Navy Federal Credit UnionBad manners in which they treat their customers

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I would like to file a formal complaint against a branch of Navy Federal Credit Union. The bank manager assured me that she would return my call with information regarding a complaint I had made. She did not call me back and so several hours later I called, again on hold for over 30 minutes, and she had left for the day...again, most unprofessional. I then asked the secretary for the number and address to the corporate office. I was given a number and the address. The lady whom I spoke with informed me that she was giving me the number to the corporate office, and actually what she gave me was the number to the main line. Then I called, again on hold, and spoke with a Barry McKnight who informed me that there is no way to transfer me to the corporate office. His exact words are as follows: members cannot be transferred to the corporate office" and "there's definitely there's no way for you guys to talk to the president" and only offered to transfer me to the supervisor. I then hung up. This is the most perfect example of piss poor customer service. This company most assuredly is not living up to it's own code of ethics and certainly does not deserve any award for excellency. I think someone in this company should pay more attention to the manner in which they treat their customers.

Responses

  • Ro
    robert r gunderson Oct 04, 2019

    I have the same problem with them. Started my application early July. multiple calls, did an appraisal $450.00 paid Water test $110.00.No one has ever called and spoke to me. my state farm agent told me they were told to transfer my insurance to NFCU on October 10th. Today is October4th and I have not heard ferom them even though I have made multiple calls and emails. This sucks!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole2469 Feb 26, 2019

    Here is an idea, if you all stop calling in acting like children then maybe the representatives wouldn't treat you like [censored]. The calls are recorded, any complaint you have is disregarded as soon as the supervisor that you complain to listens to the call and hears you acting like a neanderthal. That goes for any institution you do business with.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terrence hawkins Nov 12, 2018

    Terrence Eugene Hawkins. [protected]. Telephone [protected]. [email protected]

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James M. Reed Sep 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Had my card for years. I went through some tuff times and still didn't miss a payment but they didn't renew my card.

    0 Votes
  • U7
    U7want Aug 20, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am sorely disappointed by the customer service from a Jennifer (Jenny) at Navy Fed on miramar marine base. She came across as racist towards me and my family and had a terrible attitude. As if her time was too important for me! Sick and tired of poor service! Sort your people out Navy Federal Mirimar San Diego, CA.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ambitiouz Temp Aug 20, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unauthorized charges sent to closed charge off account. They used my deposited refund check without my knowledge.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    Jthomas502 Aug 14, 2018

    Tried to get a refinance, was told it would take 6 weeks. Now 8 weeks into it and new demands on information are just now being generated. This process has been slow rolled to the point where I will lose my locked in interest rate.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Fox B Aug 27, 2013

    Last year my boyfriend got laid off by HP very unexpectedly. He filed for unemployment immediately but took a giant hit from his higher salary. Instead of working with him, Navy Federal nickel and dimed him to death. They overdrafted the account several times by taking out payment for a credit card that wasn't due for another 5 days. It completely messed up his credit score and finances as he was trying to pay it on time with the budget he had to work with. When he finally got a new job, he needed a train ticket to D.C. Well, Navy Federal decided to take out money for a personal loan he had 3 days early. He called and asked them if he could get it back because he got training pay 2 days later. They said no. We had to hock several things just so he could make it to his new job that week. What kind of bank is this anyway? I was with Robins Federal Credit Union for several years and if I told them I needed the money back, they gave it back to me. To the thugs who work for NFCU, you ought to be ashamed of yourself and I hope this class action against you gets my boyfriend ALL of his money back and then some!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sumsky40 Aug 06, 2013

    i agree with all of the complaints above: i have experienced the same thing with them. in addition i think they were part of the predatory lending crisis along with the other big banks that loaned money from [protected] beyond the value of the home or without an appraisal. my loan is proof of this. anyone interested in exposing them or starting a class action suit. COUNT ME IN

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    wakie Aug 16, 2012

    i have been a member of NFCU since 1981. Most of the experiences have been good, but there have been a few bad ones. Most recently yesterday. I have a credit card account and i did go over my limit, i know this and my payment is due no the 17th and i will take care of it before that day. Much to my surprise, 2 days before my payment was due i started to receive calls, 5 at first, so i called and spent 15 minutes with several people who could not figure out why i was being called util they finally determined it was probably because over my limit, not late or anything, just over the limit. The rep i spoke with could see i had set up a transfer to my credit card account to take care of it, but much to my surprise i received 2 more calls all of these calls within 4 hours. i am aware of "reasonable contact", but seriously 7 calls in one evening. TOO MUCH

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John E DeShiro Sep 27, 2011

    I've been with the NFCU since 1988 when I purchased my first car. Over the last few years I have become increasingly unhappy with their service. My most recent experience was in September of 2011. I received a form letter in the mail on September 2nd stating that my interest rate would be going from 12.1 on my NavCheck line of credit to 13.1 as a result of information contained in my credit report effective 9-30-11. I had just refinanced my car loan through HAPO Community Credit Union and was offered a 3.25% rate because of my excellent credit rating of 753 and was naturally confused by this letter. I called the NFCU customer service line and the representative I spoke with indicated that all NavCheck lines of credit were being raised to 13.1% as their new "base rate". I contacted HAPO once again and asked if they could offer me a better rate to transfer this balance and they were able to offer me 9.0% on a Visa account which opened. I called NFCU back and spoke with Stephanie and explained all this to her and asked if they could match the 9.0% so I wouldn't have to close the account and she said no. On September 5th I went to the HAPO office and sat with the loan offer while he prepared the paperwork to complete the balance transfer. I received my August statement from the NFCU on September 23rd along with a payment stub. At this point I had assumed the balance had been paid so I was a little confused as to why I had a balance due still. After several phone calls to the NFCU it was finally determined that the back office received a check for the payoff balance from HAPO on September 5th and instead of applying it as a payment, as was clearly marked on the check, they deposited it to my account and took out the minimum due as an automatic payment! I instructed Danielle at the NFCU to apply the entire balance to my line of credit to pay it off and close the account. She indicated of course that I will still have a balance on the account because they have charged me additional interest on the remaining balance! So, I will get one more bill from the NFCU that I have to pay because they made a mistake. The check that was sent to the NFCU from HAPO was clearly marked payment and not deposit.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tones Jul 01, 2011

    NFCU Collector.

    Your reply on this thread speaks volumes on whats wrong. And you say that you don't know what my complaint is all about?

    A bit of old news but here's my final update.

    I was declined a loan modification despite meeting every financial requirement, water under the bridge now, really.
    I'd be a bigger fool if I wanted and expected any sympathy from NFCU, I'm still meeting every single financial need and my credit remains intact, but finances has taken its last blow for the reasons that I explained on my original post.

    NFCU could have and should have modified my loan, without a doubt, I will reapply again, out of my misery but regardless of where this go, as much as I wanted to stay with NFCU, joining while I was deployed nearly 20 years ago, I will have to drop this bank due to this horrid experience.

    My suggestion, learn from your mistakes NFCU. They are very easy to spot and fix, just read the complaints. What a shame!

    0 Votes
  • Up
    Upset Banker May 31, 2011

    I agree I just started an account with this bank 1 month ago they are just the dumbest. Mrs. Brooke Contact center and the supervisor Mrs. buckholtz from NFCU is the dumbest CSRsupervisors that I have ever worked with. I think they should really fire these folks and give people that want a real job that knows what they are hired for to work for them. And another thing don't try to complain through the website because it is the same people you are talking to on the 800 number so they are just as stupid and rude coming back with explanations that just favor them.
    I walk into my branch and deposit $200 and then later that night I transfer from my checking to my savings $100 which I saw the deposit on the screen and showed the amount available. The same day NFCU goes into my savings and transfers the money back to my checking to cover the transfer...WHAT IDIOTS! I call and their excuse is that they are on eastern time so even though we deposited the money and it showed available on the our internet account it does not fund out till the next business day because of them being on the East Coast. That is the dumbest thing I have ever heard! If it shows in my account as available money that clearly means it is available to transfer. If it did not show on my account then there would be no way that I could transfer the money. I hope this people understand without the members there will be no jobs! NFCU there are plenty of Credit Unions out there to assist the military and will do so if they see for a minute that you are losing the customers loyalty. It is horrible to see your Phone Reps take for granted their jobs and speak to their members as if we OWE them something. NOT!

    0 Votes
  • Nf
    NFCUsucks Mar 17, 2011

    I love the nasty arrogance the NFCU supporters are displaying here... its priceless to see how great their customer service is in yet another forum!! Still condescending, still rude... ah, things we can count on from NFCU!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy ExNFCU employee Jan 30, 2011

    As a former employee of Navy Federal CU it truly bothers me how NFCU treats members. My prior work experience at a smaller credit union was a wonderful experience, we treated the Members as they should be treated with respect and actually got to know them. Working at NFCU has totally sucked the life out of me because they do not care about the membership, they care about bottomlines and pushing products. I was told several times that I cannot continue to spend time and get to know the members because we are too busy. I have seen first hand how members have been mishandled, how NFCU has made mistakes but will not take responsiblity or even correct the errors they have done. Instead of having qualified trained individuals at each branch, everyone is trained to do the same thing whether they want to learn or not. This causes many mistakes because everyone knows just a little about a lot. To me every branch should have set individuals who are specialized in either Mortgages, consumer loans, opening accounts. handling fraud claims, IRAs and tellers, this would in turn show that NFCU truly cares about being the best and giving the best and not just treating people like a number and pushing a damn credit card down the members throat.
    NFCU basically threatens its employees to push unneccessary items in order to receive a decent yearly review. They dont care about how long you have worked for the company, they have no loyalties to employees that have worked for 20 years with NFCU. I had a coworker that is now having medical issues and has been told if you cant perform all duties such as the repetititive motions on the teller line they can expect to have many does not meet expectations on their annual reviews. So all you members out there who do not feel special, the feeling is mutual for a lot of the employees in the branches. NFCU has gotten to big for their britches and totally not working under the same standards in which a credit union is different than a bank, they are just worried about bottom lines and becoming even a bigger giant totally out of touch with the Members who make it possible to have the business.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Annadv1 Dec 22, 2010

    Good Morning, on several occasions I have been into my local branch and stood in line that said AVAILABLE when there is NO teller available. This is not what I call customer service…it’s what I call customer NON-Service….there are two teller lines that clearly state Available in bold blue lighting, but in reality only one teller line actually has a teller available. This is a regular occurrence at this branch. When I complained about it this morning while standing in the AVAILABLE/ NON AVAILABLE teller line I was told that if I did not like it I could go to another branch??? Are you kidding me???? Talk about some POOR customer service…the young women sitting at the desk this morning had NO business speaking to me in this manner….it was very rude and a total lack of customer service. She did explain that the Available light in the NON available lane was a requirement of the branch and I would still have to wait in line for the only teller available which was helping another customer in the OTHER Blue light available lane…but what sense does this make for the customer who stands in line waiting on the ONE teller that is helping another customer in the other AVAILABLE line…when there is only ONE TELLER AVAILABLE????? And I don’t want to drive across town to another branch as your Non_Customer service so clearly pointed out….maybe I should just take my business elsewhere!!! Just saying….

    0 Votes
  • Lv
    lvlove287 Nov 09, 2010

    I am currently having issues with NFCU as week. I have contacted the president of NFCU. I am listing his contact information in hopes of being helpful to other NFCU members. Phone: [protected] Email: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    NYQUIL Oct 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am surprised by all of these comments being made about NFCU. I have had my own problems with them but, I’m still surprised to see this many comments. I never guessed that there would be so many disgruntled people out there willing to write about their negative experiences.

    NFCU has essentially terrorized me over the last two years (including while in bankruptcy). Frankly, nobody deserves to be treated like some of us have been treated. While I take full responsibility for not completely fulfilling my obligations, I've paid off multiple loans and paid thousands of dollars in interest to NFCU. Nothing justifies treating anyone the way that I have been treated. When my financial "crash" came I made it a point to call NFCU twice a week for more than a year prior to filing bankruptcy. I mostly called them so that they wouldn't keep calling my family members and harassing my neighbors.

    One evening last year, at 9:30PM, NFCU sent a “door knocker” to my home. I’ve since learned that a “door knocker” is a collection industry term used for a contractor who places door tags onto the handle of your front door. These tags typically say that they want to speak to someone in the household. The “door knocker” pounded and kicked on my door so hard that, for a minute, I thought that it was a home invasion (I still have the dents on my door). I think that he kicked my door because the dents in my door are on the lower portion of my door. I was able to talk to the “door knocker” through the front door. He stated that he was working for NFCU and that I needed to call them. I told him that I had just talked to NFCU the previous day and that I was going to complain about his pounding on my door. He basically told me that nothing would happen to him and that he would not get in trouble because he was just “following orders” given to him by NFCU. I told him not to return to my home again and that I was going to call the police. He then ran to his car and drove away. While I was not able to get his license plates, I did call the Fairfax County police and gave a description of the "door knocker" and what had happened. They indicated that they would make a report and for me to call earlier next time so that they would have a chance to question that person at my home.

    It was this incident that, not only scared the heck out of me but, caused me to realize what was actually going on. I had noticed that although I had been calling NFCU twice a week for 6 months or so prior to this incident, NFCU was still calling my neighbors and my family to harass me. They repeatedly called my in-laws, siblings and mother. I’m sure that they called others because most people would not probably want to add to my own embarrassment by telling me about their NFCU calls. At the time, I felt humiliated and too embarrassed to do anything about this harassment. I was (and still am) trying to focus my energy on getting a job. I did write the Chairman of NFCU to complain and explain my situation. My letter to the Chairman basically apologized for hurting the members of NFCU for not meeting my obligations and (most importantly) to ask NFCU to stop using illegal collection techniques to bully and harass me. I even wrote that I thought NFCU would collect more if they followed the law.

    At this point, I have had it! I have gotten to the point where I actually feel ashamed for not standing up to them earlier. I've caused my family a tremendous amount of pain due to my economic situation as it was and is. It wasn’t right for my family to have to experience the unbelievable behavior associated with NFCU’s collection activities. All of my creditors had essentially cooperated with my financial situation except NFCU. NFCU is the reason that I filed bankruptcy in the first place! I didn’t have any money to pay anyone anyway! During bankruptcy, I had to submit to a deposition requested by NFCU (more NFCU harassment!). During the deposition the lawyer from NFCU kept asking me about my disabled daughter. That was unbelievable! I had essentially given up my ability to get a security clearance by filing bankruptcy and I was still being subjected to the wrath of NFCU.

    At this point, My home is being foreclosed on (finally), I am broke, I have no job, I've got a disabled daughter who has substantial medical needs (she’s still wonderful and I wouldn’t trade her for all of the money in the world!), a wife and a son to take care of (they are also awesome!).These realities are NOT NFCU's fault but, I now have nothing to lose and perhaps I have learned a valuable lesson about how to appreciate what I do have (an awesome family and the sun coming up in the morning). I’ve also learned that one should never run away from “BULLIES AND THUGS! The pain and shame only get worse!

    I've decided to remove myself from bankruptcy (I should never have filed in the first place!) and take NFCU to court to try to keep them from harassing others like they have harassed me. It's the least I can do for my own health and to give back to those who may suffer in the future. I'll spend half my day looking for a job and the other half dealing with NFCU in the courts. I will probably lose, but I will do a more honorable job of getting my point across and at the end of the day it’s the right thing to do.

    My story is true and I'll put my hand on the bible to swear that it is (just like I will in a courtroom soon enough). I’ve got a bunch of faxes, letters (some certified) and all sorts of notes related to phone calls that will help substantiate the immoral behavior and treatment I received from NFCU. I ask that anyone who has a truthful story that they are willing to share about their experiences with NFCU to please contact me at [email protected] You don’t have to talk to me if you don’t want to. You can just share your story in writing anonymously. I realize how embarrassing these issues are to communicate and I don’t think there is anything wrong with keeping them private. Some of you may feel better by just communicating your thoughts to me (kind of like writing a letter when you’re angry and then ripping it up when you are finished). I promise that I will not share your emails or our conversations unless you want me to.

    And to anyone out there who works for this group of "GANSTERS” and or agrees with the behavior that NFCU has used to bully me and others", I'LL SEE YOU IN COURT! Thank you for your time and gob bless. Nyquil762 otherwise known as at Mark in Virginia. I’ll publish my full name after the lawsuit is filed.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alloura Dannon Oct 01, 2010

    NFCU as a whole (not just the "customer service" division) has gone down hill and there reputation with them! I have been a member for 25 years and that is soon to change. Would never use them again and in fact purposely discourage anyone from borrowing from them. Basically, in my opinion, the organization is a SHARK!! Out to kill and destroy! "Buyer" or should I say "Borrower" BE WARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    [email protected] Sep 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would suggest that Navy Fed ask their employees not to post anywhere. This is the example of employees you have working for you?! I have a Navy Fed account JUST because it's fairly local. Otherwise, I deal with other credit unions almost exclusively. I've had many banks and credit unions and I have to say that Navy Fed's employees are not consistent. You get either a really wonderful representative or a rude one. I've never had this experience with my other banks/credit unions of which I've been a member of from 7 to 20 years. I do not really like Navy Fed but wanted a local "bank" if I had to go in for some reason. As for the Collections Dept, pleeeaasseeee, I've worked in collections and I was NEVER trained to be impolite--you don't have to be overly friendly, but be polite. Unfortunately, people do fall on hard times and of course it's not Navy Fed's fault. If you owe, you owe. But at the same time, at least be polite. I see that Navy Fed has merged with USA Fed. I just wonder if the service will get worse.

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    jrzeegirl Sep 07, 2010

    First of all it kills me that the "collections" defenders feel justified in saying because either errors, inability to pay or whatever the reason is they have the right to be rude if someone can't pay their bills or make a mistake on their account. Everyone is human and if you had a brain you would know you catch more flies with honey than vinegar. If someone calls me or I call in and someone is nice about my account and making arrangements I am more than eager to bust my butt to pay them before anyone else if I'm going through issues. But if you're mean, you go to the bottom of the pile. Try to intimidate? Please that will get no response. Chances are by the time collections gets the call it's already on your credit. Nothing gives you the right to berate another human being especially if they are falling on financial hardships just because you're paid to and have a bottom of the barrel job in collections.

    If corporations like GM and Donald Trump (who has filed bankruptcy 3 times almost every 8 years) are filing bankruptcy because they can't pay their bills and survive then what makes you think that someone who is at the mercy of this economy that's failing and filing bankruptcy can't fall on hard times for you to say "if you paid your bills" and all of this would be fixed if you did. Really! If it's that easy you shouldn't be making minimum wage + maybe commission but you should be on the advisory board for these two companies financial department or more as you have just come up with the solution for the failing economy! Say it and shall be so! You're crazy

    I have been a member for over 20 years and after paying faithfully on numerous loans and paying them off quickly I had an accident and broke my back. I was out of work for over 9 months although it should have been longer I needed to pay my bills so I went back to work. I couldn't work in the same capacity so I took a pay cut just to keep my job so I could catch up. Priority, my car and mortgage. After a few months of paying on time a payment was taken into the branch and it was refused because there was a balance on my credit card with NFCU. Worrrrd! Refuse a payment? Ok, so I started working with the "collections" department who said I could pay over the phone. They had my checking information so instead of waiting a few days when I could get to my bank (I travel a lot) and put the money back in the bank I told her my direct deposit should have kicked in and my paycheck should be in the next day so I could pay over the phone but I would call her and let her know, if not it would need to be processed on Monday. They processed it the next day before I could even call and screwed up my account with another bank.

    The bottom line is it got to where I sent in a payment and it was joked that the payment would not be processed until the credit card was "paid off." What! So after fighting with how I could pay them, if I can't walk it in and can't send it you only give me the option of paying with a check so you can keep the information and process payments at will? Nah. And all I can do is call back the jerks in collections who think they're above customer service. What is this elementary school? Fix your end and I'll fix mine or you can have the car. This is crazy. You can be rude and tell me to pay but then refuse the payment.

    In the end it's easy to hide behind a pseudonym, phone and in a forum but it would be a different story if you were standing at my door!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    mf80033 Aug 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow... the NFCU employees on this message board are disgustingly rude. I have been a member for 20 years and was just doing some simple research on the institution when I ran across this.

    I am disgusted reading what these NFCU employees are saying here. You have set a very bad example for your company. Looks like I will be seeking a new CU sooner rather than later.

    0 Votes
  • Nf
    NFCU Collector Jul 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tones I dont understand what you are complaining about. You kept saying your accounts are in good standing and you have never been late. Great! If just all our members were like you, my job would have been sooo much easier at NFCU. If Im not mistaken, your complaint was with the manners of the employees in the mortgage department. Collections is not customer service and such a manner is expected. Not just from NFCU, but virtually ANY organization in the world. If you speak to a collection rep at any company, do you really expect them to be nice to you? I dont. Even if your accounts are in good standing.

    Heres the thing, I work in collections and I can tell you. Thats how we are trained! Its not up to us to be honest with you, we are are nice people. We really are once you get to know us. We get audited by quality assurance and there are certain questions and things we have to say in order to keep our jobs. Its not that we like to be bad mannered or want to, its just how collectors are trained. So please dont take any of that to heart. This goes to every other member in this forum. Understand were we come from and we are just doing our own jobs. Now if an employee lets say in call center, or loan dept, etc, was like that I would understand because they are purely customer service and thats what they focus on.

    Ill be happy to answer any ones questions or concerns. Just message me.

    -2 Votes
  • To
    Tones Jun 13, 2010

    Update.

    According to the USPS the application package has arrived. I called NFCU, they asked me to call back again in 2 weeks.

    I spoke with a guy (his name in my files) this time, more pleasant than the first encounter written above, however, I simply led the conversation to a single question. When should I call back to check the status again? ...he said in about 2 weeks and that's just for confirmation that they have indeed received it. (Tracking slip from USPS says they did) information about the process could come 6 weeks after that.

    I quickly thanked him before he developed any further concerns, there were brief pauses which led me to believe he was digging into my account (yes, yes, assumptions on me behalf but I wasn't born yesterday) and it just didn't go fluidly smooth, it was like he was reviewing files...obviously all in order, since my question was fully answered a bit ago so I hurried out and all went well.

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tones Jun 04, 2010

    I joined NavFed while stationed in Okinawa, Japan in 1993. (Irrelevant but we all like to be nosy).

    It has been my default bank since around 1995, checks, cards and as the internet started to take off online banking.

    After 1997, NFCU became my sole bank account.

    I had three car loans, all fully paid for and NEVER late. Last loan was paid off well over 8 years ago.

    Equity line of credit for 3 years, fully paid and closed 1 year ago, again, in perfect standing.

    I have a NFCU mortage since 2004, always paid on time (Actually I have been paying extra, 13 payments on 12 mos., an extra payment a year). Did I tell you about my paid off home equity line? Oh yes, I did!

    I now sit here in financial distress for the first time in my live, my divorce is not NFCU's fault. The impeding loss of a big percentage of income on my part isn't NFCU's fault either, we are all clear on that. Let me tell you what's NFCU's fault. The lady that I talked to at the Mortgage Collections Dept [protected]. The word "Collections" brings a rather unpleasant vibe, does it not? Now I can see why.

    The mere act of making that call will set you up. read on.

    I started doing research and started reading from the HUD website which took me to HOPE.com and then I basically followed their steps.

    Step 1 was to contact your lender (I regret that) The lady was nowhere pleasant, tolerable at the very least but I think that she remained like that because of my own cool, few folks would have put up with her attitude, mind you that I always keep a professional conduct and DO treat others as I would like to be treated, cliche? perhaps, but that's really how I roll, like the saying, you can catch more flies with honey than vinegar? Well, it's kinda a personal motto for me... I'm not talking the talk but walking the walk here... I'm in the business of compassion and care to people so I know a bit about interpersonal conduct.

    Back to the story, she grills me on timely payments (NEVER DELINQUENT! She must have the data in a 'puter im sure!) then concerns herself with... How am I gonna pay next month!? I got savings, I will pay like I've always paid!!! She was taking GREAT care of NFCU's needs only. Frustrating because she was missing the whole wide forest for the tree!!! I AM NOT LATE! I WONT BE LATE, I am however entering financial distress and will have great difficulties in the near future and as suggested by HUD and HOPE I am letting you know so you can help me find a solution (The whole point of the program) She said that she has placed a note on my account, , , good grief! what have I done! I'm prolly being flagged as some type that only NFCU insiders will now know... What a fool I am! I'm really a fool! I resorted to continue with honey as I always do and explained time and time again that the payments will be made but that I need to submit a loan modification application as allowed by the new law and shown on http://www.navyfederal.org/about/stability_plan.html and then http://www.navyfcu.org/assets/bppreapp/NFCU_Financial_Package.pdf since I will be in dire need soon. I am NOT asking for freebies! If the program did not exist I would take the bullet, but there is a program out there, according to this https://eics.navyfcu.org/Mortgage/LoanIss.nsf/mbrfeedback?OpenForm I may qualify and since my credit score is PERFECT, have managed finances without a hiccup since entering the work force some 23 or 24 years ago I feel insulted, humiliated and mistreated when simply asking for information... my finances are still sound but I will need help soon, , ,

    I should have known that calling something with the word "Collections" would have indicated a different attitude.

    I have read all of your posts and I am sorry that you can only take my word for it and don't have any proof but I assure you my attitude was the most cordial and professional, that's just me, that's how I do business, always! Also that my account is in perfect status, I was simply following the steps depicted for this program, step number one "talk to your lender", well, good luck if NFCU is in your papers.

    Now to be fair, I will wait for answer of the application and process and post back. This complaint is based on the poor manners and rudeness from the aforementioned dept.

    Depending on the outcome of this, Im entertaining the idea of getting a website, blog or forum in the future where I can post actual documentation, such as my perfect credit report for decades and mortgage payment history but will have to find ways to preserve privacy for obvious reasons while still making it legible and most importantly, credible, , , it's just a thought. Also I may start notifying employees that I am recording the conversation too but again, due to privacy wont be able to post the entire conversation (Can you say ID theft?) but I mean, it's all a vague idea rolling around, I may get approved and have a good experience and that would be the end of it, for now I will post whatever progress or regress and see what happens.


    I wish you all luck, be nice, honey better than vinegar! ...unless the dude is holding a knife then I'd have to blast a cap... ;) Nooo!!! LOL

    1 Votes
  • Il
    I.LOVE.NAVY.FED Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all... why are you complaining? just take your money elsewhere.. and secondly... Its not their job to keep up with YOUR money!! its your job!!! and they hang up on members because you curse at them!! thats not poor service... thats YOU being ignorant!!! you are pathetic!! go balance your checkbook instead of filing little complaints that arent going any where... navy federal is the only bank that is open at all times to help their members who are over seas..they are a great company.. and members cant talk to the CEO hello!!! are you crazy?! do you not know how busy he is? NAVY FEDERAL IS THE LARGEST CREDIT UNION IN THE WORLD and they are a darn good one I must say! maybe next time.. when you have an issue.. dont take it out on the person on the other end of the line.. because its probably NOT THEIR FAULT!! you all cry like babies when you dont get your ways.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    I.LOVE.NAVY.FED Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have something to say about all of you who complain... TAKE YOUR MONEY AND GO ELSE WHERE.. dont you have anything better to do then complain about your credit union? first of all... they hang up on members when they CURSE ... thats not bad customer service. that is you being ignorant.. secondly.. its not THEIR responsibility to keep up with YOUR money.. its YOURS.. who do you think they are? your parents??? you people are pathetic.. grow up and find something better do do like.. go BALANCE your checkbook!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Final Analysis Feb 22, 2010

    I've been a member of NFCU since 1978 and have had no less than 30 family members join. Yesterday when making a deposit into my checking account at NFCU Salem road branch, VaBeach, accompanied with my NFCU access ID I was asked in broken english "you has da account here?" I thought it was a funny question, laughed and said "of course I do. Is that a trick question." She got very short with me and started defending herself. I said Ma'am if you don't mind, just make the deposit and I'll be on my way.

    Today, after waiting in the drive through for 15 minutes, 2 cars in front of me. They shut down the carrier and monitor after I pulled up. It was still 5 minutes before closing and the light was green. They ignored the teller call bell so I went to the front door as they were locking it, asked to speak to a manager. The pig on the other side of the door blatantly ignored me and turned her back on me like a coward. What happened to customer service? we pay there salaries. Yes "collections" even the people who pay their bills late are the reason you have a job. Regardless, it gives you no right to treat people with dis-stain. I've been using NFCU before some of these snobs where even born. yes I'm old fashioned. I believe in manners and courtesy. after all, it's what gave NFCU such growth. Then these rotten brats come along enjoying the benefits of a road us members paved with our sweat and treat us like crap. It's not right and the leadership would due well to weed out the bad apples.

    Bye the way, I'm putting my complaint here because NFCU does not provide a means to file disputes. They just hide behind their, website, cameras and glass doors.

    1 Votes
  • Nf
    NFMEMBERUNSAT Feb 16, 2010

    I use Navy Federal in Hawaii because I refuse to use a Japanese bank. I still have a mainland bank for my military direct deposits but i use the Navy Federal account for my daughters school payment and for cashing check. I have had to two car loans with them and a small loan. The first car i had a loan with was traded in to buy a new one and paid off, it took SIX months for the dealership to get the title. The dealership kept calling us and my husband had to walk into Navy Federal 3 times to get it straightened out they still sent the title to our address!!! Everyone we talked to at Navy Federal told us a different way to take care of the situation we finally realise we had to deal with the bank supervisors to get anything done correctly. Second car loan we paid off directly it took 6 weeks to get the title in the mail. No letter attached, no instructions from Navy Federal on what we do with the tile or what actions they did to the DMV in California speed up 1 year later we took out a small loan with Navy Federal and used the car for collateral paid it off got the title in the mail with no instructions on how to take off them as a Lienholder so basically they are still on there, they have been on there since I paid off the car loan and didnt take any actions with the titles DMV even though it is in the Electronic Lien and Title (ELT) system. So I'm annoyed and I'm starting the process of switching the title to a different state so I can sell the vehicle. I never had a problem with Car Loans before!!
    I'm so glad I never fully switched over to Navy Federal as my main bank from all the stories I read here and my experiences this is the worst unprofessional bank I've ever dealt with. They seem to hire new people all the time that don't know what they are doing and it's very frustrating. I realise know that most people that work for them are newly trained and don't now much so they have a attitude to cover the fact they suck at their job.

    Do I feel the lower interest rates are worth, no because that only applied for when I was a new member but now they think they have me and don't offer as good of a interest rate anymore.
    I'm canceling my membership as soon as I leave Hawaii!

    1 Votes
  • Nf
    NFCU SUCKS Feb 05, 2010

    Navy Federal has no regard for banking laws, nor member service. Do not bank here. The new recurtes for the millatary are ordered to open an account here, that is how they gave so many members. The employees are not trained and with the coming of cutler the thought is a monkey can do this job. I use to work there. I know. A big part of management has no college degree in banking and most in nothing at all. They are were they are because the look good for photos or a family member is an officer. NFCU got read of all the experanced employees years ago. DO NOT BANK HERE EVER, go to USAA or BANK OF AMERICA.

    1 Votes
  • Ko
    kozaru Jan 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Navy Fed member 27 + years:

    I'm glad to hear more and more people are taking their money elsewhere. I have heard nothing but good things about USAA and wish you the best of luck.

    1 Votes
  • Na
    Navy Fed member 27 + years Jan 26, 2010

    I joined Navy Fed over 27 years ago. The organization was top rate and would bend over backwards to help you out if possible. Now, it is just a banking institution. The lack of human understanding and constantly changing rules and how they post your direct deposit even is mind boggling. I have transferred most of my direct deposits to USAA. They are a bank and yes they are still flawed, but the reason I did it is because Navy Fed is no longer the institution I joined...it is just money hungry! I have also asked my family members and friends to transfer to USAA and eventually, Navy Fed will feel the loss as more members depart. The Collection guy didn't comprehend what he was reading on several posts. People are losing jobs! How are they going to get blood from a turnip! It seems that the organization would want to get their money back. It doesn't make good business sense not to work with someone the first time. If they renig on the agreement then go after them. The last time I looked at IRS tax info, unemployment benefits are considered income!

    1 Votes
  • Ko
    kozaru Dec 28, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    JSimpson:

    I took my business elsewhere and have been very happy since. Smaller, local credit unions have a vested interest in their memberships' satisfaction. I suggest you open an account with one. If you owe NFCU money, pay them off and get them out of your hair forever.

    1 Votes
  • Js
    JSimpson Dec 28, 2009

    Navy Federal Credit Union does have the most RUDEST customer service in the world. I personaly had a big problem with them. There were a number of times that the customer service was not helpful. People like Holly, Kelly, and theres a list of these reps who were nothing but rude. If I kept a complete list of these peoples names there would not be enough space. But these customer service people who are so rude with us members all need to be FIRED period. There is no excuse in the world to be rude with any customer no matter what. Its like you kincking a pit bull in the mouth or throwing rocks at it. Do you really think that the pit bull will sit there and not do anything in return. The answer to that is no. The pit bull will chop of your arm for that. Same thing with your customers. If NFCU keeps doing this to their customers or members we will all take our business else where, and because of what occured a few days ago and in the psat I will take my business else where for good. I do not agree with the employees at NFCU. But I agree with the complaints from all of these members. What needs to be done is a class action law suit againt NFCU for them allowing their customers being abuse by their employees. You can easy replace an employee. But it is very hard to replace a customer. Because of all the crap with NFCU I will no longer do any business with their company. Yes they also screwed me over with my car title too. And no it was not my fault either John Marshall or Brad Sheetz or any other NFCU employee or collector. Screw all Navy Federal Credit Union Employees!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ko
    kozaru Dec 23, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Pedro,

    Too late. This guy has demonstrated the lack of professionalism and disdain for his organization's members that have driven most of them here in the first place. He doesn't realize it, but he is validating every complaint on this board by his behavior here.

    If he is the caliber of person NFCU wants to make a supervisor, well that speaks volumes right there.

    2 Votes
  • Pe
    Pedro77 Dec 19, 2009

    NFCU collector, I understand the job is frustrating but you are doing no good by telling people they are wrong. Whether they are wrong or not it doesn't really look good on you to get on this board and put people down like you are. That's not good for trying to move up in the company and make it into trainer or supervisor or vice president. It also is terrible that you made note that you know Joseph List and Kerry. If someone within NFCU saw some of the posts you made on here and happened to know Joseph List or Kerry they could easily start to narrow down who you are. You are a Delinquency Control Counselor, you are male, you supposedly have good numbers because you are the top person on the floor, and you have made it known within the company that you want to move up. If you actually want to move up in the company I would settle down on the complaintsboard a little. It is unprofessional. You don't know who is watching this board. I am sure in an HR perspective it could lead to termination. No questions.

    2 Votes
  • Ir
    IraqVET Dec 14, 2009

    I'm active duty..I can't believe what i am reading about this Institution. If i only knew this is what i was signing up for in bootcamp. (seems mandatory). NFCU sorry to say doesn't care. im going to do everything in my power and network to make sure that their name is associated with . We make the bank. They seem to have forgotten that. The fact that they would help themselves to your money without notification is robbery... I just recently started school. Some ### Wade Parker in Vienna, VA decides that my chp33 money should go on a car loan and not school or basic necessities for life. Where are your ethics? Morale code? You ### ever heard about a debt consolidation loan? Word of mouth is the best advertising u can do. to everyone complaining i feel ya life goes on though...just make sure everyone u know hears about what they are doing to there Military service members. run a small ad in your local paper you are not voiceless. I'll be doing so in Houston, Tx, Norfolk, VA, Bethesda MD jacksonville, NC and San Diego, CA. Too many active duty service members accounts have been RAPED by NFCU... They are GOING to get the POINT!

    4 Votes
  • Ma
    MatthewP Dec 10, 2009

    I use Navy Federal Credit Union and I love them. They bent over backwards for my family.

    -3 Votes
  • It
    it1glsharp Sep 30, 2009

    Listen to me and listen to me good. I am not just some young buck giving you bad advice. In fact do yourself a favor and keep looking at all the complaints against Navy Federal Credit Union. They are up to no good. As far as loans go. If you are one day late, they will take money from your checking account and even savings account and pay towards that loan no matter what. They will charge you fees even after only one day late. I am telling you back out of the loan. Go to a small time bank in your area where you will be treated properly. I know about Navy Federal because they have done this to me and other people just like me. I am planning a lawsuit against them as soon as I get the information and documents I need.

    0 Votes
  • Well I thought that Credit Union are suppose to mitigate there losses. Not NFCU i am currently in short sale with my home i owe $190000 got and offer of $188000. NFCU sat on the offer for 4 month and the was just retracted. Now they what to approve a lesser offer of $140000 and come after me for the balance this cannot be right?

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.