SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Hughesnet2-year contract??

1
M Review updated:

I'm trying to cancel my Hughesnet service because we are moving to an area that offers broadband (THANK GOD!). Hughesnet sucks... it's just sucks.. Slower than dial-up at times. When I tried to cancel today, the barely English-speaking gentleman on the line said I signed up for a 2-year contract term commitment. I'm pretty sure this was never discussed or brought to my attention AS my rental lease was for one-year FIRM. I don't believe I missed the fine print as the deal was made over the phone. I'm also told that I have to pay the shipping cost to return the dish. I told him I understand I bought the dish. The refund is $200. The early term fee to break the contract is $400. Anyone else have this issue?

Responses

  • L
      Jul 09, 2009

    I just canceled my service with Hughesnet and was told that there is a $515 early termination fee because of when I signed up. I have searched high and low and cannot find that information in an easily accessible location. You have to go to a different web site (different from the HughesNet customer care site) to find this information and apparently you have to get the web address from an account manager. I could not agree more--the service stinks. I have waited five minutes for an internet site to come up--I have almost fallen asleep several times waiting...and waiting... I am going to pursue this further as I don't feel this company treats its customers fairly. Their advertising borders on false and it is time someone does something about this!

    +12 Votes
  • R
      Oct 04, 2018

    @lscheye They are already crossing all the boundaries of what is permitted. This is a real scam!

    +8 Votes
  • V
      Jan 10, 2019

    @lscheye I had the same thing happen to me after they lied about the speed, and were the most dishonest and deceptive business I have ever in my 64 years encountered! I wish we could get our money back! My husband is a disabled Veteran!!!

    +5 Votes
  • J
      Jul 15, 2009

    Same boat...my situation is INSANE.
    Due to a particular area that I live, the transponder I'm forced to use can barely stay up with dial-up...multiple disconnects...horrible bandwidth. I paid $1, 800 cash for the equipment, then after a year, I actually shut down the system because it was just too frustrating. After multiple calls to HughesNet "people" that speak some form of broken English, rude, condescending, and no help in resolving MY technical problems (a lowly customer begging for help).
    Finally, I called to cancel. Get ready...they COULD NOT cancel my contract until I FAX THEM A LETTER ON COMPANY LETTERHEAD !! I'm 130 miles to the nearest fax machine!! So, I went to town, faxed them a letter (we don't have "letterhead" stationary)...guess what?!? Still charged my account another month. Another phone call...they couldn't accept my cancellation because it wasn't on company letterhead !!! My next call was to my bank to block the next charge attempt.

    I'm going after this disgusting excuse of a service provider. HughesNet has the WORSE ethics, customer service, and attitude. If you are remotely thinking of using HughesNet...RUN, don't walk...RUN as fast as you can away from them!! JR

    +9 Votes
  • M
      Aug 05, 2018

    @JR in Wyoming The reason why we don't understand these people with broken ENGLISH is because Hughes.net OUTSOURCES ALL THEIR CALLS TO THE PHILIPPINES. THEY HAVE ACTUAL OFFICES IN THE UNITED STATES BUT I AM HAVING TROUBLE REACHING THEM. I AM CONTACTING THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE TOMORROW. I HAVE NO USE FOR PEOPLE WHO DON'T SPEAK ENGLISH OR UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE TRYING TO TELL THEM. STOP OUTSOURCING TO PEOPLE OVERSEAS, KEEP YOUR CALL CENTERS IN THE USA WHERE PEOPLE ACTUALLY NEED A JOB!

    +7 Votes
  • S
      Oct 26, 2010

    I just got charged 400.00 to terminate Hughes Net. I called and the 2 people I talked to couldn't speak english. They said I knew the charge and there wasn't anything they could do . The biggest mistake I ever made. They just charged it to my charge card.

    +7 Votes
  • E
      Mar 26, 2011

    I could not agree more, I was just in a similar situation. I have called them several times and chatted with them about several things and I just get a run- a- round. They cannot or will not answer a simple question. They direct you to someone else or a link to figure out your own problems. I had a contract for two years and if it was not for that, I would have cancelled sooner. In the long run, it would have been cheaper to cancel early. Now I have problems getting the kit to return the equipment before I am charged 400.00. I am still waiting for the kit. I will never use Hughesnet again.

    +3 Votes
  • A
      Apr 27, 2011

    I hear all of you I have had the service for only 4 months and yes it sucks!!! I am thinking of cancelling it. It sound scary though. We keep going past our dowload alowance every day. When we started it was supose to be 350MB but now it is 300MB. So i called and asked about another plan. The one that is offerd for 89.00 show dowload allowance as 400MB, but the person I talked to told me that it would only be 350Mb download. Ya nothing they offered me when I got it is the same.

    +4 Votes
  •   Jun 08, 2011

    Report your credit card stolen or dispute it with your bank so they cant keep charging you!!

    +2 Votes
  • M
      Aug 05, 2018

    @Okraqueen Do like I did, cancel your debit or credit card and get a new one. They are still trying to charge my old card with my bank and my keeps telling them they are denying the charge. I am contacting the Attorney General's office tomorrow, I am so sick of these people who answers their phones in the Philippines.

    +5 Votes
  • S
      Sep 08, 2018

    @Myra Powell-White But will this not affect the Credit score
    They may ask money recovery agency to contact us and get the money

    -1 Votes
  • A
      Jun 09, 2011

    I really want to get rid of this hughesnet but I am worried that they will charge my bank card even though I went to paper billing and pay an extra 5 dollars to get it. And pay through the one time check payment on the interent. So i am now paying for the stupid hughes service and a local internet service that is $60 dollars cheaper than hughes!!! And no downlaod limits!!!

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Oct 21, 2015

    I too am paying for Hughesnet AND a local ISP. Hughesnet told me the data cap of 10gb would be plenty for us even though I told them we stream Netflix daily and had 4 computers and 3 smart phones in the house. The data meter didn't work the whole first month (you know, during the 30 days where you can cancel without paying a fee) so I didn't know how awful I'd been lied to until after it was too late. I hate Hughesnet. They should be ashamed of themselves for taking advantage of ppl. The contract was done over the phone (I have bad signal where I live so I miss much of what was said) and never got to see it in writing.

    +6 Votes
  • P
      Oct 23, 2015

    I actually like HughesNet. The service is good. I understood when I signed up that it is limited, so I knew that meant not much downloading allowed. The only thing I will download are PDF's. I don't need to stream movies as I have Direct TV, and get all the movies I want through them.
    I do like unlimited Internet better, but since there is nothing like that in my area, I have to use HughesNet.

    -12 Votes
  • J
      Oct 24, 2015

    I wish I had read this first, I would have never looked into this garbage! I just sent my final rip off from hughesnet. Please if you are looking to subscribe...DO NOT. Everything you read here is true!

    +9 Votes
  • 4
      Apr 16, 2016

    My problem is that I have great connectivity but cannot access any site. Calls to Hughes chat is friendly. Then suddenly service is restored. I want to cancel for cause (no service) but want to do it in the best way.

    +4 Votes
  • 4
      Apr 20, 2016

    HUGHESNET HAS neither a good product, impowered complaint handlers *Phillipines) or a decent product.
    John

    +1 Votes
  • O
      Dec 06, 2016

    We relocated to a temp location after a catastrophe from unlimited service to Hughes. The move would be temporary. I told Hughes this and was told that when we moved again we would only have to fulfill our 2 yr contract after another move. At the time of move in to our perm. location, I explained this and they still tacked on another year. Also, I was told Hughes provided fax service(main reason I need internet). Guess what I found out after hook-up?! No fax service. When I get someone speaking broken English, I ask for someone who speaks better English. Since I am dealing with money and numbers, I tell them I need to be able to understand what is being said. If they still try to help, I hang up and call back and hope for someone better. Anyways, Hughes really sucks. I have to use data on my phone because it won't connect to the internet. We lose connection all the time and it's very slow. I hate it. Now that we are half way through the year-end contract--- are paying the fee to switch over. All these large companies that force contracts take advantage of their position and don't care about customer service. It is very rare that I add a comment. I have to agree with the other negative comments. I would have preferred to up data to the max for the phones than deal with Hughes. Oh, yes, I did have to increase data a little more because of the lack of connection through Hughes. Do everything you can to avoid Hughes!!!

    +2 Votes
  • G
      Dec 29, 2016

    Hughes net is the worst of all the internet providers in our area. If you call your credit card company, talk to the disputes department and tell them no more future charges on your account from this company. They can stop any future charges.

    +4 Votes
  • J
      Jan 03, 2017

    I'm having the exact same issues. I signed up through a local, 3rd party installation company, wasn't explained the full details about the contract or cancellation fee, have had the WORST internet service imaginable, and have never dealt with a worse customer service group or company policies. I just submitted a complaint through BBB to get a full refund and to have my $640 early termination fee waived.

    +4 Votes
  • D
      Jan 05, 2017

    @Jacob Willis did this work for u i did the same thing it worked great for the first 30 days and now for the last 2 months i run out of speed in only half the month for the next 2 months im very unsatisfied they down right lied to me bot everything when i singed up its a joke

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Dec 12, 2017

    @Jacob Willis Did you get the early termination fee waived at all?

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jan 05, 2017

    i hate hughesnet!

    +4 Votes
  • E
      Jan 10, 2017

    Anyone successfully cancelled without outrageous fees? If so please share how, I need help!
    I'm having so much trouble getting out of my contract! I just want to cancel, using hotspot on cell phone is better than their speeds. Only time speed appears to be great is when you perform a speed test. Other than that you will cry watching the pages render.

    Buyer be aware!

    +2 Votes
  • N
      Jan 24, 2017

    @Eva Mooney Wow, Yesterday was day 1 of the 2nd month, and in 2 hours, used 2 gigs of my 15 gigs of the month. I have DISH for over a year, but got sold on the 50 Gig/month for the same as Dish and the same price. Now the broken english lady says they don't have 50 Gig available in my area, 'You must have misunderstood mam, 50G is for Bonus time...' You mean when everyone is America is SLEEPING!!!?' I had 21 days unlimited and the last week was on vacation. Never saw such manipulating crap in 25 years of living in Los Angeles. How has Hughes managed to stay alive this long? Where are the 'checks and balances' to bring this company down? This is massive corruption...wow.

    +2 Votes
  • L
      Apr 13, 2017

    I never signed up for a 2 year contract with them and now they are charging me early termination fee. This company sucks. The internet is horrible it is worst than dial up. Someone mentioned above that they submitted a complaint through BBB and didn't have to pay early termination fee. Can someone show me how to do that or what is BBB?

    +2 Votes
  • S
      Jun 07, 2017

    I made the rash assumption, apparently, that there would be some kind of trial period and was led to believe that by the installer who said that I could change my mind and have the installation removed. I called Hughes back within 30 days and requested to have my service cancelled and was informed that there *was no trial period* with the installation. Huh? At any rate they informed me that may only option was to pay the $400 cancellation fee to get out of the contract. I can't think of what to do if there isn't a class action lawsuit that I can join. Hughes must have competitors, though, who stand to gain from Hughes' loss and they might have some suggestions. The only competitor that I know about is Yellowjacket but there might be others.

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Jul 19, 2017

    @Scott Talkington Same thing happened to me. The people are very nice, but do not want you to cancel. I was going to have to pay over $300 dollars to get mine cancelled. Was told I would have a trial period too.

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Jun 18, 2017

    Go to bank and have your card cancelled because you lost it. Then you will be issued another one as replacement and the one they have on file will no longer work. You still will have the account delinquent, but it is not something that is used against you for major credit needs.

    +5 Votes
  • I
      Jul 16, 2017

    I have 11 months to go on my contract HughesNet is the worst I've ever seen I just wonder how much I would be charged for early cancellation

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Dec 12, 2017

    @Iammehere I was on Hughesnet for 4 years and quit. They claimed I still owed them for a 2 year contract - $365. They kept renewing the contract without my knowledge I think.
    Make sure you do NOT have automatic deductions from your bank or they will use it.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jul 16, 2017

    When I cancel my service, and they send me a final bill, I will pay it in the proportion to the amount of internet I received while paying my full monthly bill.
    I didn't get 100% service, they'll get 63% on a monthly basis until I feel it's paid off.
    BIGGEST rip off service around, and as stated earlier, I connot for the life of me understand how they are not out of business.

    +2 Votes
  • B
      Jul 30, 2017

    I signed up in 2013 and have been a steady customer since. We finally got fiber in so I tried canceling hughesnet. They refuse to cancel. I got my bank to block their withdrawals and now they say I owe them $365 for the 2 year contract. That was up years ago. They had lousy service the whole time but it was all I could get here. They lie and are fraudulent. A corrupt thieving company. Nothing but trouble, like a snake biting that won't let go.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jan 02, 2018

    Yep Hughes Internet SUCKS and the customer service does also. I live in VA and my service comes out of CA. This is the message I get all day long: Problem with wireless adapter or access point, and a network cable is not properly plugged in or may be broken, as I tell customer service they say you have great service, and the weather could be bad in CA. I really don't care about the weather in CA I live in VA. I sure hope my two years goes real fast.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Feb 24, 2018

    OMG. Wish I saw this before getting involved with this company. Everything I see above is exactly what happened with me. When I signed up I told them what we were doing with our devices and asked them what they recommended. I took their advise only to find out it was completely inefficient. I knew of no contract and am now being charged $ 265 early term charge. Royally sucks. I'm 49 years old with no credit issues. I refuse to pay this crooked company anything.

    +2 Votes
  • A
      Mar 01, 2018

    I signed up through Dish Network, was NEVER informed of a 2 year contract via Dish Network for the internet through Hughes Net. Tried to cancel today due to flooding in my area that required me to EVACUATE my home, and am being told it is a $380 cancellation fee. I argued with them for 20 minutes, he came back and says "since you were never informed of the contract, we will lower to $180.". UHHH no! You just admitted I was not informed of the contract therefore you cannot charge me. I will sue them if I receive a final bill for any cancellation fee.

    +2 Votes
  • R
      Sep 06, 2018

    @Anna Farley Update on this?

    +1 Votes
  • I
      Mar 25, 2018

    It’s sucks so bad. We are supposed to be picking up 25 megabytes per seconds but now we were picking up 10 kilobytes which isn’t even “1” megabyte per second. We’ve called at least 10 times In one week and they do nothing except say give us a number that we can reach you on and say they will call in an hour then never get a call back. There internet sucks it’s horrible for anything you want to do!!

    +3 Votes
  • M
      May 16, 2018

    @IH8Hughes net nothing like being screwed in america for internet ! and Hughes.net there the finest I ever found yet . they must be proud of there GOD= 666 .net . I feel for ya .god the same crap here .they bend you over and love you and count your cash in your wallet and all the time your still on the phone with then trying to under stand slang american with a party going on in the back ground ! good by good luck .end of line .

    0 Votes
  • F
      Aug 21, 2018

    @IH8Hughes net Same here...They never call back and the service is horrible. I was down a month (and made about 12 calls to them) and they insisted nothing was wrong...finally one guy ( that I could understand) said the dish was out of alignment ( on the PHONE) and 4 days later it was moved to a better location. I DID get a credit of 1 month (!!!) and am in that credit period now attempting to switch providers...But a 'chat ' with Hughes stated Ill be assessed a 340 termination fee. It was THEIR performance that caused my decision to leave...and Im hoping that the history of issues ( which earned me the credit) will be enough to waive the 340 fee...but just in case, Im locking down my bank account by getting a new card.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Apr 29, 2018

    My 85-year old father recently contacted Dish TV about getting a package deal for TV service and also internet (which they bundled through Hughes Net). A Dish representative came out and set up both the TV and the internet. He explained my father would have both; it was a 2 year contract and didn't explain that the internet plan was a 'Data' plan - mostly used with cell phones. Residential areas mainly need 'speed' plans due to different requirements. Computer internet usage in residential areas is often determined by Windows upgrading itself or security updates or even streaming on TVs. My dad uses internet for both his computer and TV (and even his house phone). They never said that after 10GB of data, his internet speed would go down to 1 Mb/s - slow enough that most items won't work properly. The box that Dish set up with this 'bundle' and the computer went through the data in just 1 day and for the rest of the month Dad’s at 1 Mb/s; his phone has a 1 second delay for anyone talking (not only hard to talk but using 911 is a major concern) and Netflix will not stream any movies. He tried numerous times to figure out why he had slow internet. When I contacted Hughes.net to try and help, they told me to disconnect his TV box and his computer... I asked what was the point in having internet if everything is disconnected. They then tried to sell Dad a higher data plan. Of course, any 'data' plan would have the same issue and they wanted more money. When I tried to terminate Dad’s plan (which is what he wanted by then), they said there would be a termination fee even though they set up a bad product for my Dad’s situation. Dish and Hughes.net set my elderly father up in a bad contract and won't rectify the situation.

    -1 Votes
  • M
      May 16, 2018

    I'am new to the company for services and it started out fine and really was running great ! now a 3 months latter it has turned to [censored] !and if that enough when you call the sheet stains type people ! you have to be a god dam mind reader and I mean the back ground noise you have to hear en-between forty other people playing with them self's or each other ? while cooking and eating brown rice ! and maybe a dice game on top of it going on ! any ones guess ? all I know is I spent 30 minutes and that was just for her to try and spell my god dam name ! and get phone number that I am pretty sure they have with the god dam billing service ! all I know is it has to be the god dam rudest company I ever dealt with ! it sounds like 100 dam brat kids on a school buss trying to act like a adult's and all the while shooting off bottle rockets and still playing with each other ! and they know they can keep playing the god dam rude game of the back ground noise and playing with each other ! because of the god dam 400 dollar's they screwed you for on the contact ! there name should be (((( USSR HUGH.WE SCREW YOU .NET ! )))) THERE IN MY BOOK ARE LEADERS IN BEING AXX- HOLES . FROM ME HERE ALL DAY !

    0 Votes
  • R
      Dec 14, 2018

    For what it's worth, they hold fairly strong to their cancellation terms, which is how i understand it, something like 400 which reduces by $15 each month of service. I too had a bad experience with the service found that my 3mb century link service was night and day better. You can get into corporate by calling the corporate office [protected] then asking the operator for "executive care" . You will probably get some more discount on the cancellation but it won't be everything. We chose not to took it, and now are going to try to dispute with the credit card company. My concern if you dispute, will they just send you to collections? Anyone know how that plays out?

    0 Votes

Post your comment