The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Consumer Portfolio ServicesHARASSING CALLS

THIS COMPANY IS HORRIBLE I HAVE A ROUGH YEAR AND I HAVE GOTTEN BEHIND ON MY PAYMENTS YES BUT I HAVE CALLED AND TOLD THEM AND THEY MADE ME SET UP POST DATED CHECKS BUT TO WESTERN UNION THE PAYMENT THEN CALL GIVE THE MTCN # AND THEY WOULD CANCEL THE CHECK AND THEY DID NOT SEVERAL TIMES CAUSING BANK FEES AND EVERYTHING ELSE BUT MY MAIN PROBLEM WITH THIS COMPANY IS THAT THEY CALL FAMILY AND FRIENDS AND HARASS THEM THEY CALL YOUR JOB AND GIVE OUT YOUR PERSONAL INFORMATION. I AM IN THE HEALTHCARE FIELD AND WE HAVE SOMETHING CALLED HIPPA, WHEN I FILLED OUT MY APPLICATION THEY ASKED FOR CREDIT REFERENCES FAMILY AND FRIENDS THEY DO NOT TELL YOU THAT IF YOU ARE 5 MINUTES LATE ON A PAYMENT THAT THEY ARE GOING TO CALL THESE PEOPLE AND HARASS THE MESS OUT OF THEM EVEN THOUGH I PUT FAMILY AND FRIENDS NAMES ANDNUMBERS THAT DOES NOT MEAN THEY CAN CALL AND GIVE THEM MY PERSONAL INFORMATION. I BELIEVE THIS IS SOME FORM OF A HIPPA VIOLATION JUST BECAUSE WHEN A PATIENT COMES IN AND THEY HAVE FAMILY WITH THEM AND THEY HAVE PUT SOMEONE DOWN FOR EMERGENCY CONTACT WE STILL HAVE TO ASK THE PATIENT DO THEY CARE IF THE SURGEON CAN TALK TO THE FAMILY AFTER SURGERY AND TELL THEM WHAT IS GOING. THEY HAVE CALLED MY JOB AND EVERYBODY ANSWERS THE PHONE HERE AND THE CPS EMPLOYEE TOLD MY COWORKER I HAVE NOT MADE A PYMT IN 5 MONTHS( NOT TRUE) AND THAT THEY WERE COMING TO GET MY VEHICLE WELL YOU CAN GUESS EVERYBODY I WORK WITH AND ANYONE WHO WALKED BY THIS PERSON KNOWS WHAT IS GOING ON IN MY PERSONAL LIFE I HAVE BEEN HUMILATED AND EVERYTHING ELSE I BELIEVE IF A LAWYER OR SOMEONE FAMILIAR WITH THE LAW READS THIS COULD COME UP WITH A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AND TAKE THESE PEOPLE DOWN

Responses

  • Ms
    Ms. T Jan 29, 2009

    I agree... they hav done me the same way... I was laid off and called to advise them... also keeping current until December 2008... so I made arrangements and they have been calling and doing unprofessional things... One women called by the name of Ms. Mitchell...(very rude)... she said she was a manager and I have sent a letter of complaint to the CEO and hope to get a law suit going...

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leslie Quattrocchi Feb 13, 2009

    How do we file a lawsuit against this company. My husband and I have been repeatedly harassed and embarrassed by their humiliation and threatening scare tactics. I understand that I signed a legal agreement to repay a loan and I fully intend to do just that. But life happens. I was in a serious car accident that left me unable to work for over 6 months. As soon as I was able to dial a phone I called all of my creditors. All but one wished me well and told me as long as I kept them informed and filled out some applications for deferments I would be OK. CPS told me I was "a loser who needed to come up with a more original excuse for being an irresponsible deadbeat." They then proceeded to call my boss and my 90 year old grandfather and tell them the same. Isn't the slander? I am only 18 days late and I got a certified letter yesterday informing me that " they would no longer tolerate me ignoring my responsibilities to them." I just called them 2 days earlier and made a payment! Enough is enough! Is there anyone out there that can help us or point us in the direction of a lawyer? Please let me know.
    Leslie Quattrocchi
    [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    lbr Apr 09, 2009

    I had trouble paying the full amount of my car payment. I got harassing call. Some time i would get call all day long. I told then that i was off work because of a fall at work, and was not making the money that i did when i was at work and was going the best i could to keep up with my payment but they didn't care all they want was they money. I was on 30 dollars behind on my car payment and they still harassed my for that little money. I think that consumer portfolio should be put out of bussines. I they call me for the 30 dollaes i had just made a payment to chatch on my payment. I told them that i could send the money on my next payment and she told me that i need to give a post dated check for that amount. Something need to be done about company like that.Then people are very very rude.PLease can anyone do something about then.

    MS lbr

    0 Votes
  • Ie
    IER May 26, 2009

    If someone has a lawsuit pending against them, I have contacted the BBB in Florida D85D5-7BE5B-DC45F-AA299-EE636-FCCFC-68 and the FTC [protected] against them.

    In my case, they have called twice regarding perhaps my uncle. Phone message left on voicemail stating that they want me to deliver message to him *which is against the FDCPA - Fair Debt Collection Practices Act*. They are rude and when I told them not to call me the first time around, they decided to wait a couple of weeks and call again. Found out from my Mom that they are calling her as well.

    I don't care to contact my relatives if it is really them since there are many in the city where he lives with the same name as his. Also, when I stated that I don't want to be contacted for such an item, they said that it was probably because he put me down as a reference. Really? Probably? Then probably he has nothing to do with you folks to begin with.

    I pay my loans when due and have not been through this before. This is not even my debt or let alone I shouldn't be receiving calls. Here is a phone number and name that I received from the California office since Florida serves the Texas area. Cindy Springsteen (any relation to Bruce? wonder how he will feel if someone came calling about this Cindy if the shoe was on the other foot?) at [protected].

    I have even filed a complaint with the FCC since my number is on the do not call list and regardless of them trying to contact my uncle if it is indeed his debt to begin with, I don't want anything to do with it. Besides, live like 8 hours away from relatives because of wanting to stay away from the drama.

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    cdperez46 Feb 25, 2010

    I too have never been treated with so much Disrespect.. Mangager MR CRAWFORD!! A real jerk and rude as he can be. He has called my employment and told them he was a police officer and I needed to call him asap.. Of course I thought something had happened to one of my kids. I called and he was from CPS saying I was behind and needed to pay my payment.. They have told several people that i work for that i am behind and they are going to repossess my vehicle.. I too want in on any Lawsuits that get started.. I don't know where to begin so i would love to be contacted if anything is done to stop these leeches.. DO NOT EVER LET THEM FINANCE YOUR LOAN!! BIG MISTAKE

    0 Votes
  • Li
    littlefield Feb 25, 2010

    wow, what a bunch of dead beats!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    educastionisamust Nov 01, 2010

    OMG =I cant belive this...I have put up with them for 5 yrs. They are loan sharks. We got a 13, 000.00 loan 5 yrs ago and pay almost 400.00 as month and we still have an OUTSTANDING BALANCE OF 7, 100.00 R THEY SERIOUS!!! they will tell you they will give you a deferment and then come to find out they NEVER did and then they will keep charging you LATE fees which keeps adding to the balance, SO THEY END UP KEEPING YOU PAYING FOREVER! Im all for a lawsuit...i may be tooo late but if a class action was done please let me know...

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    FEDUP CPS Apr 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's hard to state what our "attitude towards Complaint"! Not wanting to use such language! !!!
    Why hasn't the FCC, done anything about all of our complaint"? I and many others have even sent in
    recordings of what they have said and how! Yea I have been recording, also they send emails to bosses of one's
    work. Those also have been sent into FCC! Why do we as consumers, Need some high class Lawyer?
    We have as consumers, rights! Lets do it on our own.
    Any and all communications between CPS! can be recorded!, Just have a phone type, that one only pushes button, at and towards end, "you are being recorded! Now as one must let other know, upon making the
    ' and putting it on tape, :-) You know what I mean. I hope!
    All of the above and much more and others, have contacted the FCC! But they have NOT! done anything? Perhaps FCC needs to be re-coupted! As with all of our present GOV. One must initial one's own lawsuit!
    The State's Attorney! is that! Each state we live in, We can only go thru our own. Anyone else in Virginia???
    We can as a group, do this. All he or she needs is like a group of more than 5, or just 5 with evidence and confirmation, like I have above. Today is April 14, 2011! All Virginians On and about May 1, 2011, I will
    get all of ones I know, and anyone else here, gather here.
    Remember Every State but each state, Lets blow there "balls" oops! sorry :-) OFF! Dont stop until we get the
    job done. Better in numbers! I'll even meet up in Richmond! Get all your "ducks" in a roll, Let's "bleep CPS!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sambo811 Oct 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would agree, I have got a loan from them over 5 years ago 2003. Which was for 15, 000 as it was told to me that I would finish paying off the car in 5 years well I have not and the car is broken. They called my job telling my co workers that I have not paid them. One mintue they will tell you that you can pay at the end of the month and the next minute you did not pay at all. When I was paying them at the end of the month. One guy called me and told me that they was on there way to pick up the car if I do not have the money in by 5pm. I told him that I was goingt o have the money to them by western union, he wanted me to call him back and sit up another payment for the next month. They did not care I have to use my rent money order to cash that in just to do the westen union. Then I have got phones coming from them, my mother would tell me that they called her, my sisters even my child friend and she was never on any of my information or Refers. It want so bad that someone from CPS contact me on FACEBOOK. How low can you really go!!!. One day I was coming home from work and my child ran out side to tell me that CPS was looking for my car, Wow, from that point on... I never called them back, I never answer any of there calls, hell I stop paying them 3 months ago cause I know for a fact that I paid more then some damn 15, 000 more like 25, 000. I AGREE TAKE THIS ### HOLES DOWN

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alreadysuedthem Nov 12, 2012

    contact they ceo in california

    [protected]@consumerportfolio.com
    [protected]@consumerportfolio.com

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions