[Resolved] Enterprise Car Rentaldiscrimination

5
T Review updated:

Before arriving at the Enterprise Car Rental desk I called from home to ask what I needed to rent a car and I was told a credit card. I was asked if my credit card was linked to my checking account and I said yes. I was told to bring two bills (utility bills) from home. I brought four or five to be on the safe side. Once I arrived at the disk I presented all of the information that was required of me. The agent went over to a another gentleman in the office and they began to whisper, the agent came back and asked if I had any proof that my bills are not past due. The bills that he had were current and had no past due amounts listed on them, that would have proved that they were not past due and were paid. I was the only African American customer in the office at the time, I was told that I had to pull up my bank account on line at one of their desk in order for them to see if I paid my bills. They placed me at a desk to do so. I was extremely insulted by this treatment. I am a Federal Officer (Law Enforcement) and I was treated like a criminal.

  • Enterprise Rent-A-Car's response · Apr 24, 2019

    D. George2019,
    We certainly understand your concern and assure you that it's never our intention to inconvenience a valued customer. We would like to discuss your experience with us in Casa Grande in more detail. Please email us at [email protected] with your contact information, reservation number, and all the additional details. Thank you. -Carol H.

  • Enterprise Rent-A-Car's response · Apr 24, 2019

    D. George2019, we’ve noted your comments and would like to have the opportunity to look into this for you. Please send a detailed email to [email protected] include the exact rental location, your contact telephone number, your reservation numbers and any further information regarding your experience with us. Thank you! - Carol H. Social Monitoring

  • Enterprise Rent-A-Car's response · Apr 26, 2019

    D.George2019,
    We’ve noted your comments and would like to have the opportunity to look into this for you. Please send us a detailed email to [email protected] include the exact rental location, your contact telephone number, your rental agreement or reservation numbers and any further information regarding your experience with us.
    We look forward to hearing from you.
    Regards,
    Carol H.
    Social Monitoring

  • Enterprise Rent-A-Car's response · Apr 26, 2019

    D.George2019, I assure you that it's never our intention to inconvenience our customers. We would like to speak with you about this so it can be addressed promptly. Please email [email protected] with your contact information, exact rental office location, rental contract information, reservation number, and the details above. Thank you. – Carol H.

  • Enterprise Rent-A-Car's response · May 16, 2019

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention, m72. If you can provide a few additional details we'd like to know more and help out. Please email [email protected] with your contact information, exact office location, your reservation and rental agreement numbers, the details above, and any additional information. Thank you. – Carol H.

  • Resolution Statement

    Customer Service has done everything in their power to resolve the complaint. All attempts to contact the customer have failed. Therefore, the complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and its services are concerned.

Responses

  • Jt
    jt Nov 11, 2008

    Gosh, this sounds very familiar to what happened to me today. I reserved a car online for one day's use. I telephoned afterward to confirm that they definately would have the car whence I arrived. I was asked if my credit card was linked to my checking account. I replied I did not think so, that it was just a traditional Visa credit card. I also brought my most current electric bill and Visa bill, along with my credit card, my drivers license, and a personal check. The agent, Katie Moore, asked for my phone number. I told her I only had a limited use landline at home, which I did not usually even keep a phone connected to, but I could give her the number. She told me I did not qualify to lease a car because I had no employee phone number, and no fax number. She said I needed to give her at least three phone numbers were they could call and speak to me. I told her I am disabled retired, that I do most communications via email (this is the age of the Internet, isn't it?), but that jin addition to my landline number, I could give her a relative's number as well as friend's numbers, and my SSI social worker's number. She still refused. I asked to speak to her supervisor, but she said she was the manager there, no one else. Come to find out she had a manager there over her who was in the back (something I found out afterward). I told her that the website allowed me to reserve the car, why should they turn me down now. She told me that they could not trust their $30, 000 car to someone like me! I have one of the best driving records anywhere, too. I am a middle aged woman, not a kid. All of this took place in front of the other customers who overheard everything. I felt humiliated and angry. If they had an issue over telephone numbers, they should have made that plain on the website and over the phone whence I called. She told me she would have her driver take me home. I called her whence I arrived home, as I was very, very angry. She just hung up on me.

    I have to leave before dawn tomorrow morning for an extremely important matter, and I have no car. It is against the law to discriminate on the basis of race, disability, etc. There was no reason to turn me down. Whence I arrived home, I called Katie back and told her how angry I was about all of this, and that I intend to pursue legal action. I think she thinks I am blowing smoke. Whence she ends up in court, I think she will change her mind. After reading your post, too, I would not recommend Enterprise to anyone under any circumstances. And, to lie to me to my face that there was no one over her there! If people like us got together, we could file a class action lawsuit against Enterprise for discrimination. Regardless what anyone else does, I intend to file against them. This is not an empty threat Enterprise. See you in court with your lawyer.

    2 Votes
  • Sg
    sgreen1182 Jan 03, 2011

    I also experienced the same treatment and I am also an African American but female, it took about 20mins before I was helped and once I was the argued me down about the car rental and all requirements and stipulations. It first began with my fiancé and I not having the same last name hence finance and manifested from there. I called cooperated and very little was done.

    2 Votes
  • Da
    Daveyo Jan 20, 2011

    sgreen1182
    Please make yourself available for me to make contact to your e-mail as I wish to send you a message ASAP. Its about a case against Enterprise.

    Thanks

    Respectfully yours

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    James Cl Dec 11, 2012

    Wow, reading these post and knowing of an experience that my brother (black male) is having with Enterprise currently, confirms to me that they are a racist company. My initial thoughts were really unfounded at first because I had not personally dealt with them. However, once I started listening to my brother talk about how they were making him stand in extremely cold weather and extreme heat but yet providing shelter for a white female at all times. I began to believe it, more confirmation can in my way of thinking when I would drop him off at work. I was stopped at the gate and asked for my drivers license and they needed to write down my tag number. I asked why and the reason I was given was they had had vehicles stolen from the lot.
    Obviously, my vehicle was not one of there's, this took place in 2011. My vehicle is a 1995 Mazda Protege, with missing wheel cover and faded paint. I have also heard it being told that Enterprise will charge blacks for upgrades when they have to upgrade because the size vehicle they reserved is not on the lot, but white patrons are upgraded at no extra cost. I hope when it is all said and done that employee and customers that have been treated unfairly sue and get their attention in a way they will never forget.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shortybigfoot Jun 07, 2013

    This is similar, reserved a car on line call to ask can I pick it up early, they said the same thing about my credit card yes it is back by my other accounts for overdraft but it is secured, this is the first problem. then they wanted copy of pay stubs with current address on them I am an independent consultant no pay stubs just money in bank 3rd problem; then they wanted insurance card no problem but my insurance is for my business home office which is not my current living address so that was a problem; 3rd then they wanted proof that I was not going to "steal their car like others" I told them that just a couple weeks ago I rented at the Airport without any problem, he said " they rent to anybody with a credit card" This went on for about 10 minutes trying to see what I could provide them to get this car this does not make sense.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daveyo Jun 07, 2013

    jt
    Hang in there. Cannot say more due to pending litigation but will suggest consumers to look into Federal Law 1981 statue. File as pro se, and go to the police and lodge a complaint of your incident to start building up your evidence against them. This business needs a good spanking.

    Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Burson Dec 20, 2013

    The problem is that enterprise "at the counter rental agents" are not qualified to assess your finacial and insurance adequacy that is up to you. But they are doing it anyway. They are trained to do so. Thats why no one at corperate cares about your compliants. I am going through the same thing. I was a long time customer of enterprise untill three weeks ago. They took me back home too after an argument about my full coverage insurance. They just wanted to ignor it and make me pay damage waiver costs. I was firm and stood my ground and said i dont have to buy this waiver. So they refused me a car that i had reserved and took me back home. I filed a complaint. Not even a call back in three weeks. I have called back several times since then. Nobody cares. Its just what they do. They are so wrapped up in lies and covering it up that they can never make the changes now with out addmiting guilt. Enterprise agents break the law and their own policices and i dont think they are even aware of it. Eric b in olympia, wa .

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daveyo Dec 20, 2013

    As I said before, dated on June 2013, make sure you obtain the name of the manager of the Car Rental agency, and if they refuse, then lodge a complaint of the incident to the POLICE, not to Enterprise OK. Lodge the complaint to the police then when able get a copy of that complaint. showing their investigation results. After that go to an Attorney, or do this as pro se, ( tell the attorney what happened if seeing one) and file a Federal 1981 and 1991 lawsuit against them. You have to pay the filing fee if I believe now 450 dollars. Make sure if doing it pro se that you plead the case correctly showing you made diligent effort to resolve the matter (video, witnesses etc) and it must pass muster to be believeable and plausible in the eyes of the court. You do not have to submit any evidence at this time as its the pleading stage. You can also add to your complaint any state laws, and be forewarned that any emotional distress damages must be filed within two years of the incident. Fed Statue 1981 and 1991 has a 4 year statue of Limitations. You need to find the location of their main office and include in your complaint that this company is a Delaware Limited Liability Company and have the right Jurisdictions for the court. The Federal Court has the booklet for you to know how to file it. Here is the order. > Complaint (very brief) - Jurisdiction - Facts common to all counts (important details of what happened very brief not a long story etc) - Violations of the Federal laws (which is your counts of what they did wrong in relation to the law) in brief order - and the prayer for Relief. If approved the summons goes out to the defendants. Then you must convince the court that your claim is valid with some court law cases to back it up, and you must overcome the dismissal. If you succeed and prevail then the rest follows which then you will need to submit your evidence if any for the discovery and then hopefully you find an attorney by this time to represent you for trial cause you will need one. If you negotiate a settlement expect that Enterprise will want the case sealed to keep it out of the public's knowledge. If it goes to trial it becomes Publics knowledge and all will know what they are doing.. Touchy part > tough decision either to agree to negotiations and take it, or go to trial. Sometimes at trial that is decided by the jury, you will not get what you want and maybe less than the negotiated deal offered to you. It depends on the strength of your case and how much you can prove to them. Keep in mind, this is a civil trial, and you must prove minimum 51% to prevail in court. The more you can prove the better. Good luck..

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jay1980 Oct 28, 2014

    This happened to me today. I reserved a car using USAA website for the discount. I caught the bus with my sick child so I could rent the car to go to my job interview tomorrow. My normal car had been totaled, so I had no choice but to rent. I get there and they ask for my DL and credit card, which I hand them both. I don't own a credit card, but have never had an issue with using my debit card instead. He asks me about buying their insurance, I tell them no because my USAA policy covers rental cars. Then he steps back and speaks to someone in a back room, comes out and tells me I have to fill out a form, agree to pay a $250 deposit and provide them with two current utility bills and one must be a phone bill. I explain I don't have any bills and I didn't know I had to bring them because the website did not say this when I reserved the car. Frustrated, I leave. As I'm trying not to cry in front of my son, I start digging through my purse. Find a cable bill and planned on begging them to use the cable bill I had (which included home phone) and my insurance bill which could be pulled up on my cell phone. A new guy is at the desk and starts helping me. Gets all of my info including my insurance info. Puts it all in the computer and says "Let me go get your car" he comes back about a minute later and says "you have to fill out this form and provide two bills because you're using a credit card." I explain that I will pay the deposit but I don't have a bill. I also tell him its ridiculous that I can't rent a car when I've rented them in the past without issue. He gets the 'manager' from the back and she asks where I've rented cars from and I told her enterprise and avis. She asked if it was at the airport, and I said a few times. She then says "Oh, that's why. You can rent a car without any of this additional stuff if it's in combination with a flight." What the heck?! How does me purchasing a plane ticket make me less likely to not return the car? I told her that was the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard and asked if there was another car rental place in the area. She said Avis and Budget (I think she said budget). She then tells me that they all have the same policy. As I was ushering my son out the door, I hear her whisper "Do you know the number to Avis? I need to check their policy." So she basically just made stuff up off the top of her head to get me out the door. I cannot express how upset I am about this situation and I never pull the race card, so me being black didn't even cross my mind until I came here looking for a way to sue for credit discrimination. Then I started thinking back and remembered the two white men there renting cars who were not given any additional questions, barely questioned at all. I want to conduct an experiment, just to check. My husband is white. I want to drop him off to see if they give him the same treatment. Then I will know for sure if it was racial discrimination or not. They should be ashamed.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TinaPetty Jun 11, 2015

    I previously rented a car from Enterprise through Badger truck services while they were working on my vehicle. When I called them to get a quote they quoted a price that was double what was paid when renting the car through Badger Truck. I was quoted a price of 64$ per day, for 2 days, this included insurance. I was also told that I do not need a major credit card that as long as my card had a visa or mastercard logo and linked to an actual bank that I would be fine. When I got to the office on 4th and Wisconsin, in Milwaukee, WI. The guy with a smirk on his face. Told me the price was over 200 dollars, and told me that they did not accept my bank card. I bank with US Bank. He also said they only had one car available while the whole street was lined with their cars. I believe that the quote is low as long as they do not know your color but as soon as he saw my face the price all but tripled. The 200 dollars did not include insurance. I will be looking for a lawyer to file a discrimination lawsuit against this company. My email is [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Daveyo Jun 12, 2015

    You won't win your case as you have stated here. You must do as follows >>>. You have to have witnesses, and if possible a secret video tucked on your shirt with voice as well, a phone recording, and watch a few customers on how they dealth with them and of how they rented out the car etc., get their names before they leave and address to be your witnesses, and you have to also make an effort to make and enforce a contract under the law. If you have an advertisement, that is a start, but you need something more than just an advertisement. Secondly for discrimination they have to make more than 1 discriminatory remark, or utterance in relation to your attempt to rent the vehicle. As of your card, if it is a visa card, they cannot decline it., and you can also pay in cash. When you're there ask them to see what the qualifications criteria is for renting a car. If they don't show you, that is another thing you can use against them. You also need to know the name of the manager, the time and the date, and also ask who is his superior above him. Incidently if you have a visa card make sure its good and there are funds in that account. You will need minimum 2 witnesses on your side to verify your allegations. To rent a car you need a paycheck stub with your name on it, within 2 weeks, need a valid drivers license, need to show one utility bill and a phone bill with your name and address on it. The initial cost is $150.00 if renting under this amount plus another 50.00 deposit, and pay for the rental and fees and insurance.

    So what that guy was telling you, its not a joke. To start the cost is $200 dollars plus the rental and fees and insurance before you walk out with that car. If you bring the car back within that same day or the day after, they will only take out the rental cost plus the insurance and the fees and they should re-imburse you back the rest of what you paid for. If not, then you can sue them on that.

    Why am I telling you, because I am going thru the crap right now. Wish me luck.

    1 Votes
  • Alamo Rent A Car Jun 18, 2015

    Tina, I would like to discuss this further with you. Please email us at [email protected] with your contact information, the exact branch location, rental/reservation number and any other details. Please provide us with reference #150618-001471. -Tatiana

    1 Votes
  • EnterpriseRent-A-Car Jun 18, 2015

    Dave, is there anything we can help with? Please email us at [email protected] with your contact information, the exact branch location, rental agreement/ reservation number and any other details. Please reference 150618-001585. -Tatiana

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daveyo Jun 18, 2015

    Tatiana, you cannot help me at all. I have filed a lawuit against Enterprise. Since my case is in court I cannot comment further. However as to the other customers who complain here and you responding to their complaints is all a smokes screen. Even your company discriminates against your very own employees.
    Enterprise is only interested in MONEY and not interested in serving the public and if given the chance you employees will steal customers personal effects if they forget to take it out of the car and not return it.

    0 Votes
  • Dw
    DWOT Jun 18, 2015

    Wow, this is crazy

    - DWOT

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    james isaac Aug 01, 2015

    James : Enterprise is a Racist and Crooked company, PERIOD!!
    I worked there for a long time and I saw it on Regular basis, how they do black
    People is just Sad. I No longer work there because they fired me after the EEOC
    Charged them with Discrimination by way of Religion, Harassment and Retaliation after the Investigation. I have filed a lawsuit in federal court, and it's On.
    It's about time for them to pay for some of there wrong doing.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Estes-Brown Aug 28, 2016

    I was barred from renting with enterprise simply because i was black. I paid my bills on time and none of my bills presented had past due balances. I was also a rewards member. Because i was getting points for renting and because i was a frequent renter, enterprise without notice placed me on a do not rent list claiming that i owed them $1000 for a moving truck i rented with enterprise trucks more than 6 months prior, even though the truck had minor scrapes prior to me renting as i reported it to the rep and took out their insurance to cover myself just in case. Yet on a day i was to be at my daughters college trunk party and mother's birthday party i was prevented without warning from renting the vehicle i had reserved. The following week my husband came to rent because he has no previous rental history with enterprise and he came in with a nicor bill with no past due balance but because the bill was more than $100 he was denied renting the vehicle he reserved. We are convinced enterprise rent a car uses racially discrimination tactics against black minorities to prevent honoring their reservations.

    0 Votes
  • EnterpriseRent-A-Car Sep 02, 2016

    Chris Estes-Brown, thank you for your post. I would like to follow up with you but would need some more information. Please email [email protected] the exact location this was at, complete details and your contact information. Include any rental or reservation numbers you may have and reference the number 160828-001151. Chris M Social Monitoring Coordinator, Enterprise

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Estes-Brown Sep 03, 2016

    Sure Chris,

    You are more than welcome to check out my account. In fact my last rental was on August 2, 2016. Tell me why all of a sudden I am barred after renting all this time and have 825 points that could not reedem nor transfer to someone ? More importantly, I seldom received any my deposits back even though I often brought the car back with the same level of gas with the exception of 2 times back in July, when the gas was slightly under. But they should not have taken my entire deposit for that. However, I will be emailing you with my account info today. Thanks for the response.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    C.M. Park Sep 14, 2016

    I think there is discrimination. Ultimately (semantics aside), businesses can discriminate. And it happens legally. I think I have been discriminated against too. My story is not race but being flat out lied to over and over and over again, about the availability of a full-size vehicle that I reserved and had been promised was available and at a particular location. I showed up and the only thing they had were compacts and vans. "Only thing available are compacts and vans", I was offered sarcastically. Heatedly argued that they shouldn't have said one thing over the phone and then practice denying me a rental. Didn't let up for 15 minutes about misleading statements from previous visits regarding best times to come in for rentals then the statement turning out to be inaccurate... so many times that I'm 110% convinced I'm flat out being lied to. Eventually was offered a Buick LaCrosse (disgusted look on employees faces). Ultimately I offered to take any sedan, as long as it was on the property (I had business to attend!). I drove to work with a standard size for the full-size price (and it turns out, this sedan and the 5-6 others probably were available?!).

    Chong Park 9/13/2016

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Retired U.S. Army Sep 15, 2016

    I have read all these incidents about Enterprise rental car company. They don't only discriminate against blacks, they profile you once you walk into their store. I had an accident and reported it to my insurance company USAA and got approval for a rental car. Since USAA has a contract with enterprise I received my confirmation code and approval to rent a car. The time of the accident was close to there closing time of 6:00 on 9/12/2016. So my wife and I went to the West Saginaw Office in Lansing, Mi. I approached the counter and and gave the representative my licenses and confirmation number. Since USAA does direct pay to enterprise and I have dealt with them on multiple times at another location and had outstanding service each time before. After giving the representive my information he stated that I would need a credit card to rent the car and have $50.00 secured on it to rent the car. I asked why and then the assistant manager spoke up and said it was to cover the gas and any damage. I stated to him that I have had multiple rentals through enterprise under my insurance policy through USAA and have never had to supply a credit card to secure the rental for gas and any damages since USAA has a direct contract with enterprise. The manger then proceeded to tell me that this has been their policy for years and that I did not know what I was talking about. This manager was very rude and talked done to me. I stated to him to show me in writing were it says that and for him to give me the specific year that they incorporated this. He refused to do so and continued with his arrogant behavior. I explained that we just got into the accident and my wife and I were still shaken from the accident and at this time we did not have a credit card on us. I also stated that our vehicle was not safe to drive on the busy road that there location was on. Again he stated we need a credit card to secure the rental, and I told I did not have one, then he said how much cash do you have. I said what. You first told me that I need a credit card, now you say if I got $50 cash you will do it, I told him that I did not have $50.00 on me then he said what do you have. I said are you serious! And then said I was right about this and you just lied to me. He said he did not like my tone of voice and I told him I don't appreciate him lying to me. He said he did not, then I stated to him I am the customer and you are lying to me ask me for cash for this rental and calling me a Lyer. I told him I don't know what type of customer service course you were trained at but you just disrespected a long term customer. At that time the first associate I was dealing with stated that they could wave the 50.00 fee. I said what the heck kind of operation are you people running around hear. You just gave me a run around about this 50 dollar deposit and you can wave it. At that time the manger told the associate that they were not doing it and they were not going to rent me a car because the store is officially closed and I had to leave the store. I was pissed. My wife and I left the store and she could not believe what just happened. So, we left in my damaged hummer and went home. On 9/142016 we went to a different location on East Michigan Ave in Lansing, Mi where I usually get my rental cars from. After giving the assistant Manager me information I could tell that there was something wrong immediately. This individual was very disrespectful to me and my asking us if we called ahead for a reservation. I stated to him we were at the the West Saginaw store and did not have a credit or Debit card so we could not get a car. He I see that you were there two days and that I gave the manager a hard time. I told him I have never had to supply a credit card or debit card when USAA supply's the authorization to rent a car. So, he ignored us for awhile taking phone calls and dealing with them while he started our proses before the calls even came in. Once he did start to assist me he was very disrespectful and short with his conversation and defiantly had an attitude. It was obvious enough that the manager from the first store must of put some kind of a message act reached to my confirmation number. Once we got through most of the rental information he asked for our credit cars. We provide our government direct express card. The assistant manager said we don't take pre loaded cards and I stated to him it was not a pre loaded card. He then said that it was not a bank backed card. At this time he had an attitude and so did I. I stated that you obviously can read since this card is issued through the US Government and also Comerica Bank. Again with a condisending attitude he stated we don't except pre loaded cards and I told him it was not. Then he said we don't except direct express cards. He said he would call his manager, so instead of being professional he left the lobby and went into the office to talk to his regional manager. When he came out he stated his manager said they don't except this cards. I told him to show in there policy were it says they don't. He told me he did not have to. I then asked to speak to his manager. He told she was at lunch and did not want to be bothered but he would take my name and number and she would call me. I told him it was unacceptable and that I wanted them to show me where it states that that card is not usable. He said because it is a none account card. I then asked do you accept active military travel credit cards and he said yes. I told him that they are none account cards also so why do you except those cards. He said that the direct express cards are a non bank account card and because there are two many people with SSI trying to rent our cars and they don't have the funds to pay for them. I said are youn insinuating that I am on SSI. And the another associate stated that those cards are for people who can't get a back account. I told him that we would go to our bank and get our MSU Federal Credit Card. At that time he stared that I could not rent a car from his location because of my attitude. I told him so you are going to refuse renting me a car because I questioned you and asked you to show me in writing where it states that. He just said I am not renting you a car. I told him you don't even know what you just did. I said I am a Medical Retired US Army Major who was injured while serving my country I am a 100% total and perminate disabled veteran through the VA, I collect Social Security Disability SSDI because I am unable to work because I sustained traumatic Brain Injury, broken neck and back and sever concussion, and because I have a direct express card you are labeling me as a loser. And because I questioned your authority you are denying me because of my attitude. Well my attitude is a result of my disability from my TBI and chronic migraine head aches. I got there customer service number and called there disability department and told them what happened at that time another associate said out load I am sick of hearing about you being disabled you said that three times already and if you were a disabled vet/Major your retirement would not be on a direct express card. He then stated that I better watch out my statements because he would report me under the stollen valor law. He then said he was in the infantry and DFAS does not issue retirement pay on direct express I told him and the manager that they could shove there enterprise rental cars up there ###. I then took out my US Army Active Duty retired card my VA sercice connected card on on my licenses where the state of Michigan now Identifys veterans. My wife was so pissed that the lady from enterprise we were talking with was giving her a run around about these three individuals enterprise employees and how they have preconsived opinions of people who receive SSI as being losers and totally discriminate and violate the civil rights of disabled people. At this time we are waiting for Enterprise rental car disability division to email us the forms to do the formal complaint against these three individuals and there supervisor. I have contacted Fox News, CNN, NBC, CBS, ABC news about this issue and as I see this is a systemic issue with Enterprise and its employees on treatment of individuals with disabilities and also how they profile individuals. I don't like to use the race card but as I can see there are a lot of complaints on this site about the treatment of individuals who are black or non white. Well, I am of Native American, African American, and Westeren European. I don't Identify my self as any of these, I AM AN AMERICAN who Served over 18 years in the US Army and was severely injured and was totally discriminated by the employees at enterprise because I was profiled by my disability because I had a direct express card and as one of there associates said only losers have those cards people who can't get a bank account. And then maybe because my facial features are of African American and I have darker skin than a Caucasian. I have also contacted USAA about how Enterprise treats disabled veterans and for them to cancel the contract wit Enterprise. And since I started to write this blog I emailed the Oprah Winfrey show about this situation and they just emailed me with a contact number to get more information. This type of discrimantion towards disabled and racial people needs to stop business that employee these individuals need to eliminate these cancerest individuals from there payroll. Thank you for providing me with this venue to express my situation.

    Sincerely,

    Craig Lee Hummel
    Maj, USA, (Ret)

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary39 Nov 20, 2016

    I watched customers before me renting with no issues and getting paper contracts. The young lady who helped me said she was new while balancing an electronic device and operating the computer. The contract provided was on the device and I was told the contract would be emailed. There was something wrong with the car and was offered another but was told I had to go back to the office to redo the paper work. This time I was given a paper contract. Reading over the initial electronic contract, it indicates that returning a vehicle besides the rental location is prohibited and that they are able to give my personal cc info and demographics to third party agents. The terms and conditions were not visible on the device. I am returning on a day they are not open so apparently I'm being held accountable until for the vehicle until it is checked in. Which may be standard but I don't remember ever having a contract so strict. It also stated that the car would not leave the state rented. Usually covers all of New England. No one I saw received this electronic agreement. I feel I was singled out. Again, not my first time renting but feeling discriminated against.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Johnson37 Mar 16, 2018

    Today I was discriminated against at an Enterprise Rental car location at the Peoria International Airport in Peoria Il. I had previously rented from this location several times, However upon approaching the counter and stating that I had a reservation for a vehicle I was immediately questioned as to wether my card was debit or credit I explained that it was a business card account connected to my American Express account.. he declined my card and denied to rent me the vehicle.. then he swiped my card for $234 and then pretended to search for a full size vehicle which was specified in my reservation.. He walked down to another car rental counter National another affiliate to speak with a blond caucasian women... and as he was returning she called to him as he turned to face her I also turned to see what was being said and I heard her say that there was a deposit on my card from the IRS... After he initially declined service he should have never taken payment from my card and that is theft... I was charged for a service that I was not provided I will be seeking legal representation in this matter..

    0 Votes
  • EnterpriseRent-A-Car Mar 20, 2018

    @Nicole Johnson37 Nicole Johnson37, we’ve noted your comments and would like to have the opportunity to look into this for you. Please send a detailed email to [email protected] include the exact rental location, your contact telephone number, your reservation numbers and any further information regarding your experience with us. Thank you! - Carol H. Social Monitoring

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris McCarthy May 18, 2018

    never again will I use enterprise! Ever! I made a reservation to pick up a car that I needed for a trip to my daughters college graduation. As I have done several times in the past I did the process on line and received an email confirmation. I went to the Exeter location on Portsmouth Ave to pick up the vehicle and gave the girl at the counter my valid drivers license and my debit card. She asked me for a utiliity bill of some sort or a paycheck with my current address as well. When I told her I didn't have that she explained it was needed because I was using a debit card. So I went home and got my electric bill and my paycheck from that week. When I showed her the electric bill, she wouldn't accept it because it didn't have a "zero" balance on it. I tried to show her on the bill that the past due balance was zero and the balance due (in 5 days) was $91.38. She said, "I was told the balance has to be zero" CLEARLY the policy on their own website says PAST DUE! also CLEARLY the policy on their own website says "ONE OF THE FOLLOWING" of which I had 2, but this women would not accept either of them. Then I asked to speak to the person to whom she kept referring to when she said, "I was told this and I was told that" and her reply was, he's on vacation. I have rented cars on dozens of occasions and have always walked in, handed them my drivers license and debit card, signed some papers and walked out with keys in hand. Never have I been denied or questioned or hassled in any way and don't understand how enterprise allows each location to determine what the requirments will be when their website is very CLEAR. Attached below is the policy for debit card renters that I have copied and pasted NON CREDIT CARD DEPOSITS -

    Debit cards are accepted at the time of rental with a current copy of any one of the following (dated within the last 30 days and with no past due balances): proof of employment, proof of income, proof of insurance, telephone bill, electric bill, gas bill, sewer bill, or water bill in the renter's name, with his or her current address. The renter's name and address must match their driver's license, and their driver's license must have been issued from the local area of the renting branch.

    0 Votes
  • EnterpriseRent-A-Car May 30, 2018

    @Chris McCarthy Chris McCarthy,
    We’ve noted your comments and would like to have the opportunity to look into this for you. Please send us a detailed email to [email protected] include the exact rental location, your contact telephone number, your claims, rental agreement or reservation numbers and any further information regarding your experience with us.
    We look forward to hearing from you.
    Regards,
    Carol H.
    Social Monitoring

    -1 Votes
  • Dg
    D. George2019 Apr 23, 2019

    I was discriminated against by the branch manager in Casa Grande AZ “Benjamin Paige” when I complained about another employee who refused to take my Citibank Visa. The employee tried to tell me that it wasn’t connected to a bank account and when I tried to complain to the branch manager I was told that he wasn’t going to rent a car to “someone” like me. Racism in the present day and age doesn’t always wear a white hood.

    0 Votes
  • M7
    m72 May 11, 2019

    There have been some major scams going on within this company. They have hired a team of investigators that are applying many stringent rental rules they never asked for or needed in the past. I think the changes they are implementing are very harsh and not very accommodating. The agents that are working there are not concerned about getting fired for being rude because they are not there to in reality to rent out cars. If you have to go to that branch again I would bring the cards they want now and your past rental receipts. If you have the option to go elsewhere I most certainly would.

    0 Votes
  • Alamo Rent A Car Jun 27, 2019

    m72,
    We appreciate that you've taken the time to provide your honest feedback.
    We'd like the chance to address this with you directly. Please email [email protected] with your contact information, the reservation or rental agreement number, the exact rental office location and any other details so we can research this promptly.
    Thank you.
    Carol H.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem