have had 15 dogs. Just saying as a parent, the dog would have been a hell yes, and do you want an emotional support giraffe too! ... these are just my opinions and the things that I have been scratching my head over.

P
P
popfarm
, CA
Jun 15, 2019 12:21 pm EDT

I agree with original comment. I have been bragging about this show on Netflix that has suspense and thrill but didn't have the unclassy and offensive language or unnecessary sex scenes. I've just started season 3 and the language and sexual side have taken a turn for the worse. I am stopping watching and can't confidently promote it anymore. As a mom, it is so nice to have a good story without the crap. I figured they must have a new writer and lost their true creativity.

L
L
Lionheart777
, US
Jun 16, 2019 8:18 pm EDT

Totally agreed! Why sink so low and spoil a really good story?

M
M
Mstandley
, US
Jun 21, 2019 4:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree, and also posted, but under a different heading. They did the same thing when they took over the show Lucifer. I know it takes a certain kind of person to watch/enjoy the humor of Satan, himself, in LA - but I found the show light, and entertaining. Even though there are "demons", "fallen angels" and detectives - the foul language is still way too overpowering. I noticed they even had both of the young daughter characters borderline cussing. I'm FAR from a straight arrow, listen to rap music, have to watch my own mouth - so when I THINK it's overkill... it must be super obvious that the cussing is not necessary. It's FORCED and doesn't even flow with the conversations on either of the shows!

D
D
David Cee
, US
Mar 02, 2021 3:28 am EST

How sad. Unlike others who watched this series when first available I and my extended family only found it recently and have been watching up to 4 episodes per day - loving all the characters.
It had been commented that it was extremely refreshing to watch productions that were free of all objectionable material.
Then along came series 3. With it came new new characters using expletives and a homosexual kiss.
BUT - the characters we 'know and love' not only start using expletives but blasphemy too and then we are subjected to two men simulating anal sex.
What happened to the previous excellent script writing?
'Survivor' is dead to us.

  1. Netflix Contacts

  2. Netflix phone numbers
    +1 (888) 638-3549
    +1 (888) 638-3549
    Click up if you have successfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (888) 638-3549 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have successfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (888) 638-3549 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (888) 638-3549 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (888) 638-3549 phone number
    +1 (408) 540-3700
    +1 (408) 540-3700
    Click up if you have successfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (408) 540-3700 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (408) 540-3700 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (408) 540-3700 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (408) 540-3700 phone number
    CFO
    +1 (844) 505-2993
    +1 (844) 505-2993
    Click up if you have successfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (844) 505-2993 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (844) 505-2993 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (844) 505-2993 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Netflix by calling +1 (844) 505-2993 phone number
    Customer Service
    More phone numbers
  3. Netflix address
    100 Winchester Cir, Los Gatos, California, 95032-1815, United States
  4. Netflix social media
  5. Olivia
    Checked and verified by Olivia This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 21, 2024