Mor Furniture For Lessscam offer!

1

Here is a scam that More Furniture is pulling... I bought a couch and loveseat combination on 1/17/06 using their no interest until 2011. A new promotion is introduced a few days later, no interest until 2009 and they will pay sales tax. So I go back to the store (since I still had not received my original order which ETA was 2/2/07) and decide Ill change to the 2009 and end up saving $68 and some change. Well when I try to make the update, they say the couch/loveseat price has increased $50. This is the scam.. offer to pay sales tax, but increase prices to make up for the difference. After a debate with the manager, I cancelled my order and they lost a sale of over $900.

TEMPE SHOWROOM
1270 W. Elliot Rd.
TEMPE, AZ 85284

Responses

  • Am
    Amanda Aparicio Jul 12, 2007

    August of last year I purchased a couch, loveseat and sofa chaise. In June, I discovered one of the boards was sticking out the back of both the couch and loveseat. I paid $50 for a technician to come out look at and possibly repair the couches. Apparently the frame is broken on both. The warehouse is trying to tell me that damage was due negligence on my part and that I took to long to report the problem, which means the warranty is null & void. They want to attempt to fix it, however are not giving me any guarantees if they are unable to. If I am the only individual who resides in the home, how in the world would it be possible to break both frames and they are not considering this to be a manufacturer’s defect?! I currently am disputing their accusations of negligence. So for the gentlemen who canceled his purchase it was probably best because the quality of their furniture is not durable.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    fred revolting Sep 16, 2007

    EVERYTHING ABOUT MOR FURNITURE - IS CRAP ! - THEY HAVE ABSOLUTELY THE WORST CRAP - It looks nice - but it is CHEAP CHINEASE & Vietnamese CRAP ! CRAP ! CRAP ! CRAP!!

    THEIR SERVICE IS THE WORST !!

    1 Votes
  • St
    Stacey Oct 01, 2007

    I bought a microfivber loveseat, Couch and reclining chair back in 2006. I would have to say the microfiber is easier to clean. However the cushions keep popping out. It can get frustrating. Even when they are put in nice and tight, when I have company over they come popping out. (can be embarresing) This is my only complaint. It was too late to take back. The sofa is so so. The chair is just great! My husband does love the chair. No complaints with the maching microfiber reclyner. We also bought two lamps, I find nothing wrong with them. They are very nice. The way I see it is, that sometimes you get what you pay for, and the quality on some items aren't as great, but some items are just fine. Just be careful when you shop.
    S

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Oct 29, 2007

    MOR Furniture customer services SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!! I have been dealing with them for months. I have written them 3 letters to dispute my bill and they will not write back. I have spoken to at least 10 customer services people and they claim that no one can help me because they can only see back one year into my account. They told me to write to the complaints department in accounting. I have done so three times and they won't respond. What the hell am I suppose to do. If I don't pay my bill they will send me to collections and ruin my credit, but they won't work with me. I will NEVER EVER EVER BUY ANYTHING FROM MORE FURNITURE AGAIN. THEY S*CK!

    -1 Votes
  • Fo
    Former employee Feb 01, 2008

    As a former employee of Mor for 4 years I could tell you that I and most people would go out of our way to help out a person. If an item was defective we did our best to service it. Some times it would be impossible to fix so it would just be replaced. As for customer service what most people recognize as poor service is a result of the atitude that one brings to the store. You get a lot further being nice than immediately yelling at us without us trying to help out 1st. This immediately makes us defensive and therefore less enthusiastic to help you out. Plus people would have buyers remorse once the purchase is finished but it clearly states on the invoice IN BOLD THAT ALL SDALES ARE FINAL. As for the gentleman sayinig that we scammed him. That is not the case. We always offer the person the best promotion that is currently available as long as possesion is not taken. when he went back there to get the no sales tax and the price was up $50. That is what happens. When we have a no sales tax promo the items are not on sale. When we had a sale then you pay the tax. You can't have it both ways. This is not a non-profit organization.

    1 Votes
  • Te
    Teri Biederstedt Mar 21, 2008

    Mor Furniture is the worst place to purchase furniture. I paid cash for a bed and mattress and was told it was in stock and would be delivered next day. Well the sales person i feel did the bait and switch they tried to deliver the wrong bed. And then was told the one i wanted and paid for was out of stock and would be a month before i got it. Finally after many phone calls i got my bed in two weeks to find out there was no slates in the box. So then here i am waiting for them and my new mattress sit on the floor. They also told me they would refund the delivery cost and that has yet to be done. So i will and have already told friends, family and believe me they will be telling everyone they know not to ever shop there. I is not worth your time or money.

    -1 Votes
  • Ia
    Ian Apr 10, 2008

    Unbelievable. I bought a couch from you 2 years ago and part of the frame has already become detached. I am not "heavy" and the couch has not sustained any abuse from kids, pets, or other people. Since it has been 2 years, I am not covered under the manufacturer's warranty and the Guardian plan I purchased does not cover this. If I'd had known how low-grade your products were, I would have taken my business elsewhere. Unfortunately, I dropped some good money in your store already. Do you people stand by your products?

    -1 Votes
  • So
    Sonja Apr 20, 2008

    Please do not shop from this store!!!

    I have been waiting for 4 months to get my furniture, left messages and never got a call back.

    HORRIBLE GROUP OF LIERS.

    MOR CRAP

    1 Votes
  • Br
    brenda Apr 24, 2008

    Mor Furniture is a great store, all different price points for what ever type of shopper you are. Even the least expensive couches you have a 1 year warranty, obvioulsy the more you spend on a couch then the better quality it is(i'm talking about $800 or more--couch only)and you will also have a longer warranty. when you were at the store shopping you shyed away from the expensive sets and dropped your money on the cheap sets, when you did that you should have also dropped your expectations. Don't get me wrong you should definitely still expect your furniture to last you at least a year (widely accepted warranty time frame), but dont expect them to cover you when you are not taking care of you furniture and then pin it on them since you can't afford to fix your mistake. Just like when you buy a car and it has problems, high end cars you will get a complementary vehicle while your vehicle is being repaired, buy a KIA then expect to ride the bus. Most people that buy inexpensive furniture are well educated and just don't want to spend a lot of money and understand that they are not buying and heirloom piece, so they will not be upset if something goes wrong with their purchase.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NO MOR May 27, 2008

    I bought a sofa, loveseat and chair w/ottoman for $2700.00 before taxes. It was nice in the store but when they FINALLY delivered it, it lasted one week before the problems began. I would NEVER buy from them again! Material stretching, cushions flat! You would think that we had Jabba sitting in our sofa day in and day out. In the end, the only one who gets to enjoy the flat cushioned, material stretched sofa is my 90lb mother. When Mor sent people out to inspect it, they blamed us. I have since paid another company to come out, pick up my sofa and love seat, restuff the cushions and reinforce them with more lumber. This cost me another grand I didn't have while caring for an autistic child.
    Just MOR Thieves!

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jane May 30, 2008

    About 10 years ago my husband and I purchased a beautiful dining room table and chairs from Mor. We had great service and the furniture is gorgeous and well-made. It is my favorite piece in our house. It was American made which is the best way to go. Nothing was scratched or broken when we received it. And the comment made by the former salesperson is quite correct. If I am polite and friendly whenever something goes wrong, I am treated with respect, courtesy, kindness, and great service. People will bend over backwards to help.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Stanley Jul 15, 2008

    I purchase several pieces of furniture from Mor in early April of 2008 . I made the decision to pick up the pieces instead of having them delivered. I was told at the time of the purchase that a large mirror I bought was out of stock but I could pick it in four to six weeks. I recieved a call from the sales person in about four weeks saying that the "rug" was ready to be picked up. I pointed out to him that it was a mirror. He said that was right... he mispoke.

    I rented a truck and drove the 40 miles to the warehouse to pick up my mirror. When I got there I was told the it was not in and they had no idea why I was told that it was.

    I called the sales person from the warehouse and he after some conversation said he would see if he could have it delivered when it really got in, but he had to talk to his manager, and he would call me the next day. I never recieved a call from him and after three days I called and ended up talking to his manager who said he would arrange for it to be delivered.

    I got a call about a month later saying the "rug" was in. I pointed out that it was a mirror, they said again it was a mistake and my mirror would be delivered the next day. The delivery was made the nest day, but when the mirror was unboxed it was damaged. The delivery men took it back and said that someone would call me within an hour to discuss what could be done.
    I wait for two days and did not get a call. I then called a cusotmer service number in what I believe was the corp office in San Diego. I told them the story and they said they would connect me to someone who could help. They ened up connecting me to the store manager where I bought the merchadise in April. After some conversation he said he would check and see if they could get the mirror shipped from another location, and he would call me in two days since the next day was his day off.

    I did not get a call from him in the time period he stated so I called him. He informed me that there was nothng that couuld be done because Bassest who made the mirror did not have any in stock and would not be making any more until July.
    I asked the manager what they were going to do to make me happy given the all the errors that were made. He offer nothing but said they would deliver the mirror as soon as it arrived.
    I called Basset and found out that they had the mirror in stock and could deliver it as soon as it was ordered by Mor. Seems I was not told the truth. I called the manager and left a message for him to please call me. I never got a return call.
    It is now mid July and no mirror in sight, and no communication.
    It galls me each time I hear them advertise about express delivery. Three months does not seem to fit the definition of express.
    I would strongly suggest that the senior management of this company read their mission statement concerning customer service and ask if it is only to make them feel good. Not a real policy.

    -1 Votes
  • Am
    Amer Aug 01, 2008

    I ordered a sectional and a bedroom set last weekend at Mor. I got 0% financing plus no tax until 2011. So the bill was $2, 800 total for a monthly payment of $70. So far so good. But I was very disapointed by the actions of the sales person. When we were doing the paperwork he had me fill out one application form for the financing. After I was done he came with another one saying that the he had mixed up the forms and he came up with another one for me to fill out. I took the first one back but he said he could get rid of it for me. i ssaid I could do it thanks but he insisted he would get rid of it for me so he took it. One week later I received a Mor credit card in the mail that I never asked for. So what he gave me to fill out first was in fact a credit card application and he submitted it instead of getting rid of it. This is really unacceptable. And I think that Mor is in the game because the first application was not marked as a credit card application. There was no heading on it at all. What kind of company is this? I am seriosly contemplating canceling my order. I will sleep on it but what can I expect from them if this is what they did before they even sealed the deal. At any rate, be aware of the paerwork you fill out at Mor.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    Criag Miller Nov 25, 2008

    ordered a living room set in May of 2007. Rec in Oct of 2007. They brought out a broken chair, I called and wanted an exchange they said they would send out a tech. finaly conviced them to exchange the chair. one month later seams started to come apart on the loveseat a tech came out and did fix it to my satisfaction. In Nov of 2008 the loveseat broke. I called mor furniture and they stated sorry out of warranty and the manufacture only had a one year warranty ( did not know this when I purchased the furniture ) no recourse $2, 000.00 (for the set) down the drain. asked to have guardian refunded as the loveseat is not good anymore and since it is discontinued the extended warranty is useless. guardian states they do not do refunds.

    I guess I should have checked the manufactures waranty before buying

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    niggatrocity Mar 08, 2009

    Mor is amazing. the only reason i say that is because they have complimentary cookies and drinks

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elizabeth Beehler Mar 24, 2009

    We purchased a full Living room set including Coffee table and End tables less than 1 year ago June 2008. Now one of the End table the surface is BUBBLING. A Technician came out today and asked me if I used "Pledge" Furniture Polish on it. He insisted that "Pledge" was used on it and that was the reason it started to bubble. If this is the case, that you are not suppose to use a dusting product in this Furniture why was there not Use and Care Instructions delivered with the furniture. Of COURSE they are not going to do anything to correct the problem. My recommedation is NOT TO BUY ANYTHING from MOR FURNITURE. THEY sell products made in CHINA and Third World countries. Thier Furniture is worse than SUB-STANDARD.

    -1 Votes
  • Ni
    nicole Mar 27, 2009

    In December 2008 I purchased a couch from the Glendale showroom. I was told that I would qualify for their in- house financing. I told the salesman that I only needed to finance $400- since I had $300 cash to put down. He did notify me that the interest rate was somewhat high. I told him that was okay, I was planning on paying off the remainder of it within two months. When I tried to pay it off last month, I was told that I owed an extra $300. The "buy out" was $550. I did not understand what that meant, and I was becoming very upset. That is when the representative on the phone told me that I had signed a lease agreement. I had no idea that the contract I signed was a lease. The sales person IN NO WAY said the word lease the entire 5 hours we were there waiting to sign. The contract DID NOT say it was a lease. I do remember when I looked at the contract, the numbers did not make sense to me. He told me just to ignore the numbers, they did not include the cash I put down. When I told him I wanted another contract drawn up he told me it would take a while, and not to worry- he would give me a receipt for the cash down. After waiting for so long for the initial contract- I went ahead and signed. I have tried contacting this leasing company TRS (The Rental Store) and they refuse to talk to me about the scam and insist that there is nothing they can do. I then tried to talk to Mor about it, and asked why the salesman did not ever tell me that this was a lease. The manager of Mor explained that the sales people are not allowed to say that it is a lease agreement. I think for that reason alone Mor is responsible for this scam. However, I have learned my lesson- I will never sign something that does not make sense and does not correspond to the terms I was told.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    mad at mor Jul 07, 2009

    I purchased a couch a year ago, which is still under warranty. It has a tear in the crease. The tech came out and said he had to order a new "casing", which would be delivered to me. I should mention that the cushions are attached.

    It has been 2 months and they are still waiting on the "casing". It is on a barge somewhere where they don't know. They cannot give me an ETA.

    This place is HORRIBLE!!! I do not recommend buying anything from them, unless you want to be jacked around and around.

    1 Votes
  • Pd
    p dill Nov 07, 2009

    I bouhgt a new couch on 11/06/09 at 11:00AM in the morning. I was told that they have same day delivery, its 12:15AM and I haven't received my couch. I actually told the salsman that I was going to come back in two weeks and buy a loveseat off of them. I don't think so now. I you say you are going to do something you need to do it, this is professionalism.

    1 Votes
  • As
    asdfasdfasdf Nov 13, 2009

    Saw a couch set online, went to the store to see if the couch was in stock. The salesman told me yes it was, because "we just sold one yesterday." The catch was first i couldnt see the couch until i bought it (due to the warehouse in the back) He said to go online we're i first saw it then order it and pick it up the next day. So i ordered it called the store and they told me they didnt have it in. Then they promissed that they would ship it to the store and wont take more then 2 weeks. Its been 2 weeks now i called today and they told me that they dont have it and its gonna be another two weeks. I've already paid in full and now i get to sit on the floor for another 2 weeks. ### this place i dont recommend this store to ANYBODY... unless you dont want to actully see your product before u buy it and dont get to have it for months*

    2 Votes
  • Th
    Think before u stink Jan 20, 2010

    evreything that all you boneheads are complaining about is the Nature of the Beast. It is all true No matter where you buy or what the quality of the furniture is. If you do your research you will all see that this company your complaing about works with the highest standards in the idustry. Im sure they dont want any of you bone heads shopping there anymore either. Go buy at another store to realize you will most likely go through the same BS>>>>>

    -2 Votes
  • Ja
    Jan Peterson Jan 28, 2010

    I wrote a review of the Glendale, AZ showroom. Read it here for more things to be aware of:
    http://www.examiner.com/x-30367-Phoenix-Interior-Decorating-Examiner~y2010m1d24-Review--of-Mor-Furniture-for-Less-Showroom-in-Northwest-Phoenix-Area

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    YEZMANI Mar 05, 2010

    I DONT NO WHAT TO SAY. THEY SUCK, THEIR WARRYNTY DEALS ARE FAKE. JUST DONT BUY NOTIN THERE, THEY ARE STUPID. MOR FURNITURES SUCKS, SUCKS AND SUCKS.

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    babaksfamily May 17, 2010

    i think more furniture is on of the worst store to shop from i got a sofa and couch and a 2 tables from them when it got deliverd to my house they just moved them to the living room and left me and my wife moved them and find out its too big for our living room so i called to see in to exchanging it and they refused we had them for only 2 hrs but thy told us if you take delivery you own it no refund no exchange so i recomand all of you do not shop frm these people more is a bad place to shop i spend $1400 and i wish i never had. please do shop from them on there recipt there is no returne plicy they hand you a seperate folder on the end but the sales person have been trained to not talk aboth the return policy i dont know if its even legal to not have the returne policy on the recipt i think its a scam.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Ja5mine Sep 25, 2010

    i filed a complaint with california department of consumer affairs. they are in charge of licensing for these businesses and have the consumers interest at heart. you can file one on line at:
    www.dca.ca.gov
    there are so many complaints about mors it's quite a possibility a class suit action can be started.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    QueenApril2011 Apr 11, 2011

    I agree with everyone who is complaining about Mor Furniture for LESS... "LESS" definitely fits their customer service & sales men who works there. Daniel Romero is a THUG THEIF LAZY salesman. I cam 15 minutes before closing time & I asked directly on this specific kids' bunk bed on the price. He clearly said 299 for Twin/Twin bunk or 399 for Twin/Full bunk. I said EVERYTHING for 399 except for the DESK? Correct? He said yes! At the display is a drawer that goes underneath the bunk bed & it was obviously attached & part of the package because there was NO sign that says separate item NOR Daniel clarify that the drawer was NOT included. He was so darn lazy that he didn't even move from his desk or bother to show me where other bunks are. I went around hunting then decided to go with the first bunk display & said I 'd like to purchase this now cash. Everything twin/bunk for 399 correct Daniel? He said YES! I have a witness who came with me & she saw the whole conversation. This is the pastor's wife & she don't lie! I picked up the bunk on the next day & learn there is NO drawer. I called Daniel to get an explanation & he said no no i didn't say that la la la... and he's the "manager". So I asked to speak to the person above him so he put me on hold for 30 mins & finally had his other partner name Troy to answer. He would not take responsibility of his employee's lie & only offered to pay half of what the drawer is worth. I'm very disappointed because I could have bought another bunk w/ drawers for the same price as I purchased the bunk from Mor. "LESS" totally describes the WHOLE experience there. You know the saying "you pay what you get" LESS is what I got & I'm never going there again and I will make sure that all my love ones know this! Don't even waste your time going to Mor for LESS because you will walk out with LESS!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Ja5mine Apr 11, 2011

    Call consumer rights. Speak with theresa. She handled my case. They gave me all my money back.they told me my table was solid wood and specifically, "Not particle board". It was particle board. They wouldn't take it back and refund me. Plus they scratched it up and ruined the adhesive on the seats while loading it onto the truck. So I called consumer affairs department. A couple weeks later they refunded everything and sent someone to pick it up. I sent theresa pics and faxed her the receipts and contract as well as all the complaints on this board about the company.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blah2 May 09, 2011

    I disagree with Tracij.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    UPSET!!!! Jun 05, 2011

    Mor furniture is a low end furniture company that sells alot of cheap furniture in mass quantities. I went to the sales room today and was promised furniture with guaranteed same day delivery. My delivery time was 8pm to midnight. Its now 1:05 am and no furniture. The delivery of mor furniture is also low end. They mustuse a contractor that is probably out getting drunk right now and could care less about this promise. I will cancel this order and look at other stores. Mor furniture SUX.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frank183 Jun 07, 2014

    It appears that Mor is placing orders for merchandise as the customers order for the most part. That way they'll not get stuck with an inventory problem. When you select an item from display/showroom/online pic the order is then placed. It's not in the 'warehouse'.
    And hopefully you know exactly what their financing 'come-ons' are going to cost you.
    Finally, I wouldn't give them any money(cash) for any unseen goods with a future delivery.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brendae44 Jul 26, 2016

    Purchased a set of furniture from Mor in January 2011. After delivery, as we were moving the furniture around, we found a child's glove down side of couch and decided to keep digging; found Alot of dirt And 2 penny's! The furniture was used!! We called and emailed so many times but of course no response to our question.. Why were we given used furniture? We asked before purchase If we would be getting floor model because we ordered extra pieces and sales lady said " oh no, I have one brand new wrapped up in back for ya"., BS. Never will I purchase another item from Mor again!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nomor Jul 26, 2016

    Mor furniture? Horrible customer service.My wife paid for a credenza and was told to come back to pick it up. She went back and was then told there was no one available to put it in the truck!

    Several men were standing around with nothing to do. She asked if she could go get her husband - me - to help. They said no because I was not insured.

    We were then told we have 48 hours to get it.

    We still don't have it.

    How can a furniture company stay in business when they can't put one piece in a truck after you paid for it?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem