The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Flexi-clubLocked into membership for life

M Review updated:

I am having great difficulty in owning these time shares of Flexi-Club.


Firstly, I have to pay an annual levy of R4800 and because of my current financial situation, I am unable to afford these levies. Although they are paid on a debit order monthly, I cannot afford them.


Secondly, I tried selling my timeshares and I was told that I can only sell the points allotted to me initially and not the accumulated ones. I initially bought 2900 points and now they are 4321. This means that I lose 1421 points.


Thirdly, I bought them for R11 per point and they can only get R2 per point. This equates to me losing R9 per point. If you calculate the loss, it is as follows:

4321 minus 2900 points. 4321 points are worth R 47, 531 but offered @ R 2 per point is a loss of R41.731
They can only sell these points between 6 months to 2 years. I would have to go onto a waiting list.


Fourthly, whenever I call to make a booking, there are bookings never available. One has to book one year in advance. It is difficult to plan so far in advance.


I am really disappointed at these Flexi-Club timeshares and it is causing me a great deal of difficulty.


I honestly feel that this is an extremely bad investment, considering the fact that you cannot sell them and that they are worthless

Solution description
i have applied for cancellation of my membership. i do not want these timeshares anymore. i understand that i will lose all these timeshares, but i am prepared to lose them, because Flexi-club locks you into a membership for life. thats how they make their money. and if someone tries to cancel, they cannot.


PLEASE ASSIST ME!
M. KHAN
[protected]@avlock.co.za
Tel: [protected]
Cell: [protected]

Responses

  • Ma
    Mark Calvert Oct 07, 2009

    I agree completely...they lure you into entering a contract, fill your head with beautiful terminology, convince you that this is a good investment, then bill you in a way that seems rediculous.

    They then tell you that you are bound by a lifetime contract and can in no way get out of it. How is that possible? Surely there must be a way of of these traps...

    There must be a way on protecting the consumer.

    Please help

    Mark Calvert

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Althea Thysen Feb 05, 2010

    I agree and suggest we go to TISA as Flexi Club are a member
    i think their service sucks their accomadation needs serious upgrading and the cancellation fee is madness
    all unhappy members should stand together

    regards

    Althea Thysen

    0 Votes
  • Su
    subash Laloo Feb 23, 2010

    I find that we are never able to get accomodation of our choice. I am a member for the past 10 years and was only able to use it once on a weekend.When I wrote to the club management of my intention to end my membership, i was told that I could not do so FOR LIFE.Where does such a ruling stem from as I am not in a position to afford their fees anymore.I feel helpless and require advise as to how to come out of this.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Conrad Fick Sep 30, 2010

    I agree with all these members regarding the service fro Flexi Club. I am batteling now for almost a year for answers on some queries I have regarding annual levies etc that I must pay. According to them I reached the ceiling ragarding paying for my points. According to legal advice I got this means that I do not have to pay an higher fee when I recead my ceiling. They tell me that it is correct but I still have to pay these levies with a 10% discount. According to them that is the ceiling they are talking about. I was told that I can stop the increase of my points every year and that I will only pay the amount every year on the excisting points. Now they come back to me and tell me they will first deduct some points and those that are left I will pay my yearly levies. The question I would like to ask who gives them the right to deduct points from me for which I paid for? Up to now I am still waiting for answers. The most important question I asked is, what about pensioners that can't pay these levies that goes up every year by more that a thousand rands. If thigs goes on like this all pensioners will loose there points which they worked hard for to pay them. Up to now no possitive answers.

    Regards

    Conrad Fick

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacobus Smith Oct 31, 2010

    I am also worried about the situation. Is there a solution to the problem - surely one should be able to cancel the contract. I am also getting older and will not be able to use the facilities forever. Why do you think it happens that one cannot get the bookings at places you want to go to? I have written to Flexi Club without getting a reply to my query.
    Please let me have your opinion.
    Regards
    K Smith

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RAYJEPP Jan 11, 2011

    Fully agree on on counts. Cannot cancell. Never get booking/resort of your choice when a reservation is made. Annual fees escalate annually and you lose points after a period of time. I just lost over 8, 000 points at the end of dec 2010 all because I could not get a booking for WHEN & WHERE I WANTED TO GO. I would love to join a group of members who are prepared to take Flexi-Club to task. They are getting away with "legal" murder and "raping" their clients in the process. Contact me. S. Jeppie - Cape Town [protected]

    0 Votes
  • An
    ANDRE NAUDE May 26, 2011

    I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM . FLEXI PIRIMID SCHEEM TOLD ME I HAD A 5 DAY COOLOFF PERIOD. I SPOKE TO THE SALES PERSON THE NEXT DAY AND WAS TOLD THE APPLICATION WAS SEND IN AND HAD TO PHONE A NUMBER IN PINETOWN 20 /12 /2010 .FOR THE NEXT 5 DAY TILL XMAS AFTERNOON THE LINE WAS DISCONECTED. EVERY THING THEY TOLD ME WAS A LIE. NOBODY AT FLEXI CLUB WANTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILTY FOR THE LIES THAT IS SOLD TO THEIR VICTIMS. SOME BODY IS GETTING VERY RICH VERY FAST . I WILL NOT FALL FOR THEIR BLACKLIST THREATS OR THE ATTORNEYS. I HAVE A ATTORNEY THAT WANTS TO TAKE THEM ON.WE NEED TO TAKE ACTION I WANT MY MONEY BACK . MY ATTORNEY, S CONTACT EMAIL; mailto:[protected]@henrygouws.co.za ANDRE NAUDE

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carolv123 Nov 05, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Andre - just saw your post and would be so grateful if you could give us an update or your lawyers details? We are pensioners and cannot afford the R15 000 levies every year. my email address is [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions