The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Regus Business Centers / poor service

1 30 South Wacker Drive, Suite 2200Chicago, IL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: NA

I am an at attorney on a tight budget with little time to deal with office-type issues, which is why I opted for the Regus Business Centers in Chicago. The ads are nice and show happy, content clients. What a lie! From slow/freezing internet/server issues to poorly trained staff and nasty management, I would not wish this work environment on anyone. The situation only got worse when construction began in the building (b/c the Merc left) and I requested Regus' assistance in enforcing the building agreement that no drilling or loud pounding take place between 8am - 5pm. Such noise made it difficult to conduct phone conferences and for clients to visit. Regus' solution: move to a new office in the Regus family ... nevermind that March is the BUSIEST and most maddening month for my type of law practice. I don't have time to move!

Today, while I informed Tara (30 S. Wacker manager) and Lynn (assistant manager) that I am extremely busy and do not have time to deal with the issue of moving offices due to the construction noise at the location, both nonetheless – and despite my request that they simply do their jobs and end the excessive noise - opted to ‘drop by’ to further discuss. As I reiterated my need to leave the office to get work done (and was in the process of packing up to go work at home), the conversation grew heated and I asked Lynn to leave (as she was the one who misrepresented that the construction noise would end on Friday of last week). Lynn then informed me (in Tara’s presence) that the office was “her office, too” and refused to leave. If this is the case, then what have I been paying for??? If I am not allowed a private (or even semi-private) space, then I do not think we are seeing eye-to-eye on the meaning of an office. I also did not appreciate Tara’s snarky comments that she “didn’t hear anything” while in the office and that “no other clients have complained.” Note ... that last one is a whopper (not at all true).

When the building inspector and police stopped by last week, the noises were audible – as they were when I sent each e-mail to Tara and Lynn documenting the noise. I experienced all of 15 minutes of quiet in the office since 9:15 am today, and then later when the noise subsided after 11:00 am when Tara and Lynn, uninvited, interrupted my work.

I am voicing dissatisfaction with the way construction noise complaints have been handled at this location and the general attitude and confrontational nature of the manager. I have made little progress speaking with persons from Regus on the phone lines and doubt I will make much progress until my lease is up in October.

I would not recommend Regus to another attorney – not after today.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Le
      7th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    It has Regus written all over it. We have experienced real issues with this office provider; the level of service for one is exceptionally poor.

    We'd recommend that you dispute the invoices because you too have expectations.

  • Ho
      26th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    In addtion and to others considering using Regus beware, they are deceptive in that they do not completely disclose terms.
    In my case I had requested a flat 3 month term as I needed a temporary office/meeting room for 1 meeting.
    Their Agent, agreed that they could do this and that at my discretion, services could be expanded and/or renewed. After 45 days passed, I contacted them to make sure they understood that my term was for 3 months and no longer. Their response was that accordding to the terms of the contract, I owed them a 60 day notice prior to termination or the contract automaticaly renewed. After re-reading the fine print of the contract I noticed that this was indeed, stated. I offered to pay an additional 30 days lease to satisfy the notice however they refused.
    Also stated in the contract was that upon renewel rates may change without notice...

    There are a number of consumer complaints and Regus is not an accredited (or very credible) company.

  • Va
      26th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    MARK DIXON - CEO OF THE REGUS GROUP IS THE BIGGEST SCAM ARTIST ACROSS THE GLOBE!

    It has been reported through various reliable sources and ex-Regus clients that the REGUS GROUP/HQ MANAGEMENT GROUP is under criminal investigation for fraud, stealing of clients funds, non-delivery of services and falsification of documents.

    Should you consider using their office services THINK TWICE before you part with your money. These international scam artists will do EVERYTHING not to deliver their services after they collected your payments.

    It further appears that the Regus Group will be filing for bankruptcy very soon, due to the fact that thousands of customer payments have been collected but clients have not seen any professional services in return.

    Their global network looks at the first glance impressive, however the “small prints” in their contracts are so clever written that even if they do NOT deliver the office services as contractually agreed on, the client is left ‘hanging in the air’ without any possibility to receive his money refunded.

    The Regus managers “in charge” are suddenly “un-available” to solve any problems and the client is “dragged over the floor” for months with “excuse letters” but no improvement of service takes place. Cancellation of contracts are simply “ignored” and requests refunds due to breach of contract by the Regus Group are ignored too.

    Instead the client receives invoices for services he never ever ordered or signed for. Or invoices are sent from the Regus Group, which are dated months before the service contract was even signed. This is outright fraud and the therefore this scam operation must be stopped immediately.

    DO NOT PAY THEM ANY MONEY IF YOU DON’T WISH TO BE THE NEXT VICTIM. THERE ARE FAR MORE PROFESSIONAL COMPANIES OUT THERE WHO WILL GLADLY OFFER YOU THEIR SERVICES AND THEY DO DELIVER!


    IF YOU HAVE EVER DEALT WITH REGUS AND YOU FEEL THAT YOU ARE A VICTIM TOO, please contact our Investigative Journalist Team.


    THE REGUS GROUP IS A 100% SCAM OPERATION!!! - HERE IS WHAT OTHER CLIENTS AND EX-EMPLOYEES ARE SAYING ABOUT THE REGUS GROUP! STAY AWAY FROM THESE SCAM ARTISTS!

    I can confirmed the validity to the previous post, every single word is true. My lease ended 10/31/2008 and in the last week I recieved and invoice from Regus (Indianapolis, In.) for $850.00 of whch there was no listing or breakdown of why I was receiving this invoice...Just a single unidentified dollar amount. When I called the office, Ispoke with the billing person who did a very poor job of helping me identify the full breakdown of the invoice. After concerted effort I was able to identify phone, mail, covered the fees over a 3 month tranistionary fee...Upon further complaint, the general manager called me today and of course reminded me that this transitionary fee is well represented in my contract that I signed 12 months ago. And of course I contend that at no time in dealling with the office manager at the initial signage of the contract or my exit conversations did this transitionary fee be expressed of discussed to me which I find non-discloser a fraudulant act and places Regus in my opinion as a SCAMMER...I plan to pursue this to and end and want all to know that Regus in my cased misrepresented their contract and service.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


    I think the Regus people are all talk and all sleeze. I had an office at Regus on Rt 128 near Boston. My company paid a lot for it, but i needed a place to work away from two small kids in between sales travel.
    Thru word of mouht I found another executive suites, Highland-March, in Westborough. I really liked th e space and the peaople there a lot and it was much closer to home, so i put in my 3 month notice at Regus. I began working out of Highland-March right away on a day-to-day basis. The staff there was fabulous and the price was almost half of what Regus charged. Really top-notch people.
    So here's the catch: I hadn't shown up at Regus for about 5 weeks, but I still had 6 weeks to go on my contract and my comapny was still paying the (outrageous) monthly fees. Well, I go to my office, unlock the door--and there is someone else working there!! They had taken all my stuff and put it in boxes in storage there, and sold my office right out from underneath me--and I was still paying for it!
    I will never-ever use Regus again.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


    Our company was opening a new office in Nashville, TN, and we had been searching for a small office space to accommodate our two employees. While doing research, we came across the Regus Group, offering us an all-inclusive package in one convenient monthly bill. This was an ideal plan for us. We began our relationship with Regus in October 2008, and after just one month, we were highly disappointed. We began seeing charges for services that were priced much higher than the area average. Getting in touch with the General Manager at that location was nearly impossible. Emails were sent and phone calls placed, and were not returned for days when there was an urgent need for a response. After being disappointed in so many ways, we decided to terminate our relationship with Regus, and move to the private sector where terms were a bit better, and the bills would be more manageable. We received our final bill from Regus, and saw charges that we never agreed to pay. Regus wanted to charge us a “Business Continuation” fee, which, when looking over the T&C, there was nothing specified that we would be charged for something like that. We had no qualms about paying an exit fee, as this is standard, but we were charged an exorbitant amount. While we could have paid a cleaning service somewhere in the amount of $75.00 to clean the office, Regus charged us more than double that price. We felt really let down by Regus, and will never do business with them again, nor refer anyone to their offices.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Does anyone know if you sign an agreement with Regus and your company goes bankrupt, can they come after you personally? I realize that any responses should be validated by an attorney, etc.

    I re-newed my Regus deal 8 months ago after a 6 month contract, then the economy drove my business into the duldrums. I gave notice in February that I was going to vacate and vacated in March. I paid March rent but sent in 2 secret shoppers in late March. They were NOT shown my space. I am a sole proprietor and the agreement was signed in the company's name and written in the company's name. There is NO personal gurarantee on the agreement. I offered them a 75% buyout and they said no. Anybody else experience anything like this?

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    We moved into Regus HQ in Tulsa, OK in Nov. 2006. The whole time we rented our office space there they seemed to come up with misc. charges for all kinds of things. When we moved out they charged us $2000 and they couldn't tell us what all the charges were even for! And then put a late charge on our bill while they were taking forever to research what our charges were. Here we are, 5 months after we moved out, and we just received ANOTHER invoice for postage and supplies from our "Business Continuation" fee that we were unaware of when we signed the contract. This is a charge for them to forward your mail (You don't have a choice, all the mail that comes is listed as one suite, so you can't intercept @ the post office) not only do they charge to forward your mail, they charge YOU for the postage and supplies that they use. Now we are paying $200 on a $35 postage charge because they slapped two late fees after not billing us on time. Oh, did I mention, it's 5 months later and we haven't received our deposit back from when we moved in?? I would NEVER recommend Regus/HQ to anyone.


    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    THIS POST IF FROM AN EX-EMPLOYEE OF THE REGUS GROUP/HQ MANAGEMENT GROUP. IF THIS IS NOT ENOUGH WARNING FOR ANY CLIENT TO STAY AWAY FROM THESE SCAM OPERATORS, THEN WE DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS…?
    I used to work for Regus and I have to concur that unfortunately, what is written above is true. Please know that with the economy turning, the pressure on managers to gloss over key areas of the contract and then hide behind the fine print will increase. Previously, managers were allowed to discuss those fees. Most did, some did not. The explosion of complaints, I believe, is a direct result of the pressure they are now feeling to sell at any cost - customers be danged. Once you're in you're in and that is the stance that the company will take. I left after years with this company when I finally got tired of fighting against such practices, as have many other managers in the last 8-12 months. Sadly, many of the people who put customers first are no longer there. go to careerbuilder - they can't hire people fast enough to stop the bleeding. I count myself as one of the lucky ones having left early enough to escape the new initiatives that severely reduce incentives, encourage infighting and poor customer management. This company had the potential to be great but is being driven into the ground by fear and greed. If you need to sign a contract with a Regus/HQ building, please read the contract thoroughly and ASK ABOUT EVERY SINGLE FEE LISTED AND EVERY DEADLINE FOR RENEWAL. It appears more likely than not from the comments above that they will not review it and you will certainly end up paying for it. HQ was a great company once. It's sad to see what it's become.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


    Regus asked for nearly $3600 in security deposit for a 3 month contract. Mark Green, the incompetent manager at 5 Penn Plaza assured me that every single penny would be returned. In mid-March, I upgraded my office from a $1200/month room to $2100/month room. During my upgrade, Mark Green told me that he would waive any fees associated with the upgrade.

    To my surprise, I received a $2400 bill for the month of March (I expected to receive a $1650 bill since I moved mid-march). I asked Mark Green what had happened. He told me that he wasn't sure, but that he had spent two hours last night adjusting my bill – the nightmare had begun.

    When Mark Green was unable to resolve my bill on April (after coming back with many excuses that he didn't have time to look over my bill), I told him that since my 3 month contract would come to an end on May 1st, I was prepared to leave if he cannot deal with my bill.

    Mark Green, frustrated at his lack of understanding of his own company's billing system, delegated his duty to Cathy DeFrenza, another manager who didn't understand her own company's billing system. Cathy assured me that she was prepared to resolve my bill that same day. I was very happy to hear that.

    Of course, Cathy disappeared. She was on jury duty for over two weeks. After contacting Mark Green to ask what had happened, I was repeatedly told that Cathy would give me a call. Cathy never did. On June 1st, Mark Green told me that he was no longer in charge of my bill and that the responsibility had been elevated to Regus corporate headquarter.

    I called Regus corporate headquarter and another employee who had no idea why Mark Green had forwarded this information answered my call. She informed me that I was being charged a $1000 business continuation fee and that my security deposit will not be returned until I've resolved my account. There was no hope left. I had no one to speak to about my overcharged bill on the month of March. Regus also charged me $300 wear and tear fee for an office I had used for three months. The office was practically brand new when I left

    So here's my advice: don't go to Regus if you want an honest billing system. I found that there are much better offices with windows (mine had none). If you put in $3600 security deposit, know that you will probably get $1000 back or NOTHING AT ALL.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    I confirm this as well. I was a fool and signed two agreements with them. The first was for an office for $600 a month. *I never paid less than $1200* for that lease. At the end, I was hit with an $800 virtual continuation feel. I then really needed an office for reasons that don’t matter, so I signed a 3 month contract for $205 a month for basically a broom closet. It turned into a 4 month contract because they don’t count partial months as part of the terms and of course I never paid less than $525 a month for that lease. I had to extend it once and of course went for an extra 4 months instead of three. Well, After the 5th month I moved to a more traditional office and figured I'd just cancel the extra phone and internet charges and just eat the $205 fee for the rest of the lease. They told me that I couldn’t cancel the phone or internet and it was in my contact! I was so disgusted I haven't even looked at the contract again to see what rabbit they're pulling out of their hat (like the virtual continuation). I figured the hell with them and I’ll never ever do business with them again.

    OH! My lease is paid via credit card. Well, last month (my LAST month w/ them ever, thank god), my credit card was declined. They charged me a credit card declined fee!!! hahaha have you ever heard of such things!! These people have some nerve to say the least.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


    I confirm this as well. I was a fool and signed two agreements with them. The first was for an office for $600 a month. *I never paid less than $1200* for that lease. At the end, I was hit with an $800 virtual continuation feel. I then really needed an office for reasons that don’t matter, so I signed a 3 month contract for $205 a month for basically a broom closet. It turned into a 4 month contract because they don’t count partial months as part of the terms and of course I never paid less than $525 a month for that lease. I had to extend it once and of course went for an extra 4 months instead of three. Well, After the 5th month I moved to a more traditional office and figured I'd just cancel the extra phone and internet charges and just eat the $205 fee for the rest of the lease. They told me that I couldn’t cancel the phone or internet and it was in my contact! I was so disgusted I haven't even looked at the contract again to see what rabbit they're pulling out of their hat (like the virtual continuation). I figured the hell with them and I’ll never ever do business with them again.

    OH! My lease is paid via credit card. Well, last month (my LAST month w/ them ever, thank god), my credit card was declined. They charged me a credit card declined fee!!! hahaha have you ever heard of such things!! These people have some nerve to say the least.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    HQ Global Workplaces/Regus Group Complaints –
    Fraud, Employee Theft of Identity


    HQ Global Workplaces/Regus Group



    Fraud, Employee Theft of Identity

    I recently returned from my military mission in Iraq as one of the thousands USA soldiers and thankful to be joined again with my family, but worried about how I would support them. I borrowed $1350 from a loved one and then went to add the funds to my bank account. Within minutes, I discovered that a company named HQ Global Workplaces had charged my account $326.00. When I called my card company to inquire and dispute the charges, they suggested I first call the merchant. When I called the merchant (HQ Global Workplaces) they informed me that they had charged my card because someone using a different name other than mine, had ordered some type of virtual office service. They refused to refund the money to my card even though I told them that I was not the one who made the transactions. I offered them proof of my identity and even offered to send them a photocopy of my id and my credit card to show that the name on my card is not the name that was used to make the transaction. I also offered to provide them with I had just returned from the military and could not have possibly made the transaction. I will unfortunately have to spend more time and money in taking them to court 'but in the meantime, I still am out of $1350 and my rent is due.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


    Exclusion and limitation clauses - Commercial contracts AND THE FRAUDULENT REGUS STRATEGIES
    In our June 2007 commercial update, we reported the decision in Regus (UK) Ltd -v- Epcot Solutions Ltd [2007] EWHC 938 (Comm) in which an exclusion clause in the supplier's standard terms was held to be unreasonable under section 3 of the Unfair Contract Terms Act 1977 (UCTA). The court reached this view on the grounds that the clause left the customer, Epcot, with no real remedy for breach of contract. In a recent judgment ([2008] EWCA Civ 361), the Court of Appeal upheld the clause and it is important to understand why.
    Epcot, a small IT training provider, rented high quality serviced office accommodation from Regus for a number of years but the relationship was marred by a number of problems, including the inadequacy of the air-conditioning system in the premises which ultimately led to Epcot claiming substantial damages. Regus attempted to rely on the exclusion clause in its standard terms, the relevant parts of which were as follows:
    "We will not in any circumstances have any liability for loss of business, loss of profits, loss of anticipated savings, loss of or damage to data, third party claims or any consequential loss. [The customer was advised to insure accordingly.] We will be liable ... up to a maximum equal to 125 per cent of the total fees paid under your agreement ... or £50, 000 (whichever is the higher), in respect of all other losses, damages, expenses or claims."
    In the Court of Appeal, Rix LJ held that the trial judge had erred as to the scope of the clause and Epcot's available remedies. Rix LJ pointed out that the obvious and primary measure of loss for the defective air-conditioning is the diminution in value of the services provided - i.e. the difference between the value of air-conditioned offices and non-air-conditioned offices. Although the first limb of the clause excluded some heads of loss, notably loss of profits and consequential loss, it left this primary measure of loss untouched.
    It was argued that the first limb was unreasonable because it operated "in any circumstances", i.e. even in the case of Regus's fraud or deliberate acts. This was a misconstruction. Liability for fraud or malice would always be accepted because parties contract with each other in the expectation of honest dealing. Extreme or remote possibilities like these should not be the primary focus when assessing clauses for reasonableness.
    Looking at the UCTA reasonableness factors, Rix LJ pointed out that Epcot's CEO was an intelligent and experienced businessman who was well aware of Regus's standard terms and used a similar exclusion himself. There was no inequality of bargaining power, as shown by negotiating patterns and Epcot's obvious awareness of alternative providers. As for insurance, it would have been far easier for Epcot to insure against the losses mentioned in the first limb. Overall, the first limb met the requirement of reasonableness and the figures of the higher of 125 per cent or £50, 000 specified in the second limb were, in fact, described as "generous".
    The trial judge had originally stated that the first part of the clause could not be severed and therefore the whole thing failed. By the time of the appeal, it had been conceded that severability was possible, allowing the second limb to remain intact. Rix LJ approved this approach, despite the fact that the clause was not divided into separate sub-clauses, because the two limbs were clearly independent of each other and served different purposes (i.e. one excluding liability, and the other limiting it).
    Anyone whose standard terms include a cap of this type will be reassured by the Court of Appeal's stance. Lawyers, too, can distil some drafting guidance from the judgment. In particular, clauses should be split into separate sub-clauses, wherever possible, with clear numbering to differentiate them, and drafted so that they are capable of standing alone if one part is struck out. This should be supported by a severability clause in the boiler plate.
    THIS IS JUST ANOTHER WARNING TO STAY AWAY FROM REGUS AND/OR HQ MANAGEMENT GROUP. THESE GUYS AR CROOKS!

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    THE REGUS GROUP IS THE BIGGEST SCAM OPERATION GLOBALLY!!! - HERE ARE MORE FACTS FROM REGUS CLIENTS AND EX-EMPLOYEES OF THE REGUS GROUP! WARNING!!! STAY AWAY FROM THESE SCAM ARTISTS!

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Regus / Office Rental Complaints - Bait and switch

    Regus / Office Rental




    Bait and switch

    Prior to signing of my contract with Regus, Mark Sinclair (General Manager) assured me there would not be any additional fees/hidden fees. I was informed by a competitor that Regus had hidden fees and not to go with them during my research of finding a temp office space. My contract was for 3 months. During the last week of my contract I emailed and personally asked the Operations manager, Marybeth Catinella if I had to sign, review, final walk through, and anything else prior to my last date so that I do not get any other charges then what I have already paid. Marybeth Catinella said "dont worry about it, everything is fine" and that I should receive my deposit in 30 days. On the 30th day I receive an invoice for $1032.50. After further research I found out the contract had a clause with NO FEE SCHEDULE about "continuing business" setup. I asked Mark Sinclair about the fee and he just email replying "I just received word back from my boss that Regus cannot waive the business continuity charges that are outlined in section 23 of the terms and conditions of the service agreement."
    I'm a small business owner. Every dollar matters! I received a PROMISE from the General Manager assuring me there will be no other fee then the $600 per month and assured me his competitor was lying. When I asked the Operations Manager if I needed to do anything to assure my full deposit with no other charges, she stated "dont worry about it, everything is fine".
    I should have ended my contract when I received my 1st invoice with a higher agreed fee of $600 BUT again I was sold by the General Manager, Mark Sinclair.
    I am very upset that I was deceived and not told all the information by the General Manager and the Operations Manager (Mark Sinclair and Marybeth Catinell).
    I want to warn others of Regus's hidden fees and bait and switch sales tactic.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    More Clients Comments about Fraud Techniques of Regus & the CEO Mark Dixon

    141 days ago by Sara S
    +1 Votes

    Regus is the BIGGEST rip off in the world. They charged us than here in Cupertino for one YEAR of membership and the place closed down right after. Now, they have scamed us of our money and no refunds are issued.

    I am FURIOUS...DO NOT PAY A DIME TO REGUS BUSINESS CENTERS...PLS KEEP YOUR MONEY AWAY FROM THESE FRAUDS...

    ANYONE WANTS TO SUE THEM? LET ME KNOW...i AM ALL FOR IT!

    119 days ago by twinkle1000
    +1 Votes

    Yes I totally agree I am having murder with one in the UK at the moment who have provided an absolute sham of a service and wont do a thing about it having a huge detriment on my business!!! Steer clear of Regus
    69 days ago by IhateRegus
    +1 Votes

    I concur about everything that has been stated! We were hit by the same charges unknown to us! They are scams and something has got to be illegal about what they're doing.

    I agree, stay clear of Regus.
    9 days ago by Hardworker
    +1 Votes

    Me too. I've been in business for 10 years and signing up for a year with Regus has proved to be the biggest mistake I've made. I'd like to agree that they are the BIGGEST rip off in the world - please please read and then read again anything you sign with them and they are also a sham of a service.

    I'd strongly advise others not to make the mistake I made by signing up with them.

    And yes, I'd love to sue them. I also have a good case. Does anyone have Mark Dixons email address? He is the CEO of this absymal Company.
    9 days ago by Hardworker
    +1 Votes

    Me too. I've been in business for 10 years and signing up for a year with Regus has proved to be the biggest mistake I've made. I'd like to agree that they are the BIGGEST rip off in the world - please please read and then read again anything you sign with them and they are also a sham of a service.

    I'd strongly advise others not to make the mistake I made by signing up with them.

    And yes, I'd love to sue them. I also have a good case. Does anyone have Mark Dixons email address? He is the CEO of this absymal Company.

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Regus Business Centers are Fraud Centers

    Posted: 2009-03-10 by
    Attorney




    Poor Service


    I am an attorney on a tight budget with little time to deal with office-type issues, which is why I opted for the Regus Business Centers in Chicago. The ads are nice and show happy, content clients. What a lie! From slow/freezing internet/server issues to poorly trained staff and nasty management, I would not wish this work environment on anyone. The situation only got worse when construction began in the building (b/c the Merc left) and I requested Regus' assistance in enforcing the building agreement that no drilling or loud pounding take place between 8am - 5pm. Such noise made it difficult to conduct phone conferences and for clients to visit. Regus' solution: move to a new office in the Regus family ... nevermind that March is the BUSIEST and most maddening month for my type of law practice. I don't have time to move!

    Today, while I informed Tara (30 S. Wacker manager) and Lynn (assistant manager) that I am extremely busy and do not have time to deal with the issue of moving offices due to the construction noise at the location, both nonetheless – and despite my request that they simply do their jobs and end the excessive noise - opted to ‘drop by’ to further discuss. As I reiterated my need to leave the office to get work done (and was in the process of packing up to go work at home), the conversation grew heated and I asked Lynn to leave (as she was the one who misrepresented that the construction noise would end on Friday of last week). Lynn then informed me (in Tara’s presence) that the office was “her office, too” and refused to leave. If this is the case, then what have I been paying for??? If I am not allowed a private (or even semi-private) space, then I do not think we are seeing eye-to-eye on the meaning of an office. I also did not appreciate Tara’s snarky comments that she “didn’t hear anything” while in the office and that “no other clients have complained.” Note ... that last one is a whopper (not at all true).

    When the building inspector and police stopped by last week, the noises were audible – as they were when I sent each e-mail to Tara and Lynn documenting the noise. I experienced all of 15 minutes of quiet in the office since 9:15 am today, and then later when the noise subsided after 11:00 am when Tara and Lynn, uninvited, interrupted my work.

    I am voicing dissatisfaction with the way construction noise complaints have been handled at this location and the general attitude and confrontational nature of the manager. I have made little progress speaking with persons from Regus on the phone lines and doubt I will make much progress until my lease is up in October.

    I would not recommend Regus to another attorney – not after today.


    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    50 days ago by Lewis
    0 Votes

    It has Regus written all over it. We have experienced real issues with this office provider; the level of service for one is exceptionally poor.

    We'd recommend that you dispute the invoices because you too have expectations.
    10 hours 21 minutes ago by Houston_Engineer12
    0 Votes

    In addtion and to others considering using Regus beware, they are deceptive in that they do not completely disclose terms.
    In my case I had requested a flat 3 month term as I needed a temporary office/meeting room for 1 meeting.
    Their Agent, agreed that they could do this and that at my discretion, services could be expanded and/or renewed. After 45 days passed, I contacted them to make sure they understood that my term was for 3 months and no longer. Their response was that accordding to the terms of the contract, I owed them a 60 day notice prior to termination or the contract automaticaly renewed. After re-reading the fine print of the contract I noticed that this was indeed, stated. I offered to pay an additional 30 days lease to satisfy the notice however they refused.
    Also stated in the contract was that upon renewel rates may change without notice...

    There are a number of consumer complaints and Regus is not an accredited (or very credible) company.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


    It has been reported through various reliable sources and ex-Regus clients as well as ex-employees that the REGUS GROUP/HQ MANAGEMENT GROUP is under criminal investigation for fraud, stealing of clients funds, non-delivery of services and falsification of documents. The list of client and ex-employee complains is getting longer everyday.

    Should you consider using their office services THINK TWICE before you part with your money. These international scam artists will do EVERYTHING not to deliver their services after they collected your payments.

    It further appears that the Regus Group will be filing for bankruptcy very soon, due to the fact that thousands of customer payments have been collected but clients have not seen any professional services in return.

    Their global network looks at the first glance impressive, however the “small prints” in their contracts are so clever written that even if they do NOT deliver the office services as contractually agreed on, the client is left ‘hanging in the air’ without any possibility to receive his money refunded.

    The Regus managers “in charge” are suddenly “un-available” to solve any problems and the client is “dragged over the floor” for months with “excuse letters” but no improvement of service takes place. Cancellation of contracts are simply “ignored” and requests refunds due to breach of contract by the Regus Group are ignored too.

    Instead the client receives invoices for services he never ever ordered or signed for. Or invoices are sent from the Regus Group, which are dated months before the service contract was even signed. This is outright fraud and the therefore this scam operation must be stopped immediately.

    DO NOT PAY THEM ANY MONEY IF YOU DON’T WISH TO BE THE NEXT VICTIM. THERE ARE FAR MORE PROFESSIONAL COMPANIES OUT THERE WHO WILL GLADLY OFFER YOU THEIR SERVICES AND THEY DO DELIVER!

    IF YOU HAVE EVER DEALT WITH REGUS AND YOU FEEL THAT YOU ARE A VICTIM TOO, please contact our Investigative Journalist Team.

  • Bu
      7th of Dec, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I am an attorney entrepreneur and am always seeking creative solutions to the issue of a business workspace/professional mailing address/identity/etc.

    I have been completely taken advantage of by Regus. My card has been mis-charged time and time again. I have spent hours upon hours trying to resolve these issues. They have tampered with my mail, refused delivery of important packages, and over-charged me every single month since I signed up for a business mailbox in June.

    I also signed up for the business 5-day office use plan and was told that it was a month-to-month contract after the first three months and that it would be no problem to cancel it. When I wanted to cancel the contract, they told me that I signed a year contract. When I disputed this claim, they then claimed that I had to provide 90 days notice. None of this was in my initial contract.

    Brian McDermott in Century City is a complete scam artist. He used high-pressure sales tactics to con me into signing the office agreement much quicker than I wanted. Jerome Grant of Centurty City has over-charged my card every single month!

    I have lost valuable time, energy, business prospects, and emotions dealing with this company. I will do everything in my power to pursue all available remedies.

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY.

Post your comment