SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Salvation Army / deaf discrimination

Wellsburg, WV, United States Review updated:

In November 19, 2010, I went over the Salvation Army around 1130 am after I recieved the food card for thanksgiving. I walked into the Salvation Army; and then the employee took me into her office and asked me what utilites were and wanted my faince's ID and proof of his income because my application was not completed. I went back home to pick my faince's ID and proof of his income and went back to the Salvation Army to see the employee. She just gave the information card to me: Please call after 10 am on the monday. If you have one, you have extra. I did not understand what she said. She refused to write the notes and pen to me. I went back home again to pick proof of the ulitities and went back to the salvation army again. She said no, she never wrote the notes and pen to made me so mad when I told her please get the note and pen because I am deaf and used ASL sign language. Another employee cussed at me without the note and pen after I was very pissed off. She yelled at me without the note and pen; and then I knocked her out and told her with sign language that I did not like cussing without the note and pen. Two of the employees did not understand my sign languages: "note and pen" till one employee cussed at me without the note and pen. After knocking the employee out, they called on the cops since they talked with me without the note and pen and held mef on the bench. the cops asked the salvation army where the proof of the note and pen were because of ADA law. The cops told me with the note and pen:I am not allowed to come back to the salvation army and go home now. after I barred from the salvation army, my faince was very upset and went back to the salvation army. He asked them why. They did gave the foods to him instead of me. My faince told me that the employees called deaf people Brutal sign languages!!! The salvation army kicked deaf people out in the world. I believe that the salvation army violated the ADA law and abused deaf or disabilities people for no reasons. I wonder how to file a complaint against the salvation army for ADA violation.

No
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Th
      Nov 21, 2010

    I am very shocked to hear it. I support you truly and believe seriously that the salvation army did something to you during you did assualt the employee who cussed at you without the note and pen. We can't judge who you are and respect that's who you are.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Nov 21, 2010

    You can contact ADA at www.ada.gov

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      Nov 23, 2010

    I am both of Tina and Elizabeth's witness. Please read the salvation army brawl. It is not elizabeth's fault, but Tina and Elizabeth did stupid things to fight over the note and pen. I knew that Tina disrespected Elizabeth's deafmute and did wrong to attack Elizabeth's sign language/hit Elizabeth; and Elizabeth did wrong to hit her. Tina and Elizabeth misunderstood the communication to each other when Tina is hearing; and Elizabeth is deaf.

    +2 Votes
  • Am
      Nov 23, 2010

    I agree with Brenda that Elizabeth did wrong to hit the volunteer, but the volunteer did wrong to attack her sign language. Both already kicked out by the salvation army after the salvation army's decision.

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      Nov 23, 2010

    I am the salvation army's volunteer and know that Tina and Elizabeth are very good ladies, but they did terrible stupid. Tina did not realize that Elizabeth is really deafmute and thought Elizabeth can speak. Elizabeth and Tina made the worst mistakes. Tina thought Elizabeth's sign language attacked her mother until she did attack Elizabeth's sign language; and then Elizabeth got Tina's black eye and Tina got Elizabeth's nosebleed. I did inform all salvation army better to communicate with deaf people with note and pen or deaf clients bring the notes/pad or laptop for better understanding with communication easily.

    +2 Votes
  • Th
      Nov 23, 2010

    The volunteer attacking Elizabeth's sign language at first is very serious problem. WOW!!! I think the volunteer did protect her mother and misunderstood what Elizabeth's sign language was. She thought Elizabeth's sign language hit her mother. the volunteer did not know any sign languages until she felt so terrible. That is very biggest shameful for the volunteer and Elizabeth's stupid fighting to make all volunteers, employees and clients scared of the physical violence.

    +1 Votes
  • Th
      Nov 23, 2010

    lol lol!!!

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Nov 23, 2010

    The world still be at the war to kill each other for no reasons.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Nov 23, 2010

    Tina and I already forgave to each other finally. Good Luck to you:)

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jan 26, 2011

    Salvation Army is just plain MEAN! I am disabled and get $674 month in SSI benefits. After months of trying to keep my bills current I have fallen behind to the point of foreclosure and electric & water service termination. In Wv $674 is TOO much money to qualify for assistance so they referred me to the Salvation Army. In addition, you cannot apply for emergency assistance until you get a termination notice. Needless to say my electric bill is now $1100 and my water bill is $350. So I'm referred to Salvation Army after being denied by the DHHR. The Salvation Army lady looks at me and says, "we can't help who make an effort to pay their bills." So much for their charity. That's the last time I throw any loose change in their little red kettles at Christmas.

    0 Votes

Post your comment