LA Fitnessscam

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

They always mislead people when signing up, as well as cancellation won't be through unless you email in the cancellation form. they continued charging and charging not including the fact that we also have to pay first and last month membership. what kind of service is that? and when we called to let them know that we have cancelled everything last month, they said that "they will be able to refund the money" which is a lie as well. Don't sign up at LA fitness, you'll be very very very disappointed. The operator are also always clueless!

Responses

  • St
    stacey spencer Dec 15, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LA Fitness has been robbing my daughter now for months. She sent in a certified letter cancelling, she received notification that they received it and they continue to keep taking money out of her checking account. This business is horrible.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    JL Haggans Dec 17, 2012

    If you support LA Fitness Pro Results/Body of Change (they change the name whenever they're being sued) then you are supporting MODERN DAY SLAVERY!!! The trainers get "paid" $6.00 per session ($4.50 after taxes). They're not promised an 8 hour day or a 32 hour week, so they can be at LA Fitness for 10 hours, if they train 2 clients that day, they "earn" $12.00 that day. The trainers get no sick days, no holiday pay, no vacation pay, no personal days, no medical benefits...not even a lunch room! The "managers" get commissions for selling you a session that's suppose to be for 60 mins, but the client only trains for 30 mins with the trainer. When the "managers" tell you they're talking to the "Corporate Boss" to get a "Special rate" for you, they're talking to a fellow associate in another section of the same gym, promise you free sessions (which they take from other clients who lapse using thier sessions, probably because they're disgusted with the lack of professionalism, but can't get out the contract unless they pay a 50% cancellation fee!), & when you finally figure out what's going on & call whoever to complain, GOOD LUCK! Be prepared to get lawyers involved if you want your money back, because that's what it's going to take. Congradulate the ppl of Wynnewood, Pennsylvania who banded together as a community & voted NOT to allow the LA Fitness Signature Club (coporate slave ship) into their community. Support your community fitness facilities staffed by members of YOUR COMMUNITY who actually care about you! Not LA Fitness corporation employees getting paid slave wages while being ordered to smile at you & rob you at the same time.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    sylvia s. Jan 08, 2011

    la fitness has used my s.s.#, in the past. an again they are using it. legal action will be taken.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    sylvia s. Jan 08, 2011

    la fitness has hired employees with illegal s.s.#s. legal action will be taken.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JonatK61 Jan 25, 2010

    I agreed to a personal trainer contract for 12 months, 2 sessions per week, $40 per 1/2 hour session. The personal trainer gets $7 of my money and the clubs HUGE sales/management staff divides up the rest! I also pay $47/month membership fee. GIVEN the ridiculous low pay to the trainer, you can imagine how talented/enthused they are, RIGHT?? yeah .. its a lose-lose situation, unless you are the location VP! yeah, they have a VP for this one location as well as a bunch of sales/management guys who do nothing to provide membership services.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    EdwF87 Dec 01, 2009

    I recently moved and my new credit card was lost/stolen in the mail. It took a while for the bank to process a new one (which I still don't have) and in the meantime my LA Fitness membership was on that card (now being expired).

    They began calling and harassing me almost daily about getting them a new card, giving them my bank information, wanting to know when I would be getting the card (like I control the bank and postal service...). They even went as far as calling me at 8:30 AM on Thanksgiving Day morning.

    LA Fitness is the only club around here that has a pool, which is why I joined. However, dealing with the wannabe street thugs hanging out on the machines, the filthy showers, and old people taking up all the lanes in pool with their coffee cloches isn't worth it so I hadn't been in quite some time. As a matter of fact I haven't been for a month before the credit card expired. However, they demand their money and they wont let you cancel. Cant even do it on-line, have to call (a line they never answer).

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Barber Sep 24, 2009

    I just submitted my complaint with out a name wow i could probably get a job for LA Fitness. u just have to be a dumb a** LOL My name is Nicole Barber I was a member at Keller Texas branch and moved to Lafayette Louisiana.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Oct 05, 2008

    LA Fitness has two ongoing scams which everyone should know about. The first one is when signing up for the contract, please make sure that they put on the contract for all LA Fitness locations. The rep gave me a copy unsigned showing all locations, but had me sign one that stated single membership. I missed it because I read the one that stated all LA Fitness locations.

    The second scam is when canceling. First of all you can only cancel by mailing a letter in. If you do not send the cancellation certified mail, LA Fitness WILL NOT cancel your membership and will continuously charge you until you do send one certified. They will state that they never received the letter (even though I sent two letters) and will not credit back the extra months that they charged you even though you paid first and last month when you started the contract.

    When it comes to billing, charge issues, and cancellation, this is the worst place ever.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.