The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Home Depot Consumer Credit Accountlate fee & credit life fees

P

I made an electronic payment on 10-19-2009 on my Home Depot account. My bank gave me a confirmation number showing the funds had been transfered. On the same day, Home Depot charged me a late fee of $39.00, so I called them and they tried to blame my bank. They agreed to remove the late fee, but they refuse to remove the record of a late payment from my account and they say it will be reported as a late payment to the credit reporting companies. I called my bank and they told me Home Depot and received my payment and confirmed it on 10-19-2009 which was the payment due date. My bank added that they could not have given me a confirmation number unless and until the payee had acknowledged the receipt of the funds. Home Depot is penalizing me for their failure to post my payment in a timely fashion. I made my payment on the due date, received confirmation of it, and they still refuse to remove the late payment notice from my account. I also found out they have been charging me $46.69 a year for what they call a "Balance Protection Fee" (Credit Life) which I never signed up for or authorized. Of course, they couldn't do anything about that, I have to call another number to address that issue.

I know my credit score will be damaged or I will be denied credit in the future, based on what they report to a credit reporting agency. Even if I'm not denied credit in the future, I'll have to pay a higher interest rate because of this.

late fee & credit life fees

Responses

  • Ro
    ronnie souza Jan 01, 2010

    same thing happen to me

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    cleberz May 06, 2011

    That happened to me too. Their online system failed to transfer the number from my account, and they didn't even notify me. When the bill became past due, 5 days later, then they sent me an e-mail telling me it was past due (no reason given). Home depot said the payments didn't go through, because I entered the wrong account number. But they couldn't tell me my incorrect account number over the phone, and I'd have to call my bank to find out what went wrong. The bank, on the other hand, couldn't see any transactions coming from them, so they needed home depot's transaction confirmation number (that home depot couldn't give me over the phone). After hours on the phone, it finally came down to my bank offering to make a three-way call between us and home depot, so that they could be able to look at the confirmation. Home depot still then said they couldn't do it, and in the end they decided to simply remove all the late fees and charges (of around about 90 dollars by then). That was about a year and a half ago.
    I'm sharing this here, as I'm mad I just found out they've been charging me this balance protector fee without notifying me. That's not the right way of doing business.

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    rpsrna May 09, 2011

    we paid off our card in July 2010 and then they charged us extra "interest charges" after the card was paid off. 60 days later they call from their collections department wanting their $3.43.
    I have filed a complaint to no avail. they removed the charges but then reported us as being 60 days late in paying.
    I can't get them to remove this from the 3 credit agencies. It has really screwed us up for a mistake that they made. I hope they fix this soon because this measly $3.43 mistake on their part has ruined our perfect credit score. we have had other companied now want to charge us more interest fees as a result of this crazy reporting of Home Depot. they act like they could care less. I am writing a letter to everyone on their Board Of Directors and maybe they have the power to make someone correct this mistake of their billing department.
    thanks
    randall

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele M. Kennedy Nov 20, 2013

    Home Depot has a lot of "shady" business practices. I made a purchase of a shed in October 2013, and when I received my first statement, I noticed a $4.95 charge called "Balance Protect". Ever since that time I have talked to Home Depot, CitiBank and Balance Protect, and no one has answered my question of "Who authorized this additional charge on my account without my knowledge or consent?" I requested paperwork be sent to me as proof that this is something I approved (which I did not), last month and still have not received this "proof". When I called back AGAIN today, Balance Protect people (idiots) told me that they would resumit my request and to give them an additional (30) days to provide this "proof". Really, how long does it take to access my account and copy this so called approval form and mail it to me. I can tell you why it has not been sent...IT DOES NOT EXIST!!! Spoke to Home Depot Store Manager, Jesus Damingus, who was less than helpful...and blatently said, "There was nothing he could do"...again, REALLY? What he should have done was to take ownership of the situation, since a customer was extremely unhappy and the unhappiness was a direct result of a purchase at "HIS STORE". Whatever happened to Customer Service? I work in the Hospitality Industry and we pride ourselves on providing excellent Customer Service. Home Depot needs to wake up and Jesus needs some SERIOUS TRAINING!! I WILL NEVER SHOP AT A HOME DEPOT AGAIN, and if you're reading this and you're smart, you won't either.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.