The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Mr. Lubescams

M Review updated:

I went to mr. lube for an oil change, this was a bad idea and never will i go there again. they tried to sell me many things that were unnecessary for an extremely high price. They were going to charge me 120 bucks to replace engine and cab filters, instead i went to Canadian tire and picked them up for 30 bucks. Also i was watching closely when they filled up my oil, I only seen them put in two litres, and there is supposed to put in four., they only took out two litres as well. So i made them tale it all back out and put four litres of brand new oil, and i checked it myself to make sure it was good. they also never changed the oil filter so i made them do that too, never go there they are a complete rip off!!!

Responses

  • Mi
    Mike Stewar Dec 02, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My 75 yr old mother went for an oil change with a save 12 dollar coupon.she left with a190 dollar bill.synthetic oil...she doesn't even know what that is but was 95 dollars.i phoned and the idiot tells me that he asked her if she wanted to change her oil every 3 months or every 6 without telling her a price difference.btw she might drive 3000 km a year.o and I guess she needed an engine flush for 20 bucks(what a joke)how about the fuel service maintenance for 60 bucks.[censored]ing clowns.wtf is a fuel service maintenance?injector cleaner?all I can say is if anyone takes their vehicle there be prepared to pay the price and be sure the mechanic tosses pizza every night

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    houndly Nov 30, 2020

    Mr Lube seems to cause problems, scams and below grade service and a class action lawsuit should be launched against the corporation as they do not call back or try to stop their franchises from scamming customers.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nathan j Jul 02, 2020

    Mr Lube at 336 Rossland Road unit # 1 I took my car to this place on September 10 Rajin gave the estimate front rotters and front and rear break pads 449.55 + tax I total 564.55 paid up front they mad an appointment on11 September 2 pm I went for my appointment machine ask me to go to 220 Kingston Road Walmart Mrlube I went their David took my car to the garage and he told me with out checking wrong parts he need to by the front rotters and pads I said ok
    Shop person buy the parts and show me I seen MB rotters and pads I said Chang I was purchased grocery store Walmart
    They finish the job that store charge 132. 97 Total I paid 697.46
    I went to oil chang MB they told me I need front and rear rotters need to chang
    Then I found out cheating mr lube location did not chang my rotters
    This is the way this Franchisor cheating innocent peopl
    Front and a rear only pads cost me almost 700.00 dollars
    Pleas don’t trust Mrlube garages this is the way they cheating all across Canada
    I check MB parts it cost buy break pads and rotters under 400. 00
    I paid only 4 pads and Lawer 700. 00 this is not a trustworthy business I am taking to court and information to police
    Customers please don’t ever go to Mr Lube stop please

    0 Votes
  • Il
    Ilia U Jan 27, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mr Lube on Spadina & Eglinton in Toronto is a complete scam. Went in for a simple oil change and was being constantly approached by the employees for more expensive services such as anti rust spray for $140 and a new air filter for $50. I just changed my filter a week before. I said no to everything and still payed a $60 bill for a simple oil change. Never going back!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah LaWeez Mar 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Went in for a simple oil change to mr lube Ajax location and they pushed me into doing an oil flush being a female I didn’t know and they kept saying all these bad things would happen. My car only has 80k and didn’t need it. They just wanted to scam money from me. I won’t be going there again.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sidney Dahrouge Dec 29, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Its very obvious that that whole Mr. Lube franchise is suffering and not making enough money to sustain their business so they are resorting to scamming their customers in an attempt to make up the difference. There are so many complaints from various outlets that I will never take my vehicle their again. I have contacted their head office in an attempt to report them and be reimbursed.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raymond007 Dec 17, 2015

    Engine oil changed(standard oil, manufacture filter) by Mr. Lube on Nov. 15, 2015 with odometer reading 12000 km.
    The car was asking me to change oil again on Dec. 16, 2015 with odometer reading 14750km.
    Wonder why.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brink0949 Dec 30, 2014

    Mr Lube, Pickering, Ontario, Canada location.

    These people should be charged with theft. They recommended by air and cabin filter be replaced. Like an idiot I allowed them to but the prices they charged were more than double what the dealership did ! Did a number on me with regards to the rear differential fluid as well. CBC's marketplace needs to do a show on them. It would be easy pickings and would put them out of business quickly (which would be of great benefit to the public.)

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JuanchoTheLittle May 14, 2014

    Mr Lube, Pickering, Ontario, Canada location.

    These guys are scammers in all the extension of the word, long story short, my nephew took his Lexus IS250 for a simple oil change, these scammers washed his brain with BS, this is the first car for my nephew, and he got nailed with a 300 ### bill...

    The following month, my nephew ask me to go with him to change the oil, believe it or not, a different guy told my nephew the same story and want him to charge 200 more... I told the guy to go to HELL...

    They got mad... I told him to ONLY change the oil and that's it...

    End of it... I told my nephew to NEVER go back there... Crook people..!n!n

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad as Hell in BC Apr 03, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Scam, scam, scam. I went to a Mr Lube in Maple Ridge, BC. Same high pressure sales. Tried to sell me a coolant flush, Transmission flush, differential oil change. All with ### and bull stories. Claimed that the glycol level was too high. BS it is up to factory spec. Claimed that the transmission oil was discoloured. BS, it was just the natural colour of transmission oil, and by the way, I had a transmission flush just 8000 km previously at a dealership. Claimed the level of the differential shows the oil was breaking down. Total crap. It was checked at the dealership. Got home and checked my engine oil level. Well the engine oil they should have replaced is discoloured not clear like it should be for new oil. I suspect that they only drained out a portion of the oil and put in a small amount, not the full 6 liters. I am wondering if they even changed the oil filter. I should have watched them, but I trusted them. BAD MISTAKE.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    JimBaz Apr 15, 2013

    It never fails when I go for an oil change, they always say the same thing...your oil pan gasket is "sweaty". My 10 year old Honda CRV was constantly in need of a gasket replacement...I never did take their recommendation...but yesterday I took my 2 year old Hyundi Santa Fe and again it was "sweaty"...when I take it to the dealer they never say such things...I wonder if anyone else get this diagnosis.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    houndly Nov 30, 2020

    @JimBaz the 27th I was told the same thing at the victoria park location when i went for a oil change They are total full of BS

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Subaguy May 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I took my wife's car ( Rav 4 )into a Mr. Lube and the guy said that the rear differential oil was low and dirty and that I needed to flush it out and replace it. That was going to cost me over $300 so I told the guy I'd do it next time. The car was a lease and we were going to return it so I didn't bother investigating the matter. A year later, I took my car ( Subaru Impreza ) which only had 18, 000km to the same Mr. Lube, and the same guy told me that my rear differential oil was low and dirty and that it would cost me $300. After the alarm bells went off in my head, I told him that I'd just do it at the dealership. When I checked the manual, the car wasn't scheduled for a differential oil change until sometime over 60, 000 km ( I could be wrong but it certainly wasn't 20, 000km ). Never going back to those crooks again.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    viktutaqtu May 29, 2011

    I recently did an oil change on my Chevrolet Express in Winnipeg (MC Philips) where they also try to ### me with a transmission flush. First, they told me about the discoloration of the fluid and the presence of metal on the dip stick, and then how the fluid became a liquid like water.
    Bull!! I have been checking periodically, before and after I went to Mr. Lube . Also, i did a transmission flush some place else a month before. To confirm all this, i went back to the place where i did the flush and the gentleman perform tests three times and showing a clean result.
    Of course this just creates frustration and now i wonder if i ever got a honest service by just changing the engine oil and filter by all the other times i went to MR. LUBE.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.