The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Freeshipping.com / Proflowers / Cmg Insiders Clubunauthorized charges

I was surprised this morning to find that my checking account had been charged $83.88 by some company named 'CMG Insiders Club.' After calling the 800# on the charge detail, I discovered it was affiliated with freeshipping.com. As with many others, I ordered flowers from ProFlowers for Valentine's Day. A notice said it qualified for free shipping. Great! Well, not only did I NOT get free shipping on that order (ended up being quite outrageous), now I find out that I was tricked into this scam.

I immediately sent an email to the company telling them that I did not authorize the charge and would contact my bank to dispute it. I will say that, within the hour, I received an email from the company saying that they would issue a credit; and I would see it within 2 to 5 business days. I appreciate the quick response but this should never have happened. How many people does this happen to that NEVER even miss the $84?????? Scammers!

I will NEVER order from Proflowers again and will be contacting a local radio station (on which I heard many, many commercials for them) to let them know about the scam as well.

Be warned!

Responses

  • Kr
    Kristen Mar 16, 2009

    What email address did you send a note to? The same thing happened to me this morning?

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    ebedner Mar 16, 2009

    Count me in on this as well - we got charged this AM... :(

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    gincren2 Mar 16, 2009

    I just got hit with the SAME charge. I am glad to hear that you were able to have it rectified and that you did not have to do alot of extra legwork to get your account corrected. Gives me hope as I sit on hold with freeshipping.
    That is so crappy! This is my first internet scam!

    It stinks!

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    kkurek Mar 16, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was charged $88.33 from insiders and another $14.95 from easy saver. all linked to my order from pro flowers! because of this i had 2 checks bounce and now i owe even more! i am so disgusted with pro flowers being associated with these scam companies! i will never order from them again of course.

    if this happens to anyone else go to your bank. they will help you out a lot if the companies give you trouble.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    don nusio Mar 16, 2009

    If this is the way Pro Flowers takes care of their customers, maybe we should all go to the Attorney General and see what they have to say.

    PS If you charged this put it in dispute with your credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Rg
    rg321 Mar 16, 2009

    If you ordered from Pro Flowers with a credit card, they still have your card info. Log onto the Pro Flowers account that you set up and delete your card info. I had more than one company charging to my card. I don't know if this will stop the current charges, but it might prevent more companies from getting your card number.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thumb42 Mar 17, 2009

    Thank you for the message. It was the first result on ask.com when I typed in CMG Free Shipping. I'm going to file a report with the BBB and sent it to all the sponsors on their web page if I don't see my money soon.

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    mbell Mar 17, 2009

    Thank you for posting this. I just found the same charge on my statement from a Valentine's order. I, too, will never use ProFlowers again. I think we should each report this to our State Attorney General's office.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Headder Mar 18, 2009

    Can someone tell me what the email address and/or phone number to complain is? There is no 800 # on the charge detail from my bank. These were for flowers that my fiancee used our joint account to order for me for Valentines Day. Happy Valentines Day to me! *sigh*

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    youbuythisround Mar 22, 2009

    I have been caught by this before through Proflowers.

    I am sorry to say it, but it is your own fault. It was my fault as well. When you signed up for Freeshipping it DID say that you were joining a club and it DID say that you would be charged a membership fee.

    I called the company and they were very nice and issued a credit to my account. But how typically American of you all! "I was offered a legally binding contract and entered my credit card information WITHOUT reading the contract, and now I am upset because I am an idiot who doesn't read what I approve. It is not my fault! The company must be a scam!"

    I was angry until I realized that it was not the company's fault but mine. And they gave me a full refund. But take some responsibility folks and read what you are doing before you give your cc number and click ok. You have only yourselves to blame!

    0 Votes
  • Hq
    hqjia Mar 24, 2009

    March 17, I am also charged 83.88. What has happended about this company? It scared me!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cadien Mar 24, 2009

    yes i was charged without authorization. they gave attitute when I called also. they wont give u back the whole amount back!!! Someone has to say something, they are being sneaky grabbing ppl's money.
    [protected]
    Also just pay attention if u got charged with $14.95 and if you purchase flower from proflower.com whatever...[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Mar 24, 2009

    everyone needs to call them at:
    [protected] and email them at: [protected]@freeshipping.com

    Demand that they not only refund the FULL amount of $83.88 and NOT pro-rated amount of $81.58 and contact BBB.com and all your local news TV stations to conduct a full investigation and see if they won't air it!!!

    If we all do this, than maybe we can stop them. Found following article from 2006 about all companies involved:
    http://www.comparerewards.com/archives/002057.html

    Let's all be pro-active and shut them down!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    addie Mar 25, 2009

    What email address is it? I got charged but they are refusing to rebate my charge

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    phillies champions Mar 26, 2009

    i love how after they give you the refund...im assuming they try scamming you again. this is what showed up in my email! unbelievalbe!!!

    BONUS: Get FREE coupon savings at http://www.insiderscoupons.com ! At Insiders Coupons you can get the latest instant savings codes from over 1, 000 merchants, all at no charge to you. Bookmark Insiders Coupons to save when you shop online.

    0 Votes
  • No
    norywalker Apr 04, 2009

    I also just got an offer from freeshipping.com--after I placed an order from Woman Within. freeshipping.com offer says you will get a shipping rebate on the order you just placed (up to $15) and they give you a 30-day free trial, then bill you 8.97 per month if you don't cancel. It sounded good, at least for 30 days, but they ask for a credit card number, and I am leary about places contacting me for a credit card number. So I didn't sign up and instead searched for info on freeshipping.com. I'm glad I found this site. I will not sign up after reading this.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Specialsis Apr 06, 2009

    I am going through the same mess, but I also went to the BBB Online site and they are still considered a reputable company! If they do not refund my money (and actually even if they do - they've made me angry), I will post a complaint there.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Consumer Apr 27, 2009

    I ordered from ProFlowers.com then followed the link to receive free shipping. I received a check in the mail for $12.99 to refund the shipping portion. Also I was signed up for a 30 day trail in the company "Freeshipping.com". After the 30 day trial my cc was charged $83.88. I called "Freeshipping.com" to cancel my membership and they credited my cc back. Very much an inconvenience and if you don't watch your cc statements I can see how their scam gets past some people.

    0 Votes
  • No
    norywalker Apr 28, 2009

    This company still has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau even though they have had 45 complaints filed with them in the past year. If 45 complaints still allows for an A+ rating, then please, anyone who has been ripped off by freeshipping.com please file a complaint with the BBB! The parent company to file under is Clarus Marketing Group, LLC in Wethersfield CT.

    Here is their entry with the BBB:
    http://www.bbb.org/connecticut/business-reviews/internet-shopping/clarus-marketing-group-llc-in-wethersfield-ct-30000449

    Make the complaint using this URL:
    https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/GetStarted.aspx?source=cibr&e=1029591&site=113&id=46a6a9cd-5402-454e-9476-e4df22e6f371

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Waryshopper May 01, 2009

    I cancelled my order from Proflowers.com. I ordered from them online in the past and was satisfied but this time they have acquired two different "partner" companies that get your credit card number from Proflowers and lure you with screens inviting you to sign up for FREE shipping and/or a discount coupon for your next Proflowers order. In extremely tiny print at the very bottom of the screen is a link you can use if you want to read pages of fine print for Terms of Use and Terms of Membership. Be forewarned that these terms mention charging your credit card along with lots of other legalese fine print. A "nominal activation fee" is mentioned if you read all the fine print. I saw this activation fee online on my credit card account immediately after signing up for a trial membership. 1) Freeshipping.com (aka Insiders Club) offers a 30-day FREE trial period, after which your card will be automatically charged every month. The hook is that shipping is only free if you pay for shipping and then submit documentation by mail so you can be sent a rebate. This may take up to 6 weeks and your membership must still be active at the time the rebate is issued but you only have 30 days for your FREE trial. 2) Signing up for discounts on future Proflowers orders will automatically enroll you in something called EASY SAVER Rewards, aka Encore Marketing, aka Provide Commerce, Inc. This is a different company from Freeshipping.com. They offer a 30-day trial membership (notice I didn't say 30-day FREE trial), after which you will also automatically be charged every month. What they don't tell you is they will immediately charge your card $1.95, which is the "nominal activation fee" mentioned in the very lengthy fine print if you click on Terms of Membership. I cancelled both memberships and closed my Proflowers account. I will no longer do business with Proflowers or any other company that uses similar marketing tactics or partners. People wonder why I'm so distrustful and wary. HAH!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Read May 06, 2009

    Distrustful? People shouldn't trust you. You don't read what you are signing up for then you cry about it.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray St. Pierre May 08, 2009

    I purchased parts for my washing machine Repair Clinic.com when the free shipping offer came up. Well as all you know it it not free. My credit card was charged $88.13. So people beware this is a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    ajec May 14, 2009

    Same thing happened to me! What email address did you write to ?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roxanne Jun 03, 2009

    I too was shocked to find a charge on my visa card for 83.88. I immediately called my bank, they are issuing me a new card. I then called the 800 number for cmgfreeshipping. they agreed to take the charge off, claiming I signed up for this club. I would never signup for a club over the internet. I too ordered flowers in the last year or so for free shipping, I will not be doing that again. I agree this is a scam

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JayAche Jun 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is operating out of CT.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JayAche Jun 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And I am assuming that "Read" works for this company. I have found at least 8 other websites, where this company operates out of Canada, Washington, California, and several other places. There is nothing trustworthy about this business, and there is nothing to "read" or "sign up for". That's why they call it a scam. I just e-mailed the attorney general and there are like 12 complaints on the BBB website for this place that haven't gotten taken down yet.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trublonderocker Jul 09, 2009

    "READ" I would hate to break to your company that you are not part of ProFlowers.com which according to their etrust privacy contract shares which numerous websites but not Freeshipping.com. I never gave Freeshipping.com my Debit card number when I ordered flowers for mothers day. The information given to me when I clicked on the option on Proflowers.com clearly states:

    This special offer includes a cash-back rebate (up to $15) on the delivery charges you paid today. To redeem, simply complete the online form (we'll send you the link via your welcome email), and follow the instructions provided. Plus, as an added bonus you'll receive a total of $50 in Bonus Rebates you can use at any merchant you choose! Just sign up for our 30-day no cost review. There's no risk, and no obligation...
    Insiders-Club members
    never pay full price for shipping !
    etc.
    No Fine Print

    The email they sent later states the following:


    Dear EasySaver RewardsSM Member:
    Please print this letter for your records!

    Congratulations! Your EasySaver RewardsSM membership is now active. As a member, you'll enjoy special travel and entertainment benefits and savings created just for you. Here is your Proflowers GiftCode, worth $15 towards a future Proflowers purchase.

    To use your gift code:

    1. Go to www.proflowers.com/rewards
    2. Enter this code at checkout: HNRVL00LC20500
    3. The expiration for this gift code is September 30, 2009


    Now, to begin enjoying your benefits immediately just go to www.easysaverrewards.com.

    To login, you can use your Membership ID or the Email Address that you provided:
    Membership ID: **********
    Provided Email Address: *****@***.***
    Password: *****

    You’ll enjoy special VIP access to hard-to-get tickets to concerts, sporting events and the theatre, your own personal Travel Consultant, Image Consultant, Personal Concierge, as well as Spa discounts, easy access and cash-back on gift cards at Crate & Barrel, The Home Depot, Pier 1 Imports, Bed Bath & Beyond, and other national retailers. You’ll also enjoy cash-back on gasoline, hotel, car rental and dining certificates and a whole lot more.

    Make sure to print and keep this letter for your records!

    Thank you for activating your EasySaver RewardsSM 30 day trial membership!

    Enjoy the savings!

    Sincerely, (fake signature)

    That website clearly states that I was signed to a different named business without my knowedge, and therefore was already signed up without being given the oppertunity to read any Policy of their company.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melbourne FL Jul 20, 2009

    We have enjoyed ProFlowers for a number of years and will continue to do so, but this is the first time I tried to look into the Freeshipping.com Insiders' Club thing. It is a great CONCEPT, however, I feel that any web site that does not tell you upfront what the cost of membership is going to be, should make you wary and unwilling to check any further. In this case warning bells went off when they asked for my credit card info as I was beginning to register. Delete, delete, delete! Honesty and credibility as a "program" or "benefit" should give the consumer details immediately. Boooo, to the freeshipping.com web site!

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    JCMaine Jul 22, 2009

    30 TRIAL membership says it all for me...When online, anything saying Free, or Trail period should Indicate a charge in the upcoming future...83.88 translates to 6.99/month billed annually. You have to manually enter your CC#, passwork, security question/answer, name, address, email, so on, and so forth. Some members are able to claim up to 500 dollars/year, by ordering through parter websites...God people are ###ing ###ed...

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JacAlexander Jul 27, 2009

    I did not know I was dealing with the company, they are con artists, every one should know, do not order flowers and expect freeshipping, it, s a scam.

    0 Votes
  • Nc
    nccu_grl_2014 Jan 21, 2011

    I was charge this morning in the amount of $12.00. I was highly upset because for one I had been ill and when I went to pay a bill, I noticed that my account was lower than before. Immediately, I contacted them and told them of this situation and the man tried to tell me I signed up for it. I told him that I am in college and then he assked for my address. I gave him my address and he told me that is not what is in their system. I told him apparenyly someone signed me up for this or either its a scam. He then told me he could not do anything, and I refused to let that go. I told him I will be contacting my bank about this issue because that does not make sense. Immediately, he told me he was going to refund me the money. This website is a scam all i purchased was cologne for christmas and automatically I owe them something. Never that. If you need to contact them, the number is [protected]. I was very upset with this issue and will never order another thing from them! Plus, I never received my free shipping refund charge and I sent all the paper work. Hmmmm... I don't like this at all!

    0 Votes
  • Wj
    wjones4 Apr 02, 2011

    insiders-club and free shipping.com is not a scam. They are a pain but not a scam. They pay but it takes about 5 to 6 weeks to get your check. You also have to mail in a copy of your receipt and a form you fill out and print online. My wife uses them because we buy a lot online and this company while a pain is not a scam.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions