General Electricclass-action suit on refrigerator moisture!

1

A recent visit by a GE service person (who was replacing and fixing some parts on our dishwasher due to their recent recall) advised us on the class-action suit GE had regarding moisture problems with a certain line of refrigerators. After a brief look at ours he stated it was one on the list. I took the time to look up this class-action suit on GE refrigerators on the computer . I read an article on the extension given by a judge to consumers who were unaware of this suit. I made a call on Feb 28th for an appointment with a GE repairman to look at our refrigerator. After a brief call with his office, we were informed that they could not honor the class-action agreement of replacing the refrigerator doors, I asked why. Their response was that I responded to late, and they had a deadline, which was Mar 27th? I said I thought that they had extended any deadline for consumers who were unaware of this issue. They said that any further extension beyond Mar 27th would be that the consumer could still get the doors replaced, but for $600.00. Go figure? I will never buy another GE product again and will advise others to do the same.

Rod Hickman.

Responses

  • Ca
    Carol Royce Sep 19, 2007

    In March of 2005 I purchased a $1,250 General Electric side-by-side stainless steel refrigerator and less than three years later it dies! How could this be unless GE is using inferior materials and finds it acceptable to market poorly made products? I had to pay $116.00 to have it repaired. I wrote to the CEO of the company, Jeffrey Immelt and he had one of his underlings call me. They couldn't even leave a toll-free number for me to call them back. This underling of Mr. Immelt expressed no compassion whatsoever. He told me their parts have a 10 year life expectancy. Yeah, well my part lasted 29 months! He could care less and told me as much. I asked if they wanted a happy GE customer or a disgusted GE customer. Needless to say, they don't expect repeat customers and needless to say, I will never purchase anything made by GE. Speaking of GE, I have a GE television that gives a inferior picture. GE no longer stands for quality.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Oct 20, 2007

    I purchased a washing Machine with the extended warranty, just found out the warranty expired this past February, General Electric is charging me $ 99 for a service call and when the service guy got out he is telling me to fix the machine it will cost me three hundred and seventy two dollars to repair. Then I found out the part that has to be replace was not covered under the warranty any way. So in other words they took my money for nothing. how many people are they are getting over on like that. The machine on only five years old and to repair this machine will cost me the price of a new one. which I can not afford. I need help in getting this machine repaired. I am refusing to pay the $ 99 service fee for them to come out if they had told me over the phone it would have saved me and the service guy time. They knew what they were doing.

    Thank you

    Lillian Simmons
    718-221-1729

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Weidler Oct 27, 2007

    Amazing that they can get away with this type of extortionately billing! The EXACT same thing happened to me. I refused to pay the $99 - they badgered me for several months with threatening letters to send to collections. I eventually decided it was not worth the hassle and paid it anyway. ...and they had the audacity to forward my account to collections anyway.

    This is a prime example of a top heavy corporation out of control, with the obvious demonstrated ability to bully their customers with their untouchability.

    I advise anyone who wants to avoid endless frustration to AVOID GE APPLIANCES like the plague!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jcarp Apr 29, 2008

    Rod, don't give up on this! I have the same situation and I will and have telephoned Raymond Graft tel 502-479-3649 in Louisville KY at 3005 Resford Way 40205. We have had 2 visits by techs in the Puget Sound region and neither one told us about the recall program. Today, our tech now arrives to diagnose a failed cooling system and says it was caused by the defective door seal and we can get it repaired for about $1000 or get a $400 credit on a new refrigerator! No previous tech told us about it and we don't get a newspaper. Advised it was on the internet, and my response is geappliances is not on my Favorites list of bookmarks to visit. Why would I visit this site?

    Anyway, if we don't get admitted to the program, KING, KIRO and KOMO will hear about this and GE will have to respond to media pressure. Give Mr. Graft a call. Tell him living up to his last name is no honor!

    1 Votes
  • De
    Denise Jul 03, 2008

    Dealing with GE Customer Service is the worst experience I ever had. I have a product under warranty and trying to get service or a phone call answered is horrible. I will never buy or recommend a GE product. Stay away from them!

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lindas Feddersen Jul 14, 2008

    I bought a general electric washing this past march from PC Richards, the machine was broken within month the motor burned out. I called to make a service appt. they said they would get back to me within 24 48 hours no one ever did. i called them back and said that the appt was for that saturday. the machine has broken down again, again i called to make an appt. went through the same thing all over again. took a unpaid day off AGAIN, recieved a phone at 3 pm that the tech was sick and not comming. and that there was no one else to fix it. then i called the service dept and the young lady gave me an attitude. I WILL NEVER BUY A GE PRODUCT AGAIN AND I WILL TELL MY FRIENDS TOO.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Newport Aug 04, 2008

    We are having the same problem with our GE 2002 refridgerator. The mositure problem in the freezer is out of control. The freezer and door ice/water is unuseable and I have to keep a plastic tub under the unit to protect my hardwood floors. We were never notified of this defect and now the date of the replacement is past and to have working ice we will have to replace the door for over $600! I called the GE 1-800-GECARES number only to find out that they do not CARE! A GE repair person came to the house and confirmed that the doors are defective, but there was nothing he could do about it because it was past the deadline of the class action lawsuit. I will never buy a GE product again, with terrible customer service and defective products- why should anyone buy their products?

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Newport Aug 06, 2008

    General Electric
    Phone GE Cares

    http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/general-electric-c51742.html

    We are having the same problem with our GE 2002 refrigerator. The moisture problem in the freezer is out of control. The freezer and door ice/water is unusable and I have to keep a plastic tub under the unit to protect my hardwood floors. We were never notified of this defect and now the date of the replacement is past and to have working ice we will have to replace the door for over $600! I called the GE 1-800-GECARES number only to find out that they do not CARE! A GE repairperson came to the house and confirmed that the doors are defective, but there was nothing he could do about it because it was past the deadline of the class action lawsuit. I will never buy a GE product again, with terrible customer service and defective products- why should anyone buy their products?
    Tom & Stephanie Newport
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52404

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    CAMILLE BAUER Nov 07, 2008

    I TOO HAVE A DEFECTIVE GE REFRIGERATOR THAT I WAS NOT AWARE WAS RECALLED AND AM NOW PAYING $535.00 TO HAVE REPLACED. IS IT POSSIBLE TO GET ANOTHER CALSS ACTION SUIT GOING AGAINST GE. NOT ONLY WAS THE ICEMAKER DEFECTIVE.. SO WAS THE FILTER.. THE DOORS WERE NOT THICK ENOUGH.. THEY NOW REMOVED THE SCREWS IN THE DOOR. ETC. MAYBE THERE IS A TECNICALLITY OF ANOTHER DEFECT THAT WILL HELP US GET THESE DOORS COVERED. CAMILLE BAUER

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Pensri Siville Nov 17, 2008

    I bought a GE.refrigerator in 2007, and up to this time I have a continuous problem with the ice maker.
    The repair Technician came to my house four times, each time, assuring me the problem was fixed.What can I do to get the problem fixed? Am I to assume GE.Appliance repair dept.is just a bad joke?

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sisgiggles Feb 05, 2009

    We have a 2008 Model GE profile refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave/hood, as well as range. So far we have had a repairman replace a circut board in the fridge, a thermister, been told it also now needs an ice maker, and a damper thingy. HHHMMM GE said they would send a letter. What does this mean? We have not recieved a letter and they only covered $100 in food loss when the refer was at 62 degrees after service that was supposed to fix the problem. Now comes the kicker! Guess what is going on with the Dishwasher? I am told two weeks ago that a faulty circut board is to blame for a fan that won't shut off. Same as what started our issues with the refer. Incidentely the refer is still having a fan run while the thing is turned off even with the new circut board...I just recieved a call from the dishwasher repair guy that he cannot make his appointment he scheduled for me two weeks ago when I asked him to make us his first appointment...I have never had such terrible customer service! If their is a class action going on I'd like to know where to get information on it since they are not going to resolve it anytime soon and I am running out of leave time to be at home to wait for people who are not the slightest bit interested in helping us!!! Maybe we can get Jessy!!!

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zaxmommie2003 Jun 09, 2009

    thank you for this information. I have a GE side by side that is leaking water...so much so that the entire bottom of the freezer fills with water and freezes and my bottom drawer gets dislodged and then, I have a puddle on the floor daily, which has caused the subfloor under my tiles to warp...so now I have a busted fridge and a damaged floor??? I just called 866-839-4463, designated for fridge lawsuit customers, only to find out that my model # is not included in the lawsuit. My model # is TFX 25 KR...wonder why it's not included when it sounds like I have the same freezer "peeing" problems that everyone else is having????

    If anyone has add'l info, please let me know!!!

    Single Mom in Maryland

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jarred johnson Jun 12, 2009

    MAILED ON Friday, June 12, 2009
    FILED ON WEDNESDAY JUNE 17th 2009

    From:
    Jarred D Johnson
    860 E Benjamin Dr
    Franklin TN 37067

    TO:
    The Honorable Sheri Polster Chappell

    United States Magistrate Judge
    U.S. Courthouse & Federal Building

    2110 First Street
Ft. Myers, Florida 33901


    REGARDING:

    Class Action Case No. 2:05-cv-186-FtM-33DNF


    REQUEST EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE A CLAIM TO JOIN CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT

    HONORABLE SHERI POLSTER CHAPPELL,

    My name is Jarred D Johnson, and I have had numerous issues with a side by side refrigerator manufactured by GE which was previously included in a class action lawsuit over faulty doors and moisture issues in the freezer. It is my understanding that GE did not do enough to advertise to alert customers that their product was included in this action, as I and thousands of others still are just now learning of this action for the first time in 2008-2009,

    THEREFORE, I am kindly asking that you would grant an extension of time to allow more plaintiffs to file and adjoin the action so that our faulty products would be fixed and ask that you would give the new members at least a 24 month window of time to do so. Doing so would give customers that are encountering this faulty product for the first time an opportunity to repair them. My side-by-side refrigerator came with the purchase of my house and I was not the original customer, so I was not in the GE database and was not mailed any notification by GE regarding the settlement.

    Thank you,

    Jarred D Johnson

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whiskers Jun 30, 2009

    I also have a 2002 GE refrigerator that was repaired in 2005. The heater went out, resulting in no cooling. I complained to GE becuase the unit was so new. They sent me information about the class action lawsuit and eventually reimbursed me for the cost of the 2005 repair.

    This week the same thing happened - freezer iced up, loss of cooling. I talked to the GE "Moisture Dept." this morning and they waived the $69 service call fee. Today, the GE repairman again replaced the heating unit and stated that this heater unit was a new, improved model, which they did not have in 2005. The reapir cost $185. I called the "Moisture Dept." number to complain that the unit was not fixed correctly in 2005 and asked to be reimbursed for the $185. They refused, but did agree to refund the part cost. I told them that wasn't good enough, that I wanted the total cost reimbursed. "That's not gonna happen, " she said. Any ideas on how to resolve this?

    -1 Votes
  • Kb
    kbw Jul 06, 2009

    My GE side by side Profile control panel keeps breaking. This time it has ruined all my floors and flooded into basement. Is there a lawsuit going on over this problem. I am out a lot of money in damages.

    1 Votes
  • As
    Ashreds Jul 19, 2009

    I bought a set of GE Profile Stainless Steel appliances including a Side by side Fridge JGB920, Dishwasher, Range and a Microwave Oven in 2005.

    The Dishwasher conked out in 2007. GE charged me $85 to send a person out, he could not fix it and gave up. I ended up buying a new Profile dishwasher for $1100. The Fridge has been having problems with temparature settings for the last 2 years. The freezer and main fridge area temperatures show -48 and -28 or so and then it starts making clicking sounds. I found that if we turn it off and restart after a while it becomes okay. My wife leaves it open sometimes to allow it to get "ack to normal". The problem we also see is that it can be firehazard as the fridge light turns on one in a while and turns extremely hot, I keep thinking it could set the house on fire.

    I am sick of GE. This is not the way very expensive appliances are supposed to work. The problem is with matched kitchen appliances you cannot even bring in new appliances from other brands.

    Class action suits any one? I will join.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terri421 Aug 05, 2009

    I too am having the same problem. Called GE today and was told the same thing- I can get a $400 credit towards a new GE refridgerator, or can pay $425.00 for the new doors that are needed, since this is past the deadline of the lawsuit. Now why would I want another GE appliance or pay out of pocket for a known faulty piece of equipment?

    If GE is aware that their merchandise is faulty, there should be a recall. When I asked about why this was not recalled, I was told becuase it was not a "safety" concern. Unreal! What a bunch of crooks! My fridge is 7 years old. Had issues within a year of purchasing it and had to jump through hoops to get that fixed.

    Please keep me posted on if there is any more chatter about an extension to this class action lawsuit. I would definitely like to join.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sams Aug 11, 2009

    I have also had problems with a 2002 side by side. First prolems were in 2005. Now the same problem the heater burned out.
    Had a repair here yesterday, just tired of the whole thing. Went out and bought a new refrigerator yesterday, not a GE.
    Wanda

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nanna Joyce Aug 21, 2009

    We purchased a new side-byside in 03 and it has started leaking . In 08 a heat defrost unit was replaced. My hardwood floor was ruined and had to be replaced. I, at the time did not realize it was the frige.
    Here I am in Aug 09 and it is leaking again, and areas of my kitchen hardwood floor is showing damage. Yes I agree another pay-out should come to the rest of the people. Any reputable company should stand by all their customers regardless of dates. Afterall they would never refuse several years of a payment plan from us, the consumer. I thought I was safe buying GE: What has happened?

    Joyce

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thehomebuilder Sep 30, 2009

    I purchased a complete set of ge profile appliances in 2005, the microwave broke in 2007 and the dishwasher cuaght fire las night. I could not fing any class action suits on this and ge's customer service sucks

    0 Votes
  • Lr
    L. Rogers Oct 12, 2009

    GE has been out three times and has not fixed the problem. I've missed four afternoons of work (they didn't show for one appt) and still haven't fixed it nor will they exchange it although it is only 3 months old. Many promises are made for repairs but nothing is done. There isn't anyone to talk to about the bad service.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Walesman Oct 15, 2009

    I have worked in customer service for 10 years. In all my experience as a customer service phone rep, and as a customer, I have never encountered a more unsatisfactory experience than the times I have dealt with GE. I received a GE digital camera as a gift for Christmas. It was dead right out of the box but I did not have a receipt from a store as it was a gift. I called GE Customer Service and after a particularly long and tedious phone conversation, was told to send them the camera, at my expense.
    I did and nearly a month and a half later, I received the camera back again with their...cost estimate for repairs!
    Which incidently was only slightly less than the cost of buying an entire new camera. When I sent them a letter explaining that I had sent the camera at my own expense to them, and they took a month to get it back to me, and wanted to charge me to fix a brand new camera, I received no response at all. I phoned customer service again, and got a person with an attitude who repeatedly told me that I needed to take it back to the store, or find out if the person who gave it to me as a gift had a receipt for it.
    Not only were they not able to help me in a satisfactory manner, but they did not seem to be the least bit concerned about a potential customer. It's not uncommon to get one bad customer service agent, but to repeatedly receive bad service both on the phone and in writing is very unusual. Comsumer electronics is a widely competitve field. Companies like Sony make very good products. I strongly urge anyone considering these purchases to take into account the reputation for service that the company provides. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Bb
    B.Bell Oct 21, 2009

    In 2005 we started noticing frost build up on the inside of the freezer door near the ice dispenser and then ice build up in the gears of the ice crusher and that lead us to learning of the class action suit re the moisture problem in January 2006. We were included in the suit and GE had the doors replaced in July 2006. The repair person said the old doors were too thin, had a seal problem resulting in moisture inside the freezer door that turned to ice thereby no longer insulating the freezer. Three years later in September 2009 we again started noticing frost build up near the ice dispenser and recently the water dispenser stopped working. Checked all the water dispenser components and it appears the water line inside the freezer door is frozen which means the door has moisture/ice built up inside--the same problem that resulted in the class action. I called GE and was told the suit has been settled so if I want the doors again replaced it wood cost me $425 or I could get a $400 credit off their National Sales Price if I want to purchase a new refrigerator but only thru them--so I cannot purchase one that is on sale or discounted. Bottle line is GE replaced the defective doors with defective doors that last about 3 years and they want me to purchase another GE refrigerator. If there is a way of getting another class action I am all for it.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Justin W Nov 13, 2009

    We have a 7-8 year old GE Fridge, model TFX25KR. We just moved back into our home -- which had been occupied by our tenants previously -- and have had problems with frost building up inside the freezer around the ice dispenser hole. Our old tenants had never mentioned it, so who knows how long this has been happening. I don't recall ever receiving a class action lawsuit notice.

    We also have problems with the ice in the icebox clumping together into massive chunks of ice that have to be manually broken apart and emptied every few weeks. I don't know if this is related to the moisture issue, or a water leak somewhere in the ice maker. But it's a nuisance.

    On several occasions, the water dispenser button on the door hasn't disengaged, causing the cup/glass we're filling to overflow, spilling water down the front of the fridge and all over the kitchen floor.

    Finally, at some point in the last few days, the valve where the water line comes into the back of the fridge has started leaking. We now have water seeping through the floor and dripping into the basement. I've temporarily turned off the water line, and now need to find parts and/or a maintenance person. But, depending on price, I might just replace this refrigerator altogether, and it won't be another GE model.

    0 Votes
  • Bx
    bxt007 Dec 01, 2009

    i have the same problem. bought my place in 07, didn't know anything about this until my fridge failed fall 09. they sent a guy out, who eyeballed the outside of the fridge, told me it was a product defect, and charged me $80 for the visit. i have called GE several times about this. their customer service is awful. ranges from curt to rude. i asked to escalate, got someone from their 'headquarters' and she basically just stuck me on permanent hold because i wouldn't take their canned legalistic answers. i asked her if she thought her mom should get treated like this. she didn't respond. basically, they think they have settled the matter cause they paid off some plaintiff's attorney and now they're willing to fix the fridge (at considerable cost), or give you $400 off the retail price (who the heck pays that), as if i want another product from this evil corporation in my house. the worst part - still have a GE profile range and dishwasher (which also had a product recall) - i'd love to junk it all and get them out of my life altogether. i don't think people like us have any legal recourse at all - unfortunate part of class action litigation, and the company definitely thinks it has paid out enough. all i know is, i won't be buying any of their stuff ever again.

    by the way - if you're on hold with GE, you automatically get disconnected at 5PM cst, when they shut down for the day. nice. very classy.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda K. DeMarco Dec 21, 2009

    I am having a lot of trouble with my GE profile side by side counter depth. the freezer is defrosting and melting everything in it and the light stays on in the fridge and gets so hot that anything on the top shelf spoils. The last repairman replaced the ice-maker to solve the water leaking down the back and sides of the freezer. The fan for the compressor is not working and the control panel at the top is not working. It has taken 3 days for a service repairman to arrive and I have lost a lot of food.
    I am wasting a lot of time and energy. (The Best Buy Geek had the nerve to ask me if the Fridge was plugged in) if I were a man I can he would not have asked me such a dumb question.

    1 Votes
  • Me
    MelanieY Mar 25, 2010

    We are a new 4 condo building that was purchased new in 2006. All four units had brand new GE GSC23LSR SS refrigerators. All four have the icemaker and moisture problems. When the fridge was under warranty, our downstairs neighbors call GE repair. They came out and said our water pressure was not good enough and that was the problem. Our water pressure is the cause of ice buildup and frost on the inside of the ice maker and water dripping down the front of the door? Give me a break. Our water pressure is fine here. Now I start the process in futility. GE, never again.

    1 Votes
  • An
    ann mar Jun 06, 2010

    My GE bottom freezer is 3 1/2 years old and is now a fire hazzard. The compressor got so hot that it melted the insulation inside the sealed unit. I burnt my hand when I touch the outside of the bottom freezer. The service man said the sealed unit in not repairable. GE refuses to pay for my defective refrigerator. I spent four hours trying trying to talk to a human being about my defective GE refrigerator. The people in the human relations department are rude and dishonest. They don't honor the 5 year service warrantry.

    2 Votes
  • Ei
    E in the Windy City Jun 06, 2010

    I have a five year old GE bottom drawer refrigerator that was working fine up until 2 months ago. Since the first breakdown, I have had a GE repairman in once and an outside company fix the same problem (refrigerator cooling fan stops running), four times! The outside repairman said the problem is due to poor design. My question is, with all the numerous consumer complaints I've been reading about GE refrigerator products, how on earth are they allowed to continue this indifferent business model of planned obsolesence? I for one would love to see another class-action lawsuit brought up against GE for their faulty products.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    MadatGE Jun 07, 2010

    Now that I find this site and all of the previous posts, my experience with GE makes sense. We've had issues with a refrigerator bought in 2002 for a few years. The ice maker leaked and jammed the dispenser, because it was not retaining the temperature. We paid for that repair. Since then, we have had issues with this unit and dealt with them. Over the last month, our unit was getting warm, on both sides, and I've had to remove the back side of the freezer and thaw out the coils. The unit works well for several days, before I have to do it again.
    Finally, I had enough and went on line and scheduled a service visit for today. As the repairman was walking in the house, before he even saw the unit, he said he knew what the problem was and it would cost me $650. He showed me the seal and told me about the history of the product and its class-action suit. I called the number he gave me, and met the same rude response everyone has been talking about - and the same deal. $400 off another garbage GE product with no company support to back it up when it fails or GE will graciously allow me to PAY for new doors. The repairman said the flawed design puts more wear and tear on the motor of the refrigerator, and even if I replaced the doors, there's a good chance other damage has been done, and I would be seeking further repairs.

    Why would I have to pay for defective doors!!!??? I realize, legally the law suit window is closed, but I guess thought I still lived in a world where a company would stand behind its name - or at least put out fires to protect it! Naive me. The thing is, I don't have time to wait around for a new CA law suit. I can't be taking apart my freezer and melting the iced up coils every 4 days for long. And GE won't budge.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Padgett Jun 23, 2010

    I've had some of the same issues with my GE refrigerator and can't get any help from the sorry folks at GE ! It's broke again and they don't won't to help with the cost of repairing, only to give me $ 400.00 dollars towards a new GE, why would I want a new one when GE clearly can't make a Refrigerator. I would like to be in on the new Class Action Law suit if anyone knows about starting one. GE will not help us out either.

    0 Votes
  • Pm
    pmwm1234 Jun 24, 2010

    Model GSS25JEPABB - SXS - freezing OK, fresh food section not cold enough. Service tech has replaced the main board, damper vent (twice), encoded board and evaporator motor. It is about 4 years old. The WR55X10174 board was replaced with a substitute WR55X10942 part (per GE) and there were instructions, but it was apparently replaced properly. The coils were very dirty with pet hair, but that has been cleaned. There had been ice build-up due to the defrost system not working. The week before it quite cooloing it had been freezing milk. WHAT'S UP?

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julio E Ballester Aug 05, 2010

    Does not agitate, model wjre5500g2ww, serial tr174183g. I bought this whasher about a one year.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike W Feb 22, 2011

    Bought a GE Profile refrigerator a little over a year ago. This thing is trash. We cannot keep food in the freezer. After about a week any thing in the freezer taste "freezer burnt" and has a large amount of frost built up on it. The drinks and food in the refrigerator door are not very cold also. I have had appliance technicians check it three times, one was even on the phone with the factory technician while checking everything. All three times I was told there was not anything wrong with it. I will never buy another GE appliance or recommend one to anyone. I see on here and on other appliance reviews that many other people have the same issues with these refrigerators. Junk, Junk, Junk!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tawdry Jul 06, 2011

    We purchased our first GE side by side refrigerator in 2001 and in the FIRST year we had frost probelms and problems with the water for the ice maker freezing up. WE were told by GE that our ice maker was the problem. GE sent out at least 3 new ice maker (buckets/drawers??). I repeatedly explained that the freezer was freezing up and freezer door was frozen solid and the bucket was not the issue. When I contacted them again to speak to a supervisor the person told me that the door was not under warranty and that I could pay $450.00 or so to replace it. First of all the fridge was only had the fridge ONE year. So we, went without an ice maker for a few years until we got a letter in the mail informing us of the class action law suit. It was not as easy as it sounds because they only wanted to replace the fridge with a specific model# that did not have all of the features that my old fridge had. The customer service (shark) was VERY rude. They eventually sent out the fridge but ONLY after a fight.

    We thought that out problems were over! Until, one year later THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM occured with the NEW replacement fridge. We called them back and they told us "too bad, too sad." So, there we were again having our GUESTS bring the ice to dinner. But what make me so ANGRY with GE is that today (3 years later) the freezer and fridge went out.

    GE REPLACED A DEFECTIVE FRIDGE WITH ANOTHER DEFECTIVE FRIDGE ONLY TO SHUT US ALL UP!!

    I will NEVER buy another GE appliance in my life and I REFUSE to let a friend OR any of my 6 children and extended family to purchase a GE applicance. MY great grandkids will here about it. As, hard as times are now I have to replace a 3 YEAR OLD DEFECTIVE refrigerator. Where is the second part of the class action lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Never_buy_GE Aug 22, 2011

    GE Profile microwave broke after 7 years along with the profile downdraft vent hood. We already paid over $200 to fix the hood but GE will not work with me on replacing or fixing this broken Microwave. I am not going to spend any more money on inferior appliances that GE produces. Please let me know what other course I can take.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mohammed Rashid May 27, 2015

    I have 2007 GE Monigram side by side 42 inch refigerator that I bought for nearly ~$6500 dollar. Since 2007, this has nothing but trouble. There are numerous quality issues on the design of this GE monogram refrigerator which I suffered ever since. If I have to compare the 2002 Kenmore refrigerator which I never had problem with, this really sucks to pay so much and yet go through so much pain. Here are the list of issues I had - 1) Water pipe connection to the refrigerator for water dispenser had a leak due to faulty installation by GE, 2) Stopped working, hence GE came and change the motherboard, 3) Stopped working again, due to inverter (120V to 230V) to compressor went bad. For (3), the design is such a poor that inverter is next to compressor and there is hardly any separation between them, as a result the inverter warms up and eventually faultered. i spend so much money on (~$71/month) on service plan, and paid so much that I could have purchased multiple Kenmore refrigerator of other brand. I regret going with GE, I will ensure to stay with GE. Big giant like GE should learn how to do appliance from companies like BOSCH (in Europe) and see how they ensure reliability.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Giordan Jun 09, 2016

    Twice in the past 2 years GE sent someone out to repair my microwave. Both times it was the same part. Both time, although the part is covered for 10 years, I was charged a' service charge' to put the part in. Basically, it took 20 minutes to repalace the part both times and the 2 service calls costed me $348.22. Thats insane, I suggest that anyone considering purchasing a GE appliance think twice..... it's junk!!! Now my dishhwasher is being recalled.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Todd Jun 09, 2016

    GE just came to our house on a service call and spent 2o minutes changing a fuse and charged us $169.00.
    Outragous!

    0 Votes
  • Sj
    sjybarra Jun 15, 2016

    I paid over three thousand dollars for the top of the line POS General Electric oven and microwave and Refrigerator. Within two years nothing but problems. the Doors on the reefer were recalled but I was never notified even though I had registered on line. When they came to fix the reefer they offered me a fifty dollar cert on a new machine. When i asked about product defect the ge guy finally admitted they had been recalled. They wanted to charge me for installation which i refused. Since then the ice maker system has failed the cost of repair is 1/3 of the cost of the machine.
    as to the stove, i had over six service calls and they finally told me to buy a new one. the microwave sensor died and the cost of replacement was again 1/3 of the cost of the machine plus the service call.
    so DON'T BUY GE THEY SUCK.
    And we wonder why American products are not taken seriously.
    sjy

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem