Menu
Write a review
File a complaint
GoldCar Rental Profile

GoldCar Rental

www.goldcar.es

Learn how the rating is calculated

2.3 4 Reviews 563 Complaints
Claimed
GoldCar Rental has claimed their business profile
Write a review File a complaint

GoldCar Rental Complaints Page 25 of 29

ComplaintsBoard
A
6:45 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental gps

we rent a car with GPS. Paid 80 euros for 6 days, and the GPS did not work! its was always giving us wrong directions, and we lost our ways and missed alot of things planned because of the bad GPS we got! we could not turn in on all the time, it was freezing and not syncing with the road! and it made us lost in our way more than 10 times! we demand a full refund of the GPS cost, Best regards

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
6:49 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental unauthorised credit card charges

Date of incident: 17th June 2017
Client Number: [protected]

Hi,

I recently visited Mallorca and hired a car through the Palma airport branch of Goldcar. I booked the hire car through eBookers.

When I arrived at the Goldcar desk to pick up the car, I handed over all the details, plus my passport, driving licence and credit card. I was then told that I would need to pre pay for a tank of fuel which would be taken if I returned the car empty of fuel [understandable] and was then told I would need to purchased extra insurance. Despite my eBookers paperwork saying no extra fees would need to be paid and that I was covered with a CDW up to £1, 100. The staff member then said I could pay a deposit of £1400 which would cover me in case the car was retuned damaged. I agreed I would rather take this option.

Once I disputed the extra insurance payment the staff member could no longer speak English. Coupled with my lack of Spanish we had an issue.

The staff member even said at one point, that the car rental was so cheap it wasn't possible for Goldcar to hire it out. Why was it advertised at this rate if it wasn't possible?

She told me to enter my pin once, then asked me to enter it again and sign a pad. Which I did. It was now 23.30 and I had a three year old with me and a wife who is five months pregnant so I took the keys and a contract written entirely in Spanish and left to pick up the car.

On retuning to the UK and checking my credit card statement they had taken £137.73 from my account.

I called Goldcar immediately who said they would look in to this payment.

A day later I received and email stating the following:

Dear Mr. HXXXXR
Thank you for your email about your recent Goldcar rental.
I am sorry that you had a bad experience with one of our representatives. Customer feedback is a key part of our staff appraisal process so your comments are important and will be taken into account.
I am concerned to hear that you were under the impression that your Goldcar rental would be directly covered under your own motor insurance policy/your broker’s policy. This isn’t the case and we do our best to make that very clear on our website and on booking vouchers.
Customers have two cover options when they book with Goldcar. The first is to pay a refundable deposit. If there is damage to the vehicle during the rental period the cost of repair is deducted from the deposit and the customer will need to make a claim from their insurer to recoup the costs. The second option is to take out our Super Relax cover. This means customers can drive safe in the knowledge that any damage will be covered and that Goldcar will handle all the paperwork.
The cover that appears on the contract you signed on collection of the car, is non-refundable service, as you have benefitted from the coverage and have been protected against any unexpected charge during your hire period.
I hope this clarifies matters but please do get back in contact if you require further information.
Kind regards,
Tania

Unfortunately I did't Google Goldcar prior to booking, if I had I would have avoided you.

My issue is that despite me saying I wanted £1400 reserved on my card you did what you wanted regardless. It was an entirely underhand and duplicitous act to con me out of £137.73.

I would like the £137.73 refunded asap.

James

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
View 0 more photos
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
9:18 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental car hire collection and service at palma airport - majorca

Booking Number [protected]

Stephen Jackson
43 Main Street
SEWSTERN
NG33 5RF

[protected]@tiscali.co.uk

I arrived to collect my hire car at Palma airport on Sunday 16th July 2017 at approx. 10pm.
I had booked a 5 door car but was told I had only paid for a 3 door car. After some discussion and production of my confirmation I was then told I would be collecting a 5 door car.
The representative then proceeded to attempt to sell me insurance which I did not need.
Again after some discussion I paid £1100 deposit and understand this will be refunded when I return the car. This is clearly stated on my confirmation of booking.
Eventually I was given the keys to the car which, when I arrived in the car park to collect was a 3 door car.
After the inconvenience I had already experienced, I decided to take the car and make a formal complaint.
As it was dark when I collected the car I have subsequently made an inspection this morning (17th July). I have found a slight dent over the back wheel arch on the drivers side, and a scratch on the drivers side door.
I have photographed these and will submit as evidence should you require them.
I am appalled with the service I have received and, as there are 4 of us requiring to use the vehicle (2 of whom are teenage boys) this is now going to cause more inconvenience and discomfort during our holiday.
I would like a thorough investigation into this incident and look forward to receiving substantial compensation, both for the lack of your company being able to provide the vehicle I have paid for and for the lack of satisfactory customer service.
Being lied to by a representative is also completely unacceptable.
I look forward to your immediate response and hope this complaint is resolved before I return home on Saturday 29th July.

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
N
9:09 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental insurance excess (agreement number [protected]). unethical behaviour

I booked an Emirates flight to Malta from Hong Kong and used the link (Cartrawler) in their website to book a hire car to be collected at Malta airport on 19th June 2017. I was informed to collect the car at the Rhodium desk in the arrivals hall. Upon arrival I found the Rhodium desk, empty, but the paperwork was all completed by Goldcar staff at the adjoining desk. As I had already paid in advance for the car I had no option but to proceed with them even though I had seen many adverse comments about their services.
When I went to collect the car I saw perhaps 40 identical white cars with large Goldcar lettering on the sides in the Goldcar parking area. However I was given a very battered red car with nothing to indicate it was Goldcar. I took photos of the car before driving it away because it was in such a bad state. As I moved the car it rolled back slightly a few inches and I saw another unmarked white car come up alongside my rear nearside. I braked as someone shouted and got out of the car. I felt no contact and there were no markings on either car to indicate any contact. I was still in the carpark of course. I asked the other driver to show me where there had been contact but he couldn`t show me. I was then confronted by the Goldcar staff who insisted they would have to report to the police and he would detain the car and provide me with another. And I would have to forfeit the Euro 1350 excess. He said I would have to claim it back from my insurance (which I do not have).
I was then given a white Goldcar to drive away which I used for the required period, returning it with no damage and no further excess forfeited.
I question the whole circumstances of this red car incident as it seems most suspicious and in some countries a report to police might have yielded results. I wonder how many similar incidents at Malta airport have occurred involving Goldcar. If there was any damage at all it was microscopic. I do not mind paying for such and would request that the company do this and refund the balance of the excess forfeiture

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
3:52 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Contact No. [protected] - Rental from 5th July to 19th July. Upon picking the keys up at the rental desk in Mallorca Airport, a discussion was had regarding insurance. I explained to the assistant who was serving me that I had a 'Damage Excess' policy which had been specifically bought prior to traveling to Spain. I was told by the assistant 'the insurance...

Read full review of GoldCar Rental and 4 comments
ComplaintsBoard
H
12:11 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental car rental refused due to "credit card not accepted"

Arranged car rental with Goldcar prior to the commencement of holiday to collect at Bucharest Airport. Agent refused to honour the rental as my credit card was not accepted. I contacted credit card company who confirmed there was no problem whatsoever with my card and that the agent had failed to request the deposit. I asked them to repeat it but to no avail. I went to another car rental office adjacent to Goldcar, who confirmed my card account was in order by placing a minor transaction on my card. I returned to the Goldcar agent who still refused my card. I suggested that he contact his bank, but he refused. He therefore cancelled my prepaid rental contract. I managed to secure a car rental with another agent at the same car rental lot without any problem, but was charged significantly more as I had not pre-booked. As a result of this I have lost the money I had prepaid and had to pay significantly more money than I had originally budgeted due to the attitude of the Goldcar agent at Bucharest Airport. I am disgusted by this poor service. I think a refund and compensation would be a reasonable manner in order to resolve this situation.

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
H
1:32 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental illegitimate charge of €150 for a mark in the wheel rim

A few weeks ago I rented a vehicle in Lisbon with Goldcar but under the name of Rhodium rent-a-car. The car has been consigned to me in poorly lighted indoors car park where I was the only responsible for registering any damage that the car may have had. There were several bumps and scratches along the vehicle. I took the car and after a few days I returned it to find out that Goldcar was to charge me €150 for two 1cm surface scratch on the rim of the wheel.
The marks were so superficial that in the dark lighting conditions of the car park they could easily be overlooked in the mix of the other several bumps and scratches.
I am positive that I didn’t cause those scratches as not only did the car stayed parked for the majority of the rental period but also I didn’t get near any side walk edges during that time. I am sure that the marks were already there before my rental period started.
I made that clear to the staff at the counter, I already wrote to your address [protected]@goldcar.com and until now there has been no acknowledgement of my claim and no effort in showing proofs that the marks were not there in previous rentals. I request full refund of the €150 unless you can prove that the previous five rental did not register those scratches.
Would you kindly please contact me so we can determine the course of action to solve this.
Thank you
Car registration number: 73SV47
Contract number: [protected]

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
View 0 more photos
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
H
4:01 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental I am waiting deposit refund

Dear Sir or Madam,

I have rented a car from Bergamo Airport /İtaly at 23.06.2017. I delivered the vehicle on 29.06.2017 in accordance with all conditions. The Depositor is told to be repaid within 2 days at the latest but has not been paid yet. I checked with my bank.
Contract no: [protected]
I request that the repayment of the deposit be made urgently.

Hanife GÜMÜŞ

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
O
11:28 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental hire car italy

Robbing thieving b&@)(;;s avoiding using this company at all costs! Hired a car for 2 days and three months later they took £55 euros off my card ... the said I'd been ticketed with absolutely no proof, I know there is no chance of this because the car was only parked in paid car parks or the hotel one where I stayed! I am reporting this to the European consumer centre. Pretty sure it's theft taking money out of people's accounts without authority!

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
12:36 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental addebito non giustificato su carta di credito al rientro.

N° EXPEDIENTE [protected] - 1295898 . Ringrazio la Signora Victoria R. per la risposta . E' l'unica persona che dopo tutto questo tempo mi ha dato una risposta . Ho presentato un secondo reclamo, come mi ha consigliato di fare, e rimango in attesa di avere dalla GoldCar una risposta e le prove che la macchina fosse realmente danneggiata, visto che dalle mie foto questo non risulta . E' da diversi anni che sono cliente GoldCar ed è la prima volta che mi è successo questo spiacevole inconveniente .

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
11:45 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental addebito non giustificato su carta di credito al rientro.

Stefano franchi - italy
nº expediente: 1288183
Goldcar mi ha addebitato 315, 40 euro per un "check in - aleta delantera".
1 - ho riconsegnato la macchina senza nessun danno
2 - un vostro incaricato mi ha detto che la vettura era ok
3 - non ho ricevuto nessuna e-mail delle ragioni dell'addebito, ho trovato io le fatture sul vostro sito
4 - ho telefonato al numero di assistenza clienti, dove sono rimasto in attesa, parecchi minuti, pagando 30 euro di telefono, per avere una e-mail di contatto
5 - ho inviato le foto al costumer service, il 15 giugno, che provano che ho restituito la macchina nelle stesse condizioni in cui l'ho ritirata. (foto del ritiro 1 maggio e foto della riconsegna 8 maggio)
Sono ancora in attesa di una risposta...

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
A
7:02 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental car rental

Legal thieves! Stay away from this awful company! On 6/06/2017 we have collected a car (Volkswagen caddy) at seville's airport and the return was agreed at malaga's aeroport. At the moment of rent's and deposit's payment (€1200) in seville, we have been given the keys and explained verbally where the car and its parking were. Nor check of the car condition was made by any employees in front of us or none of the employees has come with us to the car parking. On 14/06/2017, we have returned back the car and the keys directly in the box office of the company at your car parking in malaga's airport. No checks (Again!) were taken and we haven't been asked to sign anything regarding the conditions of the car or something confirming the car return. On 20/06/2017 I have been charged without notice or communication a cost of £ 289.38 on my debit card. After calling helpline, we have been advised that there was a damage on the front part of the car without any further specifications. We firmly deny this damage and we have reported an illegal embezzlement of my money without any proof, notice or communication. There are four of us (Plus a kid) witnesses which can confirm the non-existence of this damage or imputed incident. We also report a really bad negligence and service not to have undergone any checks before and after the collection of the car as all car rent companies usually do! After several weeks, no signs from the company besides calls and emails. Awful experience!

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
9:22 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental car rental

dys [protected]
from 09/05/17 -16/05/17
I rented a car from Gold car - and returned the car on 16 May 2017 with no additional damage/scratch and I only charged used €11 fuel, so I did limited driving - to and from the airport .
When I returned the car, the company charged me €200 for a scratch which did not occur during my rental. My three travelling companions confirmed this to the girl at Gold car desk. I disputed this, I asked for a copy of invoices and related paperwork, Gold car told it would be emailed to me. I have received no communication of any kind from Gold car.
The only advise offer from Gold car was I should take out the full insurance cover with them in future even though I have a separate excess policy.

I booked my rental through the car broker "do you spain". I have emailed them twice since my return and I have no response or acknowledgement from them.

I will taking this through my bank and the European Consumer Centre to get a full refund .
As a regular customer and car rental, i have enough experience to know unethical behaviour.

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
Y
6:23 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental reclamo carburante mancante alla consenga (2/8)

Salve!
Sono cliente Goldcar con codice: 8261247.
Ho già fatto alcuni noleggi con la Vostra compagnia e sono rimasto molto soddisfatto, a parte l'impossibilità materiale di ottenere la fattura dei noleggi per problemi del Vostro sito che Vi invito a risolvere.
Vi scrivo queste rimostranze con riferimento al noleggio da me eseguito lo scorso 20 giugno all'aeroporto di Fiumicino.
Si tratta del contratto [protected], relativi all'autovettura targata FJ080FS.
Dopo avere ritirato l'auto e ultimato la discesa della rampa di uscita dal parcheggio dell'aerostazione mi sono accorto che il livello del serbatoio era a 6/8.
Nell'impossibilità di ritornare al parcheggio della Vostra compagnia per degli impellenti impegni su Roma, ho tentato più volte di telefonare al numero telefonico ([protected]) dell'agenza di Fiumicino per segnalare l'inconveniente, ma era continuamente occupato.
Ho riconsegnato l'auto puntualmente il successivo 23 giugno 2017.
Posto che all'atto del prelievo dell'autovettura segnava Km. 6334 e alla riconsegna segnava Km. 6433, ne deriva che ho in tutto percorso Km. 99.
Nel fare il pieno prima della riconsegna ho rabboccato un totale di 76, 65 litri, come è dimostrato dallo scontrino che vi allego, avendo peraltro eseguito il pagamento con Bancomat onde tracciare la data, l'ora e il luogo della transazione, oltre all'importo pagato (€ 26, 10) e ai litri di benzina riversati nel serbatoio della Vostra autovettura.
Non avendo potuto impiegare più di 5 litri di benzina per percorrere i Km. 99 che ho effettivamente percorso utilizzando la vostra autovettura, ne deriva che i restanti 12, 65 litri di carburante da me pagato hanno compensato il rabocco dei 2/8 ed oltre di carburante mancante all'atto del ritiro dell'autovettura.
Per quanto sopra Vi invito a rimborsarmi nel modo che riterrete più opportuno l'importo corrispondente a circa 13 di carburante non fornitomi e da me pagato.
Allego copia dello scontrino della stazione di servizio IP Service ove ho eseguito il pieno alle ore 15:57 del 23-06-2017, poco prima di riconsegnare l'autovettura a Fiumicino.
In attesa di un Vostro cortese riscontro porgo distinti saluti.

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
View 0 more photos
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
6:30 am EDT

GoldCar Rental goldcar withholding majority of deposit due to damages, on rental car that were there when we picked up the car.

Client Number: [protected]

We rented a car via Goldcar Malaga, which we picked up on the 7th of June 2017.
The contract showed a number of scratches on the vehicle, which we of course investigated before leaving the parking garage.
Additional significant scratches and bumps were found and documented via photos.

We then showed the pictures to the agent who then updated the contract, signed and stamped it.

When we returned the car, the offices were closed and we dropped the keys as aggreed.

Now, three days later we only receive a small margin of the deposite.

I have called customer service who just replies that this is due to damages on the vehicle. Only place to report an complaint is through a site, where no photo proofs can be uploaded.

The car has only been used on the road and has been parked in a private garage most of the time. We are absolutely certain, that no additional damages has happened

Resulution: Please return the full amount of our deposite.

We have rented cars many times before and this is the first time such a thing has happened. Very rude and very sad that this is accepted by some.

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
I
12:15 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental lack of comprehensive email contact details on goldcar website

Hello,

I am looking to travel to Italy in a month time with friends and want to rent 2 cars. Have been trying to find by all means a point of contact with Goldcar to better understand payment methods.

I did see on the website debit cards are not accepted in Italy and last night I called the Italian number provided on the site and the guy on the phone assured me any cards that have Visa or Mastercard are accepted.

We all have bank debit cards with Visa or Mastercard included (examples attached in pics). Are these accepted or not? I do not want to make a reservation and lose the money because we have the wrong kind of cards.

Need this sorted out ASAP.

Thanks
Joanna

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
View 0 more photos
Update by Ioana Jidveian
Jun 22, 2017 12:17 am EDT

I have seen a lot of negative comments regarding Goldcar rentals, and hope the lower rates advertised are not a scam..

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
G
10:13 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental goldcar alicante

Contract ref [protected]

I rented a car from Goldcar - - and returned the car on 02 June with no additional damage and a quarter tank of fuel.
I then 3 days later was informed they had charged me €1100 for various damage that was nothing to do with me and was either there at collection or was done after i dropped the car off at check in I was not asked to agree or sign anything, I have been in constant contact through @Goldcarcares with no satisfaction at all, the internet is full of stories like this and highlights what a dishonest company you are, your staff at Alicante were rude unhelpful and in one case very aggresive
I will be taking this matter further and through and the European Consumer
Centre.
An absolute disgrace

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
N
7:06 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental charge applied for non existent damage

Contract ref [protected]

I rented a car from Goldcar - I am a Goldcar Club member - and returned the car on 13 June with no additional damage and a quarter tank of fuel.
I then noticed on Friday they had charged my credit card £750
I called them and they told me to email [protected]@goldcar.es which i did. I have received no acknowledgement or communication from Goldcar.
I was told by the call centre that there was damage to two doors which I deny.
When I returned the car no mention was made of this, I was not asked to agree or sign anything, I have received no communication of any kind from Goldcar.
I will taking this through my bank and the European Consumer Centre.
An absolute disgrace

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Update by Neil Roden
Jun 21, 2017 2:09 am EDT

Victoria
I gave sent an email to cs@goldcar.es as instructed by your call centre...do I need to do anything else ?
Neil

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
6:04 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental rental fraud

Got totally ripped off by Goldcar. Charged us for 'Super Relax Cover' that we never knew we had opted for. Trying to claim back they are denying we contacted them during the hire period, which we did so, they deny anything misleading at the counter (both of our car hire parties were unaware we had suddenly opted for the super cover choice), they sent incorrect details on confirmation emails, the figures on the paperwork (during a fraught time) were incomprehensible and of which one was what we believed to be the deposit under the selection we choose when booking online.
For BOTH of us to have had this happen MUST say something about operating procedures for clarity and transparency.
The whole experience was more wrought iron than goldcar.

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
3:27 pm EDT
Verified customer The reviewer confirmed their account using Google. Learn more
GoldCar Rental Logo Replied
GoldCar Rental has left an official reply on this complaint.

GoldCar Rental car rental reservation not honored

I booked a car rental through GoldCar Italy. I was scheduled to pick up my car from Linate airport on May 28, 2017 at 7 PM. When I was informed that my flight with British Airways was canceled, I called the GoldCar customer service number to notify them that I would not be picking up the car on the 28th, but would do so on the 29th of May. The customer service rep told me that this would be no issue, and the car will be ready for me. I asked him to send me an email, and he said it is not necessary because he will add a note to the reservation.

Upon arrival to Linate, I go to GoldCar to pick up my car. I show the woman my reservation confirmation, which referenced the car type and the price, and she informed me that there is no car for me. She told me she could give me a smaller car at a much higher price. I explained to her my conversation, she looked up the reservation on her system, saw that there was a note on the account about my late pickup, and said that the rep should have changed the date and that there is nothing that she could do about it. After 30 minutes of heated discussion, I finally decided to accept the car they had at 220% of the original cost because my options were limited.

GoldCar did not honor the original reservation, they provided me with a smaller car, and they admitted that the customer service rep had noted the account and that they were at fault. This is bait and switch and is criminal.

As a resolution, I expect to have a refund of the excess amount at a minimum, and because I accepted a smaller car, I should pay a lower rate for the whole reservation. My original booking number with GoldCar was [protected] and the amount due was 154.29 Euro. The amount I had to pay was 370 Euro. I've attached a photo of the original reservation and of my credit card statement detailing the GoldCar charge.

Read full review of GoldCar Rental
View 0 more photos
Update by jjefadams
Jun 21, 2017 10:07 am EDT

I have contacted your support many times. In each instance, the person I correspond with tells me that it is not the fault of GoldCar. I don't understand why my reservation was honored because I called to notify GoldCar of the delay AND the account was noted. What more should I have done? Why didn't customer service at GoldCar set up a new reservation if that was what needed to be done? It's best to stay away from this company.

Here is the latest reply from GoldCar customer support:

Dear Mr. Adams,
Thank you for your observations about your car hire experience with us.
Your opinion is important to us and is the key to our commitment to fulfill our customer’s expectations.
We are sorry to inform you that Goldcar can only keep the car booked for a certain period of time, once this time period has passed and the customer has not collected their car, the vehicle will be hire out if necessary due to demand. In these cases, we advise the customer to make a new booking if the delay is over 24h.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
We would like to thank you again for your time and your evaluation of our service.
We hope to see you again soon and remember, for any further information about your car hire, please visit our website www.goldcar.es

Kind regards,

Itziar

Update by jjefadams
Jun 15, 2017 8:57 am EDT

Actually, this was entirely in GoldCar's hands. I called to notify you so my original reservation would still be in place. I had the car rented for that first day. GoldCar decided to rent it to someone else. That was the company's decision, not mine. When the account was noted, it was the company's duty to keep my car there until I picked it up. Was that not unreasonable for me to expect that you would do so?

Hide full review

About GoldCar Rental

GoldCar Rental offers vehicle hire services with a variety of car models to choose from. They provide options for short and long-term rentals, catering to holiday goers and business travelers. Additional services include insurance packages, 24/7 customer support, and an online booking system. Their fleet ranges from economy to luxury cars, aiming to meet diverse customer needs.
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service
GoldCar Rental Category
GoldCar Rental is ranked 25 among 110 companies in the Vehicle Rental and Leasing category

Our Commitment

We stand for unbiased reviews

We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.

We help resolving issues

We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.

We advocate freedom of speech

We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)

We ensure transparent and fair ratings

Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.

We care about your privacy

Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.

We are easy, free and open to everyone

Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.