National Magazine Exchangestay away

H
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

National Magazine Exchange should be ashamed of themselves. My mother is 82 years old suffering with Dementia. This god forsaken company continues to call and convince her to buy more magazines. They have convinced her to by cook books that she will never use because she's in an assisted living facility and they don't have kitchens. I have talked to this company 3 times and have told them to take her off their list, which they did agree to. The last time, I had to cancel her credit card so they would have no access to her account. They have since gotten in touch with her and have acquired her checking account number by what means I don't know. I am assuming they told her it didn't go thru on her credit card and needed some way to pay for the magazines. This company needs to be stopped now.

Responses

  • Kr
    Kroll K Feb 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Placed a free trial bundled magazine order with their sweepstakes. Asked to be removed on four occasions now and continue to receive the magazines.

    0 Votes
  • Gj
    GJM01824 Jan 14, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a notice from them in the mail "VALUE: $1, 100, 000.00 - PAYMENT OPTION BELOW".

    #1. For a 1st contact and no previous entries like Publishers Clearing House, I said to myself, 'yeah right'.
    #2. Figured before I shred it cuz it has my name/address on it, I'd go online and check out.
    #3. GLAD I did! #1, 99% of my reading is online, I have no use for any magazine subscriptions. If I want 'a' magazine, I will buy it.
    #4. THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR POSTS

    Now...time to shred it

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kat_2013 Jun 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well people... They are at it again. My mother got one of their infamous prize entry scams in the mail today. This sweepstakes is for 40K or a gas guzzling truck. Just some advise for anyone out there. Always do your research first before entering any contest.
    1. Make sure that the company is real.
    2. Make sure the company and the address stated matched to a T.
    3. If there is no phone number listed... shred it and/or report it with either news media, newspaper, and other places that will do an investigation ... but will report it to the public.
    4. If there is a phone number... call it... (ONLY IF YOUR GUT TELLS YOU THEY'RE LEGIT) Normally you can find information when it is a scam because you won't be the first person. UNLESS it is one of those lotteries from another country that they want you to cash a check and send them the majority back and you can keep a small amount... then the check bounces and you get charged the full amount. BTW--- EVERY STORY you read in one of those letters is completely false. Just picture some con-man from another country sitting in front of a computer making everything up... they always have a team working for them. So you can never trace anything back to them. If you get to talk to them once the phone will be disconnected after you send the money.
    5.Okay back to this scam--- if you call-- question the CSR like you are playing 20 questions. Ask everything you can think of and if they keep giving you the run around-- CALL THEM ON IT!
    6.Run Around= SHRED and HANG UP!
    7. If they offer you free material for 6 months then you shouldn't have to give a credit card number.
    8. Tell them that you only want the 6 free months = THEY DO NOT NEED CREDIT CARD INFO!
    9. Never buy ANYTHING from a prize/ sweepstakes "LETTER" w/o DOING RESEARCH.
    10. RESEARCH RESEARCH RESEARCH!! QUESTION QUESTION QUESTION!!! This company might have a policy that says they cannot give a refund unless the customer ask so many times-- or gets irate-- ARS Rotor Rooter has a policy that a customer has to ask 3 times and be dissatisfied in order for them to not charge you a fee. So, you never know...

    Good luck out there and I pray God blesses each and everyone of you that reads my note in whatever way you need today.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hidrane Dec 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a letter that says Final Notification Document. I am to call the number [protected] to confirm my address. I believe this is a scam and would like your input on this.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rachel Davis May 05, 2012

    I want is $67.08 bill for magazines i never got to be cleared from my credit and cleared from their mailing list! This company lies about winning lots of money and forces sales on people. I REFUSE to send National Magazine Exchange a single penny. IF any magazines ever do show up i'm sending them back C.O.D

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mark reed Jul 19, 2011

    They took 67.00 of my money and have not sent what i order. called 2 mths. ago told me it had not cleard edetors.sent me another bill today wanting more money and i have not even got what i paid for to start with nothing but Ascam!!! MARK REED

    0 Votes
  • En
    enemyofnme Feb 22, 2011

    Very barely legal scam. Yeah I worked for them. Seperated employment amicably. theytake advantage of people that just don't LISTEN (yeah listen to what the SSA or Ver is saying and you can make informed decisions, many do) If you got 'caught up' then you didn't pay attention to what was said AND you agreed to it all. Yes, there is several things YOU have to do to even get your card charged to saying you were un aware of it all is no excuse. Yes, everything is recorded and listened to by Quality Control and YES they rip off the employees also by "Quality Fines". Just forgetting it was a new year cost me $8 a pop and ended up a total week out of my paycheck of just under $110 in deducted 'fines'. Yeah, it's $12 each time they think you used a wrong voice inflection so being rude is costly as hell. So the people you talk to have to be very careful what they say. Do NOT WORK FOR THEM unless you enjoy rude callers back to back, getting fined like hell out of your check AND no job reference no matter how you ended employment. A year of my life gone and noe no decent reference? F*&( them and the stupid poeple that call in.

    0 Votes
  • Ak
    AKJG Aug 02, 2009

    I was harrassed by this company in 2005 through 2006 after being scammed into the one time charge for magazines. My card was continuously charged so I called the compnay and tried to cancel. They said that it wasn't possible to cancel through them as a contract was already signed with the magazine companies themselves. I called my credit card comppany and told them to not authorize any charge from these people. Then I started getting calls from a collection company called Lubke Baker Assoc. saying I could settle debt with these people for a one time payment of over $700, FOR MAGAZINES!!! I argued, ignored the calls, then finally pretended that my number had been changed. This whole process lasted a total of a year and a half. I reported to the BBB and everything. Finally, they just disapeared, nothing on my credit report or anything. My advice to evereyone. document everything you say and do with these people, names and all. Eventually they'll realize that you won't roll over and let them take your money. Class action lawsuit would be in order. Good Luck!

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    punkin Jun 21, 2009

    i too have been hit very hard, i was told there would be a one time charge. this is the second mounth snd guess whst there is a charge again on my card not only one but four you think i'm not mad as h-- -- --. i'm thinking maybe a class action law suit.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    gloria Jun 02, 2009

    I am sick to find out that the National Magazine has been taken money out of my account without me knowing about it. I am in danger of losen my home I already lost my car, these people don't care about you or what they are doing to you. I have two children and I work two, in order to try to keep what little I do have. I don't have the money to get a lawyer so is their anyone out their that could help me out?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chris yuill 2009 May 05, 2009

    this guy is a quir5e

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JEGAR Mar 20, 2009

    I have just gotten a letter sent from National Magazine Exchange they were offering me to enter a drawing, but i am glad that i looked this company up first before i sent anything to this FAKE company...I would advise ANYONE to looking these kinds of companys up before sending out anything...out to them.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Alan Feb 13, 2009

    Thanks for the warnings re: National Magazine Exchange and Agora Marketing Solutions.
    I have reached the point where I do not want to order anything over the Net due to the add-ons and receiving things in the mail that require me to take some further action to stop additional charges for items I did not order; nor was I told about these additional items when I "took advantage" of the "free offer" for which I "only" had to pay a "small" shipping and handling charge.
    I found your website by Googling "National Magazine Exchange scam."
    Thanks for your website.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pitgrl Jan 29, 2009

    They scammed me into buying magazines! I don't money for this! If you have been thuh this and some how got them to cancel, please let me know! my e-mail is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Scheraldi Jan 20, 2009

    When i went to the bank Jan. the 14 to get money out the teller told me that the money wasn't there. It's been taken to buy magazines... From:NATIONAL MAGAZINE EXCHANGE which i never suscribed for.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teri Skelton Oct 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yep! I am a Vegetarian and they sent me the hunting and fishing mags, too.
    And I thought I was the only white girl with Latino and Ebony?
    Then as I approach middle age; I have SPIN Magazine?
    I don't mind the young men without shirts in these; but I did not order these or even heard of them?
    Gotta be giving the mailman a laugh!

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    Kurt Sep 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sent magazines that were not ordered and are ethnic. Nothing against Essenc but
    I read hunting and fishing.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.