SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

KitchenAidwarranty

Review updated:

3 weeks ago my partner put a Kitchenaid pot on an element, with 3.5" of water in it, to boil. After 5 minutes, she went to move it to an unheated element. When she picked up the pot, the copper base fell off and liquid aluminum spewed and dripped all over the stove.

I contacted Meyer Canada, the company that owns or distributes Kitchenaid products. Suzie Iacono, one of the CSR's asked that I send in photo's and a statement from my partner. After doing so, she responded just over an hour later accusing us of having let the pot boil dry and informing us of the 600 degree celsius melting point for aluminum. After reviewing the heat tint chart and comparing it to the heat tint of the pot interior, it seems impossible for the pot to have reached that temp.

A Giovanna Cassaro from their insurance company contacted me today to inform me that she was going with their opinion. But stated that we didn't even have water in the pot in the first place, that we just had a dry pot on the element. After informing her that I'm aware of the defects these pots have had, she started raising her voice and getting shrill and short with me. I don't even want the pot set anymore, I just want them to compensate for damages done, and refund my money spent.

Ka
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Be
      Aug 22, 2006
    KitchenAid - I have never experienced anything like that
    United States

    All of our appliances are Kitchenaid and are nothing but problems. Latest one is the built in oven. While baking, the lower element burned out and burned a hole in the bottom of the oven.. Fortunately, our kitchen did not catch fire. I have never experienced anything like that. I will never purchase another Kitchenaid appliance or recommend them to anyone.

    Becky
    Frustrated

    0 Votes
  •   Feb 09, 2007

    I purchased a refrigerator. which was delivered 12/24/04, I also purchased a 5 yr.extended warranty Within months I called service due to my freezer door sticking out I was promised it was suppose to.

    I investigated, that is just not true. Within the 1st year Draws cracking, freezer doors still sticking out. Then the inside of the refrigerator walls started to crack!! PS they came to repair without any materials and had to come back. When they came back the gentlemen started cutting plastic to tape inside my refrigerator. I denied that service. Putting a band-aide over the cracks was not my idea of fixing anything!! That was just covering up the cracks which will remain there and possibly shorten the life of the refrigerator. I want my refrigerator replaced, I obviously received a lemon!! I should not have to go shopping for a refrigerator just because they sold me a lemon. PS last week the refrigerator just stopped working first the freezer then the refrigerator. For 2 days and I have pictures I had to keep my food in buckets outside and I lost a lot of food in the process. I am fed up!

    0 Votes
  • Sr
      Apr 24, 2007
    Kitchenaid - terrible experience
    United States

    I purchased 3 major appliances from Kitchenaid within the last 2 months. The slide in range I ordered has been delivered to my home 4 times and counting with damage and all they can say is sorry, how about another ma'am. That and their delivery co. "Quality Whirlpool Express" seems to think the whole situation is a big joke at my expense, their staff laughing and making comments about my situation while I am on the phone with their supposed manager. If I hadn't already installed the dishwasher I would return it, the range, and the micro-hood I ordered and purchase another brand. I just hope that when, or should I say if I can get a range here without damage; I don't have any problems with it once installed.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      May 01, 2007

    If you have not taken delivery of slide-in-range, DON'T.

    The Kitchenaid ranges come with a design flaw that when you use the self-clean cycle the whole computer control board fries and oven shuts down and is inoperable until a technician replaces parts. It just happened to us for teh 3rd time in 2 years. This is in addition to our oven not cooking properly-display would say 350-food would be raw as oven was misfiring and was actually lukewarm.

    Kitchenaid do not want to know-they said they cannot assist me at this time,so $1800 later and we are expected to either keep paying to get it fixed or replace it. After some research it seems that a lot of Consumer complaint sites have people complaining about the same two issues amongst others.General consensus is terrible product and even worse Customer Service and I would have to agree.

    0 Votes
  • La
      May 16, 2008
    KitchenAid - professional (ha!) range!
    KitchenAid
    52
    Tucson
    Arizona
    United States

    I purchased a kitchenaid duel fuel architect professional range, Architect Built-in refrigerator, range hood, dishwasher, wine cooler, beverage center and faucet when I remodeled my kitchen in 2017. I have had nothing but problems with the range. The oven does not heat to the desired temperature and after having it serviced 3 times, it continues with the same problem. I wrote to kitchenaid and have been ignored. After spending $5600 for this range, I would it expect it to be more reliable than than the 70's range it replaced! I will never buy another Kitchenaid appliance. Buyer beware!

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 07, 2008
    KitchenAid - door springs
    Kitchenaid
    United States

    I have owned a kitchenaid superba microwave for 3 years and at 16 months the light bulb burns out for a replacement charge of $200. Light bulb not accessible must pull microwave out from cabinet. A month later the door springs break. Was contacted for a recall on the wiring harness (for starting fires)and had the door spring replaced and now 16 months later the door spring breaks again. Mechanical junk. Beware of consumer reports it rates this unit high??? Went to kitchenaid web site and so far no response.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Sep 24, 2008
    KitchenAid - 36& range hood
    United States

    Instructions on reseting the filter alarm is incomplete and printed in error. When calling kitchenaid, there is no help as how to reset the filter alarm. Instead they want to send a tech out so they can charge. Meantime, the correct way to reset the alarm is holding the plus and h button for 4 seconds. I only found this out by mistake while messing with unit.

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 02, 2008
    KitchenAid - terrible experience
    KitchenAid
    United States
    kitchenaid.com

    I purchased bottom mount freezer in April. Serial number KBLS20ETSSOL. The alarm feature for the last 10 days has been going off constantly. I was told be repairman that the control board needed to be replaced. It has been 8 days now and it still isn't done. I keep on getting told that it will be another day. Meanwhile, the alarm goes off every 5 second. It isn't a soft sound either. It is a loud piercing sounds that is driving me crazy. I've tried turning it off and even cutting power to the outlet. The thing still goes off. Why would a brand new product have this defect and the company is not stepping up to fix it quickly.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Feb 20, 2009
    KitchenAid - poor service
    A and E Appliance Repair
    Delaware
    United States

    A&E is actually Sears. Sears has poor customer service, so its no surprise A&E is poor also.

    My first appointment was for 8-12. They showed up at 3:30.

    My second appointment was from 8-12. Called the day before and was told I was the first appointment of the day. By 12:30 the day of the appointment, no call/no show.

    I cancelled the appointment and will go with a local guy.

    Dont buy from Sears. And dont use Sears or A&E for repairs.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Apr 22, 2009

    I purchased a KA oven range, in the $1300 price range, it has been serviced three times because it locks up when it goes into the self clean. So far no tech sent out can find the problem, the door locks and can't be opened. I also purchased a high end double dishwasher. It's the last KA purchase I will ever make.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 02, 2009
    KitchenAid - irresponsible company
    KitchenAid
    United States
    kitchenaid.com

    We purchased a new home with a kitchenAid dishwasher. The electronics broke within 6 months of use. It has now been 5 months and 5 repair visits and the dishwasher still does not work. Each time the repairman comes, he leaves the dishwasher in worse shape than before. @-4 weeks pass between each repair call as they order new parts which ar frequently on back order. No one calls to tell you anything. The customer service people from Kitchenaid point to A&E. A&E points to Kitchenaid. Meanwhile I wash dishes by hand for 5 months.

    Both companies are irresponsible and should be avoided by all consumers at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
      Aug 20, 2009

    I have a Kitchen Aid mixer I purchased September of last year, last night we heard a pop and the beaters no longer turn, but the motor works. I called kitchen aid customer service and was told it was a 2 year old model, and because it sat on a shelf a year before I bought it it probably wore out. That is the lamest excuse I have ever heard, and quite honestly just upset me more. Kitchen Aid use to be worth the $250. price tag, but now I learn online they used cheap plastic transmissions instead of metal as it should be when you spend that kind of money for an appliance. I understand a bad product on occasion, but to have a "customer service" rep give me a lame excuse and tell me they will not stand behind there products is ridiculous!!

    I will never purchase a Kitchen Aid Appliance again.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Aug 31, 2009
    KitchenAid - micro/oven combo
    United States

    We purchased $9000 worth of "top of the line" KitchenAid appliances (frig, dishwasher, cooktop and micro/oven combo) on May 30 2017. They were installed the end of June and I began enjoying my dream kitchen. On August 22 the microwave quit "microing". Looks like it's working however nothing gets hot. Called for service and was told A & E Factory Service would be here August 31 between 8 and 5. Took the day off and they called at 1 in the afternoon to say they wouldn't be here until Wednesday, Sept 2. I agreed to that but when I went to mark it on my calender I realized I had to take my mother to the doctor that day. Called back and was given a date of Sept 9, again between 8 and 5. Their automated phone system is frustrating and when you finally get a person they don't have any history of your problem and you have to repeat the whole story. So we've gotten less than 2 months service out of a $3200 appliznce and have to wait over 2 weeks for service. They did say they were "sorry" which does me no good what so ever. It's the last thing we'll ever buy with the KitchenAid name on it.

    0 Votes
  • Ks
      Sep 07, 2009

    What is happening with our companies? Kitchen Aid used to be a quality product. Now it is Chinese made crap.

    0 Votes
  • Ks
      Sep 07, 2009

    Kitchenaid used to be a quality product. They are now Chinese made junk. My 1 1/2 year old microwave just started turning itself on. Major defect that could start a fire.

    Their customer service acted like I was the only one that is experiencing this problem, even with their own blog filled with recent stories of this dangerous problem.

    Kitchenaid quality is now an oxymoron.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jan 06, 2011
    KitchenAid - repairs
    Canada

    I bought top of the line appliances from KitchenAid in the summer of '09. Within six months my dishwasher required repair and that was hell to get a repair person out. In October of 2017 my fridge broke down. Everything went to waste and it took them almost two weeks for a repair. I complained to KitchenAid consumer affairs and they offered me a $75.00 monetary gift or if I went online I could choose any countertop appliance up to $125.00. As it turned out when I tried to get a coffee maker they had online I was refused because they said the offer was based on MSRP, not on the price stated online. Needless to say I just spent another hour on the phone and am empty
    handed when it came to their courtesy gesture. They rip off the consumer and don't even try to make amends.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jan 17, 2011

    I agree. I have a 6 months old Kitchen Aid Food Processor. The handle to the plastic bowl broke after just a few uses. I e-mailed Kitchen Aid customer service and it took 20 DAYS before they wrote me back just to say they could not help unless I paid $39.99 for a new bowl. I called and they claimed my 6 month old processor was also an "older model" that must have sat on a shelf so it was no longer under warranty unless I could provide a receipt proving when I bought it. Well, not sure enough you, but I don't keep a file of every receipt for every product. I gave them the month I bought it and the exact store.. NOPE, they refuse to help me. HORRID customer service and HORRID product quality. I will never purchase Kitchen Aid products again.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Feb 01, 2011
    KitchenAid - gas stove with oven
    Kitchenaid
    New York
    New York
    United States

    I purchased a kitchenaid stove 6 years ago and shortly after I purchased it the oven kept turning off. At the time, I had an extended warranty from PC Richards for 5 years. During the 5 year warranty it was serviced for this problem about 5times. After the warranty expired I was still having the same problem and I have spent hundreds of dollars in repairs and I'm still having the same problem. In the middle of cooking the oven will just shut off. I am frustrated and I called kitchenaid and they say all they can do is send a repairman and charge me for the call. Do you have any suggestions. Personally, I think they should give me a new stove.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Feb 03, 2011
    KitchenAid - customer service lines take hours
    KitchenAid
    United States

    I will NEVER purchase another Kitchen/Aid or Whirlpool appliance! I have been waiting for a back ordered part (4456365) for 5 months already and until I get it, if ever, I can't use my oven or microwave. This situation is unacceptable and tells me that your service stinks! If only I could afford to replace this unit with another brand, I would!!! This model is KEMC 308KBL 0, and without the new touch pad the whole unit is worthless. In addition, trying to call your customer service line is a complete waste of time since after holding for over 30 minutes, I still haven't talked to anyone! As I said, NEVER AGAIN WITH ANY OF YOUR PRODUCTS!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Apr 12, 2011
    KitchenAid - breaking and breaking and breaking
    KitchenAid
    Massachusetts
    United States

    Where to begin: In late 2017 purchased home built in 2017 with all top of the line KitchenAid appliances.

    Problems with the dishwasher:
    (1) the springs broke - every time I opened the door it would come crashing down. Most of the time I remembered to hold the Very Very heavy door and slowly lower it. But sometimes I didn't. Happy it never crashed on the head of the kids or (if I had a dog) the dog. Cost to repair - $120.
    (2) Dishwasher leaks all over floor one night. Rubber on sides has disintegrated. Cost to repair $60
    (3) Dishwasher drying cycle doesn't work. The good news is the energy saver drying cycling works (as well as you would expect an energy saver drying cycle would work). So I use energy saver then leave the dishwasher open for a few hours and then use a towel. Cost to repair - who knows, I am not putting another penny into this piece of junk.

    Problems with the stove/oven:
    (1) the door doesn't close. it was designed in such a way that it doesn't close all the way. the "close door" light continuously flashes and heat escapes. Each time I cook, I can smell gas and I never know when my food will be done. Cost to repair - got one estimate to replace the door but was told that it probably wouldn't fix the problem. So cost to repair is the cost of a different, better brand of appliance.
    (2) the other night I was cooking and my 3 year old called me over to help her with her legos. I was away from the stove for about 45 seconds when I heard a pop, followed by a cascading sound of falling glass, followed by many more pops. The glass piece at the back of the stove shattered into thousands of pieces because it got too hot. The little pieces of glass were stuck to the metal plate but as they got hotter, they came shooting off the metal piece. The mashed potatoes and broccoli on the stove all had to be thrown away and we only had chicken which wasn't done for another 40 minutes (see (1) above).

    KitchenAid customer service is no service at all. I had a minor issue with Kohler - called customer service and didn't even have to ask for anything. Just told them about the problem and Kohler offered to send out a replacement piece. Now the faucet is cheaper than a dishwasher and an oven. However, I think the main reason KitchenAid is not as accommodating as Kohler is the fact that they have these problems - A LOT. So if KitchenAid were to satisfy their customers, they would be out of business. It is more cost effective to make inferior products and employ "No" people to work for customer service.
    If I had a choice of buying appliances, KitchenAid would be the Last on my List. Go with something else.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Sep 18, 2011

    kad2003, your'e right on the money! I don't know how such BIG company as kitchenaid gets away with making high cost junk. I did'nt even get into the horror story about my dishwaher from them, I'm so fed up with calling for repairs from Sears it is'nt even funny. Watch it with that diswasher door, I've had them come crashing down to the floor...and so has my mother who happens to be a senior citizen!

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Sep 28, 2011
    KitchenAid - cracked crock
    KitchenAid
    United States

    I bought a KitchenAid crock pot a few years ago, expecting it would last me forever, since I only use a crock about 1-2 times per year. Within the first few times of using it, the ceramic crock cracked. I called KitchenAid, and they sent me a new one. It happened again the next time I used it, lukily within the 1-year warranty period. At this point the replaced the entire unit (I had to pay to ship the old unit back to them, or they said they would charge my credit card for the new unit). Fast forward about a year and a half...I used the new unit for the second or third time last night, and the crock cracked again, leaving me with a huge burned mess in the bottom of the outer unit. I called KitchenAid, who flatly refused to do anything but sell me another defective ceramic crock for $38. I explained that there were thousands of complaints online about this very issue, and the fact that I had the exact same problem with 2 separate units indicated that there was a defect with the design of this product. They refused to do anything for me but sell me another crock. So now I have a completely useless $150 appliance that I'll have to toss.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
      Mar 14, 2012
    KitchenAid - repair and break all in same day
    A&E FACTORY SERVICE
    Riverton
    Utah
    United States

    Well you all know this story, schedule appt. To get new hinges on a 1 year old appliance. Part arrives in 3 days, but repairman cannot arrive for 10. They confirm prior to service day then cancel the day they are to arrive, a friday, repairman called in sick. 14 days arrive prompt at 8:45, appt was for 8:00 a. M. Spend about 1 and 1/2 hours installing factory installed bent hinges, cost of $400 for part and labor covered under extended warranty, dishwasaher was only $800. Wow they make more then my internist. Now the fun dishwasher is packed to hilt go to turn on, now mind you there was no problem with dishwasher other than bent hinge. It 10:30 pm but dishwasher will not start. Call a&e open from 6am to 12:30 pm cst closed for day even though it is 10:30 cst... Need I say more... Ugggggg!!!

    0 Votes
  •   Mar 15, 2012

    Hi a&e factory diservice,

    I'm Scott and I represent the A&E Solutions team. We located your post here and wanted to reach out to connect with you. We're terribly sorry your dishwasher repair has been such a troublesome and aggravating experience. Being without the appliances we have come to depend on is never easy. There's no question that repair appointments plagued with problems only add to the frustration. We'd like to look into this for you. At your convenience please contact our office at [protected]@aefactoryservice.com so we can further discuss your concerns. In the email please provide us with a contact number and the phone number the dishwasher is listed under and we will contact you directly. In addition please include your screen name (a&e factory diservice) in your email so we can reference to your posting.

    Thank you,
    Scott J.
    A&E Cares Social Media Team

    0 Votes

Post your comment