Hughesnetservice

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Purchased new computer with operating system upgrade from Windows Vista to Windows7. Very, very slow service, worse than dial up. Have been on the phone with Hughes 4 times in 24 hours and have had to pay $5.00 for somw sort of token to address "exceeding download"problem. This is robbery as I am allowed one free token per month, and because of changes in op. system I have already used two tokens in 24 hours. Tokens are $5.00 apiece. I already pay a fortune for the monthly provider service and have for eight years. Have I any recourse?

Responses

  • Ha
    Harford Ellis Oct 21, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I run a business from home and can't even send and receive information from my clients with out reaching their 350 mb limit in a 24 hour period. I pay $79.00 a month for slow as dial up service and have for years because that is all I can get.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suzy smith Nov 13, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Instead of everyone writing a complaint on this site just so Hughes net can delete it before the public has knowledge of their fraudulent claims as being high speed internet providers. We all need to go to www.ftc.com and complain and they can't delete a complaint made to them.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlene Landers Dec 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I get about HALF of dial-up speed when this POS is actually working at all. We called their "customer service" and were told that we should try using the service between 3 and 6 AM because of the high volume of internet traffic.

    At no point were we advised of a limit on the internet usage but that would explain why the service works fine (by their standards) one minute and then pretty much QUITS for 24 hours or longer. I can't even just check my email or load a webpage. This is insane and these people should be paying US for the aggravation.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlene Landers Dec 02, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The URL is ftc.gov for those wishing to file a complaint. Please do so!

    http://ftc.gov/ftc/cmplanding.shtm

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan Apr 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hughes Net has become one of the worst internet providers around; nothing is their fault the service they provide is perfectly normal. I wouldn’t suggest their services to a dog. Complaints, they don’t even have a complaint department, go figure, but you have to admit they don’t have to listen to your complaints. I’m surprised they’re still in business.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karen Jul 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Installed in November 2007 followed all instructions for rebate told to wait 608 weeks. No rebate still in July 2008. Every call is answered with wait 10 days. Finally an email that said wait 10 days. STILL no rebate. This is clearly a rip off.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Toni Aug 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had nothing but problems with this company. I bought the best equipment and ordered the business service so that I would have better down load and upload. They sold me a bill of goods. I would be better off on dial up.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron G. Hansard Sep 27, 2008

    I live in the country and do not have access to cable or DSL service. I saw the Hughes Net service advertised and purchased it. That was one of the worse mistakes of my life! I purchased the plan that was suppose to give me 1.5 Mbytes download and 200 Kbytes upload. The service started out pretty good. I didn't get the download and upload speeds promised, but it was better than my previous dial-up. Over the period of a few months my service started getting worse, and today I barely get dial-up speeds. I contacted Hughes Net technical support and was subjected to the worse customer support department I've ever had to deal with. The technical support department is in India, and all the people follow scripts. They don't speak very good English, and they ignore (or probably don't understand) what you try to tell them. One of the other things I really hate about Hughes Net is the way they manage download volumes. I am suppose to get 425 Mbytes download per day, but some days I seem to exceed this volume without even turning on my computer! I have no doubt that Hughes Net has grossly over sold their service, and uses the very cheapest method to maintain and support their systems. Bottom line, DON'T GET HUGHES NET SERVICE, it is the worse service out there.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denise101 Feb 15, 2009

    We have had them for 5 years. We live in the country and therefore no other provider is availbe for us to use. I have decided to go back to dial up. I actually believe that dial up is much much faster than this so called high speed garbage hughes net has. They duped us into upgrading our service and charging us $400 with a so called rebate, which we never received, and then tell you that you only have limited use. Their customer service dept's are garbage as well. They always seem to make it your fault. Everytime you call in, it's a different problem. First they told us to check our usage, then speed tests, then they told us it must be our computer (which is brand new). They even went as far as telling us to turn off our anti virus stuff so that the computer runs faster. It's amazing. This is by far the worst service I have ever had. I too find it amazing that they are still in business on the garbage they sell people. After being placed on hold for over 20 min, I finally got them to give the address for their legal dept, which at first they told me they couldn't give out. I hope more people sue them like I am so that this end and more unsuspecting people dont fall into their trap of lies and deceit. Thanks for reading this, I hope it helps just one person not make the fatal mistake of getting them.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Medlock Feb 20, 2009

    DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH HUGHES NET. No US contact. Phillipines, India, everywhere but the US. Poor, poor, poor service. No way to complain about them. High speed? Dial up is faster. Charge for premium service, costly equipment, no refunds, and they don't care! Feel free to email

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Medlock Feb 20, 2009

    Hughes sucks.

    0 Votes
  • We
    WET Mar 04, 2009

    They advertise high speed internet is should not be allowed to advertise this because their internet is not much faster than dial up. They require the 2 year contract for a reason. I look foward to the day I have other intenet access other than dial up available. I find it better to drive to a local place that offers free WiFi and do my work.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    Jbug Mar 18, 2009

    They are awful...and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    JM
    Sturgis, MI

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom May 31, 2009

    Trying to get the rebate they promised is impossible. Just when you think you've jumped through all their on-line hoops to apply for the rebate, another roadblock pops up. When you complain to them, they say they have no control over the rebate process because it's handled by another company. It's nothing but a Catch-22 rip-off.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FRUSTRATED Jun 01, 2009

    I found out today that Hughes Net (India based customer service) could not extend the Fair Access Policy. This I do not understand since they decided to do maintenance on the 9000 series without notifying the customer. We were without internet for approximately 6 hours. I finally found out that it was not maintenance but that the 9000 series had multiple issues which they were working on.

    I have made numerous calls to get to someone in charge that could possibly help with this. At this time I am unable to get the internet connection that I need for my business at my home.

    Hughes Net will receive a bill from us for $2200.00 with proof of lost income.

    If they had at least tried to help this could have been avoided. Sometimes reading off a script just causes more trouble. This company needs training in people skills.

    Thank you
    Babs James

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FRUSTRATED Jun 01, 2009

    HAPPENS ALL THE TIME

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    [email protected] Jul 01, 2009

    Yep, I have the same complaint with my Hughes Net service, which, by the way, is $80+ a month!!! I wanted to use Google Earth last night and while that NEVER LOADED!!! thanks Hughes Net... today I am penelized for trying, and can not load/read my email... Hughes Net has also crashed at critical times, such as when my doctor needed to notify me by email.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shellyesoftnpink Jul 07, 2009

    they suck, $80.00 a month and always get red flagged for going over some stupid fair access threshold really not happy with this service at&t rules does not penalize you for downloads.

    0 Votes
  • Harsh Realities Jul 19, 2009

    It is only slow if your technician was lazy (very likely). Insist the dish be tuned to AT LEAST 98% signal reception or the blame lies with you.

    0 Votes
  • De
    delores216 Aug 01, 2009

    I have been Hughes Net Customer for 2 1/2 years. I pay them $70.00 per month and they treat their customers like two year olds. They give you compared to Comcast cable the worst service, they take your money and you are at their mercy when they feel like sticking the FAP to you. About two weeks ago it was in effect and when it should have gone off it didn't I called and had to unplug the box for 1 hour for it to reset which made no sense.

    0 Votes
  • Ze
    Zell9090 Aug 16, 2009

    Today my FAP should have gone off at 7:00 AM, at 7:30 I was still blocked. I called customer service and was told that because I had continued to download after the FAP went into affect, I would have to wait additional time. The written policy specifically says that it is a 24 hour period. They keep changing the rules, it is not right!

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    ky101 Aug 24, 2009

    They are the worst company. We are Military and are PCS, the new home will not allow us to install the satalight and will not have open skys to recieve signal. They will not wave the cancelation fee because I the spouse hold the account not the service member. Besides that I also loose internet at least 3 days a week for about 4 hours each time. Tech support speacks poor english and treats you as you are stuppid when really it is nothing to do with me or the computer it is them. They fix it in about 30 to 40 minutes. It is faster than dial up however not allways because of the continuing of the internet being down for short periods off and on on top of the loss of internet about 3 days a week at 4 hour time spans. The installer was horriable, it cost me an extra $200 because he had to dig in harder dirt than he wanted to. It is very expensive for not so great internet, horriable service, and the treatment of their staff.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lew noble Aug 24, 2009

    on august the 3rd our internet connection stopped working. after a call to the customer service dept., we were told a service tech would call us within 2 days. that never happened. so when we called back the following monday, we were told a service tech would be at our home on wednesday by 5 o'clock our time. that didn't happen. so once again we called customer service. we were then promised he would be at our residence by noon the next day. that didn't happen, either. all this time we are losing money because my wife works using the internet, and without the internet, she makes nothing. after the service tech failed to show at noon on thursday, we call again! customer service now promises us that he will be at our residence by 5 o'clock. guess what...that didn't happen! finally the service tech calls our home and tells us that he can't make it until "sometime on friday". he finally shows and finds that the dish has almost fallen off my roof because the bolts were loose and one of the electrical boxes is full of water. SPECTACULAR INSTALLATION!!! after the initial wednesday appointment, he told customer service that he had come by and we weren't there. we knew that was a lie, and the lie was uncovered on friday when he had to call us to get directions to our house. through all of this garbage and lost income, the best they could do was a free month of service, and i had to fight just to get that! i really wish someone with some standing in that company would call me personally. i think they need to know what a large percentage of their customers already know...Hughes Net sucks and that's really all there is to say!!! thank you for your time, Lewis N.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Ticked Offf Sep 01, 2009

    Hughes Net is a major rip off. They severely punish you with molasses slow browsing (slower than the worst dial-up) if you see too much streaming media. All forms of streaming media are considered downloads according to Hughes net. Hughes Net is very expensive for the sorry access you get.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Ticked off in OH Sep 09, 2009

    AVOID HUGHES NET! Like others I had a choice of dial-up or satellite. Their commercials are misleading -- the only "high speed" is their elite package which is almost $200 a month! I've also had to deal with FAP's and been unable to do anything for 1 or 2 days until they released my account. I'm finally in an area where I can get wireless internet (I knew cell towers had to be good for something!) and tried to cancel my Hughes account after 18 months. Found out that I'm locked in for 6 more months, although I have no paperwork showing a 24 month commitment. They guy in India (or wherever they're located) said by initialing some statement on the install form I'm bound by the terms of the agreement. They said they could suspend my acct. for 6 months with no payment, but after that it would be active and I still had to honor the remaining 6 months. Their cancellation fee was $300 or $50/month instead of the usual rate - big deal! At least Verizon only charges $175 if I cancel early! Do whatever else you can for internet service! Oh yeh - I also own the modem & satellite dish - target practice anyone??

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    khm Accounting Services Sep 10, 2009

    This is the worst company to deal with. Customer Support totally unsatisfactory. The worst service ever. Tried to get it corrected and still no help from customer support. I tried to get a home office address for Hughes Net and have been looking for days on the internet as well as trying to get a phone number. No luck! Does anyone out there know how to file a complaint against this company!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tater davis Sep 10, 2009

    i wished i did i cant stand them i call them allmost everyday and complain about my slow download im paying 79.99 for 1500 down and 200 up all i get is between 40-150 down and 190 up the download is terrible they keep saying call back in 3 days afeter i run more speed test so thats what i do then they keep saying the same thing over and over im upset i cant browse like i want to it take forever to open a website and sometime it dont open at all .i dont know what to do either id like to sew them make them give me a full refund my contract runs out dec 29th and ill cancle my service i might go with wild blue or i might just have to move somehere so i can get digital cable internet service or dsl .its a shame hughes net is riping us off i dont know what else to do. they wont even send a tech out here to trouble shoot my problem or send me another modem i dont understand. they acked like they dont care and we are stupid makes me mad and very upset.and everytime i call i get a stupid forenior that you cant understand that well and dont speak good english

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kenny oates Sep 27, 2009

    this is the worst net service ive ever had, i call them a couple times a week the net net crawls and it freezes up all the time.when i do call i get a forenior and u cant understand him. when i ordered it it was an american who took my order, where are they at? im considering contacting the federal service commission and the better business bureal and filing a complaint.

    0 Votes
  • 11
    11acs Nov 06, 2009

    We purchased the equipment upfront, fulfilled our 24 month contract and as stated in the contract should receive a $200.00 check for return of the equipment. They are telling us don't bother sending it back as there will be no check.

    0 Votes
  • Jh
    JH8 Nov 23, 2009

    Unauthorized internet upgrades, incorrect charges, internet disconnection without notification because of change in payment method.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trebd021 Dec 01, 2009

    I recently rented a house that already had a hughes net dish and modem. I called to reactivate them and when i got home it wasnt working. I called their tech support(big mistake) they had me run an update and the signal dropped from an 80 to a 15, they had me try everything they could think of and then told me i needed a tech to come out and it would cost $125.00. I knew whatever they did had caused the signal to drop. two months later i finally got a tech to show up and tell me that hughes put me on the wrong satellite, finally i got the internet to work a few days ago and today called to have it turned off.
    I have run into some pretty horrible costumer service, and some pretty horrible services from companies and this is my first web complaint because their service is really bad, i thought i could do a little more surfing before hitting the FAP, i would go on the internet for less than an hour (basic webpages no video or large files) and hit the FAP. please listen to everyone this service is NOT worth the money.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trebd021 Dec 01, 2009

    At&t is the way to go if you get a signal. do not choose Hughes Net.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    A&G Feb 13, 2010

    I had Hughes net for one week and I had internet access for less than one hour. This was approximately one year ago. After several calls to customer service and technicians who blamed me I spoke with a manager after being put on hold for 30 minutes or more several times. Crystal was beligerent and less than helpful. She hung up on me on more than one occasion. In the end she agreed that I would not be charged if I sent the equipment back. I said that someone would have to come and remove the sattelite from the roof. She refused saying that they don't need the sattelite just a little box on the sattelite. I still have their dish on my roof and they charged me $300. Now my name has been sent to a collection agency and the credit bureau. Hughes net ruined my credit and damaged my roof.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patchesboy Mar 04, 2010

    I have just had the very same thing happen to me, I bought a quickbooks 2010on line and had to down load it to my computer . It took hours and after a bit it would stop. Then the next day it would start again. Then it would stop, this went on and on after hours on the phone between intuit anf hughes net. They all said it was my OLD computer, so I bought a new lap top. Still same thing. So i finally found out that hughes net only allows so much downloads a day then you have to buy a token, but the problem with it was each time it stoped, because the internet slowed to a craw to STOP. The next day 24 hr. it would start the download from the beginingnot where it stoped, so same thing over and over. YEA Im pissed, I m in the sticks and don't have oppions, and was never told about the downlord deal. Hughes net said I can up grade to more bandwich but thats around $140.00 NOWAY. whats a person to do.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ralph Corbin Apr 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I live out in the country where DSL and other high speed internet options are not available to me. This is where the satellite companies know they can take advantage of you. I pay $79.99 a month for service, and I still have to watch my activities closely so I don't exceed the amount of bandwidth they allow me. I am not the only one in my household who uses the internet. This whole setup is BULL. They don't care if I exceed the bandwidth as long as I pay an additional $10.50, then it doesn't matter about the other customers that are supposedly affected by users exceeding the usage limits. They say that is why they have restrictions, so all their customers will get quality service. Why is it if I pay extra then everything is OK. They know my hands are tied if I want high speed internet, since I have no other choices, except dialup.
    Hughes net is misleading in their commercials also. They make it sound like you can do whatever you want online. I want to throw something at the TV every time I see those bogus commercials.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeDeBoy Jul 22, 2010

    I have an important client who lives in a rural area of Washington that switched to Hughes.Net because they promised him great speed and service. Ha! Now over 50% of my emails to him get kicked back. ALL emails with attachements are returned (very important contracts among other things). I have another client in common with him who also gets the same results when he sends email. "Spotty" at best!
    Then I have a friend in Wisconsin who plays games on line and Hughes refuses to allow him to open the ports that firewall him from gaming!!! This is nonsense. How does a company like this not only exist but thrive on the backs of its loyal customers? Isn't there a single States Attorney General, much less the US AG, willing to have the backbone to do something about this sham and shameful company? SOMEONE MUST MOUNT A CLASS ACTION SUIT. I'm certain 1000's would follow and it would be one of the largest cases of recorded history. If I had Hughes.Net, I would start the class myself.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tonjya Gianfrancesco Sep 27, 2010

    I am tired of trying to get on internet and everytime i go to use hughesnet it is slow and always seems to say i have used my download ..well for the price that i pay to have internet service through them. should be enough to keep my internet service fast and not a pain in the [censor]. i feel that this is a rip off and that i shouldnt have to buy a token everytime i use the internet. what does my money go on that i pay each month ..if your services cant provide me with the service i deserve for 70 to 80 dollars a month, maybe our better business bureau needs to check the persons that have this established in the phillipines.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    What-the f May 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AS Usual Hughes Net Is Running Slower Than My Neighbors Dial-up, Have Contacted Them And they Say WE NEED TO an Equipment upgrade, To get this we must kiss their ### for another 2 year bad contract, The Service will not get any better only when they are Not switching every one around, My son builds and repairs Computers and He says they are cheating People

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chkdizzle Nov 13, 2011

    Hold on, my high speed internet is alot slow. Hughes net is the biggest scam out there. id rather have dial up. The more downloads you want the more money you will have to pay. And if you want to cancel its 400$ Youtube...forget about watching youtube, takes 15 min to download one song or video. I hope anyone connected with this company burns in hell.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    very bad ripoff Nov 16, 2012

    VERY SIMPLE TO FIX SLOW INTERNET
    And
    DOWN RIGHT BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE
    This is a very long complaint letter but I wanted the AMERICAN people or anyone that use or plan to use a satellite Internet service, to please DO NOT USE HUGHES NET. It is extremely expensive (yes your standard installation is free but your dish and modem is over $600.00) and the customer service is by far the worst nightmare you will ever experience. The only good thing you will hear about HUGHES NET is from THEM…

    Dear Hughes Net, As usual today I was talking with your inept customer service center. If having to choose from your automated menu is not aggravating enough, I finally thought I had the right department only to find out as usual I was speaking to the same inept and un-courteous people.
    I have the same SLOW INTERNET complaint with my Hughes Net service, as many people in AMERICA have with your VERY BAD COMPANY and your very rude and inefficient service personal of which none could speak understandable English. The more technical the problem became, and there was nothing they knew to blame my problem on they would speak worse English than when the conversation first started.
    I have had my Hughes net for over five/six years. In this length of time I have very easily spent over 100 hours on the phone with customer support. I have been hung up on around thirty times (BAD CONNECTION I AM SURE) I have asked to talk to a supervisor about 15 times as always I have been disconnected on most occasions, (AGAIN BAD CONNECTION) I always call back and on a few occasions I was able to talk to a supervisor. On all of my conversations with Hughes Net I always get the persons name especially the supervisors, I always call back and go thru the same 20 minute conversation with a pre recorded session before I can talk to a un-advanced or (dumb) technician. I then ask for the supervisor that I was talking to BY NAME and as always they do not know a supervisor with that name. I always ask for a case number and as always they do not know anything of the previous case number, I have in the past three weeks been told by a supposed supervisor, 5 times that a advanced technician would call me the next day to solve the problem, THIS NEVER HAPPENS. So I called back to see why I never received any returned calls the last person that I talked to said an advanced technician would call me back within 45 minutes THIS NEVER HAPPENED EITHER. I decided I would try again because what else can I do! So after having to listen to your very aggravating automated menu for at least the twentieth time in the last three weeks, I finally got to talk to another supervisor. This one told me the same lies that all of the service personal had given me before. I promise you an advanced technician would call me the next day THIS NEVER HAPPENED EITHER.
    I once was told by a advanced technician that I could not use a wireless router so I had my second computer hard wired and this did not change any thing, after you go thru 20 to 30 minute session with a supposedly un-advanced or (dumb) technician you might get to talk to a advanced technician, this one said I could not use a router at all. So I kept this advanced technician on the line until I disconnected the router completely. This action did not work either. He at this time told me to delete my Google Earth and several insignificant programs and this did not help either. So he said my computer had problems so I took the computer to Best Buy a reptile computer repair service, they said there was nothing wrong with my computer. I also got a computer service company in (INDIA) your country to service and maintain my computer. On the last five times I have called you I get them to check out my computer before I call you because I know you will say something is wrong on my end. So I call again and as usual after you go thru a 20 to 30 minute session with an un-advanced or (dumb) technician. You might get to talk to an advanced technician; this one said after keeping me on the line for several hours said my computer was bad. So I quit arguing with these greatly advanced technicians. I bought a new computer and then I called back so as usual after you go thru a 20 to 30 minute with a supposedly un-capable technician I was able to talk to an advanced technician, After I talked to this highly advanced technician for another 2 hours he said my modem was bad so I bought a new modem from you and as usual this did no good. YOU ARE THE ONLY SATELLITE INTERNET COMPANY I CAN GET WHERE I LIVE SO I HAVE TO PUT UP WITH HUGHES NET UNTIL I CAN GET ANOTHER COMPANY. When there is another satellite company available to the people in AMERICA I am sure that you will see a substantial loss of customers. After that I hope a solar flare fries your satellite so all you will loose your jobs then you can’t take advantage of any other people with your lousy service…
    Also GEN 4 is not here as advertised only a few states have the GREAT GEN 4. Even when it is available to everyone, you will have the same service personal.

    Comments

    0 Votes

Post your comment