The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Telkom SA SOC / telkom customer complaint against the technicians and call centre

1 Kraaifontein, South Africa Review updated:
Contact information:

Good afternoon

I am very upset with Telkom...
This is my 52nd email to telkom about my ADSL line problem and still no feedback??
What's the problem with Telkom that that are not able to come and fix my ADSL line and do the job that they get paid for???
I am going to lay a complaint against telkom today at the national consumer commission, ombudsman, SA brands and wherever else I can lay a complaint because I am fed up with you at telkom not being able to come and fix my ADSL line problem.
Everyday they tell me a technician is going to come and fix their faulty ADSL lines and problems.
Did the technician get lost or what???
Because I am here at home every day and all day and no technician has shown up.
I would like feedback on this matter as soon as possible.
Regards
Michael Van De Venter
[protected] / [protected]

Ma
Oct 12, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • St
      28th of Oct, 2017
    +2 Votes

    Dear complaints department, I have been a satisfied Telkom internet subscriber for many years but recently I have lost faith in your service. My landline has been down for the past four months due to cable theft and I got a phone call by one of your agents advising me that an alternative solution is being looked into to solve the constant problem of the cable being stolen. For some reason, which no one can explain to me, my internet still works but my phone line doesn't! It hasn't bothered me because the internet works but I got a call from someone trying to sell me a wireless option, after careful consideration that my internet still works I told the person that I don't wan't the wireless option. Today I find my bill reflects that I was indeed signed up with the wireless option, I haven't received the modem or any related equipment which is supposed to come with this package but am being charged for it? I wen't to a Telkom direct office in Clearwater mall only to be told that they can't help me with this and that it can only be done over the phone, so what's the point of these offices? Totally useless. The assistant typed in my phone number on the consul in the shop and soon a consultant phoned me while I was there. I got transferred to five different people who couldn't help me and eventually was told that the relevant department only works during office hours??! So why the hell wasn't I told in the first place that no one could help me today?

    I used to be a satisfied customer but not anymore and wouldn't recommend your service.

    Stephen Tegner
    084 804 3460

  • Da
      31st of Oct, 2017
    0 Votes

    I have logged a call for intermittent ADSL problems on the 27th of September 2017 (numerous calls was logged for the same issue in the past and never resolved). An appointment for today was made last week and was confirmed with 3 SMS's, and today I took off from work (I am being paid on an hourly basis) to be at home so Telkom can assist in resolving the problem. As to be expected no one came to my house and I lost half a days salary for nothing. If you schedule an appointment I expect you to make the effort to show up.

    This is pathetic service to say the least and I want a full refund of last months payment as the ADSL connection is still not fixed.

    Dawid Marx
    0747499437

  • Li
      9th of Nov, 2017
    0 Votes

    I am so frustrated and so, so disappointed in the Technical service of Telkom. My previous complaint on the Telkom fb page (23 October 2017):
    My mother is 83 years young. Living alone and dependent on her telephone if something happens (God forbid!). After severe thunderstorm, the landline is off. We reported it 3 weeks ago and still nothing from Telkom!! She is receiving SMSs explaining that Telkom is working on the problem and they know her frustration!! Well, I’m now frustrated. Would Telkom understand if my mother did not pay her accounts diligently every month before the due date???
    Update: The fault was reported 3 times after the first time. On Monday I reported it again, using the same number that has been sent to my mother via sms, numerous times. (So, NO, it is not reported as a new fault!!!) Monday, I was given a new number, because the fault was now placed on a priority list. Today, I inquire about the progress and now Telkom is waiting for a part that is needed to fix the line!! I am waiting for a supervisor to call me back.
    I will keep Telkom accountable if something should happen to my mother. I am now fed-up!!

  • Na
      15th of Nov, 2017
    0 Votes

    I logged a technical problem 1 November regarding my ADSL Line at home. My account is currently in credit so there no problems with payment. Well after numerous calls to the Call Centre and everyday speaking to a different consultant my line have been tested re tested and tested again. I ask for a Technician to come out to my premises to check what is going on. NO TECHNICIAN YET!!!NO FEEDBACK!!! I have received so many escalation Ref Numbers I don't know where to write it down anymore. If I phone Call Centre and demand to speak to Supervisor there is no Supervisor available to speak to me. I leave messages for then to phone me back...STILL WAITING FOR ANY SUPERVISOR TO PHONE...Pathetic Service...Proudly South African!!! Yesterday when I phoned the consultant informed me there was no Technician logged...wow!!! No I will post on every social network how lousy TELKOM is maybe I will get response...last night my ADSL worked at 00:00 I was wondering who will be using it at that time well I pay for 00:00 as well...this morning it was off again. I am so fed up with TELKOM. Where are there Head Office so I can burn it down!!! Its the 15th November today maybe it will be sorted out Christmas!!! Telkom maybe if somebody professional and with some sense of spark see this please phone me 0118941140 Natasha Grobler. Thank You Telkom!!!For Nothing!!!

  • Si
      24th of Nov, 2017
    -1 Votes

    Good morning, please attend my struggle urgently, my number : 0815355731 I can only call and SMS but I can't receive both ... I have tried to call your customer service but no luck there, my call is not picked up ...please help me

  • Es
      2nd of Dec, 2017
    +1 Votes

    I can't blame the call centre agents for the non existence of service. They can only log complaints. I blame the top eschelon of Telkom's management. It all starts at the top and that's where heads should roll first. No service for 10 days now and nobody cares!!! Why? Because they don't need to.
    Telkom thinks its giving a service by asking the irate customer to participate in a survey. Which strategic genius in the top eschelon thought up the survey? Question 1. Would you recommend Telkom to any of your friends - are you crazy?Question 2. How would you rate the agents knowledge of our products? Who cares just get my phone line fixed.
    Question 3. What was the reason that you rated us at 0? Because I did not have an option to vote you any lower.
    Question 4. This is just genius. Were you satisfied with the service you have received? I've just told the them that there is no service and they ask if I am satisfied?

  • Ja
      5th of Dec, 2017
    0 Votes

    Dear Telkom
    I am very frustrated and disappointed in the service I am receiving. On Friday my phone got delivered, i called in and was told the SIM will be activated tomorrow meaning Saturday. i called in on Saturday and was told it will be done on Monday. I called in on Monday after waiting for some time on the line and was then told the agent is going to log a call for the sim to activated, I mean how long does this take.

  • Ch
      19th of Dec, 2017
    0 Votes

    WHERE DOES ONE GET HOLD OF TELKOM OFFICES REGARDING THERE POLLS?

  • Jo
      6th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    Dear Telkom,

    I have reported a case with regard to fraud that happened on my account. I was told to submit certain documents including affidavit and I did that but there seems to be problems with Telkom on following up with fraud cases. As I speak now, my two cellphone numbers have been suspended because of the carelessness of Telkom. I normally incur R300 on my contract number and probably around +-R400 on my prepaid number however I got the shock of my life when I was told that I owe Telkom R16000+ for a new cellphone which was taken in Dec 2017 of which I'm not aware of. I mean how do you even let an account to pass R1, 500.00 on cellphone costs for which normal monthly costs combined do not even exceed R1, 000.00? What is so difficult in scrutinising the statement of account to check trend of fraudulent activities and following on the leads? Do you perhaps call witnesses to interrogate them or what happens because your delaying in resolving such a small case is appalling.

    Please resolve this before I go to National Consumer Commission, Ombudsman, National Credit Regulator, whatever, to report this case and your negligence and disrespect of your customers. My case number is FA ID: 500943113. The reference number for logging the case is 102758874.
    My number is 071 391 8325.

  • Se
      9th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    Good day
    I am utterly disappointed by your service. I ordered an iPhone 6s Plus in the 24th of January 2018, received a response of its approval on the 29th of Janury and that I should come fetch it. Which later on I was sent an sms saying I should not come there is no stock. I kept on going to the store and calling to check and get the phone but till to date THERE is nothing. I honestly waste so much time, energy, airtime and transport money to go up and doen checking the phone.

    Your servicr is very poor. And I wish something can be done about this.

  • Se
      9th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    @Sesethu Lisakhanya My name is Sesethu from Gauteng. Contact number 0718142746

  • Ko
      14th of Feb, 2018
    +2 Votes

    Without landline or internet since 28/9/2018.Reported the faulty line 3 times.No response! Landline 057 3523117./22417031. It is ADSL line. They are so stupid to tell me I cannot report the faulty line because it is already reported!!!But they refer to the previous time on 28/9/2017/22417031.I strongly consider cancelling Telkom as we have to pay for nothing.No service!!

  • Ko
      14th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    Without landline or internet since 28/01/2018.Reported the faulty line 3 times.No response! Landline 057 3523117./22417031. It is ADSL line. They are so stupid to tell me I cannot report the faulty line because it is already reported!!!But they refer to the previous time on 28/9/2017/22417031.I strongly consider cancelling Telkom as we have to pay for nothing.No service!!

  • Kg
      28th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    I'm very dissapioited with telkom
    This is for the 2nd tie they do this to me
    I applied for an 80GB deal for 369pm n now all u get is 20GB
    They did that on January n now try repeating the same mistake

    Nape Tshegofatso Kgolane
    0724493709

  • Kg
      28th of Feb, 2018
    0 Votes

    I'm very dissapioited with telkom
    This is for the 2nd time they do this to me
    I applied for an 80GB deal for 369pm n now all I get is 20GB
    They did that on January n now try repeating the same mistake

    Nape Tshegofatso Kgolane
    0724493709

  • Ha
      28th of Mar, 2018
    +1 Votes

    Hi
    I installed ADS L about 8 months ago, there has not been 1 month that the ADS L was working correctly. Complaints and calls was reported but it does not seem bother anyone to get this problem sorted. My ADS L has been off again from the 28/02/2018 (Apparently lines was stolen) On the 16/03/2018 I got a call that everything was up and running, but still till today my ADS L is not working. I phoned again on the 22/03/2018 and the call agent told me the problem was resolved and closed by the technician. She reopen the fault but still nothing has happen.
    I do not know what to do or who to complain to anymore. Ref no 22787621
    Regards
    Hannes

  • Ta
      9th of Apr, 2018
    0 Votes

    I am highly disappointed with the service I am receiving from Telkom. I had a SIM phone with 10G wifi and I had to cancel it to take the promotional unlimited internet package from Telkom because they could not give me my old number. I applied for this line in February and it only got installed on the 5th March 2018. This line only worked till the 23rd March 2018 and everything went dead. To date there is no dialing tone and internet as well. I tried several times to call the faults department and on numerous occasions they tell you the technician is assigned and will rectify the problem and they will contact us but the call centre cant say how long it will take fix. sometimes when I call they say my number has been registered on someone else name and they ask me to call 10213. When I called them they said my number is activated on both systems under my name and I must call faults to send a technician over. I am going back and forth and I got no joy with this line. This is the means I use to communicate with my daughter and she also needs the internet connection for her varsity work urgently. Please let me know what can be done as my SIM phone has been disconnected as well. my Ref. No. is 277BNK230318

    Mrs Sookoo
    0726518112

Post your comment