International Magazine Companymoney

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

A guy called me telling me about a $50, 000 sweepstake I was entered into. He was very kind and respectful so when he asked me to put in a good word for him when his supervisor called it was no problem. The supervisor, Mary-Ann Harris, explained to me that I was to receive a daimond watch and three magazines for free and she explained a subscription plan to me. She made sure I wrote all of it down so I would kno what I was to be billed for. $4.62/wk, $19.74/mth for 48 months and billed 12 times in all - the total was to be $79.73. Because I didn't have money in my account at that moment, she said that I would be billed once the funds were available. I just put $100 dollars in my bank account three days ago and today when I went to the ATM i was denied because I only had $20.10 in my account. Those 12 payments that were supposed to made only once a month were all taken at once leaving me, a struggling, teenage college student, helpless. Because I just turned 18, I guess I was a part of their targeted audience. I need to know where to find help!!

Responses

  • Je
    jesus Oct 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they charge me for magazines n i want to cancel my subscription

    0 Votes
  • An
    andie doller Oct 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this number calls me all the time. they don't leave messages. I tried to call the number back and the recording says that it cannot accept phone calls at this time. I am sick of this!!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beth Oct 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They have been calling my phone for a few days, a few times a day. When I answered no one would talk. I tried calling the number back, but it said they were out of the area or all circuts were busy. They finally spoke when I anwered yesterday. She said they were doing a sweepstakes and that I had won a free diamond watch and a free subscription to any magazine of my choice and she listed some. She said that I had also been entered into a drawing for a chance to win a million dollars. They would pull the names on Dec. 31, 2008. She never asked for any of my credit card info, so I figured nothing would come of it. She said that her management would be giving me a phone call when we got off the phone, but he never did. I am just worried now that they are going to charge my acct., or my identity will be stolen or some crazy stuff. I don't know how to get back in touch with the company either. Any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nickey Oct 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Someone called me from this company (IMC), telling me that I was entered into a sweepstakes, and I would receive a diamond watch, then they asked for my credit card number. I foolishly gave it to them. I went on my computer and googled them, that's when I saw that they ripped off a whol bunch of other ppl. I tried to tell the man that I was not interested, and he kept pushing talking bout this and that, then he had the nerve to hang the phone up in my ear. I called my bank immediatley, and the money was already posted to my account ($79.00). I tried calling to cancel and the call wouldn't gp thru. My bank gave me the number [protected] (this number wroks), and they had me on hold for like 45 minutes, then they came and bk and told me that the funds would be released back into my account in 24-72 hours. Today is 10-17-08 and if that money is not back in my account by 10-20-08, I will be a thorn in their flesh.
    PLz watch out for these ppl. They are some scammers.

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    Blue Sky Oct 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a phone call. They starting saying I win the prize and get magazine for free. But they said they are going to change me. I pushed me very hard and they offer me the plan $99 one time payment for three magazines one year. Even thought it's more expensive than ordering it separately, I thought it's okay since I was told that I can change the magazines whenever I want. But later they said I can't change the magazines unless I upgrade my plan. It's not a reliable company. And I hope there aren't many people believe in them.

    0 Votes
  • Av
    avalon Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got the same call and they called my cell ph# which I don't know how they got!! I was shocked but didn't even think to ask how they got it. They gave me the same speech but I told them I needed to do some research before I released my cc# to anyone. I told him to call me back tomorrow, he was a bit reluctant to agree to that but he did. When he calls back I'm going to tell him to go suck an egg! In other words, NO THANKS! I'm not a big magazine buff anyway and I knew from the start it was a scam because they mentioned sweetstakes and winning a million dollars, yeah right! And I'm sure the watch is completely cheap and cheezy looking. Oh and he also told me that they are registered with the BBB but I highly doubt that and he also said their website is for porn mags. wierd. doesn't sound good to me.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Finch Nov 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had my run in with these people yesterday. The same song and dance everyone else has talked about; million dollar sweepstakes, diamond watch, magazine subscriptions. Their spiel includes a lot of trifling details and long lists, which I believe are meant to lull you into a hypnosis, thus allowing them to get the credit card number off you. The thing that got me was they were trying to get me to subscribe to Vogue at $4.00 a week as some kind of deal. It's not even a weekly magazine! So I say to the guy that I don't even read magazines, and he says "Well what are some of your hobbies and interests?" Really? So I tell him where he can get off and he calls back, yelling at me and telling me there's no way I can get out of their sweepstakes. Won't tell me his name, hangs up on me. I canceled my credit card and changed my phone number. Perhaps that's overreacting but that type of shady stuff really freaks me out. Anyway its great to know I'm not alone.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Taylor Gary Nov 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the same speech, too. At first, maybe I did become a contestant because I do use my card all the time but once he asked me for my credit number I froze. I started to google them and all I got was complaints. I am so happy I didn't do it. I'm worried they are still going to send me magazines and I might get billed for them.

    -1 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa Nov 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT GIVE YOUR INFORMATION TO THESE PEOPLE AS THEY ARE PROBABLY JUST A HUSBAND AND WIFE WORKING OUT OF THEIR HOME COLLECTING CREDIT CARD NUMBERS. I received a phone call today from International Magazine Company. I didn't answer at first and when I called back it kept saying "All Circuits Are Busy." I kept trying back until a woman picked up and immediately went into her spiel. She told me that she was new to the company and that her supervisor would be contacting me with more details. FIRST RED FLAG. The man called in a matter of 30 seconds. My first question was how could I cancel my subscription. His response was "we request you don't since we pay for the subscription up front." SECOND RED FLAG. He then asked me if I would like a woman's or man's diamond watch.OKAY, AT THIS POINT I KNEW IT WAS A SCAM AND WAS JUST WAITING FOR HIM TO ASK FOR MY CREDIT CARD NUMBER. Sure enough he did, my immediate response was can you please give me your entire Company's name as I am skeptical on giving you my information. He assured me that people ask him this question daily. I then told him that I was a paralegal and file lawsuits against fictitious business' daily and that I would like his Business License Number. He couldn't obtain that information and told me that I could find them under the Better Business Bureau. That is great but what we need to look at is the number of complaints filed against these people and the Secretary of State's website for the Fictitious Business Names. DO NOT GIVE YOUR INFORMATION TO THESE PEOPLE AS THEY ARE PROBABLY JUST A HUSBAND AND WIFE WORKING OUT OF THEIR HOME COLLECTING CREDIT CARD NUMBERS. Remember. Credit Cards are an unsecured debt. This man and woman could easily purchase something with your card and you can dispute it ... as he reassured me. HOWEVER, DISPUTING A TRANSACTION COULD TAKE WEEKS. BEWARE!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    matt Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    yea im in the same boat tho im 20 and a sophamore in college, but same exact deal with the same company and contract, and i even asked if i could cancel at any time but then now that i called back i was told i can not

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    sw132639 Jan 28, 2009

    I just have a issue with harrassing phone calls. They call several times a day and when I asked to have my number removed, I was told that they couldn't and then they hung up on me. I called the number back and was hung up on repeatedly. I then began to ask for a manager or boss of some sort, and was hung up around 15-20 times. One call, the woman set the phone down and I heard her say "are you a manager?" then she laughed and said "well, you are one now!" Then she hung up on me. I would say I dealt with the same three or four people each time I called. All I wanted was for the phone calls to stop. It seemed like this was some sort of entertainment for these people to keep hanging up on me. I finally talked to a woman named Diana and she told me that I would have to wait to be called back in order for them to remove my number from their list. I told her that I tried that already and they continued to call. Then she said that management was a different department and they operated with rotary phones (in 2009??? Really??? Come on...) and that she couldn't transfer me, nor did she have a number. She said to look up the companies website (which as far as I can tell, does not exist) and find a different number there. I've filed a report with the National BBB. If I continue to receive these phone calls, my next step is to contact an attorney. My thing is that from the very first time I called them, I was treated poorly. What if I had been intersted in their services? I just can't believe a company can operate while their employees participate in such conduct. It's beyond me...

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimbo Feb 03, 2009

    Today the IMC called me about thirty times. I don't answer fone numbers I don't recognize but eventually I answered and they gave me that same old shpeel. Congratulations, I've won a brand new watch yada yada yada. He then asked me if I was a magazine buff. I told him no I don't read magazines. He then asked me what my hobbies are. I gave him a couple. Then, he tried to pressure me into their stupid magazine deal. Luckily, I wasn't interested at all so I didnt give him my credit card information. So I decided to google the company and sure enough I read tons of complaints. I'm sure if I had given them my information they would have completely dicked me over. Don't give them one digit of your credit card. Freaking wack jobs.

    0 Votes
  • Sv
    svaquez85 Feb 08, 2009

    when the man states "we request you don't since we pay for the subscription up front." that does not meant u are not allowed to cancel. so your in your complete right under law to receive your cancellation request, right?...i am currently disputing with these people.they are trying to ripp me off of 877 dollars. i made a report to the BBB and should be getting a response in a week hopefully. if not i will take this up a notch.THIS IS A FRAUD AND ADVISE EVERYONE TO NOT PICK UP THAT CALL.IGNORE IT SEND THOSE DISGRACEFUL PEOPLE WERE THEY BELONG

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Haynes Feb 12, 2009

    people do you notice how you were all stupid enough to give them your credit card. i am a customer of this company and i reciieve great service from the, you are all suffering from buyer remourse, and refuse to take responsibility for something YOU DID~!!! ofcourse, they are salespeople, doing their job... However this is COMPLAINT BOARD for complaints. this co. has good reviews as well. So lets get it together and really think about if you really want something before you repeadtly except it. lol!!! i sound like i work for them... this is pathetic...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Casey Feb 24, 2009

    I got the call from these people less than an hour ago and they have already charged my card and everything. Im not happy. I called the place back within a matter of minutes and talked to someone and said that i wanted my money back and i wanted it back now. he said well, we'll have to let a customer service rep. talk to you and they will give you a call back in a few minutes. So i was like okay. Well as from reading all of the posts on here and off other websites, i have learned that this company is a COMPLETE SCAM! I immediatley called my bank and told them to stop the payment. They said they they could not do anything til it hard post on my account. I am so scared and so upset that something is going to happen. Weather it be my identity being stolen or my account getting wipped out. Im not a happy person. When i called the company back and talked to someone i told them that i did in fact work for an attorney and i would get him involoved if it came to it. and i believe that it has come to that point. So for all you people out there if you get a call from this place, tell them no thank you and hang up. Dont give in to them. I did and now im paying for it i guess you could say. i will get my money back one way or another.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tanisha smith Mar 12, 2009

    [protected]@aol.com
    [protected]

    this is one of the managers and his phone number.. i answered an employment add and googled them to see what they were about...

    have fun all!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Bart Mar 22, 2009

    I subscribed to International Magazine Company early in 2008 and have received both the watch and each of the subscriptions I agreed to. Granted; the cost is slightly higher than what I would pay going through each magazine separately, but this way I am able to switch subscriptions half way through a term and try different magazines as I go. I paid the 12 payments they asked for and haven't paid a dime since, and each magazine has me on file as a pre-paid subscriber through the end of 2011. I don't believe this to be a scam, I get everything I asked for and I haven't had any issues with them taking more than I agreed to.
    This is not for everyone, so I do encourage caution. It is an expensive arrangement that allows you to try five different magazines from a list of about 200 and you can change your selection every month. Again; very EXPENSIVE. But if you read the magazines like I do, it is worth it.( I subscribe to: Wire, PC Mag, PC Gamer, Computer Shopper, and Maxim, but for what ever reason I also get MSDN[that's the only part that confuses me :) ])

    Bart

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JAMIEE Apr 17, 2009

    THIS COMPANY IS A TOTAL RIPOFF - DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CARD # NO MATTER HOW MUCH THEY BELITTLE YOU OR MAKE YOU FEEL DUMB FOR NOT WANTING THEIR SERVICES... PPL LIKE THIS SHOULD BE SHOT...

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    JAMIEE Apr 17, 2009

    AND TYLER CLAIR, THE MANAGER I SPOKE TO IS A TERRIBLE MAN

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Happy Customer May 15, 2009

    I.M.C is the best company I have ever dealt with. They have the best Manager, his name is John C., I will continue getting magazines threw them until I die.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Happy Customer May 15, 2009

    Jaimee is a ### and should go to hell for saying those people should be shot

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brad May 22, 2009

    Well I used to be able to change my subscription whenever I wanted... but for some reason the number [protected] does not work anymore...? I still get my magazines though. Does anyone know the new number or even if they are still around?

    0 Votes
  • He
    HelloKitty Jun 08, 2009

    Today I almost got scammed - I gave them a credit card number, but they asked for my debit card number. I would not give it to him and he asked me if it was because I didn't have the money in there which seemed like a very rude question. It was so stupid of me to give them the first card number, but I woke up and I didn't give them anymore information. The first guy I talked to was very nice and told me to put a good word into his supervisor for him. I was stupid but PLEASE don't let these people scam you!!! They tried to charge my card $59.00!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    farlikat Jun 19, 2009

    After having set up a payment plan amounting to about $80 total, supposedly to be divided up over 6 months, International Magazine Company took it all in one payment, and then repeatedly called and tried to contact me to keep paying them. They have now sent me a supposed "collections letter" and are trying to say I owe over $300 for magazines I never even received. They are a TOTAL scam, and should be avoided.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    farlikat Jun 19, 2009

    I have exactly the same problem! The Better Business Bureau really needs to do something about them.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    BrandiNS Jun 30, 2009

    They called me today--the first person was very nice went into the whole spiel though, I kind of blew it off. Then they said thier supervisor would have to call me and verify everything. This one was Tyler Claire. I tried to explain that I didn't have my credit card on me (fortunate, because I wasn't really keen on the idea of giving him my information) and he proceeded to call me a liar. He claimed that I was lying about having left my wallet in a vehicle that was currently being used by my sister, and scoffed every time I I disagreed with something he said. he was a complete jerk to me, and even if this company is legitamite, I would never consider doing business with them based upon my experience today.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nick727 Jul 04, 2009

    I work there but only as maintenance tho don't trust them most of the people that work there are drug addicts and want to scam you for your money trust me.

    1 Votes
  • Ph
    phalange Jul 16, 2009

    Did you ever get a call from the collections agency? I had the same scam happen to me, and now I'm worried that the "collections" people who called me repeatedly after I canceled my card and refused to pay are going to ruin my credit. It's been almost a year, but I still am not sure what happened with that? I'm pretty sure the collections agency was bogus.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thevic Jul 16, 2009

    well i got, the same story, new to the company, i won a diamond watch, and in for a million dollar sweepstakes, supervisor will be calling after (they really change staff that often? ;), the second guy was really pushy in getting my cc#, told me giving my # over the phone is like giving it at a restaurant (not! I cant go back and beat a guy in a phone if he did sumthin bad), offered me a locked subscription for 48 months (cannot be cancelled in 48 months), I searched for them while on the phone and found all these stories...i politely declined. Legit or not, i dont want to pay for so much shiny colored paper for so long, and for that much.

    1 Votes
  • Er
    EricF Jul 24, 2009

    do any of you really believe that they are a scam you must be a fool you are on here complaining that they did an authorization all it does is check to see if the money is there ... you give your card number to someone and expect someone not to see if it is valid are you really that dumb? this company is definitely a real business and are still pushing on with no problems. just because you are broke as hell and are trying to get free ###. nothing in this world is free and you should be smart enough to know that you are buying them for 4.60 per week and it averages out to about 20 a month if your not that smart then you shouldn't have a card!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Bi
    big mike18 Aug 30, 2009

    i have the subscriptions you are all stupid what other subscription can you change your magazines. its a nice thing to have if you think about you are getting 5 magazines a month for less than 20 bucks thats less than 4 dollars an issue and if u get a weekly magazine its even cheaper. and if u were really scared you could cancel your credit card. so all of you can shove it.

    -1 Votes
  • Bi
    biangkerok Sep 27, 2009

    This company is totally friggin FRAUD
    never got anything, not even a single copy of what I asked for
    I want my friggin MY MONEY back

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daimond Oct 03, 2009

    these people are scamer, here's some free info, www.donotcall.gov it is a web site you list the numbers of ANYONE you don't want to call you, but first get one of those real loud whistels, and blow the sh-- - out of it next time they call ! I love it, I think I'll wait a couple days, so I can see how many calls I get !! Just cuzs !!! Sorry no free daimonds or vactions, 1, ooo, ooo, ooo dollars, just some free info !!!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    billie1125 Oct 11, 2009

    I was called with an offer from this company for magazines on Saturday, October 3, 2009. I was told that it was for 24 monthly installments of $39.87. I did not think to ask how much total cost nor did they tell me. I initially agreed over the phone. I was called again the next day and found out the total cost and told them that I couldn't afford the cost. I did not want the offer at all. I changed my mind about it. I did not want my credit card charged. The lady said that I had already agreed. I tried to call the number that they called me from to again try and cancel the offer and order during that week. I left two messages which no one ever called me back. I even called my credit card company to stop the charge but was told that it couldn't be stopped. That I should contact the company which I tried to do repeatedly. I received a letter about the order in the mail today October 10, 2009, Saturday and I tried to call the number on there and couldn't get ahold of anyone. I

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    billie1125 Oct 11, 2009

    I even submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau in Florida concerning this matter so I hope to hear from them soon. I don't want this offer and don't want to be charged anymore for it. I want it canceled right now. Today. October 11, 2009.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wanda Silen Oct 20, 2009

    What can I do to get then to stop billing me? I am 70 years old and do remember buying one subscriptions but now there are 4 companies billing me and they will not stop. I closed my bank account and opened a new one. now they are billing me by mail at home and calling all of the time. I tell them I do not want the magazines and to stop sending them to me but they won't. What can I do???? HELP

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Semianonymous Nov 16, 2009

    So has anyone actually gotten them to cancel billing/refund with out actually being forced to cancel their card? They got me late after work when I was exhausted and I just went along with it, stupidly thinking I could cancel it later.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CaribPete Dec 03, 2009

    I got the same glittery statements from those people as well. The lady named Sandra told me her manager would call me to evaluate her & verify my purchase. The guy called me back in almost 30 seconds I ended the call with the previous rep. Needless to say, my mind was elsewhere (stuck on the 1 year loss of my granddad to cancer) and I bought into the hype. After hanging up the phone, I did my math & I realized these prices where highway robbery. I googled the company for a website, and i found none!!! What legitimate company doesn't have a website!! What I did find were all these complaint sites. Within 30 minutes of making the purchase, I called my bank to cancel the card! I woke up the next morning (early) to find the transaction was pending on my account!! I called the company from this number [protected]) and spoke with a rep that was so rude. she told me her supervisor would get back to me within the hour. After waiting 2 hours, I called them back. I got a message that said "All the circuits are busy, please call back later" 6 different times within 15 minutes. I decided to call through a different phone (lane line), and what do you know, they picked up. A different woman told me she will tell her manager and I could receive a phone call on my cell phone within the hour. 6 minutes later I received a call from this number [protected]). After 2 rings, I picked up and said hello, and the person hung up!! So, I called the number back. And, what do you know I couldn't get through! After almost about 5 hours, I finally got someone to call me back from this number [protected]). The woman was from Processing and asked me what seemed to be the problem! I told her I wanted to cancel my subscription. After telling her what I realized about the price & what I read about the company, she told me there where a few, basic questions she had to ask me before she proceeded! OK!! She said: "Do you like sports? Do you like fitness? Do you like cars...well, for a low easy 8 payment of $35.65..." HUH???? I thought I told this woman that I wanted to cancel??? So, I told her I don't want any of that! I'm not paying that? She told me that they already process a year's worth of subscription ($285.20) and so they are taking a loss if I cancelled because they prepaid this amount already!! How is that possible. First, what company prepays a 1 year's worth of anything before receiving a check! Second, it wasn't even 20 hrs from when I made the order and cancelled!!! I told the woman what does that mean? She siad either I pay the $285.20 or they keep my first billed payment of $53.16. I told her I'm not paying any of that??? After going silent for about 1 minute, she told me we weren't getting anywhere, and that she will cancel my subscription but that the company was keeping my first billed payment as reimbursement!! And, then she told me Happy Holidays and hung up in my face!!! "WHAT??!!!" Nevertheless, I will call my back the bank to dispute this, but the odds of me getting the $53.16 back is highly unlikely!! I guess, I have to chalk this one up to experience and never eff-up like this again! But, I repeated "If IMC: INTERNATIONAL MAGAZINE COMPANY calls you about some sweeptake winning & diamond watch...HANG THE EFF UP!!! THEY ARE SWINDLERS!!!"
    I will provide you with the numbers again so that you may take precaution & be aware:
    [protected])
    [protected])
    [protected])
    [protected])

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    klynn48 Dec 12, 2009

    This company called my cell phone, I was skeptical. This guy calling me said because I was a good card holder someone had entered my name into this 1 mill contest. I asked him who entered my name, he didn't know. He then preceeded to ask me which card (Visa or MC) I had. Don't give them your card numbers. THIS IS A SCAM. I was very skeptical and then the manager got on the phone and tried to reassure me. Anyway I didn't give them my card no. and hung up on them. They keep calling my cell phone.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    fallen Dec 16, 2009

    lol You can tell that the happy customer who blogged works for them. its so ovious they try so hard to defend this company without the least consideration of how many people this company scamed. ###!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.