The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Jennifer Convertibles / warranty issues

1 NY, United States Review updated:

I purchased a furniture set consisting of a sofa, loveseat, and chair on 6/11/07 from the Jennifer Convertibles store located on 1231 Fulton Street in Brooklyn. I called Jennifer Convertibles on the dates of 3/22/10 – 3/26/10, in order to have my sofa and loveseat repaired due to peeling of the seats, cushion and back exterior. During the previously mentioned four day period, each time I called a recording would play concerning office hours; I received no response or even an acknowledgement of the problem. Once again, from 3/28 – 3/29 I called the number provided to me, only this time a recording played stating the store would be closed during the Passover holiday. Throughout the entire month of April, I called Jennifer Convertible’s furniture repair services to no avail, as I continued to receive no response. On 5/3, I received a phone call to schedule an appointment on 5/5 between the hours of 11:00 a. m. to 3:00 p. m. – which no one appeared to address my grievances. I called the office from 5/5 – 5/20, again,
without eliciting a response, until I informed them that I would proceed to contact the Attorney General unless the problem was settled immediately. On Sunday 5/23, I received a message
from a woman stating that someone had indeed come to my address on 5/5 in an attempt to remedy the situation.in return, I phoned the office to notify them that the information
provided in the message was false, as my recent surgery has left me confined indoors, and no one appeared on said date. Shortly following my message, I received a call to schedule an
appointment for 5/26. On 5/26, a man did show up to observe the problem – which is about all he really did upon seeing the peeling – just observing and taking photographs. The appointment
proved to be very disappointing and extremely unprofessional, I was not once asked to sign a form nor was I prompted to give any reference number information, I was told that all relevant
information was located at the office. Before the visit ended, I was informed that I would receive a response within another 5 to 10 days. On 6/7, I received a letter in the mail stating
that the peeling could not be repaired due to neglect, which is absolutely preposterous considering the furniture was seldom used and yet still proceeded to deteriorate. Their claim of
“neglect” is contrary to what I had been informed upon purchase of the furniture: which stated that any issue regarding the furniture would be either repaired or replaced, so long as the
damage was due to no fault of my own. And yet, the Upholstery Shield Lifetime Protection Plan I purchased along with the furniture set, stated that “accidental damage” is covered. So,
according to their own warranty, even if I had unintentionally damaged the furniture they would still be obligated to honor their promise of repairing or replacing any section of the purchased set. I decided in good faith to purchase the lifetime warranty with the expectation that Jennifer Convertibles would adequately rectify any and all problems that might occur. Instead, I found them to be extremely deceptive and their refusal to accept responsibility regarding the matter only heightens their lack of decent customer service.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • I0
      25th of Apr, 2012
    0 Votes

    I bought a leather sofa, chair & ottoman from Jennifer Convertibles on 02/11/07 and the Upholstery SHIELD lifetime leather protection plan for an extra $249.97. On 3/29/12 I called Upholstery SHIELD to report a rip/tear in my sofa & chair. A case was created & I was told to send in images of the damaged items. On 4/4/12 I sent in images. I called on 4/9/12 spoke to Merle who said the VP of Cust. Service, Mr. Ehrlich, said my damages were from the leather chipping and pealing not from a rip/tear. I contested, wondering how Mr. Ehrlich could have a "better" understanding of what happened in my home w/MY sofa & chair than I could. Frustrated, on 4/11/12, I wrote a letter stating my case asking if they would honor the contract & repair my sofa & chair. I received a call on 4/17/12 from Merle stating, Mr. Ehrlich is still convinced cracking/peeling is what caused the rip/tear - not covered by the agreement. It's a scam they are running to get buyers to pay $250 for a plan they won't cover.

Post your comment