SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Verizon Wireless / bad quality on refurbished phones

MI, United States Review updated:

I have had a LG Voyager since they were released about 2 years ago. My phone for the most part has worked well, until a few month ago, when I had some issues. Verizon replaced the phone with a refurbished phone and then my problems started. The "refurb" phone would not stay calibrated on the touch screen. I would miss calls because I could not get my phone unlocked. I kept complaining, and the customer service people would just recalibrate my screen. After a few months of that, I got fed up, and complained again. they sent me another refurb phone. This phone had a bad speaker that distorted everything. The next refurb phone has a bad power cord connection not allowing a complete charge. The next refurb phone has another blown speaker, and the list continues. I was given my "customer service" reps business card, and told to call if I had any issues. I called him, and 24 hours later, I still haven't received any followup call. I am fed up with Verizon.

Ho
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jo
      3rd of Mar, 2008
    Verizon Wireless - Bogus collection bill!
    Verizon Wireless
    PO Box 3427
    Bloomington
    Illinois
    United States

    I recently had a credit report run, and for some reason this AFNI thinks i owe them some money, something about a Verizon Wireless bill that I know nothing about. They aren't very detailed in their letter.

    0 Votes
  • J
      7th of Mar, 2008

    Afni can only tell you so much in the collection letters they send out due to legal and privacy laws defined in the FDCPA and FCRA laws.

    They cannot publish any personal details of yours just in case the statement letters got in the wrong hands.

    Just give them a call and pay your bill

    0 Votes
  • My
      28th of Jul, 2008
    Verizon Wireless - Not a Warranty at all
    Verizon Wireless
    California
    United States

    The phone won't charge. One of the tiny metal pins inside the phone is gone/bent? Verizon's theory...If you can see the problem, it must be the customers fault. Not a warranty issue but an insurance one. $300 phone, 3 months old + shoddy construction = I lose money. Also, 18 months left on the contract and the insurance will only replace the phone - after deductible - 2 times.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      28th of Oct, 2008
    Verizon Wireless - downloads
    verizon wirelesas
    United States

    When you purchase a download (ringtone) you pay a fee of 2.99 per item. They charge you an additional megabyte charge when you get your bill. It seems to me that I am being double charged and it was not made very clear to me during the purchase process. I went online on my computer to search and download. They are saying the fee is for them to send it from the computer to my phone! This is not a fair practice in my mind.
    Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      2nd of Nov, 2008

    The $2.99 is for the actual ringtone. It's licensed property. You paid $2.99 for it. You don't say if this is from VZW themselves or a 3rd party.

    When you download the ringtone to you are using VZW data (not voice) streams. It is fair for them to charge on a per MB basis. You sound like you have no data package. If you continue to download things you need to get a data package.

    It is fair for them to charge like this, wireless data streams are different from the voice streams. I costs VZW a lot of money to provide data traffic.

    I have a 1400 minute plan with unlimited data package. The data package is different and comes with a price. In return for that price I can virtually download anything I want every month. They don't like constant overage of 5 GB/month though.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      26th of Nov, 2008

    You bought the phone and if no damage can be detected you have your warranty. Is Verizon suppose to take every Joe's word that the phone's battery prongs just bent on their own? Come on already! If you didn't have insurance you would be paying 100% retail cost. Also don't you pay a deductible for every other insurance in the world? (homeowners etc...) Plus if you say you lose the phone and you really don't and use it on another account you could cheat the insurance company over and over. That's why their is only 2 claims allowed. Your just thinking about me, me, me, and my phone. Get in the real world.

    0 Votes
  • Il
      16th of Jun, 2009
    Verizon Wireless - advertising
    Verizon Wireless
    Texas
    United States

    One of the stupidist commercials I have ever seen. The guy pours out the whole container of sprinkles. I'm so sick of this ad. I don't know who thought it would be funny but it is not.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
      16th of Jun, 2009

    When I rule the world, I'm going to ban all commercials that get on my nerves. This will be one of the first, immediately following any associated with Comcast.

    0 Votes
  • Xh
      17th of Jun, 2009

    Holy ###! I hate it too!

    0 Votes
  • Jh
      7th of Jul, 2009

    we have oveer 500 commercials at this moment and we appoligize if it doesn't appeal to everyone but if you don't like the comercial just change the channel. thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      11th of Jul, 2009

    The "sprinkles" ad is insulting to everyone involved, especially the portrayed black male deliberately spilling the sprinkles to make a point (mindless black man creating a mess) to the white male behind the counter asking about whipped cream (mindless white adolescent accepting a no win situation).

    If Verizon has to put out these ads, stay with the "dead zone" forte. At least that's entertaining.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      11th of Jul, 2009

    As for changing the channel...what an infantile evasive response...I have the money...you change the ad, and we can show you by not buying the product...

    -1 Votes
  • Al
      24th of Jul, 2009
    Verizon Wireless - GET EVEN NUMBER
    Verizon wireless
    Boston
    Massachusetts
    United States

    Found this number on another post. I intend to use the balance of my 1400 minutes calling to tell them how TERRIBLE a company VERIZON WIRELSS HAS BECOME! Then cancel my service.

    PLEASE USE ALL YOUR EXTRA MINUTES TO CONTACT LETS HARASS THEM LIKE THEY HARASS US!!

    DAVID SMALL 973-656-7000

    0 Votes
  • Dl
      24th of Jul, 2009

    I have verizon and they dont harass me.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      24th of Jul, 2009

    FREND I HALVE ASLO HAD PORBOLEM'S WHITH VERISON

    HOW EVER MY FREND I DOO NAT THNIK THTA IT IS NIECE TO HARAS INOCENT IVDINUNUNAL'S

    IF WE COSNULT THE "" WROD OF GOOD "" (( THE BIEBLE )) IT'S DOSE NOT SAY'S "" DO UTNO OHTER'S ### THEY DO UTNO YOU "" IT SAY'S THE OPOPSITE'S

    JUT'S SOEM FOOS FOR TAUGT, ,

    I WHISH YOU THE BET'S IN ALL OF YOU'RE EDNEVOR'S

    BLESING'S

    Dr M A CARNARVORO

    +1 Votes
  • Li
      28th of Sep, 2009
    Verizon Wireless - bill i dont owe!!!
    verison wireless
    United States

    I haven't had verizon wireless in over a year or more!!! I DO NOT OWE THIS BILL, also it upsets me that when I try to call you people I can't talk to anyone!!!

    0 Votes
  • Re
      2nd of Oct, 2009

    So I call Verizon Wireless 1 day ago because the owner of the restaurant can't speak English to well. I speak with a rep. and she ask for my name and I give it to her. Then she says "chink"? And I said no... my last name is Kim. I am asian and my last name is Kim I don't know how my last name sounds like "chink". I was pissed off, but I still needed to get the internet fixed, so I went on with the phone call. No apology whatsoever, if she did apologize I wouldn't write this right now. Anyways the internet ultimately got fixed for 30 mins - 1 hour and went down all of a sudden without anyone touching anything. I call again and this time I get a very nice rep. and helps me out fixing my internet and it is running fine since then. I call today to speak with a supervisor and the rep. said that they are all busy and will call back as soon as they are finished with their phone calls. So... still waiting on it now.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      22nd of Oct, 2009

    Verizon Wireless...SUCKS... I paid for the extended warrenty and they are refusing to replace a damaged phone, they are liars and charge you but dont want to honor their commitments...It has been a week and I am still fighting to get a new phone, they arent getting another penny from me till I get a new phone, they can shut the damn thing off!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      30th of Oct, 2009

    Tried to get in touch with verizion customer service October 24, 2009. Was put on hold 3 different times for 60 mins each time, then the call was diconnected by the company. I tried several times after that. When I did get in touch with a represenative, the person was not very helpful and put me on hold for another 30mins only to be disconnected. I am still not able to talk with anyone in the company who can resolve my problem. I just keep getting the run around or put on hold for over 30 mins at a time.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      26th of Nov, 2009
    Verizon Wireless - Billing for service not provided
    Verizon Wireless
    United States

    Verizon sent me a bill after I canceled my service on 11/21/09. The bill is for services from 11/17/09 to 12/16/09. When I called about it, I was told that since I did not cancel my service on the end of the billing cycle, I had to pay the full bill. I was told that I signed a contract to this effect. When I asked for a copy of the signed contract, I was told I could not have it.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
      18th of Dec, 2009

    I began my ordeal with Verizon on November 6th, 2009 when I called my local store looking for a Samsung Saga Window 6.1 phone. My local store told me that they had 4 in stock so the following day I set off for the store. However, when I got there, I was told that this phone was NEVER kept in stock. (Lie #1) The rep. at the store "looked" at his computer and told me that a phone was available at another store, about 35 miles from my house. Well, I needed this phone so off I drove.

    Unfortunately, when I arrived at the other store, I was told that, as at my local store, they NEVER had, nor did they ever keep the Saga in stock. (Lie #2) The rep at this store actually did look at his computer and located the phone for me at yet a third store, another 20 miles away... muttering, off I drove.

    This store did in fact have 1 Saga in stock, which I did purchase. Two weeks into my plan the phone began a bizarre routine in which it would shut down, re-boot into Windows Mobile 6.1, open the Today screen and then begin the cycle again.

    I took the phone to my local store on 12/5, which is within the 30 day satisfaction period, and after an hour of the rep calling his own company's customer support the best solution they could offer was a hard restart of the phone. While this did resolve the problem initially, it only worked for another few days. I returned to the store on 12/12, one week later exactly, and was told that after a second hard reset, a NEW phone was being ordered for me.

    On 12/17 what I received via FedEx was unfortunately a FACTORY REFURBISHED PHONE. Now, I was well within my magic 30 days when I originally went to the store the first time however, since the 12th had been more that 30 days, I was told that all I would be given was a used phone.

    So, I called the local store and asked to the rep. that I had worked with initially. I was told by the store MANAGER that the rep. would be in at 1:00pm. When I called again at 1:30pm, I was told that the rep. in question was not even scheduled to work that day. (Lie #3)

    At this point, I was very upset and essentially told the store manager to take both phones and shove them so far... well you can guess the rest. In retrospect, probably not the best move, but hey, I was pissed!

    I contacted customer support today, 12/18, and related all of the above to the rep who told me that he would transfer me to tech. support to process this as a 30-day return claim and that I would in fact be sent a NEW phone. The tech. support person however said that the customer service rep. cannot make that decision and that I would still not receive a new phone. Well, fine.

    I contacted Aaron Flores, who was and is in my opinion the only Verizon employee with any me asure of true concern and displayed to me, a good ethic. Aaron retrieved both of my phones and set them aside for me to pick up later. Why you ask? Because I decided to use this phone for personal use only, not work as I initially intended. (I also intended to move my co-workers to the same plan and phone... their loss)

    At one point, I was informed by a rep on the phone that I could file a complaint via the Verizon website, but guess what. Try finding the "complaint" form anywhere... you won't. So, again I called customer support. Again, I relayed the above to the rep who then put me on hold for a few minutes. When she returned, miracle of miracles, she received approval to mail me a new phone...

    At this point, I said "no thanks." I will go to my local store and retrieve the refurbished phone and keep it for personal use. But there is no way in hell that I will take my company's business to Verizon. I will keep this phone in use for the minimum required amount of time and then, Verizon can (fill in the blank).

    I left T-Mobile when the attempted to leverage additional corporate fees on my account, which were minimal, but more annoying. Trust me, I wish I would have stayed.

    Don't do Verizon. I'm sure they'll screw you too.

    0 Votes
  • Rh
      19th of Dec, 2009

    Verizon Wireless in only concerned with thier bottom line. Verizon wireless has the worst customer service I have ever encountered.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      10th of Jan, 2010
    Verizon Wireless - unapproved ringtone charges
    Verizon Wireless
    California
    United States

    Verizon has been charging us $9.99 per month since June for a ringtone service that we never requested, agreed to, or even utilized. We were not aware the ringtone service was ever being provided or charged for until I receieved a text message informing me of this. We believe this is a scam conducted by the company.

    0 Votes
  • Dy
      20th of Jan, 2010

    Karen, I'm sorry to hear about the apparent irregularities on your Verizon bill. You may have inadvertently signed up for a less-than-honest "premium" ringtone service that now charges you through your cell bill every month. There are ways to try and fix this, however. If you contact Verizon directly, they should be able to cancel the ringtone charges going forward. Remember, we tend to think of wireless phone costs as fixed, but you can tinker with your plan to optimize its features to best suit your usage and often generate significant savings in the process. I know this firsthand because I work in the consumer advocacy division of the Houston-based company Validas, where we electronically audit and subsequently reduce the average cell bill by around 22 percent, or about $450 annually, through our website, http://www.myvalidas.com . From regular people to top corporations to huge entities like the State of California, an incredibly varied group of wireless customers uses Validas to slash their wireless bills. In other words, to everyone reading: Validas works, and it can probably work for you too.

    You can find out for free if Validas can modify your plan to better suit your individual needs by going to http://www.myvalidas.com. Also, check out Validas in the media, recently on Fox News at http://www.myfoxtampabay.com/dpp/consumer/conlaw/lower_cell_phone_bills_072409 .

    Good luck to all of us as we retake control over our wireless expenses and potentially free up some extra cash in this new year!

    Dylan
    Consumer Advocacy, MyValidas.com

    +1 Votes
  • Ss
      21st of Jan, 2010

    Horrible service at this location. Do not visit this location, for the managers mock the customers and display their obvious apathy for the customers issues and concerns.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      9th of Feb, 2010
    Verizon Wireless - hidden charges
    United States

    I signed up for email for my cellphone through Verizon Wireless. I was told that it would cost $5 per month. This is a lie! It is only $5 per month if you don't use it! If you use it, you incur data charges, which I was blaming on my kids. It actually was costing me $5 and $10 to $15 per month in data charges. This is a ripoff!

    0 Votes
  • Ci
      14th of Feb, 2010
    Verizon Wireless - premium texting
    Verizon Wireless
    Indiana
    United States

    have gotten 3 charges for 9.99 each on my bill for premium texting. Called and was told how to cancel them, but I never ordered any of them, and they can't even tell me what they're for. The numbers are 41933, 44674, 23687. Can they legally do this? Would have been on my bill every month if I hadn't caught it.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
      19th of Feb, 2010
    Verizon Wireless - Silly marketing tactics
    Verizon Wireless
    United States
    verizonwireless.com

    Please quit procrastinating and offer the Android phone! Your silly marketing tactics and self-indulging excuses are ultimately going to put you behind your competition and result in more dissatisfied customers! I WANT AN ANDROID PHONE! And I would LIKE to keep my service with Verizon!

    0 Votes
  • Em
      24th of Feb, 2010

    with no information on what the situation is, how do we know you are simply not crazy? for all everyone knows you could have walked in the door screaming throwing things and swearing... build a case why someone shouldn't visiting a location...

    0 Votes
  • Au
      17th of Mar, 2010

    I have been a customer for more than 5 years and have never had such trouble. I was recently hit with an $11, 000.00+ bill. It is all data overage charges on a line on my account that was used for a PC Card. This was used by a person whom I added thinking they were my friend, apparently not. At any rate, I was credited twice for high bills due to the same issue, (in the 100's of dollars) but am being told...rudely, that it is my responsibility to pay ALL charges incurred. Where is Verizon's responsibility in alerting a customer to unusually high usage BEFORE something like this happens? I was told all but $2, 000.00 woul be credited and then was transfered to Financial Services to make an arrangement on the rest but was called several hours later to be told the credit was revoked.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      15th of Apr, 2010

    Verizon Wireless launched their first Android phone last year. You posted your comment on 2010-02-19. Are you stupid or stupid?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      28th of May, 2010
    Verizon Wireless - Outraging price
    Verizon Wireless
    United States

    The Verizon store charged me $199.99 for two Motorola Droid phones, plus Tax based original price (more than $100). You can get $19.99 per phone from Amazon, Wirefly (no tax), or ... for the same plan. Compare $300 vs $40. It's a RIP-OFF. their high reputation in my mind is completely destroyed due to this business misconduct.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
      31st of May, 2010

    Obviously it was a typo, not hard to see that just message Amazon see if they will honor it, they may not if not just return the devices and everything will be peachy. See now that wasn't hard now was it?

    0 Votes
  • Kr
      13th of Jun, 2010

    30 day return policy anyone?

    0 Votes
  • Yh
      27th of Jun, 2010

    On June 22, 2010 I called Verizon Wireless to discuss an upgrade on our Family Plan (4 lines). I was told that I can keep my current plan with the data coming off my 2100 allowed minutes. I was interested in Casio Exilim that does not require data package (optional). The main line phone would be free of charge since the $100 every 2 years will cover the first phone. We would pay 19.99 after the mail-in rebate for each additional phone (3 additional phones). Notes were entered by the representative and it was verified by the supervisor that when I call to order the phones I would not face any problems. On Sunday June 27, 2010 I called to place an order and suddenly all the info in the notes did not matter. I must have spoken with dozens of reps and supervisors that appeared to be clueless since they could not verify basic information. At one point I called to see if I can block the data and get any phone that I wanted. I was told” You can not block the data on all of our phones" than the same rep told me” You can block the data on all our phones but we will still charge you 9.99 or 29.99 for the data package". When confronted about his contradicting answers this young man tried to manipulate his way out of the situation since he realized he basically lied to me. This is an ongoing practice that is being implemented consistently by Verizon Wireless reps. His supervisor made a lost of excuses and offered no solutions. There are many unemployed people who would gladly replace incompetent Verizon reps; however this company continues to make excuses for those who refuse to provide a good customer service. I am asking Verizon: "Can you really afford to loose another customer who pays for your rent, mortgage, utilities, your new car, your vacations, your private jet (CEO's), your child's tuition and other luxury items?” Verizon wake up and stand behind your products and services.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      1st of Jul, 2010

    Are you honestly asking if Verizon can afford to loose you?


    Are you ###ed...they have hundreds upon hundreds of accounts that literally bring in nearly 1 million a month so i doubt they will be affected if you choose to go to an inferior carrier, because you want to buy ### phones so you can avoid the data package

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      30th of Jul, 2010

    I walked into the Verizon store located at 27512 W. Lugonia Ave., in Redlands, (Citrus Plaza shopping center) on July 27, 2010 at around 11:45am. I admit I was
    very upset, my phone had stopped working for the third time in two
    months and I had to take off work each time to go and get a new phone.
    I told the man at the door what the problem was and that I wanted a
    different phone this time, that obviously this model was defective or
    something. He said that they can only replace it with a certified
    pre-owned phone of the same model. I told him that that was
    ridiculous and that I could not afford to keep taking off work to get
    a new phone. He said that he was on his third phone also, and that
    was just Verizon’s policy. So I waited another 15 minutes and then I
    finally got a clerk named Tommy.

    Tommy asked what the problem was, so I repeated what I had told the
    guy at the door. He said the same thing, that they could only give me
    a certified pre-owned phone. I was very upset and told him that the
    phone was used for business and that I could not afford to have it
    keep going out at random times, for no reason. Tommy then said to
    me, “it probably keeps breaking because of how you talk to people”.
    I said, “what do you mean?” Then he said, “you’re very rude, and I
    see you work for this Educational Partners place, what if your
    customers spoke to you like that”. I told him that if I gave them
    this kind of service, I wouldn’t have any customers, and I surely
    wouldn’t be taking money from them every month”.

    He said "we're not giving you bad service, I told you we’d replace
    the phone". I said, yes, but obviously there is something wrong with
    this model phone for it to go out so often. He said, “I’m on my second
    phone, and I’m not complaining”. I said, “well, it sounds like
    between you and the guy at the door that Verizon just makes crappy
    phones that keep breaking for no reason”. He said, “everything is
    crap these days, cars and everything”. I said, “my car is not crap, I
    drive a Toyota”. He said, “if I remember correctly, Toyota recently
    had a recall, I suggest you take your car back before it falls apart,
    and do you think they’re just going to give you a new car.” Then he
    chuckled and said, "If you don’t like the phone, just buy a new phone
    then, that’s what I would do".


    I said the phone is only 7 months old, why should I have to buy a new
    one. I told him that if he would spend the money to buy two new
    phones in 1 year that maybe he should go to college and learn about
    money. He said, “I’ve already been to college and I probably make
    more money than you.”

    That's when the man at the door told "ME" that if I couldn't be
    cordial that I would have to leave.

    We shut up at that time, he finished doing what he had to do and then
    he handed me the phone and I left.

    My husband and I have filed a formal complaint, and haven't heard back from Verison's headquarters in Irvine, Ca.

    This company has obviously become so big that it believes it can make a fortune by hawking inferior products to customers and providing horrible service with no recourse. It can't, and won't last.

    After dealing with Verison's horrible service and products for so long, we have decided we will not stand by
    allow this to happen any more without a fight.

    Anyone with similar complaints can contact me at joe.[protected]@yahoo.com

    We have piqued the interest of an attorney regarding a possible class action lawsuit.

    Joe and Sonya Nelson

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      16th of Aug, 2010
    Verizon Wireless - Absolute worst cell phone company
    United States

    I have been with verizon for three years, and there has not been a day go by that im not disgusted with the horrific service they provide! My bill is outragous, phone is crap and the customer service down rite sucks. I will never sign another contract with them, they constantly give you a run around and no one there knows their job. So if you read this go to a diffrent company b/c they are absolutly horribile!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      19th of Aug, 2010

    Kinda hard to take one serious when they just throw a random rant without giving any reasons as to why they're ranting.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      19th of Aug, 2010

    and btw before you claim your posts are reasons try explaining why your bill is outrageous, how much is it, what plan is it, what features do you have perhaps its something your missing or have that you don't need that make your bill high. Phone is crap, well what kind of phone do you have and what makes it crap, and please better explain your experience with customer service.

    0 Votes

Post your comment