SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Jetstar Airways

Jetstar Airways Pty Ltd

Level 4, 222 Bourke Street
Melbourne, Victoria
Australia - 3000

Customer Service

131 538(Australia) 25 7
1866 397 8170(United States) 2 1
1803 852 9779(Indonesia) 2 1
1800 813 090(Malaysia) 1 0
1800 1611 0280(Philippines) 1 0
1800 611 2957(Thailand) 2 0
+61 396 455 999(Australia & International) 10 1
+855 23 220 909(Cambodia, Phnom Penh) 1 0
+855 63 964 388(Cambodia, Siem Reap) 1 0
+86 400 120 1260(China) 1 0
+679 800 2171(Fiji) 1 0
+852 31 927 451(Hong Kong) 1 0
+62 803 852 9779(Indonesia) 1 0
+81 570 550 538(Japan) 1 0
+95 942 111 6662(Myanmar) 1 0
+95 942 111 6663(Myanmar) 1 0
+64 99 759 426(New Zealand) 6 0
+65 64 999 702(Singapore) 2 1
+886 801 852 015(Taiwan) 1 0
+66 22 675 125(Thailand) 1 0
+84 835 473 550(Vietnam) 1 0
+84 862 878 550(Vietnam) 1 0
Postal Address
PO Box 4713, Melbourne, VIC 3001, Australia

Japan
Narita Operation Centre 3F, Narita International Airport, Narita, Chiba, 282-0004, Japan

Singapore
Singapore Changi Airport T1, PO Box 323, Singapore 918144

Vietnam
112 Hong Ha, Ward 12, Tan Binh Dist. Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Complaints & Reviews

Jetstar Airways verified

flight qf5310 & qf036

Here's what happened: I booked a flight with Qantas on 28 Feb 2020 that will fly from Bangkok to...

81425
Jetstar Airways verified

The cancelling of my two flights due to the Covid-19 global outbreak and not receiving a refund

We decided to cancel our travels from Perth to the east coast due to the risks associated with covid-19 and based upon information developing day by day.

The Jetstar person we spoke to who was based in the Philippines said we had to choose a date in January 2021 to replace the flights we are trying to cancel or if we never we would not receive any refund. We do not want to travel or be forced to travel at later dates while this virus is still the unknown! We are not prepared to risk our health and did not want to make an advanced booking while there is so much uncertainty about the corona virus. We wanted a total refund for both flights but were not provided with that offer.

Our booking reference numbers were - JBJNYB paid on 12 October 2019 and JG3ITG paid on 13 October 2019 made for William and Joanne Hill using my credit card. These bookings were made well before January 23 which was when Corona virus became a known global pandemic.

We would appreciate any assistance you may be able to provide us with and look forward to hearing from you. My email is [protected]@hotmail.com, phone [protected].

Kind regards
William Hill

The cancelling of my two flights due to the Covid-19 global outbreak and not receiving a refund
The cancelling of my two flights due to the Covid-19 global outbreak and not receiving a refund
The cancelling of my two flights due to the Covid-19 global outbreak and not receiving a refund

Jetstar Airways verified

Charged for excess baggage when I had pre-purchased baggage upon booking

On 5 March 2020, I was travelling on a return business trip from Gold Coast (Coolangatta) to Sydney. I had pre-purchased checked-in baggage for my return trip.
After check-in at Coolangatta airport, I decided to carry on board my hand luggage which weighed 7 kg and I had a laptop bag which weighed about 2 kg. I did this to avoid having to wait for my bag at the carousel which usually takes a long time. However, at the boarding gate, the ground staff told me that they had to charge me for the excess 2 kg otherwise I will not be allowed to board the plane.
Can you please explain to me why I was charged $65 for a mere 2kg even though I had pre purchased check in baggage which I had not used? I guess the difference is that the baggage is in the cabin as opposed to in the plane's luggage compartments. Can you please look into the possibility of giving me a refund of the $65 that was paid? I would really love to fly Jetstar again. If you wish to contact me for further discussion, you can reach me on my email [protected]@yahoo.com. Thanks.

Charged for excess baggage when I had pre-purchased baggage upon booking
Charged for excess baggage when I had pre-purchased baggage upon booking

Jetstar Airways verified

domestic flight change during civil emergency

Jetstar was totally unaccommodating when I was stuck in Milford New Zealand with the recent Civil Defence Emergency declared. Extremely heavy rain, 1070mm in 72 hours, a once in 60 years event, had caused roads to be washed away and people had to be helicoptered out of the region, but only 3 days later due to the bad weather.

We were told the airlines would accommodate changes to flights for those stuck. Jetstar didn't budge and weren't interested in letting me change my ticket, not make some concession after the fact when I could eventually get out, even though no-one in Milford were able to make their flights at the time due to road damage with the recent heavy rainfall. I couldn't get out to make my flight in time.

There is no cellular coverage in Milford and absolutely no internet. The only other communication available was using a very expensive payphone and the prepaid cards required were limited. All I managed to do was make a 2 minute call to my wife asking her to call Jetstar. There was also no way for me to phone Jetstar because they don't provide a contact number on their website nor on any of the flight documentation. So, I couldn't call Jetstar to change my flight before the flight boarding time. My wife tried to change it on my request, but Jetstar refused to let her do so. The only way she could reach Jetstar was on the chat system, and they told her she "could not change the flight because she was not allowed to, and I have to do it myself", and if I don't arrive or change it, it would be marked as a "No Show". *What part of "I cannot contact Jetstar" do Jetstar not understand? When I eventually got to coverage, two days after the flight, I contacted Jetstar and was told that my wife "contacted us on the 3rd requesting to *cancel* the flight (not true), but he was already advised that ticket is non refundable if we cancel, and was also offered on changing the flight as an option (not true, conflicting with what they'd told my wife at the time) instead of being as tagged as No Show." (they had my sons name as well, which is rubbish). She definitely asked to be able to change the flight and was told she could NOT. She DID NOT ask the flight to be marked as NO SHOW.
I was told have to request my travel insurance and make a claim.

This was declared a Civil Defence Emergency and was told the airlines would accomodate changes. Jetstar did not even budge. IN CONTRAST, my Air New Zealand simply changed the flights for my travel companions who were in the same situation, even those without flexible tickets. *After the flight dates*, Air New Zealand simply changed their tickets at no cost.

Due to the lack of consideration from Jetstar, and other similar stories from friends on other occasions, I will not use Jetstar again if I can help it.

Jetstar Airways verified

excess luggage charge

I would like to request a refund for the excess luggage charge -$65, I received on 23/12/2019 - Flight no: JQ442. I had my hand luggage weighed and was told it was over and pointed in the direction of a staff member to pay for excess. When I asked how much over I was ignored. I weighed my bag prior to leaving my house and it was 7kgs exactly. The staff member had previously weighed the person in front of me and was told even though they were 2kgs over that they didn't have to pay any excess. I have a receipt for the payment but no record of the weight. The Jetstar staff member was rude and dismissive and rushing everyone.

Jetstar Airways verified

service

Travelling to Bali 23/12/2019 due to depart at 7:25am
After attempting the self service and no assistance from the staff standing there, we asked for help. Can you please help us?
We dont travel everyday, so not used to the new machines.
After getting the eye roll from a staff member and the sigh ! and speaking at me, she advised that i had the passport around the wrong way, hands on hips, she then said you have done it wrong!
I explained i dont fly everyday, and hadnt used these machines.
Again the sigh and eye roll, the machine says no, something is wrong with your passport you need to call the British Consulate as the passports arent valid.
Being very distressed i sat down in tears.
As it was 5:30am i wasnt aware the Consulate office was open.
At this stage i thought we arent going anywhere.
My husband then approached another staff member 20 minutes later, where the staff member said she would assist.
within seconds, she found the problem linked up the passports to the new records and advised all was ok.
As she proceeded to check us in
She advised, the sytem doesnt like you because you have booked a one way ticket ! I said we had not and did have return flights.
Oh, she said "' you booked webjet"'
I could not have imagined that being a problem.
The staff member eventually completed that.
We then asked where are we sitting on the plane, she told us, we then asked as its not a full flight can we get a vacant middle seat in between us? you need to go to another counter for that
Move to another counter to change the seats to where i had already booked them online. and charging us another $60 for the priveledge
WE found out on the plane that the original two seats were vacant on the plane anyway, charged the $60 for nothing.
Finally handing us the boarding passes, we headed to the gate to wait for our flight.
On boarding we then find out we had been provided two incorrect boarding passes in one name not the two of us.
We then had to go back to the desk to obtain new boarding passes.
""oh my bad"", said the staff member, no charge for a new boarding pass.
After a delayed take off due to engineering problems, happy we got a safe plane after two hours wait.
On the return flight our plane was delayed almost 3 hours, this was explained due to the smoke in the air in Melbourne, but no ther flight was leaving late of arrived late, while we were waiting 4 hours to depart.

We would like a reply for this unsatisfactory experience

Jetstar Airways verified

jet star employees refusing to hold another passengers checked in luggage

On my arrival from Brisbane to Cairns yesterday I inadvertently took another passengers suitcase believing it to be mine. On discovering my mistake I phoned Jetstar staff at Cairns airport who told me to bring the suitcase back and collect mine.
Believing I just had to hand the other persons suitcase in and leave it with Jetstar staff, I parked at the car drop off point leavingmy daughter in the car. When I approached the staff I was given my suitcase and told I had to wait for the other passenger who was coming back to collect it. I told them I had to move my car by which a woman employee of JetStar named Kylie shouted you stand and wait here.
Meanwhile my daughter had to go to the bathroom and my car was left unattended whereby I received an infingement fine.
Two security guards could vouch for my distress and the rudeness of staff and advised me to make a formal complaint of which I wish to do.
I want JetStar responsible for my infringement ticket, and the Jetstar employess held accountable.
I fear onlookers where more than shocked at their attitude as members of the public approached me in dismay.

Jetstar Airways verified

food

On the 16/1/2020 flight number jq478 Melbourne to Newcastle I ordered a ham and cheese toasties after eating half of it I discovered it had a fly baked into the crust of it. So, I contacted a flight attendant and let her know of the issue, at the time the attendant did not believe me, so she took it away and examined it. The attendant then returned and confirmed that it was a fly. I was then offered another toasties which I declined as I was feeling rather nauseous. I was not offered a refund or any other compensation at the time. The attendant said that they will lodge a complaint to the catering company. Later, the attendant approached me and said so we are all good then are we. I feel this is to be very unprofessional and did not aid in my help in any way.

kind regards
Neil Baker

food

Jetstar Airways verified

lack of compassion!!!

I recieved a urgent call from family while abroad (Bali -Lovina) (3 hours from airport and 4 hours from Perth) that my mother was not doing well. I needed to get home. I could not get a flight until 1 and 1/2 days later with also a request of proof if we wanted compensation. I had to leave my daughter and husband behind (another 6 days) and paid $1300 to change my flight. By the time I got home my mom had passed and I could not see her. My sister too had to change/extend her flight from Perth back to England (Singapore Airlines- No questions /no extra cost). My original seat (Booking GNBSNH ;Flight JQ107 seat 24C) was resold but we are not eligable fo a refund. I would partly understand no refund if my seat could not be resold BUT it was and I had to fly home alone knowing that my mom had passed and my husband and daughter had to sit with someone that was NOT ME!!!

Message I recieved from my sister (PERSONAL)-
Jan 1, 2020, 5:14 AM
Sorry to say Mom has passed just before t a. M. Hun. I am ever so sorry to tell you.

Chezel sorry to tell you that Mom passed away while I was asleep. I am ever so sorry. She had difficulty breathing during the night. Love you gorgeous girl xxx

Jan 1, 2020, 8:03 AM
Popper doesn't want any phone calls from anyone hun. Not even us he's in a very bad way. He's asked for complete privacy hun. He is grieving his way hun. Please don't ring Popper. I didn't talk to him when he came in to see Mom. I will see you at the airport tomorrow and come back to your house hun. I think Shelly won't be taking either hun xxx

Jan 1, 2020, 8:06 PM
Cheryl, Popper has told Shelly to tell you to not text Popper at all. Shelly doesn't want you to get in contact with her either. I am ever so sorry to tell you that but you need to know. I will be at the airport to collect you tomorrow hun. Please don't text Popper. Love you xxx

I can't talkas l am at Shelly's house but I can text you

What is going on Ahana??

Popper doesn't want to receive texts from you. Shelly has just said that she doesn't want any contact with you. Iwas just told this. Thought you ought to know. Mom's body is being sorted so you can't visit the hospital hun. Xxx

Popper doesn't want any communication from anyone. Including text messages hun. I think he's taken it very badly.

I know but is it just me that popper doesnt want texting.

I have not tried to contact him at all. Respecting his wishes

No it's everybody hun.

Just don't contact him hun

At all. No going over, no calls no texts hun. He just wants to be left alone hun xxx

Ok my last text was 8.45 Monday night just letting him know i was flying home. As for after that there was NO WAY i would try to contact him until I got the clear from u guys.
I know Popper and he would not want any contact.

I was just scared that popper only wanted me not to contact him. See you tomorrow

Popper is in a very bad way. He's hurting from mom, the cancer. He just wants to be left alone. So just get hugs from me tomorrow and I will help you grieve hun. Love you xxx

Jan 2, 2020, 6:45 AM
Safe travels hun x

Jan 2, 2020, 12:43 PM

Got bags heading customs

Jetstar Airways verified

treatment by ground staff at gate55 (20th dec 2019) prior to departure on jq420

Completed a form onboard outlining the issue and they were supposed to forward that to you but do not have any confirmation email to say you have received the complaint.

Staff at gate 55 (Yvonne and Stephanie) were rude to both my wife and I - firstly when our first bag was slightly overweight but then mine came in well under the 7kg limit so there should not have been an issue given both bags weighed in under the 14kg limit.

Then on boarding the aircraft the scanner would not work with our BP so we had to return to the counter to have a hard copy printed out. This clearly annoyed the staff who rudely asked for ID no please or thank you. When challenged my me to say please and thank you they just refused to say anything. Just handed the passes curtly to my wife. I took a video of the interaction but unfortunate was forced to delete it from my phone in return for a formal complaint filed on the plane prior to take off with the head cabin supervisor.

Still do not have confirmation of the email being sent although it is now almost three hours since the incident occurred.

Interestingly the passenger in front of us had the same issue with his BP not scanning but he was nor asked for ID and treated very differently. Now one would think either everyone is asked for ID or if not they the staff were just playing "silly buggers" with us. That seemed to be the conclusion I drew from the look on their faces. THEN THERE WAS THE THREAT TO CALL POLICE AFTER I REFUSED TO HAND OVER EVIDENCE OF A VIDEO WHICH PROVED THE AUTHENTICITY OF THE INCIDENT.

This I had to delete in return for a formal complaint which I lodged with the help of the senior cabin supervisor who was very helpful. Hence there is no video to attach to corroborate the incident.

This has spoilt to start of our holiday and left both my wife and I extremely annoyed and unless this is investigated and follow up properly I doubt if we will ever fly JetStar again. John Pryde. [protected]. or [protected]@gmail.com

Jetstar Airways verified

cancelled flight and bad!! customer service!!!

On the 10th of December I had a flight from Gold Coast to Melbourne ( Australia). My flight should commence at 8.45 Am, came to the airport at 7am found out that they canceled the flight due to the system failure. The Customer service was so bad!!! They treated me as it was my fault without a replacement flight and rude, very UNPROFESSIONAL BEHAVIOR. Eventually, after no help from Jetstar, I had to book another flight with different airlines and paid an Extra $384 for one way ticket back home. Later contacted Jetstar and only receiving a refund for flight they canceled $186. Such an unprofessional, dodgy approach is just not acceptable. With huge disappointment and hundreds dollars out of pocket, especially before Christmas is no wonder that myself and many others avoid flying with JETSTAR. Will NEVER FLY WITH THEM AGAIN!!!

Jetstar Airways verified

unethical behavior/rip off for $65 for 1 kg weight extra in handbag

Date :26/11/19
Hobart Domestic Airport
Jet star Flight Itinerary for (Booking ref# JNVW3E) JQ718 26/11/2019

I have been a member of jet star for few years now, but haven't come across this disrespectful behavior, like that of the staff at Hobart airport. The ladies(staff) were very rude & they were intimidating me to not let me board the flight if i dint pay $65 for my hand purse, which weight 1 kg over the limit of 7-Kg as allowed.
I wasn`t allowed time to reshuffle my bag or handover the extra 1 kg to my partner who was just outside check-in gate (1 min distance away).
Through out the flight i was traumatized, as i felt very insulted and couldn`t get over the horrible behavior. I tried to complain on Jet star chat, but there answers were more of automated and then at last i asked for complain ref no.(see attached)
Having few grams above can always be adjusted, I could have thrown irrelevant stuff from bag or remove jacket to wear. but there behavior was so traumatizing that i couldn't react or think, as been scared to miss my flight.

I want REFUND & compensation for the horrible behavior of the JETSTAR staff in Hobart. I wasn`t even provided the proper invoice for which i am charged for. I asked them to give me, so they just handed me a slip with no details.

i have been travelling continuously since 5 years and never come across this .
But now, I would never recommend anyone to travel JET-STAR as they just try to RIPP off the customers.

unethical behavior/rip off for $65 for 1 kg weight extra in handbag

Jetstar Airways verified

not able to board flight today very angry

I am writing to express my angry for how you treated my daughter and her girlfriend
Samantha Peprah & Deema Dermelkoni
they were at the airport Jetstar line to check in their baggage in plenty of time
7:50 am to catch flight JQ406 to the Gold Coast
Twice while in the line they both went up to speak to the customer service people to let them know they were concerned to miss their flight but were told both times to go back in the line because the line was big by the time they reached them they were told they could not board the flight

This is so wrong for this to happen then they had to purchase 2 tickets with Virgin
so they could leave today because your customer service people told them they will have to wait to board another flight tomorrow morning

How can this be the fault of my daughter and her friend as they were there in enough time to board there flight but because your lines are so long and the customer service team did not care to help them when the were telling them they were concerned to miss there flight
They then had spend another $300.00 each to buy new tickets with Virgin so they can leave this morning

I am requesting you refund both of them the cost of the flight to the Gold Coast

This type of treatment is very bad for business people need to be treated better than this as they are both University students they do not have a lot of money and they had to borrow the cost of there new fight with Virgin from me Samantha's mother

I also don't understand while they didn't offer them any stand buy flights as they were there ready to fly
Thank you
Eva Peprah
[protected]

Jetstar Airways verified

complaint

I contacted Jetstar in behalf of one of my dying client with Cancer. I asked for some compassion from their side to see if we could obtain a refund from the airline for this dying person
I send them a copy of the medical certificate from Mrs Connor Oncologist and to my surprise that Jetstar staff don't accept our doctor certificate because he doesn't mention CANCER . I mention that an Oncologist treats cancer patients ??
The response was even more ridiculous, because as per the transcript below " This is not in our policies""

On her medical certificate says only she is unwell to travel due to illness. We need to know the medical reason and that needed to be stated on the certificate. As of now, we cannot process anything and it will be still subject for approval

King an Oncologist is a CANCER doctor Just in case you don't know. As you can see due to professional reason he cannot right that in his letter but did advised that Jetstar can call him by contacting his office

My apologies Tony. I perfectly understand that however we need to follow the policy as well for us to process the passenger's request. You can just forward to them instead.

sorry I don't understand what you are asking me

What I mean advise to the passenger what we exaclty needed to be stated on her medical certificate for them to process their request. Because that's what the policy says.

See copy f the full transcript below
Hello Tony,
Thank you for contacting us today. Please see below for the transcript of the chat between you and our team member on 13/11/2019.

Chat Started: Wednesday, November 13, 2019, 16:25:59 (+1100)
Chat Origin: Trade
Agent King Leonard R
( 38s ) King Leonard: *Please do not share your credit card information, security code or CVV in this chat window.*
Hi, my name is King Leonard. How can I help you today?
( 51s ) Tony Mota: Hi King
( 2m 27s ) King Leonard: Hi there.
( 2m 48s ) King Leonard: How may I help you on this booking DIBITW?
( 2m 57s ) King Leonard: And if can you please provide first your name and from what travel agency are you from?
( 3m 49s ) Tony Mota: I have a passenger on the PNR: DIBITW Mrs Violet Connor travelling from BNK on the 16 Dec and returning on the 27 Dec. I originally book the 2 ladies going to Sydney for a Cruise. I booked it in July soonest that Mrs Connor has been with Cancer and is no longer be able to travel or we may not even know how long she will still be with us.
( 4m 7s ) Tony Mota: I am from the Casino Travel Shoppe
( 4m 29s ) Tony Mota: I have a medical letter and also copy of the air ticket if you need.
( 4m 57s ) King Leonard: Can you please provide as well your name?
( 5m 35s ) Tony Mota: What we are trying to see is if Jetstar will have some compaction and may be refund this lady or part of this lady fare so that we can refund it to her family or to herself if she still alive
( 6m 34s ) Tony Mota: I thought that when I start the chat I entered the full information: Tony Mota - Casino Travel Shoppe - NSW and one of you loyal booking agency
( 7m 6s ) King Leonard: Thank you. Can you please verify as well the second passenger's full name?
( 7m 25s ) Tony Mota: Patricia Kent - She will travel
( 8m 30s ) King Leonard: Thank you so much.
( 8m 55s ) King Leonard: Just to make sure passenger has a cancer and will no longer be able to take the flight on this booking? Correct?
( 11m 16s ) Tony Mota: Mrs Connor, she is no longer be able to take the flight or enjoy the cruise with Princess. We have been able with Princess to change the name for a new person with Princess but Jetstar advised that is not possible, so we have booked the new lady into the same flights under a new PNR: ZK7Q4T - Mrs Elizabeth Griffin
( 12m 18s ) King Leonard: I see. Can you please send it to me the medical certificate?
Agent King Leonard requested a file transfer
File transfer succeeded.
( 13m 16s ) King Leonard: Thank you. Let me check it first. One moment please.
( 14m 4s ) Tony Mota: Thank you
( 15m 40s ) King Leonard: Thanks for waiting. On her medical certificate says only she is unwell to travel due to illness. We need to know the medical reason and that needed to be stated on the certificate. As of now, we cannot process anything and it will be still subject for approval.
( 17m 35s ) King Leonard: Are you still there? Let me know if you'd like to keep chatting.
( 17m 40s ) Tony Mota: King an Oncologist is a CANCER doctor Just in case you don't know. As you can see due to professional reason he cannot right that in his letter but did advised that Jetstar can call him by contacting his office f
( 19m 5s ) King Leonard: My apologies Tony. I perfectly understand that however we need to follow the policy as well for us to process the passenger's request. You can just forward to them instead.
( 19m 41s ) Tony Mota: sorry I don't understand what you are asking me
( 21m 9s ) King Leonard: What I mean advise to the passenger what we exactly needed to be stated on her medical certificate for them to process their request. Because that's what the policy says.
( 22m 1s ) Tony Mota: ok King, no worries I may be able to send you the death certificate in a few days and then Jetstar policies may accepted.
( 23m 10s ) Tony Mota: can we elevate this to a superior or can a supervisor call me: [protected] or email me on [protected]@casinotravel.com.au
( 23m 40s ) King Leonard: My apologies if I am unable to process your request but I am just only trying to help you out on this but still we need to stick with the policy.
( 24m 20s ) King Leonard: There's no way us to call you but I will still escalate this to my supervisor.
( 24m 38s ) Tony Mota: Thank you
( 25m 34s ) King Leonard: You're very much welcome. If there's nothing else. It was good chatting with you today. Have a great day and thank you for choosing Jetstar! If you have a moment, we can always benefit from feedback; Please click the "End conversation" button at the top right corner to answer few questions about your experience with us today. :)
( 26m 5s ) Tony Mota: so are you escalating this to your supervisor ??
( 27m 52s ) King Leonard: I already coordinate to my support and was advised that we can only request a credit for this booking.
( 29m 35s ) Tony Mota: Ok King no worries I should know better that dealing with Jetstar for any refunds or anything is just a nightmare. At least I have my conscience clear but I don't know about Jetstar. Thank you

Kind Regards,
Jetstar

Please feel free to publish the wonderful service and response that Jetstar gives to supporting agents. Because they are unable to speak and be human I am not surprised. We should all boycott this airline and see if they would come down to reality

Jetstar Airways verified

international flight

On Monday I had a flight from Nadi to Sydney. The flight was delayed by an hour due to air conditioning in the plane was not working. Finally we were boarded and the heat inside the plane would have been at least 40 degrees. No one was offered any water. Than they put the air-conditioning on full. Finally we took off. During the food service I was totally ignored while the passenger next to. me was served. I paid for bundle plus which includes a prepaid meal but I was not given or asked. I called the air hostess and asked her about my prepaid meal. She said there is nothing on the file. That's a very lame service where I have paid extra $130 on return ticket for bundle plus. This is how Jetstar makes extra money by ripping their customers. Not a happy customer and I will not be flying this Jetstar ever again.

Jetstar Airways verified

flight jq18 phuket melbourne 8 nov 2019 book ref mwbphn - toilet seat 42c

I was booked on this flight with my wife. When I tried to book seating on the web site a message...

Jetstar Airways verified

club jetstar membership cancellation case id is [protected]

I have tried to cancel and get a refund on my automatically renewed Club Jetstar membership that I no longer need or want. It was only taken a couple of days ago but have been denied by the customer chat representative. I've been told all that can be done is to send the case on to the Customer Advocacy Offshore team. And their investigation will take up to 15 business days. I find this unacceptable. Why can't I get a refund for something I'm don't want or need or realised I was signing up for.

Jetstar Airways verified

servixesy

EQT : jetstar customer service manager

dear sir /madam

good day!

My mother had a flight form Manila to Narita with booking reference SE4KFI flight number Gk40 dated November 4 under the name of Mrs. Leonora Aguilar. The ticket was paid by myself Czarina Marie Aguilar which is including GL Meal 2 but she never recieve any. I appreciate you look into this complaint.

Thank you.

Jetstar Airways verified

domestic flight out of adelaide

I was travelling in a group of 9 people returning to Melbourne from Adelaide on a 3.20pm flight on 4th November. We were rudely asked to weigh our hand luggage and a few of the 9 (me included) were over the 7kg weight limit. When I asked can we reshuffle the items amongst the group I was rudely told it was too late and made to pay $60 for the extra weight. So were 2 others in my group. I didn't have an issue paying but the customer service was appalling. Next time I choose to fly I am better off choosing a premium carrier who allow exrra luggage at no additional cost with better customer service. Cheap flights don't need to come with bad customer service and I also think that $60 for 3 kilos is outrageous when the flight wasn't full.

Jetstar Airways verified

flight delay

Jetstat 787 12.50pm - Yesterday morning on 3/11 My husband and I were returning from the Sunshine coast to Sydney and our flight had some engineering issues, it was consequently delayed for two hours, finally we boarded, then sat on the plane for a further two hours, after which we de-planed and then had to wait until 7pm for a new crew to arrive to fly us to sydney. I particularly booked an early flight so I could attend an afternoon wedding at which I was officiateing as I am a marriage celebrant. Which I did not show up for. My bride and groom are very angly as I had to find a substitute celebrant to perfomr the wedding for me.

Further more when we arrive in Sydney at 10.30pm and we had to pay an extra $20.00 to the parking house where our car was parked.

The ridiculous excuse Jetstar gave was that "being a Sunday it was difficult to get an engineer to sign off on the paperwork"???? Noosa was holding one of the world's biggest events yesterday (The Noosa Triathalon) and should have had extra staff on hand, ready for any out of the ordinary situations which might arise.

I demand a refund for the extra parking and alos a refund for our flights. This ridiculousness cost me a lot of money including not being paid for the wedding I could not attend/perform.

Danielle DuBois
[protected]
[protected]@bigpond.com

flight delay

  • Updated by Danielle DuBois · Nov 03, 2019

    I am super unhappy, this sort of thing can ruin my reputation as a reliable marriage celebrant, if I do not show up for weddings.

Jetstar Airways verified

flight attendant - nightmare from hell flight Bali to Melbourne

On Tuesday 29-10-19 Samantha McCuskey and I Karen McCuskey were booked on a flight JQ44 Samantha Seat 31B Karen Seat 31A from Bali to Melbourne. Samantha my daughter n law had woken up feeling quite ill and as another girl Amanda who was staying longer than us had eaten Sisterfields for lunch on Monday. Amanda starting feeling sick about 3-4 hours after eating lunch. Samantha and Amanda pretty much ate the same lunch except Amanda had salmon with hers as well. The other two girls Sandra and my niece Tanya ate lunch at the same place but had different meals to Samantha and Amanda. We got the Dr to check Samantha who received a few injections to help her to get home on the flight but the injections only lasted 4-6 hours. Our flight got the times changed 3 times and we eventually got on the plane but much later than we told the Dr. The Dr cost her $400.00 which she will claim back on her Travel Insurance. Samantha started to sleep on the plane immediately but started to get extremely bad cramps in her stomach again I am guessing due to the injections wearing off and she was shivering. I went to a flight attendant and asked for some blankets and told her why. I asked 3 times and it took over 25 mins to get the blankets. I then asked if Samantha could be moved to enable her to lie down. She said NO the flight is full. I pleaded with her but she said again the flight is full. So I asked if I could go and stand near the toilets to enable Sam to at least have 2 seats to lie down. She said yes so I did -- I freaking stood there for 3 hours was not offered a meal or even a glass of water. I had also vomited at the Airport so was feeling a little weak. I am 56 yo and I do not believe this was appropriate or safe to be standing near the toilets that stink for 3 hours. Charles a gentleman that was sitting behind me came to the toilet and he couldn't believe I was still standing and that no one had found me a seat as he said there was two free seats on the right of him. I said no one had said anything to me at all not even offered me a drink. Kayoko another attendant came over as I was crying talking to Charles and she asked if everything was ok and we both explained the situation and she said unfortunately the flight was full and Charles said that's rubbish there is 2 available seats on the right of him and he showed her. Kayoko said I will get my manager Tun who came and seen me I reexplained the situation and within 15 minutes Tun had moved a few passengers to enable Samantha to lay across 3 seats FINALLY someone with brains helped us out. Tun apologised for me having to stand for 3 hours and the 1st flight attendant not assisting us. She was more interested in serving the bloody food - DISGRACEFUL!!! Tun did also say she was new and had only been in the job for 1 month and he would be giving her the appropriate feedback. Tun asked if I wanted an Ambulance for Sam in Melbourne when we landed or to see a Dr but then he said he couldn't get a Dr. Tun then offered me a wheelchair for Sam and I said yes please so I could go and meet my son who had been waiting for many hours very worried and concerned about his Wife. I decided this was the best option and if necessary take Sam straight to a Hospital. I cannot believe the angst and unprofessional service by your Airline we had to deal with. It was not appropriate when there were 2 seats just near where my seat was. Alice Kempe was sitting in 31C and Alice was prepared to move seats to enable Sam to lie down. (ALICE KEMPE [protected]) willing to talk to anyone as she was horrified with the way the situation was handled. (CHARLES LUBAS [protected]) is also willing to back us up and was also disgusted in your staff's incompetence dealing with this matter. Also we did have clearance from the Dr but because the times were changed 3 times obviously the injections wore off and caused Sam severe cramping in her stomach. When the Dr checked her she had no temperature but as the flight was delayed Sam obviously must of had a temperature as she had 3 blankets on her and was still cold. Please reply with an explanation of how the hell this could happen it was seriously so stressful and handled in such an inappropriate way thank goodness Tun had enough brains or experience to help us for the last 2 hours. Please reply or contact me on [protected] Karen McCuskey or email me on [protected]@breastscreen.org.au. Thank you Karen McCuskey

Jetstar Airways verified

almost not allowed on flight.

Dear Sir/Madam
I was returning to Adelaide from Denpasar on flight JQ128 on 22/10/19
I had spent two nights in a hospital in Bali. For some reason one of the muscles behind one of my eyes had become slightly paralysed and therefore suffered double vision. I consulted an ophthalmologist and was advised to seek specialist treatment back in Australia. I questioned the doctor as to whether it was perfectly safe to fly and he assured me it was. While boarding with my travelling companion, a nurse of 30 years experience, I was slightly unsteady climbing the stairs to the plane as my balance had been affected by having the use of only one eye. I was pulled aside by the cabin supervisor called Celeste and questioned. I think she thought I was intoxicated. I had not drank any alcohol in 5 days. I provided documentation from the hospital stating that I was cleared to travel in economy. I explained this to her, explained my medical condition but was given a smart alec comment to the fact that travelling could mean just walking around in Bali. I asked her to speak to my travelling companion who was already seated but she refused. She then went and spoke to the pilot with my documentation and spoke for quite some time. I was becoming distressed as I might have been refused the right to fly and I was would of been left in a foreign country with nowhere to stay and no proper treatment. After some time the pilot had decided I was able to travel. She then babbled on about safety, which was a cop out and just jargon. The other flight attendant asked me if it was a contagious condition. ??????? Totally unhelpful and no apology. Is this the way Jetstar treat passengers? There was little/no care for my well being. It was almost as if they were deliberately looking for a way to stop me from travelling. I am a nervous flyer at the best of times and the only budget airline company I will fly with is Jetstar because of your excellent safety record.

regards

TERRY ALLAN.

  • Updated by Kavallan · Oct 24, 2019

    Dear Sir/Madam
    I was returning to Adelaide from Denpasar on flight JQ128 on 22/10/19
    I had spent two nights in a hospital in Bali. For some reason one of the muscles behind one of my eyes had become slightly paralysed and therefore suffered double vision. I consulted an ophthalmologist and was advised to seek specialist treatment back in Australia. I questioned the doctor as to whether it was perfectly safe to fly and he assured me it was. While boarding with my travelling companion, a nurse of 30 years experience, I was slightly unsteady climbing the stairs to the plane as my balance had been affected by having the use of only one eye. I was pulled aside by the cabin supervisor called Celeste and questioned. I think she thought I was intoxicated. I had not drank any alcohol in 5 days. I provided documentation from the hospital stating that I was cleared to travel in economy. I explained this to her, explained my medical condition but was given a smart alec comment to the fact that travelling could mean just walking around in Bali. I asked her to speak to my travelling companion who was already seated but she refused. She then went and spoke to the pilot with my documentation and spoke for quite some time. I was becoming distressed as I might have been refused the right to fly and I was would of been left in a foreign country with nowhere to stay and no proper treatment. After some time the pilot had decided I was able to travel. She then babbled on about safety, which was a cop out and just jargon. The other flight attendant asked me if it was a contagious condition. ??????? Totally unhelpful and no apology. Is this the way Jetstar treat passengers? There was little/no care for my well being. It was almost as if they were deliberately looking for a way to stop me from travelling. I am a nervous flyer at the best of times and the only budget airline company I will fly with is Jetstar because of your excellent safety record.

    regards

    TERRY A.

Jetstar Airways verified

cancellation of a flight

I am never one to complain nor have I ever gone as far to write a complaint such as this. I write this email to you to express my deepest disappointment in relation to flight number JQ512 scheduled to depart Tullamarine 1 pm on Friday, 18 October 2019, arriving in Sydney at 2:25 pm. We had less than two hours before scheduled departure, I received a text from Jetstar advising the flight had been cancelled. As my husband and I had already paid for a show and dinner in Sydney Friday night we contacted our travel agent within minutes requesting that she get us on the next flight. Much to our surprise and bitter disappointment the earliest flight leaving Melbourne was flight number JQ522 leaving at 6:15 pm which we reluctantly excepted as it's banished all hopes of attending our show on the Sydney show boat cruise leaving from Darling Harbour that was planned and paid for, $300 unrefundable. To make matters worse this flight did not leave until after 7 pm. Irrespective of the cancellation reasons we believe it to be Jetstar's duty to have us on the next available flight even if it is with Qantas who wholly owns Jetstar. We relayed this to our travel agent who advised this was only ever the case if no Jetstar availability on the same day, however she did inform us there were suitable earlier flights which we could book starting at $600 per ticket upwards. End result was six hour delay and a $300 out-of-pocket .

Regards
Linda Hams
linda.[protected]@hotmail.com
[protected]

Jetstar Airways verified

cancelled flight

Dear Sirs

I made a booking for 3 adults on Jetstar flight JQ661 flying from Ayers Rock to Sydney on Friday 4 October 2019, departing at 215pm and arriving at 545pm. My booking reference is QCH57Y. The total cost was AUS$1029.49.

By way of background, my friends and I are from the UK and the intention of our trip to Australia was to attend a wedding in Sydney on Saturday 5 October 2019. We booked flight JQ661 so that we would arrive in Sydney the evening before the wedding to allow for rest and preparations.

The flight was cancelled due to a technical fault with the plane. Initially, we were told there was a delay and we would definitely be in Sydney that evening. We were in the airport for hours with limited, if any, communication. At around 7/8pm, we were informed that the flight was cancelled and we would not be arriving in Sydney that evening. Instead, we would be flying to Melbourne and then flying to Sydney the next morning. We did not arrive in Sydney until after 9am the next morning.

As you will appreciate, this caused us considerable distress given that the wedding was on 5 October 2019. We arrived in Sydney very tired, having had 2 hours sleep. Although we made the wedding, we were unable to enjoy it to the full extent in view of lack of sleep and preparation time. The whole experience put a damper on our Australia trip. Furthermore, we had already of course paid for a hotel in Sydney for the night of Friday 4 October 2019. The cost of the night in the hotel (Primus Hotel, Pitt Street) was AUD$343.54.

We now expect the following:

1. Refund for the flights in the sum of AUS$1029.49.
2. AUD$90 (AUD$30 x 3) as we paid for our own dinner on Friday 4 October 2019 and were not given cash.
3. Refund of the cost of the hotel in the sum of AUD$343.54.
4. An appropriate sum for compensation for distress.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Radhika

Jetstar Airways verified

rude staff and bad services

Hi am travelling from Malaysia to Singapore. Your check in counter staff are so roud and they have no manners. I checked in online still they make me wait in a long que. And they gave me the seat end of the airplane. If this type of services you provide to your customers so may be this is your company rules and regulations like that. Rude to your passengers. If you taking a revenge from your customers better you stop this airline and start bus services.

Jetstar Airways verified

service

Jetstar being charged $60; excess baggage for my handbag, first time in 50 years I've been told to put my handbag on the scale. They did the same to two departing flights checked every passenger boarding and made an absolute fortune. I've had two attempts at chatting about my complaint they say they're ready to chat and then that's it end of the story as far as you can go unable to type to chat. Disgusting airline certainly live up to their bad reputation was the first and last flight with Jetstar for me.

Jetstar Airways verified

rude service

On flight JQ128 Denpasar to Adelaide on Monday 14th October 2019, the cabin crew had started drinks service and were wheeling the cart backwards down the aisle for (possible) second service. My fiancee had been served his drink, however on the way down the aisle from the rear of the aircraft, the flight attendant that was walking backwards knocked his knee which then spilt his drink over his pants. My fiancee is over 6ft and had his knee facing out into the aisle as the seating is very cramped. We understand the accident here, however there was no comment, or apology, made by the attendant for the spilt drink or even an offer for a serviette. Once they had passed, my fiancee moved his knee back towards the aisle, and when the attendants returned back up the aisle they again ran into his knee. He said that this hurt and the response from the flight attendant was an extremely blunt 'well you shouldn' t have been in the way'. We travel quite often and have obviously had issues with seating space before due to his height, however we have never had such a rude response from a staff member. We unfortunately were not able to get this particular flight attendants name, and didn't want to cause a drama on board, however she was medium height, with brown-dark hair and glasses. We did note there was only one attendant wearing glasses. We are extremely unimpressed by this rudeness and would prefer not to travel with Jetstar again, especially if this is the level of service we would find in the future.

Jetstar Airways verified

I am complaining of the way my membership was renewed

Please refer to the attachement.
I travelled to Danag Last year and was surprised to hear that you have used my card details without my permission to renew membership.
I am an elderly man and was really surprised how you could use my card details without my permission. I am really disappointed and would like you to return my money immediately. This is not the way an esteem firm like you should do to elderly people. You should have written to ask whether I wanted to renew my membership and card details. It is in bad taste for you to use my card as you are having my previous booking records. I sincerely hope to get back my money and for your information there was no request from me lately for renewal. Thank you

I am complaining of the way my membership was renewed

Jetstar Airways verified

flight cancellation

To whom it may concern,
My sister and I booked a flight on Jetstar to Honolulu on the 1st of October. We arrived early for our flight. We then waited in the airport for five hours for our flight to take off, with virtually no information on why our flight was delayed. Many people asked if the flight would be cancelled but the crew continues to make announcements saying it was not. They finally told us that our flight was cancelled because a crew member was fatigued. Because of our flight cancellation my sister and I missed our connecting flight from Honolulu to San Francisco. Instead of giving us another direct flight to Honolulu we then had to wait another night and then take a flight to Sydney, wait the whole day and take another flight from Sydney to Honolulu. Despite asking many times for help getting another flight from Honolulu back home or even an upgrade to better seating we were given no help or compensation. Instead my sister and I had to spend hundreds of dollars for another flight. We talked to different people both at Sydney and Melbourne. The agents we talked to at Sydney seemed to think that the agents at Melbourne could have transferred us to a direct flight to San Francisco through Quantas ( a sister brand of Jetstar) if they had been so inclined. Instead of implementing this simple solution our travel time increased two days and cost us hundreds of dollars. Needless to say that we are extremely disappointed in the service that Jetstar provided and would like compensation for having to waste three days traveling and having to spend hundreds of dollars, which as students is very hard earned money that is needed for other purposes.

Jetstar Airways verified

flight delay

I can not describe the level of frustration I have felt flying jet star! After having our first flight postponed due to technical issues and waiting a further 3.5 hours to board a new flight, we were then informed that this flight too had technical issues and we would have to wait at least another 2 hours. Despite many many requested for answers no one could seem qualified enough to assist us in fixing the situation!
Once again I can not express my disappointment! I had work commitments in melbourne which I could not make! I had family commitments which also could not be met. The jet star staff were under qualified to handle the situation and could not answer simple questions or offer any sort of suitable response.
I would appreciate this to be looked into and expect some sort of response on how jet star can resolve this for me.
Thank you
Anne d serjeant

Jetstar Airways verified

flight refund/ credit

I booked a return flight from Melbourne to Sydney for December 26th in July 2019, but due to reasons beyond my control we are unable to fly out that week and we don't know when will be the next time we can due to court orders. The court orders came in play wednesday 25th sept 2019. I have contacted jet star m spoke with 2 different ppl telling me my fares are no refundable and un creditable, which I understand BUT I am sure that you have the power to make expeditions instead of people losing out . These tickets cost me $822 which is a hell of a lot of money For me to just throw away. I'm sure that your airline can easily resell the seats and it's not like they will go broke . Maybe this is something that you need to look into instead of ripping people off. Sometimes things happen and there's not much we can do about it

Jetstar Airways verified

check in staff

Checked in bags after Emirates Intl flight, codeshare Jetstar Dom to CHC. Told needed new bag...

Jetstar Airways verified

staff member in departure lounge

I Sharon Bonanno, Booked flight with your company and have done at least 100 occasions for private...

81425
Jetstar Airways verified

reimbursement costs

Booking Ref WLQ66N Flight JQ58 12/9/19

On the 12/9/19 we arrived 3 hrs early to board our flight home from Bali to Brisbane.I was very anxious to get home as I had news my father passed away the day before on the 11/9/19 which was really sad and I wanted to come home to my family. When we got to the airport for the jetstar flight home we sat in the boiling hot plane for 1 hr then told to go back out and wait a further 2 hrs in terminal due to technical issues. Only to have it cancelled. We were given no information but then to wait in another line to finally get put on a flight with Quantas via Sydney but nearly missed that because they couldnt get our luggage back in time.The staff were bringing 10 items up in a trolley which was slow and unorganised.My duty free was taken off me as I couldnt go back through with liquid. It was a complete disaster and jetstars handling of the whole thing was pathetic and we had no updates and no one knew what was happening. People were starting to get angry and loud.We arrived back the next day at lunch time.So it took 24 hrs to get home. I was charged extra for my carparking at the terminal and meals at Airports and the loss of my duty free all costing $180. When speaking to a Chat person they advised me they could only pay $30 per person in total but jetstar at airport on Bali advised they would reimburse all costs incurred . It was Very disappointing and traumatic end to our holiday.My Family and I are a regular flyers of Jetsar and truely hope this money can be reimbursed. Let alone the trauma and waiting which was very distressing. Also having to commute at Sydney airport from International airport to domestic and then again from Brisbane domestic to International to get car parked in Long stay. I have attached receipts but i do not have the Duty free alcohol as the hole bag was taken off me including receipt but I paid with cash and some portion of credit card which I have attached. Hopefully you can organise some sort of compensation either via refund or travel voucher.
Regards
Jessica Gibbons
1 Mingus st, Sippy Downs 4556
[protected]
[protected]@bigpond.com

reimbursement costs
reimbursement costs
reimbursement costs
reimbursement costs
reimbursement costs

Jetstar Airways verified

flight attendant

Flying from Adelaide to Cairns on Jet Star JQ 0960 Flight was delayed for storm activity which wa...

Jetstar Airways verified

customer service - changing flights

24/9/19. Ref- ICFKKL. Somehow I booked a flight the day before I was supposed to. I clicked on...

81425
Jetstar Airways verified

luggage

Myself and daughter flew out of Sunshine Coast on Friday morning flight JQ 785 seat 23C and 23D and after waiting one hour after depart time which is unavoidable and understand went to get one large suitcase to collect and rush to taxi as we were running very late for appointment practice noticed my luggage had missing wheel and hole in bottom. I have photos also. The bag was in perfect condition when I left it at Sunshine Coast book in. My name is Yael Dorsett and email is [protected]@bigpond.com and phone [protected].

luggage
luggage
luggage
luggage

Jetstar Airways verified

all service

Cancelled two international flights then failed to provide appropriate replacement flights. Cannot get in contact with them- spend very long time on hold on the phone with no answer. Repeatedly told when finally get through that ‘system is down' and they cannot do anything. Then after 4th call I'm told there is no flight for me to go onto (even a Qantas flight). No effort was made every thou I was going to miss my sisters wedding. I even spoke to Qantas who said they would be able to put me on a flight if jetstar would just call them and jetstar told me they cannot directly call Qantas- how ridiculous! Terrible customer service and money making practices with no regard for the customer and minimal compensation offered when they are at fault

Jetstar Airways verified

cancellation of booked holiday

booking ref te7tsv, friday 13 of sept19 brisbane. stayed at ibis airport hotel 12/9/19 to be at airport at 4 am. found txt message from jetstar 3.45 cancelling trip. went to jetstar check in for assistance. 12 passengers already there. told to see qantas to arrange bali flights [ $1200 ] no check in desks open until 6 am to book with. jetstar staff member then offered to fly us out on sunday and put us up in a motel until then. we paid for 7 full days and nights not 4 days holiday. told to contact eithet jetstar or our travel agent at 4"30 in the morning. thinking that because jetstar had cancelled the trip that we are intitled to a full refund. drove home to hervey bay [4 hrs] we recieved a phone call wanting a decision about the sunday flights or to contact flight center. as we had insurance covering cancellation we rang racq to be told because we didnt immediatly accept your offer jetstar is not responsiable. contacted flight centre to be told the same thing. we feel as no one from either jetstar or flight centre informed us at any stage non acceptence of the offer would result in loss of $2200. we paid for 7 days and nights not 4. I cancelled a weeks work plus my partner had to apply for holiday leave. we spent $400 in motel, fuel and food costs to meet your 4am check in. flight back from bali was 11 pm friday night then a 4 hr drive home. we did everything possible within our power to salvage some sort of 7 day holiday but been offered only 4 days was a kick in the guts. we feel that a refund will insure further booking with your airline [ we flew with you at the begining of the year to uluru with no problems] no jetstar or flight centre member at any stage informed us that we would loss all of our money.

Jetstar Airways verified

aircraft was dirty, no cleaning service between the flights

I travelled with Jetstar airways from Sydney to Sunshine Coast on flight number JQ784 on 11/09/2019. I found a bag full of smelly rubbish from the previous passenger on my seat ( 22E) right after i was boarded. Brought it to the cabin crew's attention and asked them to take it . The lady ( her name is Ellen) had a surprisingly poor attitude and told me to keep the bag of rubbish in the seat pocket instead of removing it straight away. she didn't return to take the rubbish bag and eventually I had to ask another crew member to take it .
The cabin crew need to make sure the cabin is presentable and reasonably clean before the next boarding by at least cleaning the big pieces of waste!!! I paid for a clean seat not for a dirty filthy seat and not for the poor service like that! You can get better service at a public food court's table in a mall than Jetstar airways!