Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Scam & Fake Checks CenturyLink Fraud
T
Author of the complaint
4:42 pm EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

We keep recieving phone calls from a fake company that says they are with the federal government with info on federal grant money. You can tell by the back ground noise that it is telemarketing all the voices sound like indian nationallity. Something needs to be done

ADVERTISIMENT

More CenturyLink complaints & reviews

CenturyLink - Unsolicited phone calls
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
CenturyLink - extremely slow internet service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
CenturyLink - century link rip off
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
CenturyLink - bad service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
CenturyLink - misrepresentation of services and fees
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
89 comments
Add a comment
M
May 17, 2019 2:42 pm EDT

WARNING

Global Crossing Local Services-kent, wa
NEW NUMBER +[protected]

All I ever got was a Automated machine as far as I can tell they called my phone speed talking talking about some kind of job I couldn't understand the whole thing and then when I tried to answer a question that they asked at the end they hung up before I could even answer funny thing is is they said I filled out an application online for a job with them I know I might have done with Amazon but I don't know I can't remember it's been so long but obviously since Better Business Bureau says it's a bad business and people are complaining about this company a lot it must be fake or a scam

Now that I know the name of the company for this phone number though I think I remember them calling me from another number before several other numbers in fact and usually it's an Indian guy trying to get me money saying that I won inheritance or something else but I had to pay a fee for shipping handling or Carrier or crate fees or something because it's coming from overseas or because a courier is bringing it over himself I have even been told that an FBI is bringing it to me

L
Nov 04, 2018 11:09 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hello I got a call from [protected] saying we was approved for a loan that we went on the Internet and said we need too pay 10% if the loan and wants me too but it on a Amazon card before they were put it in her bank account and I need to know if anybody else is having called from this number too

B
Oct 29, 2018 1:57 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

How are these guys STILL doing these scams - phone [protected] sent text message to many of my team with my title and name as a signature block - Anyone who responded to the text message got an auto-response requesting they buy 4 $100 gift cards and "to be reimbursed later

View 0 more photos
Nov 29, 2018 3:14 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of BDOW20

Holy cow! Is that ever disgusting!

L
Aug 21, 2018 1:51 am EDT

They call every minute but about 12x a day from different numbers or the same and I blocked them but they keep coming.
‭+[protected]‬
‭+[protected]‬
‭+[protected]‬

F
May 17, 2018 2:54 pm EDT

I received a call from [protected]
They were saying my electrical service will be turn off in the next 30 minutes
I called Edison, they I was told they are a fraud people
Beware of those putos.

F
May 17, 2018 2:55 pm EDT

I received a call from [protected]
They were saying my electrical service will be turn off in the next 30 minutes
I called Edison Company, I was told they are a fraud people
Beware of those putos.

Q
Aug 25, 2017 1:11 pm EDT

Received a call from [protected] located in georgia, a google search result claimed the number is part of this company global crossing local but they did leave a voice message and it turns out it was a corporate office calling me about a job I recently applied and got hired for. Assuming the website I found this info on must have been wrong since most people here seem to all be saying it's a telemarketing scam of some sort.

U
Dec 19, 2016 11:49 am EST

I just had some rude lady call me and ask for my spouse over and over again. I said who are you. They said where is your spouse? I said who are you? They kept repeating themselves ignoring me. I said do not call my phone and ask for someone and not say who you are... They said is your spouse there (by spouse they asked for his name). I told them I had no clue who my spouse was... lol they then proceeded to tell me last minute that this call may be recorded and blah blah and hung up -_-

The phone number they keep calling me from is:
[protected]

They actually just called from California [protected]) before they called from the WA(360) number asking for me because they wanted to update me on something. I told them that it isn't her (my) phone anymore and to quit bugging me with phone calls simple... -_- I really wish I knew who these people actually were...

M
Dec 05, 2016 2:01 pm EST

Received call today from [protected] - Global Crossing. Did not answer - no voice mail. Guess we can add Clover, South Carolina to the list. Sometime needs to be done to stop all this fraud.

L
Aug 04, 2016 4:33 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Been getting lots of calls from D.C. area, New York, Pennsylvania and California. All the same, they are from the federal government and want to give me money that I don't have to pay back. I've bee blocking the numbers, but today, they sent a text with my name and address as well as a hyperlink to a website.
http://odkiu.com/YyBM1. The number that textured was [protected]. Not super how to stop this.

C
Jul 28, 2016 8:15 am EDT

Got a call rob-call from them claiming the IRS is suing me from #[protected]

T
Jul 15, 2016 1:00 am EDT

I got 4 calls yesterday a minute apart from this number #[protected]. I do not answer the phone from a number not in my phone book. I googled it and it said Global Crossing. They didn't leave a text or voice mail. This is a local number from my city Indianapolis. Marked number as scam.

S
Jun 29, 2016 5:40 pm EDT

These ppl, global crossing, call me often. Never lave a msg. Hang up when I do answer. They call from dif #s. Today they called from [protected].

B
May 26, 2016 11:49 am EDT

I received a text message from them today with my name and address on it. I knew something was wrong so I am deleting it after writing this. It is a too frequent thing anymore with all these scam companies. I am going to have to change my number because I am tired of the phone calls. I thought we had a do not call list, I hate to tell them, it isn't working

K
May 11, 2016 7:05 pm EDT

I received a call tonight from Global Crossing around 9 PM. I work for a mental health agency in NJ and am currently on call for the next week, which means people who call with a crisis are rerouted from our main office number to my work cell. The number that came up was [protected]. I informed the gentleman on the phone that he was tying up a MENTAL HEALTH CRISIS LINE and promptly hung up. He hasn't called back yet and I hope he never does.

Y
May 06, 2016 4:56 pm EDT

Just got a phone message from some ### at [protected], saying that he was from the IRS Fraud Department and that a warrant had been issued for my arrest because my address was under investigation. I checked the reverse phone listing and found it to be from a Virginia company listed as Global Crossing, so began to review the above postings. I was going to call back and have some fun with this fool, but my wife threatened to kill me if I did. First of all, the IRS DOES NOT have a Fraud Department, the IRS DOES NOT initiate taxpayer contact by phone or email and the IRS DOES NOT issue arrest warrants. How do I know this, you ask. I am a retired Tax Compliance Officer (Tax Auditor), having spent 34 years with the IRS. This is just one of the many fraudulent scams criminals like this try to pull on unsuspecting targets. Jerk their chain if you want, but do not give out any personal information to these crooks. I hope this clown calls back, as I'm going to turn the tables and have some fun

C
Dec 05, 2018 4:49 pm EST
Replying to comment of Ydnas

They just called me at least5 times in under an hour.. Claiming IRS fraud/tax debt.. Threatened me with jail time.. I called them back and ripped into them verbally.. I'm disabled. I receive social security income.. They have also called me about my child's visit to Dr at Kaiser hospital... I am childless due to cancer... This kind of behavior from criminal is just unacceptable.

R
Feb 27, 2016 2:00 pm EST

Received calls and texts from person named Nicole from [protected] pretending to be Orange coast title company employee offering jobs.
Checked with the company directly - it's a fake, fishing and trying to trick people to pay them advance for the supplies. It has to be stopped.

I
Oct 29, 2015 4:28 pm EDT

Received 6 calls back to back on my cell phone from [protected], which I then googled and discovered was listed as being used by GLOBAL CROSSING LOCAL SERVICES in Connecticut. The location showed as Greenwich during the calls. I subsequently blocked the number. These people are the ### of the earth (as reading through the pages here will show you) and are precisely the reason why people have to screen calls, even on their cells, these days. If I could reach through a cell tower and slap these people hard in the face, I would.

M
Oct 27, 2015 12:36 pm EDT

MATHEWKUHN@OUTLOOK.COM Is connect to phone number [protected] along with MARKEVANS224@OUTLOOK.COM as is MATHEWKUHNS77@OUTLOOK.COM and phone number [protected]. They are SCAMMERS! GLOBAL CROSSING LOCAL SERVICES-INC PA is allowing these scam artists to take advantage of innocent people. What a disgrace!

J
Oct 20, 2015 6:51 pm EDT

I I recieved severals call from [protected] ... DON NOT ANSWER THIS PHONE CALL ...IS A SCAM... What i did, is i sabed this phone number in my phone, and i named ...DON NOT ANSWER, IS A SCAM... And them I BLOCK THIS CALLER... I don't recived any more phone call from this people... I have a iphone 6, and this is how i did it...
1. Go to Phone ( usually is down in the phone )
2.Next to the number touch i
3. Create new contact
4. Name: DON NOT ANSWER, IS A SCAM.
5.Saved
6.Go to Phone again ( usually is down in the phone )
7.Luck for that new contact that you use added ( the SCAM )
8. TOUCH that number, you will see the auctions there
9. Scroll all the way down iphone
10.TOUCH ...BLOCK THIS CALLER
11. BLOCK CONTACT

DO NOT DELITE THIS PHONE NUMBER FROM YOUR iphone, if you do, all this won't work...

B
Sep 23, 2015 2:12 pm EDT

Here is the best advice I have received from a local attorney regarding these kind of calls. Contact the Secretary of State's office in your state and file a consumer complaint alleging fraud. Most all states have a mechanism in their Secretary of State's office for officially recording these types of complaints then following up through the legal mechanisms of the State Attorney General. Once they see a trend, they will react and contact the carrier of all the numbers used by the fraudulent enterprise.

C
Sep 18, 2015 1:25 pm EDT

Given the number of complaints regarding sub-human debris using Global Crossing's services, and the inability of the Feds to do anything, maybe various States Attorney Generals can take direct action against the likes of Global Crossing and Level3 communications.

Just as the commies want to go after guns for crimes, it would seem only fair Global Crossing and Level3 communications should be held responsible for the trash they continue to do business with.

P
Sep 18, 2015 2:21 am EDT

Wow! That is ridiculous. It almost seems unbelievable that they've been doing this since '09. My goodness. I downloaded an app that tells you from, who, etc. Is calling you. That company called me. And yes! They don't have respect for people's timezones or school hours. I never answer unknown numbers and it seems I'll be blocking them right now. I thank God I found that app. The number that called me is [protected]. I'll definitely tell my family about that app.

R
Aug 20, 2015 12:38 pm EDT

I continue to get a call from [protected]. They are harassing and state I owe money and they need my social security number.

M
Aug 05, 2015 2:57 pm EDT

I agree with everyone here. This company have many faces. I got a call from them using the number [protected].
Their deal was a cruise trip to the Bahamas for 3 days for $ 89.00. Stay away from them. Blocking the number may
do litter since they change phone numbers a lot.

J
Jun 22, 2015 11:38 am EDT

I have received multiple calls from this company from multiple phone numbers with the latest one being [protected] and it comes up saying Lebanon, TN. Other numbers from these people are [protected] Stamford, Connecticut, [protected] Franklin, TN, [protected] TN, USA and those are just the few numbers they have called from in the past two weeks. The first time they called was about a month ago and they asked for my husband about some type of money that was owed to him and like others said they had a very thick Indian accent & from a telemarketing agency as you are able to hear several other people in the background. The man I spoke to was very persistent and rude when I told him that I wasn't with my husband at the moment and wanted to know where I was and he wanted me to give him a lot information that was none of his business. I did ask to speak with his supervisor and he stated he didn't have one so I asked for the name of the Company he was calling on behalf of and again he said that he wasn't working for a company and he refused to give me any information about anything other than his first and last name (which is probably a fake name). In the beginning I would block the numbers they were calling from but it got to the point where they called from a different number each time so now I just ignore the calls. I have reported them to the FTC but nothing has been done because I'm sure they are not in the USA and the numbers change rapidly.

U
May 05, 2015 11:16 am EDT

Received a call from [protected] Caller ID is RESTRICTED Number is from Denver Colorado along with a huge list of other numbers for Global. My phone said there was a message, but it is just dead air. They called at 1 minute to lunch. I don't have a credit card, I don't owe any money to anyone, I am retired and on Social Security in the Sunshine State. There is no money here so why they are calling me is anyone's guess.
Watch out for these people!

I
Apr 15, 2015 8:10 pm EDT

[protected] has called me six times back to back. I dare you to call here one more time. Please. I have a surprise for you. Be sure to check with your employer about your medical insurance coverage prior to calling me. Make sure your policy contains extensive coverage for ear damage. Please call me now. I'm anxiously waiting.

T
Jan 08, 2015 3:20 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Last summer I was the victim of a Nigerian Online Romance scam.

This phone number was just used recently by that same scammer to contact me (I had blocked all other numbers). Anyone or company associated with this number is attempting to scam you out of money. Period.

D
Oct 05, 2014 3:28 pm EDT

I got the call today 10/5/2014. When you call back the number is not real. But when you look it up on the Internet it is global crossing local service .#[protected]

M
Sep 24, 2014 11:20 am EDT

I receive calls from Global Crossing Local Services Inc - OH. The number that shows up every single time is [protected]. The name does not show up on the caller ID, just the number. They have been trying to call me for more than a year now, but I refuse to answer the call when I see that number pop up. They call at least once or twice a day. It will stop for short spans of time, but then they resume calling. So sick of this harassment. Just wish it would STOP.

J
Aug 11, 2014 3:06 pm EDT

i got a call from [protected] asking for my mom. i said NO ONE HERE BY THAT NAME. SCAMMERS

X
Jul 12, 2014 1:37 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i am getting calls multiple times daily. [protected] i only know this is either a landline or cell in the indianapolis area. when i google it its global crossing local. i have never answered because i dont recognize the number, and now i know i wont!

A
Jun 18, 2014 12:33 pm EDT

It is nearly impossible to avoid scam calls, one thing that works for me is to be very rude, so they know I know they are ###, the only ones I have not been able to stop is those of "The Prophet" so and so, that say "The Lord " told him me and my family are in danger, those are robotic calls and there is no way to speak with a person.

B
Jun 03, 2014 2:41 pm EDT

Well I have some news about Global Crossing Local Services: they now have a new scam here: http://www.topmostluxuryhomes.co/, or actually I think that some swindlers hired GCLS's services for this one.
As I wanted to rent a room for 10 days in San Francisco, I stumbled upon an ad on craigslist: beautiful furnished apartment on Pacific Avenue for 60$/day! Too good to be true. There was a website link in the ad, which I followed. The scam is well done, except that you have no company references nor address, only a phone number.
I sent them an email, and "Gayle Datson" explained to me how the rental works; but she talked a lot about the money transfer which was a bit weird.
I googled their phone number and bam! Global Crossing Local Services. And here I am now, wondering how I could have been so naive...60$/day for a luxury 1br in San Francisco who am I kidding

We have a new business and have opened a twitter account. I have been following like minded businesses in hopes that they will also follow us. I had a company I had followed-follow us back and offer to work with us or to have us try out equipment and we could review them and keep the items. They gave us a website and a phone number [protected] and signed the message Cameron. I was stoked! Then I got four more offers from other companies all with the same website, phone number, and name (Cameron) . They all said exactly the same thing. I googled the number as I'll of this smelt fishy. With a little investigation online I found the company Global Crossing Local Services INC is in Bellview Wa. Then I found all these sites claiming fraud. I'm so glad I did NOT call the number!

S
Mar 12, 2014 2:25 pm EDT

I have been receiving phone calls from [protected] I traced the phone call to the company name Global Crossing Local Services Inc. in Westchester, Pennsylvania. Who are these people? Is this a real company? Am I being frauded?

S
Jan 29, 2014 11:24 am EST

[protected] is the number that called me today. I did not answer it. Google says its Global Crossing Local Services, Inc.-wa. Im so tired of these companies trying to bother me on my cell #. Just when you think you got rid of it on your landlines by no longer having it they find your cell #!

A
Nov 07, 2013 7:47 pm EST

I have been getting calls from a number with my local area code, and voicemails left after each call. the voicemails are from a "mrs robinson" who is trying to see if this is a good number to contact ms (my name). she has a jamaican/west indian accent, and does not identify herself any further than "mrs robinson." the number she gives me to call back is an atlanta, GA number, with a prefix for Global Crossing Local Services. after reading all these messages, i believe it is a scam, but it is really nerve-wracking, as she has found both my house phone number and my dad's personal cell phone number. i think the best way to deal with it is to ignore the calls, because from other people's experiences it seems like trying to talk to them won't do anything but make the situation worse. this is very distressing, and i hope it stops soon.

S
Nov 01, 2013 7:33 pm EDT

I received a Phone from Phone # [protected] a Guy Introduced him self as Jack Wilson. He said he is talking from IRS. He said I was send letter from IRS for Scrutiny but I had not responded. I never get any letter from IRS. He said Now they had Issued a warrant. In Order to escape I had two Options Either I pay money with Penalty OR Go to Court. I told him to give me Address and Contact Information of Him and His Boss so that I can go and Meet him. He gave me IRS Actual Address in DC and Room # 254 and His Boss Name as James Morgan. When I asked Phone Number of Him and His Boss he get Frustrated and said that we are your servant but you should co-operate us. As I am not co-operation Now he will see and make sure that I will be Penalized for $ [protected] Penalty and Hangup Phone.

J
Jan 26, 2011 1:28 am EST

I keep getting calls from a guy named Andy and a guy named Robert. They state that I applied for a loan online and that the company named cash net transferred the funds into my account (they knew who I bank with. This is scary). They state that an EFT was returned unpaid and that the company asked them to take criminal actions against me and that if I don't settle now that they were going to tell the police to come to my home the next morning. I knew right away this was a scam because I know I did not take a loan from a cash net and second he would not give me any details and stated that he was not calling from a collection agency that this was a legal matter. So why was he asking me to settle out of court by paying them today. I told him he should then call the police and have them come to my house because I was not giving him a dime. You can tell that they are telemarketers. They are of Indian / West Indian nationality. Something should be done about this.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

679 complaints
186 resolved 493 unresolved

CenturyLink contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
930 15th St. 11th Floor, Colorado United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT