Resolved Gold's Gymhow to quit golds gym

Y Review updated:

People,

I was a troubled member of golds gym. I have seen 1000's of consumer being troubled by their hidden contract. They dont mention this at point of sale. Then when you want to quit, then they say you will be billed for entire year. Also, if you want to cancel you have to submit either a proof of moving to a city which has no GG location within 25 miles of your address. That is ridiculous!!
Or you have to provide a proof of military or hospital, after which also there is no guarantee that they will stop billing.
WHAT I DID:
Tell them that you are moving to a city where there is no corporate location. E.g Denver, CO.
then provide some proof: Change of address form of USPS, or any bank statement or BILL sent to that address. Then you can change your address back. They do terminate. You can fool those ### by this trick only. Negotiating wont work. hope this helps.

Responses

  • Na
    nancy Oct 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO CANCEL MY MEMBER SHIP FOR 3 MONTHS. I WAS TOLD I WAS CANCELLED ONLY TO GET MORE
    PAYMENTS TAKEN OUT OF MY ACCOUNT. THIS WILL NOT END. THE GYM SUGGESTED I CANCEL MY DEBIT CARD AS AWAY OF GETTING AROUND THE SYSTEM. I REFUSE! THEY ARE CONTINUING TO ROB ME EVERY MONTH, DOES ANYONE
    HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS?

    0 Votes
  • No
    nonono Apr 30, 2009

    Keep in mind this is illegal as you are using Federal resources to commit fraud. The contract is legally binding.

    I wouldn't suggest this at all.. federal fraud charges mean you could end up with a huge fee and a criminal record that lasts a lifetime. Just keep it in mind.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sigou20 Aug 20, 2009

    I got a membershit back in 2005. I couldn't pay it anymore so my friend and i went in to transfer my membership to her...they took her money and the next month i got charged and they didn't want to pay me back! It was so difficult getting he little money i did get.

    Than a year ago i tried it again..i love the gym but they payments never came out the same date evey month which made me bounce my checking account.
    I get a letter in the mail...so i called to check on it. I couldn't cancle until i paid the amount owed. In a 2 week period they upped my payments 20.00 more dollars! STAY AWAY FROM THIS GYM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    rednessa Jan 28, 2010

    Good idea! Those ### deserve it. After all they have done nothing but lie to all of you members out there! Good for you! I have worked for those ### for a year now, anything i can do to stop new victims from joining i do it! I know how they scam lie and steal from yall. I see it everyday!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Molly LAYTON Mar 01, 2015

    I joined the Gym when everything was quite on the home front. The to soon there were a number of unexpected events that occurred. I had surgery for cancer, there was a very hard to handle death in the immediate family. And I have taken the benefits that are so very good. But now it is time to resign standings at the gym. Everyone as been so willing to help ( and I needed that).I really don't know that I will be able to resume my gym activities and I would appreciate your understanding of my resignation. I hope to hear that this is all okay. ( not that I can change it). Thank you with all that I am and again your understanding. Along with the other staff, please let them known the appreciation and especially Ryan who was so very patient with me. Sincerely
    Molly ( or Mary Ann) which either is listed.
    Molly Layton.
    Membership number G1211202955

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Molly Lzayton Mar 02, 2015

    This is not Complaint, the people at the gym here off of Lindberg have been very helpful and pleasant to work with. At this time however, I need to cancel my contract with your help. And quit taking the monies automatically in the checking account. It is listed under Mary Ann Layton
    948 Riverwood place drive
    Florissant, MO 63031
    thank you for your attention to this matter.
    # g1211202955

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kateyeee Aug 02, 2019

    I don't know how the contract is legal. you don't even know what you are signing. ask for a contract? they don't have a copy. they won't email you a copy. they won't mail you or print a copy. rather they have you sign blank signature sheets. they billed me at higher level that I agreed to sign for... I only found out on my credit card statement...
    I then demanded they put me on the price level agreed. they demanded $99 to make this change. I told them this was what was promised/agreed at the outset. they agreed... and allowed the switch.
    I gave them a new credit card... they billed my debit card... and then upon receiving my credit card, kept the money taken from my debit account... and then turned around and back checked me again for same bills charged to my debit — essentially double dipping.
    Predictably, after signing for the lower price plan... the higher price point hit my cc again.

    I canceled immediately.. and am contesting charges.

    Who took over gold's? the mob? seriously!

    They have no interest in serving their customers any more. they are like communists — robbing everyone blind... while cutting corners everywhere to keep all the money themselves. they don't invest in the business... machines are falling apart. no cleaning staff... they rob, cheat, steal... and view patrons, not as patrons, but as marks... you're just there for them to get access to your money and to try to take as much as they can get away with. n
    Even notice how you can buy stuff at the counter — and have it put on your tab without signing anything and with no receipt? they can just get access to your money and charge anything and you have no way of proving anything as you get no receipt.
    Read reviews and you will see numerous random charges... where golds employees just help themselves to your money. try to quit and they send you to collections, threaten you, demand money... again, communists... capitalists don't act like this... they want to earn and inspire your business... gold's is now run by social justice warriors who feel entitled to your cash without providing anything commensurate in return... they lie, cheat, steal... equipment is falling apart... everything dirty, space too small... cutting corners everywhere... desperately greedy and acting like tin pot dictators, no integrity, no morals, no professionalism... I bet you anything commies are running this place now...

    I quit after one month... and I will be fighting them tooth and nail... this experience has soured me to gyms... I will hereon just walk/run around park... and lift my own weights... screw gold's gym... this place has gone down hill... and results in wasted time/money... staff there is rude, incompetent, greedy, dishonest, and corrupt.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kateyeee Aug 02, 2019

    One more thing...I believe they won't give you a copy of the contract as they don't want it posted online..and they don't want you to see it or question it...I am sure most would nalot sign if they actually read it in advance...Instead you have to sign blank signature sheets and "trust" them...How can signing signature sheets be binding on anything when they withhold the substance of the contract from you. If they are so desperate to keep you from reading the contract...and they wont even send it to you after you sign...don't you think something is amiss. Sue these unAmerican losers out of existence.

    0 Votes

Post your comment