The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Navy Federal Credit Union / they are absolutely with a doubt unreputable!

1 United States Review updated:

I contacted the consumer loan department and asked what the latest day was I could make a payment on my loans without it being reported to the credit bureau. They informed me the 25th would be 30 business days. I went in person to the bank on the 23rd and posted this payment in cash. Both the bank teller and her supervisor informed me in person that it would not be reported until the 28th or so. I asked the teller to document that she told me this on my profile and she did so. Then I waited and spoke to a customer service rep. We went back to her office and she informed me of the same information. I asked her several times and wanted her assurance that she knew what she was talking about. She stated that she did know what she was talking about and that I had nothing to worry about. As it turns out, they waited until Monday the 25th to post the payment and all three loans were reported to the credit bureau as delinquent. I contacted the bank this morning to ask why it shows a 25th date on my online activity when I made that payment on the 23rd. I was told that it didn't matter at all what the teller or bank rep said to me, they were wrong and that it was reported and that they were not going to change it. I asked to speak to a manager. He was veryt rude, and he stated that because I had been reported before for late payment that they were not going to change anything. I was reported only once to my knowledge in feb 06. I was on a deployment and could not make the payment until I arrived home. I called the bank and notified them that I would not be able to make the payment until I returned and then was given an "I don't care" attitude. The superviser today actually told me I was not telling the truth about the bank reps telling me that it would be posted immediately and stated that I should read the signs posted in the lobby. The signs posted in the lobby, read clearly that if you pay CASH, it will post immediately. I was outraged that this man would call me a LIAR. I asked him his name and he refused to give his name and then hung up on me. Eralier the rep on the phone stated that the supervisor had contacted the bank manager at the branch that I made that payment at. So, I contacted her as well. Her name is Cindy Borte. She stated that no one had spoken to her at all about any such transaction. She then stated that her teller and rep were incorrect in giving me that information and that she would educate them, expecting that her telling me this would be sufficient in resolving this matter. I could care less whether she educates her people. I want my account situation rectified. I intend to take this matter to the corporate office. I looked on the site and any information for the corporate office is not listed. I then read the Company code of ethics and no one, so far, as followed this code of ethics. NFCU was recently awarded the "Best in Industry" Minority Lending Award.

Navy Federal Honored with "Best in Industry" Minority Lending Award by the Lending Industry Diversity Conference, Inc. I am not sure by what standards they were awarded this, but my past experiences with this credit union have shown piss poor customer services, zero recognition of any code of ethics, this misinformation one day, I apologize the next nonsense that clearly does not support this "best in industry" title. I no longer use this company for banking purposes, I only maintain these loans and hope to pay them off asap. I will never do any investment or credit card services with this company as they are absolutely with a doubt UNREPUTABLE!!!

I am so very disappointed in the company as a whole. I only hope that the CEO and President, Mr. Dawson reads this message. I fully intend to get his corporate address and report these interactions.

Thank you for taking the time to read this message. Rebecca.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pa
      3rd of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    Sub: Loan insurance

    When i filed for my loans with nfcu i also got personal protection injury insurance. Which was described to me to cover your payments if i were injured or sick and could not work. I had a good time with them until i got injured. I dislocated my elbow and could not work could not make payments. I called nfce approx. 40 times in less than a month to file a claim and was instructed to call the insurance company and file the claim i called the insurance company and they told me i couldn't file the claim that nfcu had to call and file the claim. I called nfcu and they refused telling me i had to file thotre claim i got the run around for 3 months and finally said forget it i got call from collections 3 months after that i explained the situation to them and they didn't do anything i told them to come repossess my car and take me to court i have begged them to take me to court but they just keep telling me there going to i heard this for a year now and my credit is getting ruined im not giving them the mine. They should have filed a claim to get in the first place and it has even been admitted to me by a few csr on the 800 number for customer service but what do i do i cant find a lawyer in my area that will do anything i keep getting referred to big lawyers in big cities that never even return my call! If anyone has any advise one what to do all input is greatly appreciated as i am only 22 to am not familiar with laws and what not.

  • Ad
      15th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I moved from the state of Georgia to the state of Tennessee, and registered my vechile with the state of Tennessee in April of 2007. In order to get my new 2008 tag the state of Tennessee needs the title transfered from Georgia to Tennessee, which Navy Fed. has to do. They have been trying to get my title for one year, and still no luck. At the end of April 2008 my tag will expire. I have called Navy Fed. various times and they always tell me to fax my request, I have done this numerous times and never get any response. Does anyone have any advise on this matter?

  • Jd
      28th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I have had a multitude of problems with NFCU personnel on behalf of my son. If anyone has found excessive charges such as "finance charges" or "other charges", please let me know. It appears that nearly 52% of my son's payments have been going for such charges. My e-mail is: j_wright0(the number 0)@hotmail.com.

  • Da
      19th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I don't know what has happen to Navy FCU. It's not the credit Union it use to be. Like most most big companies they all get consumed with greed. I switched to USAA after 15 years with NFCU. Good luck.

  • Ga
      6th of Oct, 2008
    -1 Votes

    and/or advise.

    For no justifiable reason, I was accused of being "caught on tape" late at night hanging in a Credit Union parking lot "acting suspiciously". All I did was make an ATM withdrawal and leave the area. The Credit Union's own employee called my relatives and warned them that the Credit Union was launching a campaign to "get me". The situation is Civil Rights Violations (Discrimination), Slander, Harassment, and many other unethical practices.

    This situation began with unauthorized and unjustified removal of funds out of my account. My complaints were generally met with apathy. The rules of this institute continued to increase, but its customer service and customer products (such as, but not limited to, ATM withdrawals) never worked. I continued to complain, and the institute has now launched a retaliation campaign against me.

    Today's Event 10-3-08 has physical witnesses and video surveillance. Depending on to what extent CREDIT UNION has taken its "watch Gary" campaign, there might be audio to support what I am reporting. I have already contacted the CREDIT UNION Neptune, NJ Branch Manager to inform them of this event. And no, it's not me "looking for trouble". It's an ongoing event with the very same teller whom CREDIT UNION chose to believe, when CREDIT UNION accused me of demanding money that wasn't mine.

    This letter is being sent to the CREDIT UNION CREDIT UNION Committee, the NCUA Inspector General, and the New Jersey State Attorney General's office. I am also using it to send to any who have asked me to keep them aware of this ongoing situation.

    I have to give some background information for the newer contactees. If I were to give all information, we'd be here for hours.

    I have no choice but to handle this situation this way, because CREDIT UNION has engaged in a slur campaign against me. As I warned in 2004 this disrespectful attitude has descended into some CREDIT UNION employees. CREDIT UNION began a video and phone recording (surveillance) against me even playing this information (disregarding confidentiality concerns) to their employees. One CREDIT UNION employee called my family's house to warn them that CREDIT UNION was out to get me that CREDIT UNION was saying that I am crazy, and the CREDIT UNION feels that I am trying to do something either illegal or harmful to CREDIT UNION. I know that this CREDIT UNION employee was not lying because they knew the actual things I said on the Neptune, NJ's Branch Manager's (Branch managers) phone.

    The employee even knew that I made one late night ATM withdrawal. CREDIT UNION said that I was acting suspicious and "hanging" out in the CREDIT UNION parking lot when I made this transaction. CREDIT UNION has the video footage. What did I do that was so "suspicious" or "anti CREDIT UNION"? This clearly supported that CREDIT UNION has problems with me, and it also is a very racist statement.

    From the beginning of CREDIT UNION's callousness. I have tried to contact them and resolve these matters. I have never been rude to any one or many any type of illegal statements against CREDIT UNION. If my communications became more passionate or intense it is because CREDIT UNION and many of its employees have shown a very callous and apathetical response to any of my legitimate concerns. CREDIT UNION representatives have implied that I should move to another bank (no, my Parents selected this Credit Union for me about 40 years ago), or die (because of my health problems. My family suffers from diabetes, hypertension, and a host of other medical conditions). Again, the issue is not me. The issues are: 1) CREDIT UNION establishing rules the the average, struggling person can't financially submit to, 2) CREDIT UNION failing to do it's job as a Credit Union when it comes to deposits and withdrawals, and 3) Some CREDIT UNION employees who can’t separate their non working attitudes from the professionalism needed for the work place. This attitude has caused one female teller to "walk" an attitude problem, which finally has been caught with physical evidence and witnesses.

    I'm not complaining about human mistakes. We all make them. I have always apologized if I made a mistake. I honestly don't remember CREDIT UNION ever accepting responsibilities for their errors. Instead, CREDIT UNION launched the "get Gary" campaign with audio and video surveillances. And I'm assuming my drive thru wait time is longer because they are inside photo copying everything. This is very sad. In fact, it's gotten to the point that it's almost hilarious. I'm a 40 somewhat year member of CREDIT UNION. I'm hosted access TV shows for over a decade. I've worked with all major authorities actually "shutting down" unethical business.

    And the worst part is, I actually go out my way to avoid situations such as this. To avoid problems with CREDIT UNION I’ve: 1) Called CREDIT UNION trying to find someone who would assist me. Before my repeated complaints, CREDIT UNION did not have a “CREDIT UNION Committee”. I would call (or email) and speak to CREDIT UNION employees who heard my complaints and did nothing about them. (only CU employee who actually cared) was the only CREDIT UNION employee that actually resolved CREDIT UNION’s errors, 2) I’ve spoken with the Neptune, NJ Branch Manager (Branch managers), and the CREDIT UNION CREDIT UNION Committee, 3) There were often problems with a teller inside the CREDIT UNION Neptune Branch office, so I began using the Drive-Thru hoping to avoid any problems (unfortunately my attempts to “make peace” were used against me, and CREDIT UNION continue to A) callously make errors and B) act unprofessionally (or disrespectful). It's CREDIT UNION's own "god with attitude" complex that continues to land complaints. Many of my complaints actually extend past 20 years. As a world wide Author, I've known for the most part on the positive side of things. So of course I take issue with CREDIT UNION questioning my ethics or intentions. I still ask, CREDIT UNION what have I ever done that would even imply I want anything from you other than you and your employees do your job. Millions of Americans do that very same thing every day.

    This is the event that transpired today 10-3-08 Friday. Again, I have physical evidence and witnesses:

    1) The exact same teller who told me my calculations were wrong months ago (when CREDIT UNION implied that it was my own doing, when it actually was the teller who ill advised me), told me that my today's calculations were wrong. In trying to avoid any further problems with CREDIT UNION, my family and I "did the math (calculations)". I wrote a note, and I even said "thanks" on the note. You are free to see the note. I didn't write anything mean or demanding.

    I wrote: "2- 50's and 10-20's Thanks". I wanted 300 dollars back. In the past, this teller gave me big bills. Most of the stores I shop at don't like 50's or larger bills. In trying to work with CREDIT UNION (which is where I always get myself into "trouble". When I returned the Branch Manger's phone calls, CREDIT UNION took my recorded messages and tried to use them against me. CREDIT UNION should know that I am a very open, personable, and spiritual person. I talk the same way on my cable show), I actually asked for only 2 50's. This teller has always shown an attitude problem (I guess she's mad because of the earlier event concerning her), she rushes my money through the system. When the Branch Manager is not there, this teller just sends my money and identification through the electronic air shoot in a container with out an envelope). My family has also experienced this. We’ve always felt that 1) things could get lost that way and 2) It's "tacky" (unprofessional).

    My concern was that this teller would just give me all large bills to speed up whatever "watch Gary's transactions" they are doing inside the bank (I stopped going inside the Credit Union around 2004/2005 after another teller repeatedly was disrespectful). So I wrote a polite note and I even said Thanks. So I did nothing to aggravate this female. Yet, she always has to have a "little attitude". I'm an old man. I know from experience that attitudes or arrogance will eventually lead to unnecessary actions or mistakes.

    So the teller told me my calculations were wrong. I tried to tell her what I wanted. You should have all of this on CREDIT UNION surveillance tape. They watch me hoping to catch something. Hopefully they will use the tapes to solve their ongoing errors.

    2) Even though I told the teller what I wanted, not only did she give me her own dispensing, but she put all the money in the envelope with no order or arrangement (as I said rushing me out of the drive thru because she apparently has issues with me). For anyone arrogantly saying, "big deal, you got the money. Why are you complaining?" Ok, let's see you go to the shopping store and have the bagger just throw everything in the bags with no order or arrangement? My family are all CREDIT UNION members. They are very upset with CREDIT UNION's childish actions. My family said that that teller did that deliberately to "annoy" me. But I blame CREDIT UNION more than that teller. CREDIT UNION allows this "Gary's a nut case. Get Gary. Watch Gary" atmosphere to exist.

    It was only about 9:05 AM so the teller can't say she was rushing to other customers. And it's not my fault that CREDIT UNION violated my civil rights and discriminated against me by launching this "Get Gary" campaign. I was sitting in the Drive-thru wandering how could I pull all the money out putting the 50's together, the 20's together, and the 10's to count the money. But I didn't want to hold up the Drive-Thru line. I'm not this angry black guy that the likes of CREDIT UNION attempt to paint us out to be. I'm a hard working African American male. I'm not looking for trouble. Call my employer. They all love me there. Various races and ethnic groups. They're all good hardworking people.

    I pulled my car up from the Drive Thru. I counted everything and arranged it. I got home and called Branch managers. She is the Branch Manager for CREDIT UNION Neptune, NJ Branch. I got Branch manager answering machine and left a message.

    CREDIT UNION can't "slither" it's way out of this one. Just like I told you before, that teller ill advised me which is why I thought CREDIT UNION owed me money. That teller not only ill advised me today, she arrogantly "threw" the money into the envelope which I've never witnessed any teller do in my 40 somewhat years of living.

    I'll continue to seek the means to get CREDIT UNION to do its job. It would be wise to stop the "get Gary" campaign. As an African American male, I have seen "hate" and "false accusations" all my life. My trust will always be in God Almighty despite whatever happens in this life.

    Here's fuller information on earlier complaints against CREDIT UNION:

    To the New Jersey State Inspector General’s Office: My File Number with your office is

    Today 9-12-08 an event with Credit Union happened. Based on my past dealings with CREDIT UNION, I have to document everything. To shift it's blame, CREDIT UNION has accused me of: 1) being crazy, 2) acting suspiciously outside of the Neptune, NJ CREDIT UNION branch late at night (their own employee warned my family that CREDIT UNION was out to get me), 3) recorded my phone messages to the Neptune Branch Manager (and she called me first. I was merely returning her phone calls), 4) video graphing me in the Drive Thru (I stopped going in the CREDIT UNION building after repeated disrespect from one of the tellers. I felt like It would be her word against mine, and CREDIT UNION has never admitted error in all of its "wrongs"), and 5) being rude to CREDIT UNION staff. All these allegations are false which is why I've never been contacted by any authorities as part of an investigation.

    The actual situation is this: 1) When I was a young boy, CREDIT UNION repeatedly removed money out of my account with out getting my permission, and for no justifiable reason. This "theft" went on until I was in my 20's (late 1980's). 2) Back then CREDIT UNION had no customer service number or complaint contact info. I would have to call any extension until I got someone who would help me. Most CREDIT UNION employees wouldn't do anything to help me. Finally, I dialed an extension and got (only CU employee who actually cared) who helped me. Whenever CREDIT UNION unjustly took money out of my account, I'd call Carol and she'd return it, 3) CREDIT UNION sent me other people's debit cards on about two different occasions. I called the branch, immediately got in my car and took the cards back

    4) CREDIT UNION limited the amount of money I could take out of my debit card with out ever telling me. When I wrote a written complaint against CREDIT UNION, CREDIT UNION claimed that it posted this “ATM withdrawal amount limitation and hold deposits for up to 2 business days” information inside its Neptune, NJ Branch. Once again CREDIT UNION was lying to “cover its ‘rear’”. In those days, I was still entering the Neptune, NJ Branch, and there was never any post about these CREDIT UNION “rules”. It wasn’t until I complained that CREDIT UNION placed a very hard to read, and very ill printed “announcement” in a glass holder on a bank teller’s desk. I attempted to read this information but it was very tacky (unprofessional). I asked the teller for a copy of this information, and she told me that that copy was the only copy available and I couldn’t have it. With 3 different auto repairs my ATM withdrawal money would not come out (even though it was in my CREDIT UNION account). I was embarrassed, and the auto mechanics could not be paid at that time. CREDIT UNION never corrected that situation. 5) In February 2004, my elderly mother's diabetes worsened. It was essential that my car be operational. I emailed Diana Johnson at CREDIT UNION and told her about the last 3 CREDIT UNION failures to release my money for an auto repair. True to the history of most CREDIT UNION employees, CREDIT UNION did nothing. I warned her that I would hold her responsible if she did not process my concerns. Once again, CREDIT UNION refused to release my money to pay for the auto repair with my ATM card.

    6) CREDIT UNION's original website did not function correctly until I kept contacting their internet staff. 7) CREDIT UNION's teller phone did not function correctly until I kept contacting CREDIT UNION to get the teller phone working correct. I honestly felt like this "credit union" was a sham. And yes, I did leave and take my money to Midlantic Bank. But the bank closed down. So I returned to CREDIT UNION in about 1996? 7) The former Long Branch Branch had computer problems, and late openings. One time the teller asked me to leave with out a receipt because she had opened late and was not "set up". I had no confidence in this "credit union" and I refused to leave with out a receipt.

    8) True to its nature, CREDIT UNION came up with a new policy (around 2004) that they would not cash a person's employee check for at least 2 business days. In other words, if a person had a 200-dollar pay check on Friday. CREDIT UNION would release 50 dollars on Monday and the other 150 on Tuesday. A sick, poor, or elderly person would have to go the entire weekend with out finances. It was my continual complaints that led to CREDIT UNION creating the "CREDIT UNION Committee", 9) CREDIT UNION has a habit of "deception". CREDIT UNION says it responds to me when it doesn't. They claim they've sent me emails that I've never received. CREDIT UNION attempts "very hard" to "cover it's rear". 9) The National Credit Union Administration has done nothing in these regards, 10) Some of CREDIT UNION's employees have been rude, sarcastic, slanderous, and disrespectful. Even one of their own employees called my Mother's house to warn my family that CREDIT UNION was "out to get me".

    So those are the real reasons why I have problems with CREDIT UNION. Today, 9-12-08 an CREDIT UNION told me that the Branch Manager (Neptune, NJ) does not want me giving them "don't place holds on my employee check" notes. She told me that this information is already in their computer. 11) CREDIT UNION told me that same comment in the past and they still placed holds on my employee paychecks. 12) CREDIT UNION blames me for everything. Once their teller gave me wrong information that I followed, and CREDIT UNION acted as if I was trying to do something unethical.

    Based on the history with CREDIT UNION, and their drive thru tellers (because I don't think it's safe for me to enter an CREDIT UNION branch. This "credit union" has already accused me of acting suspicious outside of its branch), I know that the teller will place my employee paycheck on hold again. If this happens, I will have to "hold the drive thru line" up to correct the matter. This can lead to frustrated drivers waiting and possible verbal and physical disputes. I was giving the "don't place my employee check on hold" note to the CREDIT UNION teller to avoid this from happening. Based on CREDIT UNION's very unprofessional and failure to take responsibility for its unprofessional behavior, I have to contact your office and asked that you help me or send me to any person or office that will help me. NCUA has done nothing to solve any of these problems.

    Here is the letter I sent to CREDIT UNION's CREDIT UNION committee, the NCUA, and Representative who asked me to keep him informed. I sent this letter today 9-12-08 after the CREDIT UNION teller told me that (Branch Manager, Neptune) asked me to stop giving notes to tellers.

    Please help me. It's obvious that CREDIT UNION has major problems and that NCUA is unwilling to do anything about it. I want you to know that I've worked with the BBB, Consumer Affairs, Asbury Park Troubleshooter and other help groups. I'm a Bible writer and God follower. I'm not looking for trouble. But if CREDIT UNION is allowed to continue to "run" this way, it's certain that I'll be blamed for something that's really not my fault.

    To: NCUA, CREDIT UNION Committee,

    Today I was told by a teller at the Credit Union that I don't have to give a note about my "no hold (employee check)" situation. I was told that the branch manager had noted this "no employee check hold" status in my computerized account.

    Unfortunately, I was told that in the past and the "hold on employee checks" problem reoccurred.
    If my check is placed on hold, I will have to hold up the drive thru line reminding the teller of the situation. This could lead to other drivers become irate. And I don't want to be blamed for this, as CREDIT UNION has already accused me of "suspicious behavior", "craziness", and "being rude to tellers". None of those accusations are true. As I explained to you before, a teller from 2005 was very rude and kept asking me about "who is this CREDIT UNION committee".

    I've already been accused by the CREDIT UNION Neptune Branch of "hanging out in the parking lot, late at night, acting suspiciously" when all I did was pull up; make an ATM withdrawal, and leave.
    My point is, I don't want to be blamed for CREDIT UNION's failure to not hold my employee checks. Nor do I want to be blamed for causing a "situation" in the Drive Through (such as horns tooting and customers mad because of the 'hold up'". This is why I merely gave a note ahead of time to remind the teller.

    Even when I follow the recommendations of CREDIT UNION representatives, I'm still painted as the "bad guy".
    So the purpose of this letter is to be presented in my behalf, if this new suggestion of not presenting a note, backfires.
    And for the record, I am a Man of God, and it behooves me to act "godly" despite the drama that CREDIT UNION puts me through. I will leave a brief message (concerning this email) for the Neptune Branch Manager, as it is the respectful thing to do.

    In closing, I remember a former supervisor of a different establishment. She made many unrealistic rules, and suffered from an ego or "god" complex. She recommended all members of her New Jersey production staff to appear at the office location and wait in line to be heard by her. I told her that people would become impatient in the line and fights would break out. Like CREDIT UNION, this woman totally ignored me until the fights broke out with in the lines. She was eventually fired, and that company no longer endorses the "wait in line" policy.
    CREDIT UNION has a terrible history of not listening, causing major problems, and then "covering up" what actually happened. I look forward to the time when God makes changes.



    Complainant Contact Information:
    Gary Monmouth County
    Gary.2985@yahoo.com

    Any attorney, department, advocacy, office, or agency is requested to contact, assist, and/or advise.


    Thank-you

  • Wh
      30th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    Maybe you should not ask, "what's the latest date I can make my payment without being penalized?" Hello? Pay it BY THE DUE DATE. You brought that upon yourself. This is not Navy Federal specific - any other financial institution would have charged you exorbitant fees AND reported you as being late the DAY AFTER the due date!

  • Pe
      21st of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    What in the world? The "get gary" thing just seems weird. Obviously we have not heard "credit unions" side of the story.

  • Qu
      10th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    He sounds like a dilusional mental case...just a personal opinion.

  • Pe
      10th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    I agree. I have dealt with many dilusional mental cases in my time. A credit union is not jsut going to be throwing a person out of their bank and monitoring their phone calls and whatever else was in this post for no reason. Their must have been some type of harrassment by the customer.

  • It
      30th of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    Not sure I just know that this person may or may not have had the money to pay their loan that day. Second I know first hand now unfortunately that Navy Federal is up to no good. They canceled my loan 15 days before it was to expire and then charged me 2.75 higher interest rate than the one I had been approved for. I had to sign it or return the car back to the dealership after my old car had already been disposed of. I had been hit in a car accident so I was out of a car. So I was forced to sign the higher rate loan. One day after I sent the loan agreement off. I received the title in my name with no lien from the other bank Capitol One. Capitol One and Navy Federal refused to call concerning the canceled check that Navy Federal canceled.

    I called and e-mailed Navy Federal to cancel the second check (on the higher interest loan) sent to Capitol One. Navy Federal refused even after I told them I have the title and signed off lien in my name. I told Navy Federal I own the car and have no intentions on giving the title to them.

    To make a long story short. Navy Federal is now taking direct deposit money going into my checking account and paying towards that loan without my authorization or signing of any sort. I have read and re-read the Promissory Note agreement, and it does not say anything near or like that to authorize them to do this. I am now gearing up for a lawsuit with them if I can not get this Supervisors Committee for Navy Federal Credit Union to mediate and make them come to their senses.

    I have seen enough on these complaints on this website that have really opened my eyes to realize that Navy Federal is up to know good, they are not for the military. I highly suggest that no military person past, present, or future not to join this credit union. Just read the nightmarish stories. This is awful.

  • Pa
      28th of Apr, 2010
    0 Votes

    This is a complaint about the TRUST DEPARTMENT. Trust should not even be in the name of this department.My father passed away March 20, 2009.My father was a retired Lt.commander in the navy and was retired after 20 years service to our country.When my parents were still alive they set up a trust thinking that was the best way to go.Well let me tell you this has been a very difficult time for me and my brothers.It has been I year and a month since by father passed away and his trust has not been settled yet.The man taking care of the trust has done nothing but cost us money.They locked my parents house up so we could not get in there so this winter was bad alot of snow.Seven or eight inches of snow sat on the roof for many days.The electric was on but the heat was off and we could not get in.There was damage to the roof because we had leaks in the roof over the kitchen area and I believe there was a broken water pipe in the kitchen.Well finely my brother was allowed in the house and had a contractor come and check the damage in the kitchen.It is going to cost at least $9, 000.00 to fix the kitchen alone.There was oil in the oil tank so there was no reason for the heat to be off in that house.Plus in March we got a statement from the trust and they had taken out over $400.00 for the electric bill which to me seems pretty high since no body lives in the house.For the last year I have ask for a copy of the trust and of the revised part of the trust after my mother died.Haven't gotten it yet and I was told a week before last it was being put in the mail that day and it still hasn't got here.I don't know what else to do now, I am disabled and live on $850.00 a month and all I want is to have this settled so I can get on with my life.If anyone has any ideas to help me to settle this let me know.

  • Il
      2nd of Jun, 2010
    +1 Votes

    First of all... why are you complaining? just take your money elsewhere.. and secondly... Its not their job to keep up with YOUR money!! its your job!!! and they hang up on members because you curse at them!! thats not poor service... thats YOU being ignorant!!! you are pathetic!! go balance your checkbook instead of filing little complaints that arent going any where... navy federal is the only bank that is open at all times to help their members who are over seas..they are a great company.. and members cant talk to the CEO hello!!! are you crazy?! do you not know how busy he is? NAVY FEDERAL IS THE LARGEST CREDIT UNION IN THE WORLD and they are a darn good one I must say! maybe next time.. when you have an issue.. dont take it out on the person on the other end of the line.. because its probably NOT THEIR FAULT!! you all cry like babies when you dont get your ways.

  • Ny
      24th of Oct, 2010
    0 Votes

    Frankly, it's easy to sound like a mental case when you get to the level of frustration that Gary wrote about. None of us knows who is telling the truth. However, if you just look at the number of negative post on this board alone, one can clearly see that Gar's story is very consistent with the majority of post written in this forum. I've copied my post below. Either way, good luck to all of us. NYQUIL762

    I agree completely with your comments. See you thread that I started a few minutes ago. I've copied it below.

    I am surprised by all of these comments being made about NFCU. I have had my own problems with them but, I’m still surprised to see this many comments. I never guessed that there would be so many disgruntled people out there willing to write about their negative experiences.

    NFCU has essentially terrorized me over the last two years (including while in bankruptcy). Frankly, nobody deserves to be treated like some of us have been treated. While I take full responsibility for not completely fulfilling my obligations, I've paid off multiple loans and paid thousands of dollars in interest to NFCU. Nothing justifies treating anyone the way that I have been treated. When my financial "crash" came I made it a point to call NFCU twice a week for more than a year prior to filing bankruptcy. I mostly called them so that they wouldn't keep calling my family members and harassing my neighbors.

    One evening last year, at 9:30PM, NFCU sent a “door knocker” to my home. I’ve since learned that a “door knocker” is a collection industry term used for a contractor who places door tags onto the handle of your front door. These tags typically say that they want to speak to someone in the household. The “door knocker” pounded and kicked on my door so hard that, for a minute, I thought that it was a home invasion (I still have the dents on my door). I think that he kicked my door because the dents in my door are on the lower portion of my door. I was able to talk to the “door knocker” through the front door. He stated that he was working for NFCU and that I needed to call them. I told him that I had just talked to NFCU the previous day and that I was going to complain about his pounding on my door. He basically told me that nothing would happen to him and that he would not get in trouble because he was just “following orders” given to him by NFCU. I told him not to return to my home again and that I was going to call the police. He then ran to his car and drove away. While I was not able to get his license plates, I did call the Fairfax County police and gave a description of the "door knocker" and what had happened. They indicated that they would make a report and for me to call earlier next time so that they would have a chance to question that person at my home.

    It was this incident that, not only scared the heck out of me but, caused me to realize what was actually going on. I had noticed that although I had been calling NFCU twice a week for 6 months or so prior to this incident, NFCU was still calling my neighbors and my family to harass me. They repeatedly called my in-laws, siblings and mother. I’m sure that they called others because most people would not probably want to add to my own embarrassment by telling me about their NFCU calls. At the time, I felt humiliated and too embarrassed to do anything about this harassment. I was (and still am) trying to focus my energy on getting a job. I did write the Chairman of NFCU to complain and explain my situation. My letter to the Chairman basically apologized for hurting the members of NFCU for not meeting my obligations and (most importantly) to ask NFCU to stop using illegal collection techniques to bully and harass me. I even wrote that I thought NFCU would collect more if they followed the law.

    At this point, I have had it! I have gotten to the point where I actually feel ashamed for not standing up to them earlier. I've caused my family a tremendous amount of pain due to my economic situation as it was and is. It wasn’t right for my family to have to experience the unbelievable behavior associated with NFCU’s collection activities. All of my creditors had essentially cooperated with my financial situation except NFCU. NFCU is the reason that I filed bankruptcy in the first place! I didn’t have any money to pay anyone anyway! During bankruptcy, I had to submit to a deposition requested by NFCU (more NFCU harassment!). During the deposition the lawyer from NFCU kept asking me about my disabled daughter. That was unbelievable! I had essentially given up my ability to get a security clearance by filing bankruptcy and I was still being subjected to the wrath of NFCU.

    At this point, My home is being foreclosed on (finally), I am broke, I have no job, I've got a disabled daughter who has substantial medical needs (she’s still wonderful and I wouldn’t trade her for all of the money in the world!), a wife and a son to take care of (they are also awesome!).These realities are NOT NFCU's fault but, I now have nothing to lose and perhaps I have learned a valuable lesson about how to appreciate what I do have (an awesome family and the sun coming up in the morning). I’ve also learned that one should never run away from “BULLIES AND THUGS! The pain and shame only get worse!

    I've decided to remove myself from bankruptcy (I should never have filed in the first place!) and take NFCU to court to try to keep them from harassing others like they have harassed me. It's the least I can do for my own health and to give back to those who may suffer in the future. I'll spend half my day looking for a job and the other half dealing with NFCU in the courts. I will probably lose, but I will do a more honorable job of getting my point across and at the end of the day it’s the right thing to do.

    My story is true and I'll put my hand on the bible to swear that it is (just like I will in a courtroom soon enough). I’ve got a bunch of faxes, letters (some certified) and all sorts of notes related to phone calls that will help substantiate the immoral behavior and treatment I received from NFCU. I ask that anyone who has a truthful story that they are willing to share about their experiences with NFCU to please contact me at nyquil762@gmail.com. You don’t have to talk to me if you don’t want to. You can just share your story in writing anonymously. I realize how embarrassing these issues are to communicate and I don’t think there is anything wrong with keeping them private. Some of you may feel better by just communicating your thoughts to me (kind of like writing a letter when you’re angry and then ripping it up when you are finished). I promise that I will not share your emails or our conversations unless you want me to.

    And to anyone out there who works for this group of "GANSTERS” and or agrees with the behavior that NFCU has used to bully me and others", I'LL SEE YOU IN COURT! Thank you for your time and gob bless. Nyquil762 otherwise known as at Mark in Virginia. I’ll publish my full name after the lawsuit is filed.

  • Au
      12th of Apr, 2015
    0 Votes

    When I became ill and lost my job, after going through all our savings, we finally filed bankruptcy about 10 months before my disability started. We reaffirmed our home, which was mortgaged through NFCU, and had one credit card. I was quite dismayed to learn a couple of months down the line that they took my daughters college fund and applied it to our debt. This was money that would have gained interest over 20-year period with more additions. We received no notice. The account was like accollege trust in her name. They took it all and closed her account as well as my own checking account, HOWEVER, they left my husband account open. BTW, the mortgage is in my name, all he had was a. Checking account. His acct is still open with $8 - that was 6 yrs ago. Bad taste in my mouth after singing their praises for so long.

Post your comment