Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Banks First National Bank [FNB] South Africa scam of lottery
V
Author of the complaint
6:11 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have received a email telling that i have won a lottery. I was told to submit my detail. I did the same. Bank send me a form.
I have filled that form and then they demanded me extra money.
I think that was a fraud case . I only want to say this type of case should be check as they are really harmful for society.

ADVERTISIMENT

More First National Bank [FNB] South Africa complaints & reviews

First National Bank [FNB] South Africa - won yahoo mail lottery
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
First National Bank [FNB] South Africa - fraud in won lottery amount payment
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
First National Bank [FNB] South Africa - beware of this scam!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
First National Bank [FNB] South Africa - fraud online
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
First National Bank [FNB] South Africa - hard hold
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
14 comments
Add a comment
R
May 30, 2019 2:51 am EDT

I m Rashid Qureshi I have received a letter from FNB Corporate Bank Johannesburg trough email stating that i have won a lottery. I was told to submit 972 $ as Beneficiary Account Verification Fee from Dr. Winter Bonta, Director Foreign and Remittance Deptt. Is it true or false.

Rashid Anwer Qureshi

L
Feb 06, 2011 7:02 pm EST

From reading other reports on this sight I now feel secure in the knowledge that I am not the first person to have received fake bills from an FNB ATM. I drew money last month from an FNB ATM in Malelane Mpumalanga I still had R200 left in my wallet today when I went to the shops. I was shocked when the assistant would not let me use the note to pay for my purchase as she said it is fake and showed me the reasons.
I have spent the afternoon doing some research on the Net and see that it is a big problem at the moment with a lot of counterfeit money in circulation, but I would have thought a bank would have been more diligent with checking money before stoking their ATMs. I will just like to know what is being done about this matter, is FNB restocking ATMs with clean money or will it continue to hand over unusable bills but will not accept them in return.

S
Jun 09, 2016 4:03 pm EDT

First National Bank of South Africa

The Manager of Foreign Credit Department

First National Bank of South Africa

Contact: Dr. James Fowle,

Direct Line: +[protected]

Fax: +[protected]

Email : [email protected]

The OMO lottery office had faxed your details to the bank for payment Transfer .

The Bank will contact you within the next 24hrs .

Thanks for being part of our lucky winner. For more details kindly give us a call for more elucidation.

DR. GARRY WILCOTT

OMO LOTTERY COORDINATOR.

JOHANNESBURG

SOUTH AFRICA:

A
Nov 06, 2015 9:12 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Dear
I have received a mail with attached forms that i won 920000 USD in GMAIL AWARD PROMOTION 2014 from a man called Mark Vanda of South Africa johannesburg. He demand several times money about 17000 USD so far. He also asked 6100 USD for opening and activation the Account for me in your Bank(ALL-NATIONAL BANK) . I asked him to forward the copy of documents, he gave your address and e-mail for getting the documents.
Please notify is that a fraud?
Thanks.
Best Regards.
Azimzadeh
http://www.complaintsboard.com/thumb.php?src=Passport.JPG&wmax=170&hmax=170&complaints=203102&comment=1671086
http://www.complaintsboard.com/thumb.php?src=Passport.JPG&wmax=170&hmax=170&complaints=203102&comment=1671086
http://www.complaintsboard.com/thumb.php?src=AFFIDAVIT%20OF%20LATE%20CLAIMING1.jpg&wmax=170&hmax=170&complaints=203102&comment=1671086

F
Aug 02, 2015 10:51 am EDT

I want complain too For FNB and it's correspondence With Bank and Credit. I am The winner in email-Lottere in Desember 2014 They should send me award but Until now i sent amount Due n i have already sent much money 1) USD 549 for affidavit fee to lawyer Mrs Diana Lee 2)USD 952 for transfer from FNB. 3)They asking me to pay certificate from SANB i Paid USD 5880 Someone told me you had correspondence With our Officially Dr Peter that he Said i hope u Trust and i am honesty Will sent Credit n transfer The award Fund, The told me you have Win 1 Million USD but after talking all my Money They Still Demanding.
My Question They are stolen or big Magia?!
Fatur Rahman in Indonesia

View 0 more photos
H
Jun 30, 2015 2:16 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

These are really thieves! the following are the news they told me: they told i won a lottery and asked me to pay 150.00 U$ but i did not.
Dr. James Adams
Director International Remittance Department
From The Office of Foreign Exchange Department Headquarters
FIRST NATIONAL BANK (FNB)
Corporate Headquarters: 6th floor, FNB House,
Cnr. Simmonds and Pritchard, Johannesburg, South Africa,
P O Box 0011, 2001.
Tel: +[protected]
Fax: +[protected]
E-mail: [email protected]
E-mail: [email protected]

ATTN: HABIYAMBERE DANIEL,

Country: Rwanda

We write to acknowledge you that we received your bank details therein, as stated by the British Microsoft Award Committee 2015 that prize fund of every beneficiary of programmer has been placed under Insurance Bond, that is to say that no one has the authority to break the rules and regulation that has been place even the bank can not go against the rule.

Secondly, note that this is a due process required from all the beneficiary of this promotion, be informed that you will have to pay (US$150) for the bank endorsement fee before we can transfer your winning fund of GBP£1, 000, 000.00 (One Million Great British Pounds Sterling) into your nominated bank account in (Rwanda).

The bank transfer endorsement fee is mandatory and non-negotiable. And note that this payment has to be made in order for the paying bank to remit your fund into your designated bank account which you have provided to this bank.

This is the only fee required so that the bank can transfer your winning fund into your nominated bank account in your country (Rwanda) with the account which you have provided to us.

Once again your winning fund has been insured and no one has the right to deduct or temper with your fund until it gets to your nominated bank account in (Rwanda).

Also view the attached file that was sent to you and also contact your claim agent (Mr. Sam Owen) to send across to you the details to make the payment because the payment will be made through his office and once we confirm your payment from him, we will transfer the fund immediately without delay into your bank account.
Thanks for your attention to this mail and understanding.

Regards,

Dr. James Adams
Director International Remittance Department

They can be caught once prosecuted: One told me to send him that money on the following address:
RECEIVER NAME: UGOCHUKWU SYLVANUS ENYIDULU
RECEIVER ADDRESS: 20A LAKE-VIEW ST.SANDTON, JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA.
TEST QUESTION: COLOUR
TEST ANSWER: BLUE
AMOUNT TO SEND: $150.00
I think he is a real person.

N
Jun 18, 2015 2:26 am EDT

i received an email that i had won $840, 000 in the Canada sizzler lottery but they are asking me for $459 to pay for the court affidavit fee
but i sent an email to the person who sent me an email and she said it can be deducted from the prize but the leehom are insisting that i first pay that money so as to get that prize and i had given them all the details
So, is this true

M
Oct 23, 2014 11:14 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

IS THIS TRUE or FALSE? From: Dr. James Adams
Director International Remittance Department
From The Office of Foreign Exchange Department
Headquarters
FIRST NATIONAL BANK (FNB)
Corporate Headquarters: 6th floor, FNB House,
Cnr. Simmonds and Pritchard, Johannesburg,
South Africa,
P O Box 0011, 2001.
Tel: +[protected]
Fax: +[protected]
E-mail: [email protected]
E-mail: [email protected]
Attn: Mesfin Abate,
Country: Ethiopia.
I am delighted to inform you that we the First
National Bank of South
Africa has received your winning details from your
Processing Manager of
Microsoft Award Promotion South Africa Branch
(Mr. Paul Morgan) to
transfer the total winning sum of GBP
£1, 950, 000.00 Great British Pounds
Sterling into any nominated bank account of your
choice.
So I attached here the bank application form
which you are required to
fill and return it back to us for the facilitation of
the transfer. Please
do not hesitate to call me if you experience any
difficulty in filling the
form or if you need our assistance because it is
our duty to assist and
help you receive the prize without any prejudice.
Please this is very urgent because we have a
limited time to transfer the
above mentioned fund into any nominated bank
account of your choice and
you are therefore required to fill the bank form
and return it without any
delay.
We guarantee and assure you that once we
receive your bank information as
stated in the attached bank form, we will not
delay in facilitating the
transfer.
So, on behalf of the First National Bank South
Africa I say
congratulations once more and please keep your
winning information
confidential until we finally remit the prize into
your bank account for
we cannot be responsible for any kind of double
claim or hijacking of this
fund by unknown person.
Regards
Dr. James Adams
Director International Remittance Department

D
Oct 01, 2012 8:06 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

HI PEOPLE ARROUND THE WORLD:
IF YOU RECEIVED AN EMAIL SAYING THAT YOU WON ANY KIND OF LOTTERY ITS A FRAUD TO DEMAND YOU MONEY. THE LOTERIES ARROUND THE WORD DONT OPERATE LIKE THAT SENDING EMAIL TO THE WINNERS. BELIEVE ME THEY WONT TELL YOU IF YOU WON A TICKET AND THEY DONT SEND EMAIL TO NOBODY! I SPENT US$500 DOLLARS TO THIS PEOPLE AND THEY STILL DEMANDING MORE MONEY. IN CONCLUSION ITS A BIG FRAUD! DONT PAY ATTENTION TO THIS FRAUD! BE AWARE! DONT BE STUPID PROVIDE ANY PERSONAL INFORMATION! ITS A BIG MAFIA!

A
Oct 28, 2010 9:23 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

HI, DEAR COMPANY.
5 DAYS AGO I REVEIVED AN EMAIL FROM FNB OF SOUTH AFRICA THAT I WON 1.000.000 EURO IN T-MOBAIL LOTTORY . THEY ASKED ME TO SEND 480 EURO FOR LEEHOM ATTORNEYS FOR PAYMENT WINNING VALUE. PLEAS HELP ME ABOUT TO BE TRUE OR FALSE IT.
PLEASE HELP ME .
THANKS & BEST REGARDS.
AHMAD SOLTANINEJAD.

A
Sep 06, 2010 5:09 am EDT

SOME WEEK AGO I REVEIVED AN EMAIL FROM FNB THEY SEND ME FORM OF LOTTORY WORLD CUP PROMOTION . THEY SAID I WON A BIG AMOUTN THEY ASKED TO SEND 350$ FOR ACTICATION FOR THE ACCOUTN PLEAS SEND ME ON MY E MAIL ADDRESS IS IT FRAUD OR FALSE IF IT TRUE THEN CLEAR ME THEN I DO SOMETHING

R
Oct 09, 2009 10:26 am EDT

heloo
i wanna complain too os FIRST NATIONAL BANK AND ITS CORRESPONDENT BANK TRUST CREDIT BANK LONDON.
THIS BANK ARE FRAUD AS I AM THE WINNER IN THE MOBILE DRAW THEY SHOULD SEND ME THE AWARD FUND BUT THEY ARE ASKING ME TO PAY MONEY TO THEM TO GAIN MY AWARD FUND,
IN LOTTO OR DRAW ANY PERSON WINS THE AWARD ITS THE DUTY OF THE PEOPLE TO GIVE THEM THE AWARD FUND NOT TO TAKE MONEY FROM THEM.
BUT THIS BANK IS FRAUD THEY ARE ASKING ME TO PAY MONEY,
THIS BANK TOLD ME TO PAY THE AMOUNT TO FNB BANK AND TO SOUTH AFRICA REVENU SERVICE TWICE TO MR. PETER FRANK AND JEFF MCDONALDNAMED PERSON AND ANOTHER ONE BARR PAUL MORGAN, THIS PEOPLE WILL DEMAND FOR MONEY SO TO GIVE YOU THE AWARD FUND, BUT THEN THEY WILL TRANSFER THE FUND TO TRUST CREDIT BANK LONDON SAYING ITS OUR CORROSPONDENT BANK.
NOW I HAVE PAID THE M 2500 DOLLERS AMOUNT FOR AWARD FUND BUT THEN ALSO THEY ARE ASKING FOR MORE MONEY TO PAY TO TRUST CREDIT BANK SAYING THEN THEY WILL TRANSFER THE AWARD FUND,
BUT THEY ARE FRAUD PEOPLE
PLEASE BE AWARE OF THIS PEOPLE
THANK YOU
THEY TOLD ME I HAVE WON 500000 USDOLLER LOTTO IN FIFA BUT AFTER TAKING ALL THE MONEY THEY STILL DEMANDING
THANK YOU
tejesh

K
Sep 26, 2009 6:51 am EDT

I have received a email telling that i have won a lottery. I was told to submit my detail. I did the same. Bank send me a form.

Pls checked the is real or fraud case .
Thanks.

Attn: Khawar Mahmood Choudhry

The National Lottery Board has forwarded the Authorization Letter of Credit/your personal details to FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF SOUTH AFRICA to enable them commence with the transfer procedures accordingly. The letter authorized the Bank to process the transfer within the financial regulation of the country in order to meet the transfer demand of international monetary policy.

Furthermore, the transfer request was made in credit order and not cash. Please contact the Bank by Fax/Email to the Bank immediately you receive this mail and call Dr John Clark for attention, please addressed to:

The Director of Foreign Remittance Operations
First National Bank Of South Africa ( FNB )
Tel +[protected]
Fax +[protected]
Fax +[protected]
Contact Officer: Dr John Clark

Bank Emails
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

The Bank has assured to contact you immediately they have received the
Letter of Release Order.

Your private phone and fax numbers,

Congratulation once more.

Yours Faithfully,
Mr. Steven Themba

M
Jun 23, 2009 4:00 pm EDT

FIRST NATIONAL BANK SOUTH AFRICA, IS A FRAUD BANK, I CAN NEVER BANK WITH YOU PEOPLE, I WON A LOTTO, AND YOU LIED TO ME BY TELLING ME THAT IT WAS A FRAUD.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

234 complaints
22 resolved 212 unresolved

First National Bank [FNB] South Africa contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
FNB Bankcity Simmonds Street, Gauteng 2001, South Africa
Website
Category

Most discussed complaints

forex 1 (opinions to this review)
ADVERTISIMENT