Hughesnetterrible service! lies and more lies!

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I've been a customer of Direcway and Hughes for 5 years now. Everything was fine before Hughes took over! The service has slowed down to the point that it's no better than a regular ISP service. I've been having problems with error messages of "506" for the past 2 or 3 months now. I called Hughes customer Tech service yesterday to find out what was going on.

I was told, totally out of the blue, that I was downloading too much!!! The service rep. said, "I don't know weather your aware of this or not... But you can only have so many megabits downloaded per month." WHAT??? I have never been informed of this before! And I've never had the problem before, my downloading hasn't changed! I can't even bring up my own everyday sites!

Beware!

Responses

  • Bi
    Big regrets Apr 10, 2018

    Have had hughesnet for a year and a half. Since installation, I have had nothing but service issues...slow...no, correct that...No speed, no help, no resolution. I was told to contact the manufacturer of my TV (under 5 years old) to see if they might have an answer to my poor quality images. Then they blamed the router ( which THEY sold me for $100 at time of installation) saying I got "one of the poorer quality ones"...they have bounced me back and forth from tech to tech no one being able to resolve anything!!! I have never in my life known or dealt with such a deceitful, evil, good for nothing company as hughesnet. It is the worst business out there. Please people...heed the warnings you've read here. We are not making this up!!! RUN!!! Do not do not do not ever ever EVER put your money or trust in hughesnet...YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    saars Mar 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Cancelled service because of cost. Company refuses to remove equipment on my roof for free (they put it up) They will take it off for $100!nThey require you send back modem and radio transmitter, transmitter on roof. we are elderly and not in the best of health. I feel this is a scam against the elderly! Please boycott ALL companies that have satellites, because none of them will take off the equipment they put up. Plus they charge you $300 if you don't return the equipment.

    1 Votes
  • Ku
    Kuntryboyee Feb 16, 2015

    Hughes Net has been a lot better than dial up for us. Our previous internet service was with a canopy-based system and every big wind or T-storm would knock out an antenna or two and it would be days before the system was fixed. That is not the kind of trouble we have with Hughes, but the main complaint is just really poor customer phone service, takes forever to get help and its is tough to make out what these Indian techs are saying. Why are companies so greedy they hire foreigners instead of Americans, oh I just answered my own question...ha ha. I guess we were lucky to get free installation and a discount with a rural-subsidized contract (which they have tried to get us to upgrade out of). Hughes Net isn't cheap but it works...we have NEVER paid for "upgrades" like this Gen 4. Since the speed you get is throttled anyway you are just paying more money for them to open the spigot a little more? No thanks! IF cable or DSL was available in our rural area we would jump at it and drop Hughes like a hot potato.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DAVID AKINS Dec 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WE USE THESE PEOPLE AND HAVE BEEN FOR MANY YEARS ! OUR SERVICE HAS BEEN DOWN FOR 3 WEEKS WITH PROMISES MADE BUT NEVER COME THROUGH !
    TERRIBLE...TERRIBLE...TERRIBLE...DON'T EVER SIGN UP FOR NEW SERVICE...WHEN YOU HAVE PROBLEMS, YOU WILL CALL INDIA !
    THESE INDIA PEOPLE ONLY DO WHAT THEY ARE TOLD TO DO AND CANNOT DO ANYMORE THAN THAT...GET IT? THEY ARE IN INDIA !
    THEY WILL TELL YOU ANYTHING !
    WE PAY $80 PER MONTH FOR A FASTER DIAL-UP CONNECTION...THAT IS WHEN IT WORKS !
    FRUSTRATED !

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    satellite information Jul 21, 2011

    Okay, this is the information that is needed, any provider that is a satellite service for internet will have a limit on how much you can download, some are daily (depending on plan) and some are monthly. Satellite is faster then dial up but if you have exceeded your download then your service will slow down (worse then dial up). Hughesnet has option to be released from this with a restore token, you get one per month complimentary and then there are ones that can be bought. (price varies upon plan). Other providers once you go over your limit you have to wait until your next billing cycle before you can use the service again. To explain the ability to use the tokens, basically you are renting out a potential customer spot for a day. The one thing that some people need to realize is that anything that you get on your web browser that was not orginally on your computer is considered a download. If you want to know about the FAP, fair access policy then go to the very bottom of page (myhughesnet.com) click on terms of service (it is a link). If you go to the customer care page (www.customercare.myhughesnet.com) click on the subscribers agreement. This will also provide you with any other information that you might need. I hope this helps, I know it is too late for the ones who have already experienced Hughesnet.

    0 Votes
  • Bb
    b.bumstead Jul 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hughsnet claims hi speed internet access is a flat out lie. I paid almost six hundred dollars to have it installed right away it would take up to 10 minutes to watch a youtube clip.its a wage of moniand they refused to address the problem had the service one month and instead of addressing the speed problem they sent my account to a collection agency save your money choose a different internet provider.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    danelady Jun 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To be honest I've only Fap'd about five times in eight years. I don't expect cable speeds but I do expect more than dial up speeds. Until tomorrow morning I have the 7000s, tomorrow morning I get the 9000. As long as I get half of the advertised speed I will be happy.

    I have also found Vu to be very helpful. There are no other options but dial up where I live so I learned to live within the confines of the service.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joan1437 Apr 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just canceled their service and will pay the $300'00 to get out the underhanded service the FAB is overlooked if you buy another token then your service id restored so it's all about charging you more money not fair service for everyone. We come from NY where we had cable and then Vernon which is 50 times better then this Hughes net. We got Hughes because We had no choice where we live now in Ohio. It's all they had here
    until now we are going with Clear net 4g and it is so much better then HUGHES NET . the speed is great there is no waiting for videos to load and downloads at certain times. it is worth the $300.00 to get rid of Hughes net. I can't believe our Government officials let this company get away with robbing us like this I assume they have to apply for a license to operate in each community .
    Hope you all can get time warner or Clear 4G network in you community. and put these guys out of business . The only people who like this company is their employees . although you have to hire a outside installer to install their system and pay them and again to get rid of them. Buyer beware

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    mshildie Apr 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THANK YOU to everyone that has written these comments on the service that Hughes provides.I should say the LACK of service!!! I had called and was scheduled for tomorrow morning for getting hooked up.The $39.00 a month deal.THANK GOD I thought to check for reviews on them!!! I just got off the phone from cancelling.I have had dial-up all along and the only thing I know I miss is being able to watch video.I get spoiled when I visit my friends' downstate and can watch so easily.I am so relieved to find out about them BEFORE I ended up flipped out over the problems I was sure to have with them.Thank you all again...saved me my sanity!!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bellgun Mar 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    oh i know after having 2 yrs of problomatic service at best i moved it took them 3 months to restart my service yet they billed me anyway after a month of debate they credited me with 1.5 months - they know i am a captive customer because i live so far out in the woods since i moved the service has been worse and worse from overbilling to interupted service to hours spent tryin to log online and cant yet still having the useage tallied against me requiring me to buy tokens in order to keep internet service its a scam by far

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    EveAdams Jan 13, 2011

    I was really happy when Hughes net had an offer for my area that was within my budget because of the recovery act. They appairently got a government grant that covered installation and equipment and offer at a redused price of $39 for basic, fortunately with no contract necessary. Frankly it is little better than nothing. The download cap makes it pretty useless. They have a download manager that supposedly will download during slow hours 2-7 am with no penalty. It doesn't work. I was told I could download movies and watch them later. Of course it didn't work! That's bootlegging, but I tried it. I also tried to download software that way, It didn't even download. They were rude when I called for help. Their website advertising says download large files fast, not the case.
    Technical support is based in Malaysia and India. You would think that given a government grant they would employ Americans that would understand and help you.
    I figure on cancelling before another billing cycle comes around. What a dissapointment.

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Corkmonster Nov 23, 2010

    Hughes net is a Rip Off! I tried 17 times to get them to repair my service and I gave up and got an "Air Card" from Sprint and found it to be much faster than Hughes Net. Hughes net wants me to pay them $425 dollars for defauling on the contract..I told them they should give me back my money because they could not supply the "Service" they said they could. Now, On top of all that they have people calling you that can't speak a word of proper english! I have a bill collector calling and I told them the same ..GO F--K Yourself!!! Damn, I feel better..

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    Loris67 Sep 16, 2010

    Just ordered Hughesnet with a "so called 30 day money back guarantee". Day one we hit our "limit" in approx 2 hours of regular surfing the net. Called to find out what was happening only to be told by a rep( outsourced I might add) that we would have to pay more for more usage or wait for 24 hours to reset itself. I asked for something in writing to prove I could downgrade if it wasn't enough capability and was told that it was NOT company policy to send us anything via email, we must take their"word" for it. I am in a dispute atm to get out of my contract as it's within the 30 days but Hughesnet will not supply me with the required RMA number to return the equipment. I can see I will be hit with a huge bill once my 30 days is up. THIS IS CRIMINAL!!! Something must be done about these big companies bullying customers! They have lied repeatedly to me.

    1 Votes
  • Ul
    Ulash Jun 11, 2010

    I ordered Hughesnet about 6 months ago. I have called them 18 times for the last 6 months. Service is terrible. Kept upgrading the package and ended up paying fortune but the internet service still sucked. It is absolutely unreliable. Don't waste your time and money as I dont even want my enemy to go thru what I have gone thru with them.

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    NelsonG Mar 26, 2010

    I lived in a rural neighborhood in east San Diego, no cable or dsl, had direcway for a few years with the same problems you folks speak of here. Until a neighbor moved in 3 houses down from me and she mentioned she had dsl, WHAT??!! She knew someone that worked at AT&T that got it for her even though the area was not part of the service area. So I got the number of the person and pried my way in and got dsl. by the way it was way better than satellite. But when I would call for service I did not exist, they told me I wasn't eligible for dsl here. So I said how do you explain this bill I have for my address for dsl. TARDS. AYNWAY you can get it but the reason they don't do rural areas is because the houses aren't close together and convenient for install and servicing. DICKS!!! good luck everyone

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred in Georgia Feb 28, 2010

    To all a good night.
    My contract is up and happily moving on. I'm in a very rural area as well most of the bloggers are. After repeated attempts with AT&T, DSL is now available in my area. First, hughes would not let me cancel out of my contract that had 6 months left. I requested they cancel the service when my contract was up. They informed me in Filipino I had to call the day my contract was up. Forunately, I lived in the Phillipines for a number of years and am fluent in Filipino. For a hoot I attempted to cancel when I had two months left and again was informed No. So, exactly thirty days before my contract was up I contacted them and cancelled. First I was speaking with Jesus in the Phillipines but once the word cancel was mentioned I was transfered to an english speaking person. She was nice and offered me 6 months of free service. Then she began to ask me a series of questions as to why I was leaving. I told her there were two main reasons I was leaving, FAP and the way they handled modems. Over the last 6 years I purchased upgrades and new modems when they claimed it would go faster. It did none of the things they claimed. The last modem they sent without my consent. I installed and did not realize I was locking myself into another two year contract. But shame on me for not reading the contract. For pay back I installed a wifi system, with a signal magnifier and antenna on a PVC pipe. I shared my account with three neighbors within a 2.5 mile radius. For them it was better than dial up. I know your all going to say that I was not allowed to do that according to my contract. Well like so many of you I also was not informed on my original contract of the FPA policy. It was not until I exceeded my limit. My suggestion to all of you that helped me get AT&T DSL in my area. I put together a petition and asked local ministers to have parishioners to sign. I placed one at the county court house and asked for the Same. I only accumulated 413 signatures but apparently it was enough. Good luck to you all!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry Hughes Net Customer Feb 07, 2010

    I don't download very much. For the first two months of service I never had this problem, then suddenly my service was so slow, they told me something about a "fair access policy". I had not done anything different than normal usage wise, in fact I had used the service less than in prior months. I work in an I.T job, and I know for a FACT that I did not go over the download limit number they claimed was fair. I was NOT notified of this when I signed up with them. I was told I could buy some "token" to speed my service back up??? What the hell is fair about their access policy????

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    pelellyr Jan 24, 2010

    when you saw that 3Mbps connection was gonna run you near 200USD a month to get this fail service, that should have stopped you then from getting it... It certainly did me, I'd rather get a verizon wifi stick which is more reliable...

    there's your solution... Go to Verizon's ### but more stable wifi that's not priced to give heart attacks

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bigdaddysmoney.com Nov 20, 2009

    EVERYONE today I got a letter from the ftc about my complaint and they said that if more people complain about it then they will start a investigation and when you talk tell them that Vu from hughes net is horrible and complain about fap. there number is [protected] and we should take hughes net DOWN

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    Hughes sucks Nov 11, 2009

    HughesNet does not even bother to contact you to get there Equipment back they just send your debt straight to a collection agency. I would have GLADLY sent there crap back to them but I guess the crap is mine since I paid cash all up front for it. So I don't see how there trying to charge me for something I paid for. The collection Agency has harassed me and harassed me night and day. NEVER GET HughesNet there speed is SLOW you just as well have dial up. I called and called about the speed but got no results so I moved on to a radio signal much faster and no restrictions. Would NEVER go with HughesNet again rather have nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamundson Nov 02, 2009

    I agree. I have had the same problem with them and the FAP. I was not told about this FAP until after the 30 day trial was up. Then all the sudden service came to a crawl and I called customer service then found out about it. It continued to be a problem and always involved me calling after 36-48 hours of waiting to get service turned back on. I called to cancel and was told they would charge me $400. I told them not to take any money out of my account and send me any bills by mail or email. They charged me $5.00 to ssend a bill and deducted the months service the same time I was on the phone with them canceling. This was on the 1st of the month before my billing cycle was even to start. I filed a complaint with the BBB and FCC. Hughes offered to split my termination fee in half. I refuse to pay anything other than the $65.00 they took out when they were told not to. There excuse was I had 30 days to cancel at no charge and signed a contract with them. Well I did not have a problem then and as far as a contract, I never saw nor signed a contract with them. nor was I informed of the restrictions to my Unbound service. They said when I signed the work order when it was installed I was signing a contract? Where is the contract and terms etc all I have is a work order charging me $115.00 to install a pole for the dish.
    I will continue to dispute this charge and refuse to pay them. Turn it over to collections you still will not get paid.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JEANNIE_IDO Oct 25, 2009

    I AM ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE THAT GOT SUCKED IN BECAUSE I LIVE SO FAR OUT IN THE BOONIES THAT DIAL UP WAS AT 21K. SO WHEN I FIRST GOT HUGHESNET I THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT, I COULD ZIP AROUND WITH NO PROBLEMS. WELL, NOW IT HAS BECOME SLOWER AND SLOWER AND FREEZES UP ALL THE TIME. I DID HIT MY FAP ONCE AND WAS LOCKED OUT FOR 24 HOURS BUT NOW IT IS JUST SLOW AND I AM NOT EVEN CLOSE TO MY FAP. I FOR SURE WILL SIGN THE PETION AGAINST THEM. I HAVE 10 MONTHS TO GO ON MY CONTRACT SO I AM STUCK, CUZ I AM NOT GIVING THEM ANY MORE MONEY THAN I HAVE TO.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Starjasmine Oct 11, 2009

    If they continue to charge your card, contact your credit card company and let them know your services with that company have long been terminated and that you no longer give permission for them to pay out to that company. If that doesn't work, cancel your card and order a new one. At least you won't get continued charges for service you are not getting. I do hope they are stopped. Something needs to be done about this since many many people are badly affected by them.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tena Oct 07, 2009

    I HATE HUGHES NET...ALWAYS GOES INTO THE FAIR ACCESS POLICY...ONE OF MY SONS HAD TO DROP OUT OF ONE OF HIS CLASSES IN COLLEGE BECAUSE IT WAS AN ONLINE CLASS AND HUGHES NET SAID THAT HE COULD TAKE THE CLASS WITH THEIR SERVICE. WRONGGGGGGGGGGG. NOW WE ARE STUCK PAYING FOR THIS COLLEGE CLASS EVEN THOUGH HE HAD TO DROP OUT. MY OTHER 2 BOYS THAT ARE ALSO IN COLLEGE HAVE TO GO TO MY SISTERS HOUSE TO DO HOMEWORK ON THE COMPUTER BECAUSE THEY CAN NOT PULL UP THE COLLEGE WEBSITE. TAKES TO LONG. THEY ARE SUCH A BIG JOKE AND I AM GOING TO SPREAD THE WORD TO EVERYONE AND SEND EVERYONE THIS COMPLAINT BOARD TO HAVE THEM READ THESE.

    I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW THEY ARE ALLOWED TO ADVERTISE "HIGH SPEED INTERNET" WENT DIAL-UP IS FASTER THAN HUGHES NET. I AM HAVING AN ATTORNEY LOOK AT MY CONTRACT TO SEE IF I CAN GET IT VOIDED BECAUSE OF FALSE ADVERTISEMENT.

    ALSO, YOU CAN NOT UNDERSTAND HALF OF WHAT THEY SAY BECAUSE THEIR ENGLISH IS TERRIBLE. WE LIVE IN THE USA, I WANT A USA REPRESENTATIVE TO TALK TO NOT SOMEONE FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY THAT DOES NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT I AM SAYING NOR I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND THEM EXCEPT, "I AM SO SORRY FOR THIS CONVENIENCE".

    JERKS, JERKS, JERKS...AND LIKE AN IDIOT, I BOUGHT THE MODEM FROM THEM FOR 400.00 SO I AM STUCK WITH THAT. MAN I HATE HUGHES NET.

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Wrythofheaven Oct 01, 2009

    Hughes Net uses it Fair Access Policy as a means to disservice thier customers. Clearly, Hughes Net is a company that practices fraud and needs to be shut down and prosicuted for fraud and pay back the millions of dollars they owe thier customers. The Better Buisiness Bureau has already been made aware of Hughes Nets fraudulent practices and is working on shutting them down. All of Hughes Nets legal tidiness is not going to save them from justice. I urge everyone involved with Hughes Net, customers and employees to disembark before it sinks...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KayMyDay Sep 26, 2009

    I assumed a HughesNet contract from the prior owner of a home that I purchased. BIG MISTAKE. It's hard to know where to begin with how rotten an experience it has been.

    No phone call to them (no matter how minor) can be completed in less than 25 minutes. I don't know where they outsource to but they have clearly chosen to select the lowest cost company. They will repeat "Thank you, [Mr. or Ms. your name here]" at least 45 times in every call, all the while that they are telling your incomprehensible garbage. The explanations of everything are very, very hazy.

    To do anything, you must pay your current bill, even if it isn't due for three weeks. (That just happened to me.) I can hear them licking their chops as they demand your credit card number to do anything.

    When you call back about an issue that was obviously screwed up (to their financial benefit, no other way that things get screwed up), they will flat out lie to you. They give you these long confirmation numbers that mean nothing because they don't keep any records that will ever, ever help you. Those records only say what helps HughesNet get your money.

    The actual online service stinks at every hour of the day. But during business hours, it is virtually non-existent. You might as well do everything between 6 p.m. and 6 a.m. If you try to accomplish anything between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., it is nothing but frustrating.

    If I could break the contract at no cost, I would do so today. Instead, I am stuck with another 14 months of this nonsense. Please, please do not make the same mistake that I did. Get anything else that's available. You will be very, very sorry if you sign a contract with HughesNet. I can't wait until I can take the dish down and put it out for the scrap hauler. Bye, bye!!!

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    khrystallee Sep 17, 2009

    Hughes net does suck. We have had it for a few months and nothing but problems...can not get on, pages will not come up. They say everyother day when we call it is out computers to close all firewalls and virus protections, etc. still does not work. They say it is fast but dial-up is faster than this. We upgraded our service and it did not do anything. I am soooooooo tired of calling them and not understanding half of what they say because their English is terrible. It is, "Oh, I am sorry but it is fine on our end, must be your computer or router". Same thing all the time. And those stupid test that they have us do on their site, the speed test...whatever, that is a joke. says the pages load in 5.6 seconds. Right. I was on the phone with them and it had been 34 minutes and NO page loaded. "Oh, it is your computer, even though this is a new Dell, $2900.00 Laptop computer, it is my computer they say. Ten today after 2 1/2 hours on the phone again with them, I find out that what most of the problem with no speed and no pages loading is something called "Web Accelerator" that is inside the satellite dish. Hughes not said it is a booster. I was told that they are crap and restrict you from browsing and this is information was from someone who builds websites for over 30 years. Hughes net did say that they are not good but nothing they can do about it. GO figure...So in otherwords, they tell us that this is fast, hgh speed internet and your pages load fast like they show on those stupid commercial when in reality, they do NOT load. I think that is false advertisement and that something should be done about it instead of everyone getting trapped into a 2 year contract and have to pay $400.00 to cancel plus the $470.00 to purchase the equipment. Oh and about that part, they told us it was cheaper to purchase the equipment and would have home warrenty on it where they come there to fix problems for free because we bought it, HAH..what a lie that was. $125.00 service call plus so much every half hour. Damn did by boys and I get screwed. I hate these people so much and sure wish I could see some of them in person. I have quite a few things to tell them. ###s!!! I know I am going to be blogging and telling everyone about Hughes net on the horrible speed and service they provide. Most of the time we have NO service but still have to pay the $100.00 monthly fee. I told them 2 of my kids had to drop out of KVCC, (college) because they could not submit their homework online and that I would send them the letter from the college that said they had to drop out and why...They said, "so sorry but the problem is on your end with your computers." What the hell ever. All that money for college down the drain.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    hugheshater Aug 16, 2009

    Yes Hughes.net is way over priced for the crappy set up you get rained on and it takes days for it to come back, If you have a problem with there system and you call them all they told me i had vista call the manuf because they couldnt help me and it was there equipment... "WHAT CRAP" Billing was never the same it was always a different price and they always had a reason of why it was different, "WHAT EVER" and when we set it up we was not told everything, a lot was left out like there install people are independant contractors that will charge an additional $150 for the pole and concrete then hughes charges $99 Damn they think money grows on tree`s. All Im going to say NEVER USE THEM OR REFFER A FRIEND to that suckiest co and service ever, I would rather have dial up than them...
    CUSTROMER SERVICE SUCKS, TECH SUPPORT SUCKS, HUGHES NET SUCKS, THERE SYSTEM SUCKS FOR WHAT THEY CHARGE, BOTTOM LINE THEY ARE SCREWING US HARDER THAN OUR OWN GOVERMENT...

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bigdaddysmoney Jul 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hughes net has horrable service and i went trew the 24 hour period and they didint turn my service on tell we call and [censor]ed at them but is why i have hughes is because they have good equitment i had starband and starband had no fap so yeah

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wentwr Jul 06, 2009

    Please, please. If you are considering Hughesnet, try to avoid them. First they'll send out 'installers" who will immediately tell you that the cheap roof mount installation will not work and they will suggest a ground mount. This means an additional $250 to whatever charge depending on the distance. Then, if you'd like to think about it, they'll mention that the next visit will require an additioanl $125 charge. So now you'll jump and have them install and end up with a hefty $800.00 bill for the installation and first month's fee. This whole process is considered the "bait-and-switch". Unfortunately, I was ill with a damn kidney stone and wasn't using my head and went for the fast pitch the installers gave me. Once I saw the bill, I realized I made a stupid mistake.
    The next mistake was that when I orignally talked to these people, they said that if I bought all the equipment then I could have it turned off and on any time I wanted. Since the service was for my seasonal camp, I thought I could endure their excessive rates for the few months I needed it. Again, I didn't read the fine print which said I must take the service for two years. I could suspend service without a fee, but ultimately, I'd be locked into 24 months of payments no matter how long it took.
    Now for the service. Although I went with the upgraded $69 plan, it was often very slow, depending on the day and time of the day.
    The good news is that there is a 30 day "trial" period whereby you can cancel. Do not miss that! I tried to cancel prior to the last day and was told I could not as it would be cancelled the day I called. Well, I at least wanted to use up the month I paid for and waited until the last day. They don't make it too easy. The first call goes to someone in the Phillipines who gives you a "tranaction number" and then must transfer you to someone else to cancel. After being on hold for a lengthy period of time, I finally got someone to cancel, although they took more of my time by trying to talk me out of it. I was told I could get back$200 for the equipment if I sent it back, but I'm sure the damn postage will cost me nearly that much.
    Stay far away from Hughesnet!

    1 Votes
  • Sv
    svn1967 Jun 10, 2009

    Promised the best internet service, once installed it was slower than dial up! I canceled my account and they continued to try and chrage my credit card and refused to come get their dish and equipment.

    BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    NOT Happy May 12, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We were told by Hughes Net we could even watch TV shows online...of course this was before we got the service. HA! We watched 2 short commercials and exceeded and were in TIME OUT for over 24 hours.
    So, they told us an outright LIE! To me this is a CRIME. It is misrepresenting the company! Ours is slower than dial up most days, customer service has never been any help. It is a JOKE.
    They also lied and told us we would get a 100.00 rebate but now say we won't.
    After reading about Hughes Net taking money from people's credit cards and checking accounts without permission we changed banks so they don't have our account information and we told them to start sending us a bill each month. They are charging us an extra 5.00 per month to do this! I will only use money orders so they do not get our account number!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    deranged Apr 07, 2009

    I fully agree that Hughes is a huge fraud. The speeds are nowhere near what they were advertised to be. Our service goes in and out resulting in us having to call "tech support" about every week and a half for total service outages, and as you all know their support is a JOKE!! Then there's the FAP which is nowhere in the contract we signed. Also apparantly we had hit our download limit 3 times within our first 30 days, and we talked to tech support those 3 times and they did not mention the FAP limits at all, but then immediately after our 30 day period when we called the first thing they mentioned was the FAP. Funny how they don't mention it until after your 30 day evaluation period has passed so you cannot get out of their BS contract without a large penalty. I am filing complaints with the FTC, the BBB, and our AG. This is fraud pure and simple.

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    tupacemdg Mar 18, 2009

    We never ran into a problem of hitting a limit. however we had SEVER problems with customer service. We had issues with losing the signal since day one. we called and called to no avail. so we paid out of pocket several times (amounting to four times the fee to just cancle the damn thing) to have it realigned. the man that did it for us said there was nothing else to be done. Finally we had somthing different made available in our area and we jumped on it. it took us MONTHS to get someone on the phone that could just "authorize" the cancelation. we felt as though since the failure of the service was out of our control we should have the cancelation fee waved. well...after many months being put on hold, jerked aorund in general we finally got through to someone. only to be told that they were having computer problems (ironic???) and they assured us they would return our call that day. two weeks later, no phone call. so i reported them to the BBB. conveinently the issue was resolved and the fee waived. or so we thought. until this morning when i recieved a debt collection notice for the three hundred dollar cancelation fee that had supposedly been waived! i called the agency, who in turn sent me to hughes net. upon calling them, a women answered with such a heavy accent i could barly make out what she was saying. then i was put on hold several times. then for the fourth time for over twenty five minuets. thats when i hung up. typical S***. not even a customer anymore and theyre still terriable. i consequently re-reported them to the bbb, and cc'd my report to both them and the debt collection agency. hughes net sucks, bottome line. actually, check out www.hughesnetsucks.com...googled hughes net and it popped up. apparently such a large number of people have had problems that someone took the time to make a website!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Feb 13, 2009

    I have been a customer also for 6 years. In the last 3 months 506 error codes have appeared steadily. I called hughes and said it was not fapped and that it happens from 6:00 Am Pcific coast time till about 9:00 PM Pacific coast time. They are sharing like a rolling black out from the East coast to the west. You can download as much as you want between hours of 12:00 AM and 3:00 AM with no fap. They don't tell you that upfront. Also i called the tech guy and told him what i thought and he agreed with me and laughed. My system is only two years old and good signal strength with a clear shot over the ocean no obstructions. This is all BS and they, Hughes, is adding to many customers and do not have enough room to share it all so they hand it out as they see fit from East to West. I am really upset with this. I have the 7000hns. What a load of crap.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    car9 Jan 06, 2009

    I am writing to you in regards to a new Hughes.net email address that has been new since approximately 12/11/09. I sent emails to that address on 12/11/09. On 12/12/09 and to date, any emails that I send to that address has been returned to me saying it contained spam or virus. That address is: [email protected]
    I can send emails to other addresses, but not that one.
    I have checked with my internet provider and they can not figure out why it is happening. I can receive emails from that address and when I reply they also come back to me saying they contain spam or virus.
    Please advise
    Sincerely, Laura
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Digital Gravy Dec 21, 2008

    I've had Hughes Directpc for over 14 months now. I'm 60 years old and have been involved with computers since 1979.
    Hughes service leaves much to be desired. Two glaring contradictions in Hughes advertising and their contract are, 1. Download speeds of 512k per second with uploads of 128k per second. 2. F.air A.ccess P.olicy or FAP for short.
    On #1 In the 14 months with Hughes service I have never experienced download speeds that ever exceeded 97k per second. If you are downloading from two sites simultaneously, the 97k is split in half down to a download speed of 48.5k per second. If you do several sites at the same time, then your download speed of 97kps is divided by the number of sites your downloading from. This is done in real time, using real data sites and not from a select "speed test site" which is a "lab perfect" not real world application.
    On #2 The "Fair Access Policy" or FAP seems to be more of a ruse than and actual bandwidth / data gathering policy. I believe that its real intent is to allow Hughes to sign on more subscribers then its satellites and other related equipment can actually accommodate at any given moment, i.e. "milking the system". Milking the system is and old way to increase profits without spending the needed money to upgrade equipment to handle (in real time) the volume of subscribers any given company signs up for its services.
    This can apply to not only two way Satellite services, but also power, phone (include wire type Internet) and or any other business where its customer base is not aware of the true volume (potential users) which includes the very company that institutes FAP or other similar polices.

    And example of FAP using Hughes, would be the following...
    Lets say that your account is tampered with back at the NOC in such a way that the "acceleration coding / algorithm" no longer functions correctly.
    This prevents you from "browsing the web" using Hughes service. Now lets say you call tech support and over a half hour period get the tech to correct the "acceleration function".
    However unknown to you the correction is done by Hughes sending down many megabytes of data to your modem (which you did not authorize Hughes to send). The sending of this additional data sends your account into a FAP condition. Would you say that was FAIR? Or do you think Hughes should eat the extra bandwidth and leave your account untouched?

    I feel they should eat it. So based on that feeling is Hughes in violation of its contract and / or has a fraud been perpetrated on one if not many of Hughes own customers? I'm personally going to sue Hughes here in our local courts under the (Consumer Protection Act), if I win would any of you like to join me in a "Class action lawsuit" (to join is FREE) to anyone who has experienced like wise problems with Hughes Satellite Service.
    Love to hear from any of you out there.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john porterfield Dec 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Piece of ###, Rip Off, Sham, They send someone out to your rural home, after they tell you installation is free. The guy shows up and says it's 125$ to secure the satellite...o.k. thats fine. Then they tell you that the packages are 59.99 & 79.99 per month. Of course you want the really faaast internet just like the people you see on the commercials... So you go with the 79.99 deal. But you find out the next week that they didn't mention the 20.00 "RENTAL" fee per month for the "EQUIPMENT" . And for your 99.00 per month you get the sloooowest ###ing service since the PONY EXPRESS. Not to mention the tech support, which is non-existent. Actually, it exists, but only in some country whose inhabitants, unfortunately, can't speak ###ING ENGLISH. Which causes a problem for all of us who live in AMERICA. PLEASE, SOMEONE COULD SURELY DO THIS BETTER THAN IT'S BEING DONE. I'M ON THE LOOKOUT FOR THE COMPANY THATS GOING TO BUY YOU OUT AND MAKE A LOT OF MONEY GIVING PEOPLE THEIR MONEY'S WORTH. Again, stop ###ing these people out of their hard earned money, because your service sucks.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nikki Nov 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    No that does not mean that u have virus. It means that u must be typing the password wrong or u need to get it reset. May be u can take help of the technical dept of hughes.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry Nov 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Folks don't buy into this joke. Dumb me upgraded to the 7000 about 45 days ago and ever since had problems. I send email that the web accelerator would not stay operational. They said they could not trouble shot with out me calling in to the no help tech support. Finally I did and all they did is run something in the background and said they would have to send a tech. to my house. I am on the express plan so it cost me $29.95. Note this is what it cost me for a tech. on something that has not worked since install. Also, the hing they ran in the background to see that I REALLY have a problem could have been ran when I sent the initial email. I did not need to call in for them to find this issue. (this is per a tech) Another way to get a dollar from you. I have been a customer for 5 years and the service and product continue to get worse. They hang you by getting you in a 2 year contract. - I suggest someone looking at this as a solution look for something better. Don't go the Hughes net way.
    They need to get there support back in America.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.