Dreamsworst customer experience ever!

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Two beds were purchased from dreams (=a31463) (Order no. 020 I 359). Delivery: both delivered on 17th july 2007. Not taken to bedroom but dumped in the hallway. So could not check at delivery.

Quality: 3 of the divan drawers broken, fabric torn in various places.

Customer services: non-existent. Takes 50 minutes to get through. Standard answer - cannot help now but will call back. No call backs ever happen.

Guarantee: pressure sales to buy warranty. Cannot use the warranty to even get them to replace the broken beds.

Store: will not entertain any complaints - always refer you to customer helpline which does not function at all.

Worst customer experience ever - this company should not trade.

Best wishes,
Professor s ghosh

Responses

  • Bi
    Bikka Oct 26, 2016

    Agree with all the above. Worst service I have ever had. Cancelled order, money bsck to come.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jilliers Sep 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please contact Trading Standards if you have a complaint about Dreams. They will investigate if enough are received. Dreams has a new scam which I fell for. They put a product stand for £219 in front of an excellent beige/brown striped mattress which I tested and bought. The mattress that was delivered was white, hard and poor. I was then told if I wanted the mattress I had chosen it was an additional £219. Liars, conmem, and cheats. I did not pay them anything extra and consider I got off lightly having read the complaints. I have informed Trading Standards but don't have proof so cannot do anything for myself. If your bed is not as described or is damaged or deteriorates quickly you are entitled to your money back regardless of any contract signed. Those are yourconsumer rights.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dorisima May 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AVOID this company" DREAMS" they are ruthless liars and will stoop to any low level just to get a sale. I bought bedroom furniture recently and I was lead to believe it was flat pack furniture by the salesman WAYNE who served me in the DREAMS SWINDON BRANCH STORE recently, WAYNE reassured me that the furniture was definetely flat pack, after I had made it crystal clear to him that flat pack furniture was the only furniture which would fit down my basement stairs. When the furniture was delivered it turned out to be assembled glued together furniture and I had no choice but to refuse delivery of the glued together furniture as this was no good to me since I could not use it. The delivery men returned the furniture there and then, and now HASSAN FROM DREAMS HEAD OFFICE is demanding an extortionate £150 cancelled delivery fee from me, and he is refusing to give me my refund of £1, 535 for the furniture, even though the furniture which was delivered to me was NOT what I had ordered. This DREAMS company have so far to their credit been exposed and investigated on national televisions BBC 1 THE WATCH DOG PROGRAM, AND FORCED TO APOLOGIZE FOR THE RUTHLESS WAY THEY OPERATE TOWARDS THEIR CUSTOMERS IN ORDER TO ACHIEVE THEIR SALES, THEY HAVE ALSO BEEN EXPOSED, AND INVESTIGATED BY THE FAIR TRADING STANDARDS, AND THIS COMPANY ALSO HAS ONE REVIEW SITE WHICH IS" THE REAL ONE" AND HAS ENDLESS ONE STAR RATED REVIEWS AGAINST THEM, THEIR SECOND NEWER REVIEW SITE IS VERY CLEVERLY AND CLEARLY A SELF MANAGED REVIEW SITE, YOU WILL NEED TO DIG DEEP FOR THE BAD REVIEWS ON THIS ONE, BECAUSE AS SOON AS A BAD REVIEW GOES ON THIS SITE THEY FLOOD THE REVIEW SITE WITH A FEW ONE LINER REVIEWS, AND THEN A FEW MORE DISCRIPTIVE REVIEWS TO FOLLOW IN ORDER TO FLOOD OUT THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS.
    I ALSO HAD MY CREDIT CARD HACKED INTO WHICH COINCIDED WITH BOTH OF THE TIMES I WENT INT THE SWINDON BRANCH STORE.
    THIS COMPANY OPERATES IN A RUTHLESS !! MANNER TO ACHIEVE ITS SALES. BE VERY CAREFUL, AND DO NOT LET YOUR CREDIT CARD LEAVE YOUR SIGHT.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leonie Hyatt Jan 28, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dreams are a nightmare!! We went to their Lakeside store on 14 January to browse for a new mattress. An over eager sales assistant asked what were our requirements and we said a king size mattress *not* foam and a cool surface as I suffer from night sweats as going through the menopause. We were guided by the assistant to specific area and we chose (what we thought was a sprung mattress) and it had the gel topping. We double checked with the assistant that it was not foam and he said no, we checked with him the depth of the mattress and he said it was standard depth (I explained that I wanted my current fitted sheets to fit as didnt want to have to buy new to accommodate a deeper mattress). We went ahead and decided to buy but also somehow got talked into purchasing the mattress topper/cover, the insurance, etc. anyway fast forward, the mattress arrived last Saturday. As soon as delivery drivers left, we noticed a terrible chemical smell from mattress, I immediately rang the driver on his mobile to ask if he could pop back and give us back our old mattress and explaining why, he said no, he couldnt. I rang Dreams at Lakeside left 4 messages but no one rang me back, finally, a manager called back hours later he was most curt and unsympathetic and I said could we get our old mattress back he said no, it had been destroyed!!! Since then, we have not been able to sleep on the mattress or be in the bedroom due to the strong chemical fumes in and on the mattress, we are sleeping on the sofa downstairs. We have to leave bedroom windows open all day to try and get rid of the smell but its been 5 days now ... my partner is asthmatic and has breathing difficulties, so you can inagine how this smell is affecting his health. We were not warned at the time of purchase that the mattress would have a smell, I have researched myself new mattress smells and it would seem that foam mattresses have a chemical in them during manufacture which is supposed to dissipate over time called 'off-gassing' but we are puzzled, as we were told that our mattress was not foam but sprung mattress. To add to this, the assistant who sold us the mattress lied again because it is deeper than my old mattress and my bedding does not fit, so have to now go and buy deeper fitted bottom sheets. I have tried to contact Dreams again but no one answers the phone it is truly appalling, I am on the verge of a breakdown because of this and other personal issues but this had just added to my stress. I beg anyone thinking of getting a bed or anything from Dreams to think again - go elsewhere people.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Cope-Knowles Jul 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a bed from Dreams not even two years old and the base on the right hand side has collapsed . We are a retired couple so it has not been misused and given the price of over a thousand pounds I expected it to last a little longer. Sent someone out to look at the bed two months later still no resolve. Do not purchase a bed forms Dreams they appear to be very expensive for inferior quality beds.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disgruntled and threatened Apr 06, 2013

    Dreams? Don't. Bought a very expensive high sleeper for my daughter, who has leukaemia, from Andrew at the Kings Heath store. The guy was completely useless. He assured me that the bed would be delivered on a certain date, so I dismantled my daughter's old bed. Needless to say that the bed didn't arrive and she is now having to sleep on the floor. Still haven't received it and no apologies from the store. Instead, I get thinly veiled threats of violence from the guy when I call to complain. They are ###. Whatever you do, don't shop at this poor excuse for a store.

    0 Votes
  • Lm
    lmm31 Jan 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't buy a tv bed from them, they can't get signal. Had to pay out an extra £139 on a digi box because they only have hdmi attachments no scart- funny how that gets 60 tv channels and 20 radio chanels with the ariel positioned in the same place that the bed gets none! But hey its already paid for so dreams couldn't care less. Several calls and nothing resolved - absolutely useless! And there is an imperfection on the tv screen. I thought trying to arrange delivery with them was bad enough!!!
    Absolutely useless avoif using them!

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dreamstruth Oct 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Open Letter to Dreams Staff, Nick Worthington CEO & Chris Daniel Retail Director; and all the unhappy customers on here so you can see what the store staff have to endure.
    From a Dreams Employee

    Dear Colleagues,
    You may have received recently a memo from Chris Daniel on Performance Management, with a section to sign and send back to head office.
    Please do not sign, as this is a change to company policy and procedures, and as so becomes part of your contract. If it is not signed it cannot be enforced, and if directors try to enforce the disciplinary procedure you can sue for breach of contract, or resign and claim constructive dismissal.

    Maybe it’s about time that the directors were looked at and put on their own performance management when you look at some of the decisions made in the last 12 months:
    1. Change from our own delivery staff to Yodel, undoubtedly the worst delivery company in the UK. The result is late deliveries, missing deliveries, rude and unhelpful delivery drivers, beds arriving damaged, wet or broken, delivery times/dates not kept to.
    2. Outsourcing customer service – Result – untrained staff that don’t care, dealing with our customers (when they eventually answer the phone) and offering refunds and money off or not providing a solution – How much did this cost the company? as you soon changed this decision to the following :-
    3. Moving customer complaint calls to the store - ?? What can we do in store, as the only people that can make the decisions or change something for the customer are all based at head office – so we take the call from the customer, and then spend typically 1 hour trying to call someone at head office to get an answer/solution.
    4. How much do you spend on TV adverts and in-store promotion adverts – it is becoming a joke. We cannot say to a customer we have a sale on – We always have a sale on, it is not credible.
    5. Commission – we, as sales staff, used to be able to earn a decent wage with our commission, but you have now slashed and cut that and found ways to not pay us with your “performance management” and mystery shop scores. You have taken away any incentive we had for selling – so we won’t “sell” any more, we will just take the order.
    6. Chris Daniel - Take a look at your new performance management policy – A rep can actually be put on a disciplinary for selling (because a low value item like a pillow could lower his ATV and his Productivity) If it was me on a Sunday, and I had hit my target for the week, my ATV was above required, and my productivity was above required, I would tell the customer not to buy the pillow. Mr Daniels, I think you need to sit down with a calculator and look at your new policy again.
    7. Mystery shops – you must be paying a small fortune every month to people who are only interested in getting paid £7.50 for wandering around a store – you are not getting a true reflection.
    8. We now MUST sell an item of furniture a week otherwise we face disciplinary – customers come to our store to buy beds, not overpriced laminated chipboard furniture from the Far East. Are we a bed store or are we a furniture store?
    9. Our cancellation and refund rate is escalating – through no fault of ours, the store staff – yet you still increase our targets. How can we hit them with such high cancellation rates?
    In summary, we, the store staff, have to put up with constant moving of the goalposts. We all give our best for the customer. When the customer is let down by things outside our control (delivery, customer service, no stock, poor lead times, no communication, no return phone calls, poor quality goods, no replacement parts etc.) you can’t imagine how demoralized we get.
    Time and time again I speak to customers who will never buy from us again, you only have to look at forums like these to see things are getting worse and complaints are escalating – I ask you as business men to take a long hard look at yourselves, and ask the question “Do I really know what I’m doing or do I just like the title of Director”
    Please do what is right and give us back customer satisfaction and customer service – we do it in the store, it’s now down to the other departments to do it and stop blaming us.

    A Dreams Employee

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan G Jun 01, 2012

    I wish I had read these comments before buying a bed from Dreams. I have had the worst service from Dreams that I have ever encountered in all my years of buying goods. I ordered a bed for my grandson and was given a delivery date of 26th May (over three weeks later) I had to accept this as I had already paid for it. On the 26th we waited in all day and finally had to realise it was not coming. My grandson did not now have a bed to sleep on as he old one had been taken away in readiness for his new one. I rand Yodel the delivery company to ask why it was not delivered to be told they didn't know why it stated on their computer not delived. I rang Dreams after some time waiting to be put through, to be told they would look into it. I had to ring back 3 times to be told the bed was not yet delivered to the depot in full there was parts missing. After more phone calls to Dreams and Yodel I was given another date of delivery the31st May my grandson was missing a bed for 6days but I had no choice I was told by both Dreams and Yodel. I rang the day before the 2nd delivery date to confim that the bed would be delivered and was told yes it would be delivered between 10.15 and 2.15. but to ring on the day and I could ask the driver to deliver around a certain time. I rang on the day and guess what! was told that It was not getting delivered as the missing parts were still not in AGGHHHH, I contacted Dreams and was told that I the parts should be in by the 2nd JUNE, but would have to wait till Yodel confirmed another delivery date.. It completely went down hill from then. I informed them that I wanted to cancel my order and wanted to be put through to the refund dept. I was told someone from that section would ring me back in 10 mins, 3/4 of an hour later I had to ring them to find out why no body had rang me, I was told THEY ARE BUSY and to wait (not forgetting that each time to ring it take anything upto 20mins for them to put you through) The next time I rang I was told the dept was in a meeting, the next time the dept computers were down, the next time the phones were down. I rang again the following morning and demanded to be put through the dept to refund my money and guess what was told THEY ARE ALL NOW OFF TILL NEXT WEDNESDAY. I asked to speak to a Manager and was told there was none available and then that they were too busy to speak to me. I had had enough,
    I contacted the trading standards and they advised me what to do ie Contact the Customer Services. While in the middle of this I have just received a call from a Manager from Dreams and has finally recognised my complaint and refunded my money which will take 5 days or so to go into my account. On the plus side yesterday afternoon I went in search of a company to supply my grandson with a bed and hooray I ordered the same bed and mattress from them and they delivered it the following morning at 10.00am and it was £60 cheaper. Now that is what I call service. Try Mattress Next day amazing. Joan Gardiner

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suzanne Flynn Mar 29, 2012

    I hope I will receive a letter of apology for the terrible service given. That's if anybody from Dreams reads this site. I left the last message.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suzanne Flynn Mar 29, 2012

    Bought a bed from Dreams on the 4th February and was told that it would be delivered on the 10th of March. Was disgusted by how long it would take to be delivered but accepted it. My partner stays in on the Saturday expecting the delivery of the bed that we've been waiting for for 5 weeks and then we don't even get a phone call to say it's not being delivered. Dreams claim they are the leading bed specialist yet all they do is let people down. They are a NIGHTMARE! So then I phone to cancel and get a refund and eventually when I manage to get through to customer services I get told that I have to phone Barclay's to cancel the credit agreement. I phone Barclay's and they tell me that dreams are suppose to cancel this. I phone back customer services and speak to a different lady who assures me that dreams are the people who cancel the credit agreement. It is now the 28th of March and I have been phoned by a woman to sort out a refund of the deposit I paid. She has left her telephone no. and extension but each time I ring I get put through to customer service who can't deal with the problem. I have now been told that dreams will ring me back immediately I'm not holding my breath. I'm surprised Dreams has not closed down with the awful service they give.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark living the dreams nightmare Jan 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bought a manhattan king size on the 26th of October 2011 made the foolish mistake of paying dreams for it on that day was told would be 3 to 4 weeks, then got an e-mail saying it would be the 19th of DECEMBER got the sister inlaw to sit in all day as we were working, NO SHOW, phoned dreams was told bed sent yodel for dispatch told would be 29th December waited in all day NO SHOW phoned dreams told would be the 5th January whoopee it turned up, got home from work and went to put it together was sent a BADLY damaged headboard here we are on the 14th of january my wife and I after numerous arguments and still sleeping on the floor and still waiting for dream who state on their invoice within 28 days and "NO NEED TO CHASE we will call you immediately your goods arrive usually within 28 days please allow an extra 7 days for delivery"still waiting for an outcome and must have used £20 in phone calls !!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angelpie Nov 29, 2011

    I wish I had read up on reports of DREAMS, Nothing but a nightmare really would not recommend them. I bought the Manhatten bed about 3 monthsand now have a fault with it, which the company are claiming is a misuse of the bed, so not covered by the 10 year guarantee. Part of the end panel made of wood has collapsed which they state would only of happened with geat force, I dont know what they think people do to their beds.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    yorkshireclaire Oct 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i also bought the michigan bedroom furniture from dreams in wakefield branch as solid pine and delivery was a night mare and the dresser unit arrived damaged but the packaging was in perfect condition and looked like it was packed up damaged lol.also my little boy chiped the drawer front on the tallboy and i overcome another nightmare its verneerd chipboard i was disgusted so i got a joiner to inspect the whole lot and they all are constructed from verneered mdf and chipboard so if you have the same please have it checked i am gonna contact trading standards about this so please beware of these crooks

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leanne florence Sep 16, 2011

    Had the worst experience ever with dreams.
    Paid £1, 200 for a leather sley bed and a mattress
    arrived with damage droors
    Mattress was awaful
    Exchanged mattress which took 7 weeks.
    Droors turned up 6 weeks later we had paid assembly and they dumped them then left because they didnt ahve time
    When the people arrived to assemble the drrors they dropped them and ripped the leather in the bed.
    Dreams now want it in writing despite none of this being our fault and this all taking nearly 2 months now and a hell of a long time holding to speak to them grrrr!

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    eve29 Jun 17, 2011

    my mum ordered a bed and matress from the loughborough store. we were told the bed was in stock and could take it away with us that day but due to the fact we were paying for the matress to be delivered we decided we would have both delivered together. on the day of delivery we got a phone call confirming the bed would be delivered that day between 2 and 4 pm, so in preparation we got rid of the old bed and matress. just before 4pm dreams called and told us that the bed was faulty and we would have to wait till friday for delivery. we explained (to the rude and arrogent sales man0 that based on the fact they confirmed delivery that morning we had got rid of the old bed and matress and mum had nothing to sleep on, so they sent the matress. mum has a slipped disc and has had to sleep on the floor for 2 nights, she cant get up off the floor without help and had been struggling to get any sleep! i complained to dreams and what did they offer us in compensation???? NOTHING! free delivery ! WHAT A JOKE, DO NOT BUY FROM THESE COWBOYS! the worse customer service in the country i cant believe these awful people are still in business.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. Patel Jun 13, 2011

    Today after several problems with our tempur bed from the nightmare store Dreams. My husband rang the fraudsters Creation Consumer Finance. (DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM) They said we were overdue with our payments by 2months and have charged us £663.38. It is absolutely disgraceful! They were awful on the phone and were very harsh about their terms. Considering how many times we had to have the bed replaced due to one problem or another and the several visits by their engineers to fix the problem. But that was not their problem. Their problem was us not paying them! We were told by Ranie a salesman at the Wednesbury branch of Dreams that we would get advance notification - a reminder - of when we would have to pay for the bed by. SALESMEN! Don't trust them, especially the ones from DREAMS! Also if you can pay the full amount straight off do so. Don't sigh anything you haven't read. And don't let your hard earned money go to these loan sharks. They are the worst kind of ###!

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blissweb May 14, 2011

    Totally agreed. We ordered a bed, and they said they will deliver on Monday, but would call if it could be delivered earlier. In the end they eventually called and said the following Friday. Then they said that they would call Friday morning and give a 2 hour delivery window.
    Friday morning, they called and said they would be there in 10 mins. When told we were not at home for another half an hour, they said we would have to rebook delivery. I called to complain and after a 10 minute wait they told me all complaints have to be in writing. I explained the situation and they said they couldn't do anything because the bed was still in transit.

    Losers. Useless company. Please do not use. Let them go out of business.
    Totally unprofessional scam artists. Shame, coz the bed was quite nice. Lets see what its like when it arrives.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    Slapacus May 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We now have a similar problem. We bought a mattress and were told if it did not work we could exchange within a given time line. We also purchased a warranty. Within a week we both felt that the mattress was terrbile, it has high points, slopes and pushes the two of us off the bed and oddly enough, into the headboard. We called into the Dreams shop 2 times before getting referred to the call-in customer service. We spoke with the call centre and they initially agreed to replace with a different mattress. The next night we called back to let them know the mattress we wanted to exchange for (some £250 pounds more expensive too as we did not want to risk it). They suddenly said no, they could not honour the earlier customer service agent's offer nor the store salesmen's assertion that we could exchange.
    Now I sleep on the sofa, sleep on the spare bed and have a very sore back. I want to drive in, reutrn the mattress and cancel the direct debit to pay the balance. Not sure if that is legal but I am looking into it. Their managers are also too afraid to speak to me directly even though I am maintining a certain sense of calm and am being very polite. This is over a month later. We have waisted £500 on these people. Do not buy from Dreams. Terrrible experience and their practices seem to be illegal to me.

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    DDFox Jan 31, 2011

    I bought a bed from dreams in December. It was delivered ok and everything seemed fine. After less than a month the mattress became severely uncomfortable as the springs have expended leaving the mattress misshapen. We started to have a bad back so we have resorted to sleeping on the floor which is much better. After complaining in the (where we made our purchase) they said they could not help. The procedure of getting a replacement was not clear as the store worker and the customer service employee had differing opinions. It was agreed that an inspector would come to inspect the mattress. After 3 weeks the inspector came around he was more interested in my opinion than actually looking at the problem in hand. We did not hear anything from dreams until we rang them to chase them up as we have not been able to sleep for weeks. They told us there was no problem with the mattress but this is simply not true. We have had mattresses in the past and have not had any problems we know what a good and bad mattress is. A spring digging in your back is not the sign of a good mattress. The customer service line is excellent as it takes over an hour for someone to respond, it gives you plenty of time to realise there are lots of songs with the word dream/dreams in. I am sure companies try to calm down their customers with music while they are waiting but in this case, it simply does not work as you are reminded of the company who has sold you a product that is not fit for purpose.

    Dreams = Nightmares. Please go elsewhere for your bed.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gabion Jan 21, 2011

    I purchased a bedroom suite from Dreams on 27 November 2010. Had the usual store discount which meant I got it for £1800. Was also told that I could choose £50 of bed linen for free. As the bedroom was being decorated I said I would choose the bed linen at another time as I didn't know what colour the room was going to be. When I returned to the store in January to collect the bed linen I was told the salesman had made a mistake and shouldn't have offered it to me, therefore I wouldn't be getting any. To make things worse it is now 21 January 2011 and I am still waiting for the bedroom suite to be delivered. Have now been told delivery will be in about 2 weeks but I am not holding my breath.

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    ainsley wilshire Dec 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    you can never get in contact with customer services, tried from 12.15 held for 25 minutes no luck, tried again 4 times each time i held for at least 20 minutes no luck tried the following day same result, i will never ever buy a thing from them again .

    0 Votes
  • Gb
    gbmanchester Oct 24, 2010

    I walked into dreams to view a bed my wife had been looking at. I paid £970 cash for a bed with the promise it would be delived on the monday. my wife booked the day off work no bed arrived. I phoned them on the tuesday to be told it would be delived on the wednesday (another day off work). a phone call on wednesday morning saying it would now be saturday. saturday came and i was then told tuesday.my wife was using all her holiday entitlement waiting for nothing! I phoned the store only to get through to an answerphone 3 times. I then tried the customer services line. after waiting on hold for 15minutes i got to speak to somebody that told me they dont give cash refunds and as it was over £500 it had to go to the escalations team who i couldnt speak to. in the mean time i found the same bed elsewhere for £599 (£370 less than dreams) and had it delivered. dreams are now telling me that they have a 20 percent cancellation fee nearly £200. they say that when they give dates they are just estimates and there small print says they can do this. an absolute joke I urge anybody not to shop at dreams! diabolical customer service and a complete rip off

    0 Votes
  • Db
    d burnell Aug 11, 2010

    i got a bedroom set from DREAMS ... when i ordered the set they told me it came flat ... it came eady made !!! sent the wardrobe back and from july 25th i still havent been refunded my 380 quid for my wardrobe and everytime i ring i get a different story or sum1 puts the phone downand i am always polite never argue or shout ... they still havent rang me back and say i have to pay 20percent because i sent it back when its their mistake telling me furnature comes flat when it doesnt

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Catherine Field Jun 09, 2010

    LETTER OF COMPLAINT SENT TO DREAMS AND REST ASSURED.


    We bought a Rest Assured ‘Capri’ mattress from Dreams in April 09. It should have cost £1500 but was on sale for £643, it's now back to £1300. We also bought the 10 year Warranty as the mattress was so expensive.

    We wanted that particular type due to it having the latex foam layer on the top and, as I am Registered Disabled and have Osteo-Arthritis in most of my joints, I was told that it would be great to ease my pain during the night.

    After 7 months (and not all of them being slept on by me due to illness) I noticed that the mattress wasn't 'square' anymore but was going parallelogram shaped and had a lump down the middle. With still being ill I kept forgetting to ring Dreams to sort it out but got in touch before the first year Warranty was up. A man came out, viewed the mattress and took photos. I was surprised that not once did he touch or lie down on it to feel where the lump was, all he did was sit on one side for about 2 seconds.

    After quite a few weeks of not hearing anything I got in touch to find out what the man had decided and was told that he said it's due to 'wear and tear' and the fact that we have a cot next to the bed.

    Our daughter was 2 years old in April so for her first year we still had our previous mattress and it is a Cot Bed that is next to us now which she has slept in since she was 9 months old. We had our previous mattress for nearly 10 years in which time we had two children who both slept in cots next to the bed and that mattress was still ‘square’ when we decided to change it.

    All in all I'm not sure of the reasoning behind saying it's due to a cot being next to the bed especially as when I first noticed the 'sliding' it was on the opposite side of the bed so sliding away from the cot and since then it has been rotated several times.

    The mattress started to 'slide' and not be square shaped after 7 months, how can that be accepted as wear and tear of a mattress that was so expensive and supposed to be such high quality.

    Also, from June to September I spent the majority of my nights at my Mum's due to my Partner working very long hours, we have 2 small children (who stayed with me at my Mum's) and I was very ill so therefore I hardly slept on our new mattress.

    It's unbelievable that we are being told that a mattress that cost £643 (at sale price) can deteriorate to such an extent in less than one year that it's now extremely uncomfortable and causes even more pain in my back than I had before.

    I am not happy in the slightest the way this has been dealt with and to say I'm upset and disappointed in Dreams is an understatement.

    I would now never buy anything from Dreams again or a Rest Assured mattress and I certainly wouldn't recommend either to anybody else.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lionheart63 May 15, 2010

    Dreams are nothing but thieves who wear suits rather than masks and stripy jumpers. I ordered a single bed & mattress, wardrobe and bedside cabinet at a cost of £900. The bed was in stock, was self-assembly and was taken away from store in my car with the furniture to be delivered within two to four weeks.
    The wardrobe and bedside cabinet were pre-assembled and although we checked the sizes to make certain that they would fit into the bedroom, we didn't give a thought to whether the wardrobe would actually fit up and round the stairway when it was delivered.
    It was delivered just over two weeks after ordering, but the delivery men couldn't get the wardrobe up the stairs, so it had to be taken back, with the bedside cabinet in the bedroom still in its box. One of the delivery men said that this was an 8 out of 10 problem and that they had exactly the same problem at the delivery immediately before ours.
    My wife and I called into the store and explained the situation and a salesman pointed us towards other furniture which was self-assembly, but which my son, who the furniture was for didn't like.
    I phoned customer services and explained the situation to them, stating that although we would now need to locate furniture which would more or less match the bed, we would be keeping the bed but would like a refund on the furniture as the wardrobe could not fit up the stairs. I was told that there would be a 20% charge (£97) if I wanted a refund, as they said that the terms and conditions on the back of the invoice, (which you don't receive until you've paid) states that the customer should check whether the furniture can fit, with apparently no onus on the salesperson to inform the customer that on many occasions pre-assembled furniture does not fit and that measuring before committing to buy might be a good idea.
    I was told that this fee was to cover delivery, yet re-delivery in the event that you are not in at a pre-arranged delivery time is just £20, with my argument being that if I had been informed by the salesman at the point of sale that there was a better than average chance that this furniture would not fit, I would not have ordered it without checking first. The customer service representative suggested that telling the customer everything that was contained in the T’s & C’s was not practical, but surely asking customers to double-check whether a certain piece of furniture will fit is hardly a major chore for a salesperson?
    I have phoned for consumer advice and their actions are apparently legal, but morally reprehensible, so Dreams are obviously aware of this and have even more obviously devised their T’s & C’s around this.
    In similar circumstances, the 8 out of 10 failed deliveries would earn them £776 for furniture of the same price for absolutely nothing, so I suggest that this is why they do not inform their customers.
    With repeat custom being the bedrock of success, I would suggest that Dreams will only ever be a mediocre company rather than an excellent one, as I would never go back again and judging by the content of this thread, I am obviously not alone.
    My advice would be to avoid this bunch of crooks like the plague, as they are not remotely interested in customer satisfaction, just taking your money off you at any cost and not giving a care thereafter.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr Pat Mar 12, 2010

    We purchased a Double Divan Electric adjustable bed from Dreams and paid £1400 thinking it would be of good quality, how wrong we were.

    Basically when it was delivered we found that the mattress was already coming away from the seams, the Electric adjustment wont work as the head board that was sold to us was not compatible with this bed, and also the electric wires were getting trapped when the bottom draws were used, the electric wires had not been routed correctly during manufacture, There were real safety issues with this bed.

    Basically we was sold a bed that was useless and dangerous, so we had to sleep on the floor for a full month.
    There customer service was so poor that it was non existent, they promise to ring back but no one does, you have to keep ringing them day after day, week after week.

    After many calls and two official complaints letters to the Director, they were still dragging there heals, they did not even give me a written apology until I asked for one.

    In the End we got so fed up and stressed we demanded our money back, they weren’t even going to refund the full amount but after further complaints they eventually did but we was still at a loss as it costs us a lot of time on phone calls and letters, no compensation was given even when we asked for one, looks like they do not look after their customers.

    In our option the Dreams company was just one big nightmare.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kevscott Feb 18, 2010

    Dreams are the single worst company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

    The people in their branches are only interested in making the sale. NO Customer Service in any of their stores. The product knowledge and advice they offer is completely non-existent.

    The Customer Service department (available by phone only - not face to face!) are liars. One person I spoke to had the cheek to -
    1) Try selling me something while I was trying to sort out my existing order
    2) Tell me that Dreams was actually making a LOSS on my order!

    Their delivery person had an anger management problem. Why? Because my wife asked him to turn the bed round.

    The biggest disgrace is the fact that they charge 20% of the purchase price if you want to return a bed!!

    Read their terms and conditions very carefully before giving them your money or you will live to regret it.

    Agree with the above poster. Customer Service is terrible.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chrissy Phillips Oct 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anyone considering about buying a bed from Dreams should SERIOUSLY reconsider! I'm too angry even now to re-live my bed buying experience but lets just say... there is ZERO customer service from start to finish. The only time they give any sort of service is when you are in store ordering - after that you're on your own and good luck!

    This company really shouldn't be trading, I honestly can't imagine how they've got away with such shocking standards for so long!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Claire Aug 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My partner purchased a bed last week. It was faulty and would not assemble. Having rung cutomer services we were told they would call the next day to arrange re-delivery of the faulty part within 5 days. It did not happen. My partner has rung several times and can not get through or is hung up on. It has now distrupted our whole week and now bank holiday weekend as we are having to travel to the store it was bought in to make a face to face complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Apr 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Although happy with bed and its delivery I was not able to return or even exchange the bedding which I also bought from the Dreams Store in Coventry. I was baffled and stunned that you couldn't even exchange the bedding even though it was still intact with its factory packing and never opened! The useless staff at Dreams just dont want to know even after purchasing a £600 bed. The after sales service is non-existant and they do not budge on this stupid policy. Beware do not purchase any bedding, quilts, pillows, duvet & cushion covers from Dreams as they don wanna know you if you go back to exhange or refund!!! They pressurise you to buy these extra things as well as the warranty. Please stay away from them...god help you if any thing goes wrong with your bed!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.