Consumer Portfolio ServicesIllegal collection tactics

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

To those of you that are currently being harassed by Consumer Portfolio Services please read this post. My wife and I took out a loan with this company two years ago and we have just tolerated the harassment that this company puts forth up until a couple a weeks ago. From the continuous calls at home/cell/work. To contacting people that aren't listed as our references over and over again after being told not to. Just a couple of weeks ago they contacted my neighbor and gave out our personal information. We have received Fed Ex letters demanding payment in full or they will come and get our vehicle. Come to find out what this company is doing is illegal and you can fight back. The key is recording conversations when speaking with someone from CPS, and having individuals whom you know are being contacted to record there calls or save there voice mails they are receiving. Trust me they will say something that is illegal! We have since filed a lawsuit against CPS and the calls stopped immediately and now we are going after them for money now!!! This company needs to be stopped. Please don't feel like you have no where to turn cause that is what my wife and I thought, but what they are doing is illegal and each and every case needs to be brought forth. Just go to Google and input "illegal collection tactics" and you will be well on our way to putting it right back in there face. I hope everyone that is being harassed by this company gets to read this and takes action on them cause I know how it feels!!! These are the rudest and most uneducated people I have ever dealt with.

Responses

  • Ka
    Kathy Aug 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Greg I have to ask you how things are going with your lawsuit. I was in the process and now am stuck not sure what to do because after CPS agreed with me over an arrangement on monday Aug 4th and giving me until friday to make my payment and then last night about 11:20 I was up doing my homework and I heard something outside when I looked there were 2 guys outside hooking up my car. When I went out there they were very rude and barely let me get my stuff out of there before they took it away. The whole time I have had this loan which has been just a little over 2 years I have had nothing but problems with them they would call us 10 to 20 times a day and when we answered the called they were very rude to us and when we let the answering meachine do it it was just the same but then they would start calling our references and other relatives that were not listed and they would tell them our personal information and even as far as asking them to pay the payment for us which is just totally wrong. In a way now I am glad I do not have to deal with them but also I am out over $13000 and my car was sold to me for $1539.46 but yet because of their high interests we still owed $13, 000. It is just down right rude and totally wrong what they are doing. I am disabled unable to work right now and my husband works construction and so when the weather is bad he cannot work so we got behid and I had tried to work out several different things but they never once offered to work with me.
    Kathy

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shiree Aug 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this company needs to be stopped they are out of control everything that everyone is saying happened to me also

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denise Aug 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had it with these idiots!! A Mr. Verneer from the repo department called my father and told him he was a private investigator and that he needed my father's social security number. My Dad hit the ceiling and told him where he could go. I feel like we need to ban together and deliver CPS a class action law suit. I would love to find out how to get the process going. Any ideas?

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Aug 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In July of 2006 we were financed through CPS and that is when the nightmare began. If we were a day late they were calling my husbands employer. We told them several times that he was not allowed calls at work and that did not seem to matter even though I told them it was illegal. They send us letters via Fedex demanding payment in full. All the while charging us for every letter they send. I do not know what to do! I understand that we have to make our payment but to what extent do we have to go to please these people. I need to know what we can do!?

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harold Oct 01, 2008

    I have had the same type of calls from this company. Yesterday, I was in the hospital with my granddaughter who was in the delivery room having a baby. A member of her husband's family came running out of the room very upset and said there was a phone call for me. I tried to explaint to Steve Phillips that I couldn't talk. The doctor has just come into her room and they were getting ready for delivery, no one was supposed to be in the room but he had said this was an emergency. In the meantime he called my next door neighbor and left his name and phone number stating it was an emergency and he couldn't get an answer at my house. He couldn't get an answer because I was at the hospital. Every time I have had a phone call from this company it has been extremely rude, they have called all my friends, relatives, neighbors and I have no idea who else. I am contacting an attorney today, because although I could not have recorded his call to the hospital room, I do have proof he called there. I can ignore almost anything until it comes to something this unbelievably unprofessional and illegal.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harold Oct 01, 2008

    I have just filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission at the following web site:
    https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/
    I am following up with a law suit through my attorney, but if enough people complain to the FTC maybe they will stop this happening to someone else.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    gee Oct 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This cimpany has been harrassing me as well thanks for the advice. I have asked several times that not call me at work. They have been rude and have threaten me as well. My friends and neighbors have been called too. I will follow up with the trade commision and file as you did. We will stop them one way or antoher. I will check with and attorney as well!

    Good Luck

    0 Votes
  • Rr
    rrrrrrr Jun 29, 2009

    I'm having the same situation I owed them $70 they called six times a day, not the same person, then when you talked to someone, they would have someoe else to call, then they apparently didn't record the information that you gave them the first time. I will also be checking to file a lawsuit against this company. This company is terrible.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sam.18 Sep 15, 2009

    I would like to get involved in this as well. Isd there one lawyer people are going to?

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    ldbake Sep 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE tell me if there is a lwasuit against these ###s!!!
    I will definatley lend my story, although you all have already told it. My wife and I thought we were the only ones.
    Lets band together and take these people (and I use that term lightly) DOWN!!!

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Eman12 Nov 02, 2009

    Hello that sounds like what happend to me but when I got the load one of their people called me right after I got the load and verified all the info was correct I said yes to them but I needed the payment to be set at the end of the month they said no problem just make the first payment on time then call in and have the date switched I did make the payment then they told me when I called back that no one in thier company would ever tell me that and they could not switch the date they since repoed the vehicle and did the same thing called everyone with illegal tactics and since sued me and won if anyone has any help on this situation please contact me [protected]@gmail.com I have talked to a couple lawyers and they told me its not worth my time just bite the bullet But I believe this company needs stopped and taught a lesson

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    boancrusher Dec 08, 2009

    Same here, these people are relentless, they continously call my place of employment, gettting random people and asking them personal questions about me. They have gone
    onto my facebook and myspace pages and have contacted people on my friends list.
    They always have the same questions, where is the car, where is the payment, we can work with you, if you just give us a payment, we will defer the next, and when I call to defer, i am told that I cannot do that, that I have to make a payment.

    When they call my place of employment, they ask whomever answers the phone ( I too work in a call center) if I am at work, if my car is parked in a secure location, if I drove it to work, what my hours are, and what time I should be on the street.
    Totally unprofessional.
    I have instructed them several times that they are to contact me and me only, they have
    my direct numbers, however they never call me, they call around.

    They have also taken payments without authorization, and when I caught them, the only person that was honest and workable had told me about the draft, and suggested I stop payment, which I did, She also wanted me to call back on Monday because she was going to pull the recorded conversation, to see if I authorized the payment, and when I called back, I was told I was no longer allowed to speak with her, and that I owed them a payment plus $200.00 for late fees and the rejected payment.

    I had my last car financed with them, and never experienced anything like this, however I don't know what has changed them, maybe the economy, but I am to the
    point now, that I am willing to turn it over, or leave it unattended with the keys
    and let someone take it, what the heck I will end up paying for it anyway.

    I want to sue them as well, just for the mere satisfaction of seeing them on the other
    side of embarrassment. I have to face my co-workers everyday, and the fact that they
    know ALL my personal issues is just shameful!

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Highly P'd Dec 15, 2009

    I thought it was just me. I am so overwelmed with this company I don't answer the phone when they call. They have called my home, work, cell, sent emails several times a day. Luckily I have a personal work phone with caller ID so I know it's them and don't answer it. They also threatend to repo my vehicle after one late payment and I am at the point where I just want them to come and get it.. I can't take this anymore. I'm not sure if they've called any of my relatives but I think most of my references have gotten their numbers changed thanks to the comcast triple play..lol It's really a sad situation but I've got to laugh sometimes to keep from crying. Can't get out of the note after two years because of the high interest. It should really be illegal for them to do this. I was able to look on their online site and get a breakdown of the interest and principle payments. There are times where they didn't even apply ANY of my monthly payment to the principle. I've been trying to refinance the car and can't because I purchased a home this year (so CPS reps it's not always the bad credit people who get stuck with you). I should of just kept the car I traded in, it would of saved me the headache.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PinkyD Jan 11, 2010

    If they have a BBB rating of F, why do car dealerships even bother using them? I am greatly confused about all this. I had an agreement i had my account set up the guy Melvin said he would waive the 10dollar + or so fee for the draft, my bank bounced the payment over 22 cents, and now im in a boat. i am being told i shouldn't pay them because i will lose my money and get the car reposessed. i in 20+ yrs of life never had a late car payment until the governor furloughed us and i ran through my savings. now i am one month late, and they are closing my pay loan out in default to repo the car. WTF?! if they were reported to the FTC, why has not anything happened to this company yet. whats it going t take an act of Congress?! Someone update this link as to what is going on ..

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FrustrateOne Jan 15, 2010

    this company sucks and no matter who or how much you contact or complain they keep getting away with it! I wish i had money for an attorney i swear i would drop the ball on they a$$e$!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chloe's mom Jan 20, 2010

    OMG! I thought I was the only one ! This company CAN AND WILL BE STOPPED

    0 Votes
  • Tk
    tkg0805 Jan 25, 2010

    I called CPS last week just out of curiousity for the pay-off on my car...OMG!!! I bought the car in July 2007 & if they "could" change my due date, I would never be late but with that being said I am usually no more than 2 weeks late on my payment. I bought the car for $13K w/14% interest rate (so I was told) & almost 2 1/2 years of payments made, I still owe $12, *** !!! I don't even like the car!!! I looked through the envelope that was given to me at the dealer & any other documents pertaining to the loan & I have NO copy of my contract. I have never received anything from CPS other than monthly statements & hourly phone calls!!! I am going to do some research regarding an Attorney General complaint as well as FTC, BBB & please contact me if a class action suit comes along.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    racmaur Jan 30, 2010

    we want to get these suckers out of business so please email [protected]@gmail.com

    Its about time we all file a class action lawsuit. There is a lawyer willing to take on this case

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrbiggtt Mar 03, 2010

    I'm also receiving threats from them concerning the repo of my car, I would like to know more about this class action lawsuit. my e-mail address is : [protected]@yahoo.com

    thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ow
    owensb Mar 30, 2010

    I was reading someones comments on not signing a contract w/ CPS I looked through all my paperwork and I do not have a contract either my contract states GMAC. If there is a suit against them I need to get in ASAP. I lost my daughter in October and fell behind on my bills. They harassed me so bad I told them to come get the car and they will not even come get it. I just cant not deal w/ this company emotionally Im losing my mind please contact me if there is a suit against CPS! [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    jwagn13 Apr 07, 2010

    I have voice mails that are unbelievable. I live in an attorney town...please send me an e-mail of everyone wishing to file a class action law suit and I will research an attorney.

    [protected]@pa.net

    Joyce

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPS VICTIM May 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THEY CALLED MY JOB MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY AND CALLED MY CELL PHONE USING A PRIVATE OR UNKNOWN PHONE NUMBER. THEY ARE VERY UN PROFESSIONAL AND NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT. THEY CALLED MY NEIGHBOR'S HOUSE ASKING THEM TO NOTIFY THEM IF THEY SEE MY CAR. I HAVE BEEN CURSED OUT BY STEPHANIE, NICOLE AND SEVERAL OTHERS WORKING THERE AND SOMEONE CALLED ME STATING THEY WERE A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR AND THAT THEY WOULD BE TO MY JOB WITH THE POLICE TO PICK UP THE CAR AND NO ONE NEVER SHOWED UP. THEY WOULD CALL MY HUSBAND TELLING HIM THAT I CURSED THEM OUT WHEN THEY WERE THE ONES USING PROFANITY AND CALLING ME OUT OF MY NAME. I ASKED THEM TO SEND ME A STATEMENT OF THE AMOUNT OF MONEY I STILL OWE THEM AND I NEVER RECEIVED ONE. I FILED CHAPTER SEVEN BANKRUPT AND I TOLD THEM THAT AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD CALL ME UNTIL I GET A CASE NUMBER EVEN THOUGH MY ATTORNEY TOLD ME TO HAVE THEM TO CALL THEM. THEY CONTINUED TO CALL AND FINALLY I GOT A CASE NUMBER AND I STILL RECEIVED CALLS BECAUSE SOMEONE SAID THEY DID NOT KNOW I WAS FILING CHAPTER SEVEN BANKRUPT AND WILL NOTE THE ACCOUNT SO THAT NO ONE ELSE WOULD CALL. I SURRENDERED THE VEHICLE AND FAXED THEM A LETTER OF THE DATE AND TIME TO PICK IT UP AND THEY NEVER SHOWED UP TO PICK UP THE CAR. I FEEL THAT I WAS HARRASED SO MUCH UNTIL I JUST GAVE UP AND DID NOT WANT TO PAY THEM FOR NOTHING.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crysann Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please contact me if there is a lawsuit going on with CPS. I have recently filed a complaint with the FTC and now looking to seek an attorney. Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crysann Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just filed a complaint with the FTC and now seeking an attorney. CPS needs to be stopped.

    If there is a class action lawsuit against Consumer Portfolio Services, please contact me. Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daveb40258 Aug 19, 2010

    Just when you think these idiots must be only picking on me you find a page like this. Here is our story: We are in a Chapter 13 Bankruptcy. We decided to keep the car at a modified rate. we are in our 3rd year and somehow a payment got crossed in the mail and my bankruptcy had a motion to dismiss from the Trustee. My lawyer contacted me with what to do next. got all my cash together but it took a week to file a motion to reinstate. I was told that you are no longer protected by the Bankruptcy laws while in a dismissed status and creditors can harass us but usually don't until the case is actually closed or the payments stop. Well I work nights at 9am I hear this voice on my answer mach. Mr>>>> you really need to stop hiding behind your answer machine and call me back blah blah I'm thinking who the effin hell is so rude so I pick it up and say lady I work nights immediately she tries to apologize I said I hide from no one and who in the hell are you anyway. She said CPS and then asked where the car was. I replied do u know where I live? yes. well then why would it be anywhere else? oh good because we are coming to get it. excuse me? yes your bankruptcy has been dismissed so we need to get the car. Uh no madame we are filing a motion to reinstate next Weds I have to have a week and your still getting the payments whats the problem, then turned her BS around on her and asked...is there anyone at all there that speaks English? She come back with a supervisor who must wear like the GIANT RUDE JERK hat there and basically says tough [censor] were taking the car. But this was the funny part he kept saying I owed arrearages. They are NOT its what they lost in finance charges when they modified the loan STUPID [censored]!! So I immediately go out and get a rental car don't see or hear a thing for 1 freakin week 400 bucks for a rental car poof up in smoke. Monday night CPS calls again Mr >>> were trying to get the car and we just cant find it. Well its here . well sir our notes from the tow company say they have knocked on your door for a week and no one answers. Oh really? (remember I work nights I'm always home). when was the last time they were here? an hour ago. really? I yell for the kids ...what are you doing sir ..Oh we have been home all day I want you to tell me to my own ears that my kids are liers that NO ONE KNOCKED ON OUR DOOR TODAY. oh sir you don't have to do all this no i insist. They hang up Tuesday I come home find a note on the door from a towing company and a very nice vm message on my phone I call him back and explain the situation and then I ask him how many times he has been here. Well today was my first time sir. really? Yes sir in fact we didn't get the order to pick the car up until LAST NIGHT. After he heard me tell him how CPS threw his company under the bus he says...Dave do me a favor, after you see your lawyer tomorrow give me a case number and no matter what CPS says they can kiss my [censor] and when I write my report tonight ill tell them the car is nowhere to be found. YAY Dave 1 CPS -0 . Well we filed the motion but man they wont give up they called ever person we know harassing them they even checked my credit report saw we were going to BUY A USED CAR AND FOR SOME REASON THE LOT NEVER CALLED BACK. WHY? CPS CALLED THEM AND TOLD THEM I WAS A SEVERE CREDIT RISK! I swear when my ship comes in I'm gonna fly out to California visit there office in Irvine with some boxing gloves and punch everyone there from janitor to manager right in the fu++ng face!!! Oh that's after I BUY THE PLACE AND SELL IT TO THE CHINESE.

    1 Votes
  • Me
    MelMill Nov 01, 2010

    My contract also states GMAC but thru CPS? I too would like info. [protected]@charter.net

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Monica Brown Aug 01, 2011

    If there is a lawsuit please email me info at [protected]@yahoo.com. I had someone who blew threw a red light speeding while I was in my husbands truck (as a passanger) I had massive back damage and couldn't return to work as a CNA. They continued to call my work, and the refrences I used harassing and threating. They call me 10 plus times a day if I am a day late on a payment, and considering I am still fighting for ssd and am only 25, and still pay my 400 a month car payment (sometimes it is a little late but it's always made) they should be a bit more paitent. Im done with this company telling me when I am a day late that if I don't make a full payment they will repo my car asap They even asked me where I was to come get my car and I wasn't even late at that point! It's nutts. I have enough to worry about without this company harassing me over NOTHING. (and telling my family and friends my buisness without concent!) thanks

    Monica

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danigirl97 Sep 10, 2011

    I am up for a class action lawsuit. CPS even refused a offer of me making a whole payment that i was behind and a half of a payment that was to come up in a few days. I asked him if they were refusing my offer and he bluntly said yes. these people are getting to bold and their tatics are awful. I am self employed and they will call me on my cell phone when i answer and tell them im with a constomer they still keep me on the phone and hurting my business with my client which is affecting my money. I had one woman named Rosa tell me that she had a better job than me that she was better than me that she can pay all her bills and im like wtf this is so damn childish. when I told her that im doing everything i can to pay what i can she was like we will repo your truck yada yada yada and i asked her well which is it do you want the money or do you want the truck and she said we want the truck . If CPS wants the vehicles then why are they financing them why not just go out and buy them instead of giving everyone HELL!!! BTW my email is [protected]@yahoo.com plz contact me if there is to be a class action lawsuit because I will be looking into putting forth my own lawsuit!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PissedOffCPSCustomer Oct 18, 2011

    I have to agree...I just got a rude phone call TWICE from the same ### a bit ago.. (ALBERT PEREZ @ ext. 15858). This is the second time my file has made its way to his desk. The first time i was literally in my hospital bed and he refused to wait 2-3 days so i could get my disability check cashed and a payment out to CPS. (This was literally right before EDD changed to using debit cards). Well he has my file again and this time YET AGAIN he's a rude ###. Cutting me off when I'm trying to tell him I cannot make 2 payments in 1. I can only do 1 payment now and then see financially what I can do to make up the past due. I told him I'm not trying to make a promise I cannot fulfill regarding payment promises. So he tells me it's not "my way or the highway" and then i told him to shut up and let me talk because I'm trying to arrange something and then I asked him "so you're telling me that you are refusing a payment...CORRECT?" He said he cannot accept less than a payment and a half or a payment and a third. I told him financially I cannot do it and I will look over my money situation and then make something towards the back money due. He said "you have 24 hours to contact me in my office with a payment arrangement". He can die too. I'm so sick of the BS...anyone know of a class action lawsuit?? I'm ready to jump in it!!!

    0 Votes
  • We
    weneedacar Oct 23, 2011

    Seems to me if you're 30 days past due.. its not their fault??

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry as well Nov 01, 2011

    I just experienced the same thing with this company, I've never been late on my car note in two years...ever... until this month. Due to budget reasons I went from full-time and was made part-time by my job which now causes me to have to pay my car note when I get my second pay check. When my hardship took place in July, I requested a deferment and I was granted one. Today (Tuesday) I got a call at my job because I'm late for one month which I told the rep that I can pay Friday, three days later, and he blew up and threatened to take further action. His name was Raphael, he said I'm not going to argue with you and he wouldn't even let me talk, he was very rude and obnoxious, I couldn't believe it! I was at work, and he knew it too. He hung up saying.."pay today!, or we're taking further action" I replied okay, and he hung up. After reading these reviews, I'm seeking an attorney as well because this is ridiculous. Raphael told me that if I didn't pay that my deferment would be reversed and I would risk being three months behind, although I'm only late one day after the allotted time to make a payment. I'm looking forward to trading this car in real soon to break the contract with these people.

    0 Votes
  • An
    ANOTHER COMPLAINING PARTY Nov 18, 2011

    TOTALLY AGREE WITH ALL THE POST!!! WAS A TERRIBLE, HORRIBLE MISTAKE TO HAVE SIGNED ON WITH THIS COMPANY. EVERY SINGLE POST IS TRUE, THEY CALL BEFORE 8:00 A.M.; CALL PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT, THREATEN NOT ONLY MY CO-WORKERS; (BASICALLY ANYONE WHO ANSWERS THE PHONE), HAVE SPOKEN WITH SUPERVISORS AND HAVE THREATEN THEM. WILL NOT STOP CALLING MY PLACE OF EMPLOYEMNT EVEN THOUGH I HAVE TOLD THEM REPEATEDLY. THEY CALL, CALL, CALL, THREATEN, THEN FAX DOCUMENTS. CALL AGAIN. THIS IS A NIGHTMARE, HOW IN THE WORLD CAN THESE PEOPLE SLEEP AT NIGHT.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tee1952 May 21, 2012

    Thank you all for your assistance. I too am dealing with them. However, they aren't harassing me yet. I purchased a car from a dealership and it is a lemon. I took the car various time to be repaired and they didn't hoping the warranty would run out on me. I returned the car and contacted CPS. They are doing their best to avoid me and not let me out of the agreement even though they know I don't have the car. I am going to file a suit against them and the dealership.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem