Nationstar Mortgagedischarged bk and credit reporting

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Wow, this company is something. I have a BK from 2008 that has been discharged. At the time our home loan was with CitiMortgage, and they requested a re-affirmation fo the loan, to which the BK Judge responded that it was "inappropriate" for them to request a reaffirmation, as the loan was never part of the BK and therefore in keeping with California law, did not need to be reaffirned. Servicing rights for our loan were transferred to Nationstar in about Dec 2010, and within a couple of months we stopped receiving statements and were blocked out from our online account. Turns out they started a new policy to not deliver any loan information to former BK clients unless they have a reaffirmation. So after several months of dickering with them, we sent everything we had on my BK, and they finally starting sending statements and allowed online access. I thought it was all good until I checked my credit back in Sept or so 2011, and found they were reporting the loan as discharged and with a zero balance! I have taken the steps to correct, including filing complaints with the credit bureaus, but no change. I started calling them in November, and would be told that it would be investigated, but it was never changed. I even verified with a C/S rep in late Dec. that they have the BK docs and letter from my BK Judge. So I finally spoke to someone in their BK Dept today, and she informed me that they will not be changing the way they report my status, as it is their policy that unless a reafirmation was requested during the BK, and a reaffirmation filed, they will not report at all!!! I asked what would happen if I stopped aking payments, and she said that then the company would be forced to foreclose on it's lien. We also cannot submit froms from our BK, as they will only accept what the Federal Gov't has on file for the BK, and on top of all of this, our C/S should never have accepted our documents or started delivery of statements or granted access to our online account. You gotta be kidding me!!! Even though they had a copy of the letter from my BK Judge, they won't accept it and it's against their ploicy to report correctly. Holy smokes. Calling my lawyer next, but if you have a similar situation, let me know

Responses

  • Kc
    K Caldwell Mar 06, 2013

    I filed a CH13 BK in August 2006. It was over November 2011 and discharged February 2012. Among other things, I included my mortgage which was to be paid in full through the BK. My payment was $1241 bi-weekly throughout the course of the BK. The balance on my mortgage at the time of filing was $95475.40. Through the BK I paid the entire balance plus an additional $39340.47 in interest @ 10.13%. My former mortgage company sent me a letter about 10 days ago informing me that my interest rate had changed and that my new payment is $xxx.xx. I called them and told them I didn't owe them a dime. They informed me that I had a balance of $13xxx. 2 days ago I receive another letter from my former mortgage company informing me that I am in default for $2600. I call them again and tell them I don't owe them a dime. That the debt was included and paid off in my BK. This time they informed me I had a balance of $12xxx. Can I legally sue them for trying to collect a debt that was not only discharged in CH13 BK but also that was paid off entirely with interest?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Casper1111 Dec 12, 2012

    My co-borrower (not my husband) filed BK a few tears ago.
    Citigroup reported his BK on his report and continued regular reporting on mine since for the next couple years we have. NEVER BEEN LATE.
    Loan sold to NationStar and they cut credit reporting and statements and online access even though I did not file BK and I am still legally liable.
    Filed QWR and they granted me statements and online access only.
    Will not report my EXCELLENT payment record to the credit agencies, which lowered my credit score 20 points (when you have no mortgage).
    Called and asked to reaffirm so It can be reported to the credit agencies... The said " Hire an attorney"

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    Ldean Aug 30, 2012

    The same thing just happened to me also.. To top it all off the person at the company that was helping me will not answer the phone or return phone call and message box is full. Stuck and don't know what to do now.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    archimedes Aug 17, 2012

    I' also from Aurora. Same exact story with Nationstar. Any help is much appreciated!

    0 Votes
  • WasNotBornYesterday Jul 10, 2012

    What Mortgage Servicers are and are not required to do: http://qna.mortgagenewsdaily.com/questions/monthly-mortgage-statements-and-payment-coupons (<----very informative).
    -
    Nationstar may be interrupting the bankruptcy "automatic stay" law to its utmost limit by cutting off all contact permanently so as not to inadvertently act "in violation" of that stay. It is more likely that they use "automatic stay" as an excuse to jerk homeowners around, put illegal fees on their accounts, and mess with their escrow and insurance payments so as to force homeowners into foreclosure, thus cleansing their books of "at-risk" loans.
    -
    A lot of us were with Aurora but have been transferred to Nationstar. Get an attorney and immediately send in a Qualified Written Request (QWR). They are REQUIRED to respond within 20 business days and REQUIRED to ANSWER your concerns/claims within 60 business days. Failure to do so puts them in direct violation of RESPA and you can sue.
    -
    Make your payments as best you can...DO NOT USE YOUR PERSONAL CHECKING ACCOUNT! KEEP YOUR FINANCIAL INFORMATION OUT OF THEIR HANDS IF YOU CAN! Use Cashier's Check or Money Order...and mail Certified/Return Receipt. Pay before the 1st of the month, paying after puts you in "default" status no matter how much of a grace period there is. Late is late and they are looking for ANY excuse to put you into foreclosure.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    LeeMo15 Jul 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the same situation with these jokers from Nationstar. Bankruptcy was discharged in JAN. 2011. I kept the home loan with Auroar, and after 6 minths they began sending me statements again and I was always able to access my account online. Aurora went out of business and my loan was transferred to Nationstar and they will not allow me access to my account and refuse to allow it as well as sending billing statements. This is in spite of being clear of the BK for over a year and the original home loan was never added to the bankruptcy, I kept it and continued to pay and stay current. Something needs to be done-How about legal action? Anyone?

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scammedbynationstar Jun 01, 2012

    Same problem here. Bankruptcy in 2010, reaffirmed with Suntrust Mortgage. Our loan was sold to Nationstar in December 2010. Checked my husband's credit because we are trying to get out of this mess that Nationstar has created for us and both Suntrust AND Nationstar are on there as included in bankruptcy with a $0 balance. I am so confused as to why they are both on there?? and why there is a $0 balance. We can't get into our Nationstar online account anymore so I have no idea what is going on. When they first aquired us from Suntrust I got into our account and there was no information for our account. We are so far in now I don't know if there is any help for us, but please if you have any advice I would love to hear.

    1 Votes
  • Z4
    z49 Apr 25, 2012

    im having the same problem. Has anyone figured out a way around this?

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad in Michigan Too! Apr 19, 2012

    We have a similar problem. My husband filed for BK in 2007, but I DID NOT. At the time of his BK, our mortgage was with Citimortgage and we provided them with a letter from his BK attorney to allow statements to be mailed to ME. Our mortgage was sold to Nationstar in 2008 or 2009 and I signed up online account and was also able to access to for awhile. Then, without any notice, they blocked my online access. Additionally, I have NEVER received a statement from them!! Called them and was told since my husband filed for BK, my online access was blocked and no statements would be mailed . I explained that I DID NOT file for BK and they said it didn't matter because my husband did. I pulled my credit report and it my surprise, Nationstar is reporting on MY credit report that the mortgage was in a BK and charged off. I again called Nationstar and told them they were reporting the mortgage as a BK on my reports and that I DID NOT FILE for BK, and again, they said they would not change the way they reported it on MY credit report. Because of this, I believe my credit score has been affected and I have been denied credit. I think this is illegal, but I'm not sure. I'm going to ask an attorney. We live in Michigan!

    1 Votes
  • Os
    Oscar Brewer Feb 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I dealt with another rotten company called Centex and like you say, Nationstar stopped sending statements and barred online access to my account. Discharged BK and Nationstar says it's their policy and not that of law to bar statements and on-line access to accounts. I say this is a way of stealing. Nationstar is a predatory lending instituion. Centex changed names because too many people knew them as snakes.

    2 Votes
  • No
    Northstarsucks Jan 24, 2012

    I too have the same problem! Had BOA for mortgage never late on a payment. Had a Bankruptcy in 2007 and my mortgage was switched from Bank Of America to Nation Star in November 2011. Nation Star said even though Bankruptcy was 5 years ago they will NOT send any receipts or statements in the mail. I can't even access my account online. I have no idea if any of the money is going to escrow or all ro principle. They won't tell me if my property taxes or home owners insurance is even being paid. I feel like I am just sending my money to someone in South America and nothing to prove where my money is going. HELP!!!

    2 Votes
  • Je
    jennwebbie Jan 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the same problem with Nationstar. I had a BK in 2008 as well. Mortgage was with Moreqity. We used to receive statements from Morequity after our BK and I could view my info online as well. After it was transferred to Nationstar I signd up for the online account and was able to access for a few months. They removed the online access without even telling and I don't receive any statement. Haven't been able to have online access or receive any statements in sometime now. Have gone around and around with them but nothing has changed. Good Luck!

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.