The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

[Resolved] Dish Network / dish network pay per view fraudulent charges

1 CA, United States Review updated:

Didn't notice the charges because of electronic statemet delivery. (Changed that to regular mail)

Spent most of my sunday on the phone with dish network. Spoke with 2 reps & one supervisor.
Advised to lock all dvr's (Tv's-each remote).

No time available for pay per view movies, because they run all day. (Total 2 in 3 months in one statement) december 2009
Vod movies were ordered in very early hours like 3am, 4am, 5am & in between.

No credit was provided.

Only happened after I connected my dvr's to internet (Connected dvr to internet, according to dish network, 10/02/09)
First charge appeared on nov-28-2010.

3 movies were watched twice in 3 months overbilling period (Within 2 days)

Looking for more dish network customers with overbilling issues for a class action law suite

Contact info:
[email protected], shawn michael

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • DISH Network / DISH.com Customer Care's Response, Jan 10, 2012

    Hello J. Romigh, My name is mark and I am with DISH Network customer service. We would be happy to look into the validity of the charge that you are disputing. Please email with your DISH Network account number.

    Thank You

    Mark Haakenson
    Internet Response Team
    DISH Network LLC
    [email protected]

Do
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Th
      18th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    The reception on our satellite dish is not working

  • Da
      16th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    Overdue account, Puerto Rico september 2006, never go to Puerto Rico,

  • Je
      3rd of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    my complaint is why send us these used repaired HD recevier that don't last no more than 3 months and have to send them back- to get another lemons !!! We have to pay for these recevier -to get a used one someone else had trouble with!!! All I am asking for is a good workable new upgraded HD receiver. But they tells me they can only send me another receiver like the one I have. I have had 3 recevier and plus I am about to get my four one.I know there are alot!! of customers feels the same way I do because they gives everyone used receiver. I paid cash money for a used receiver I am upset!!! But your customer service tells me that I am a valuable customer--so me- send me an brand new upgraded receiverthat worked longer than a year...I like dishnetwork .I don't won't to changed. I just want someone to listen or put yourself in my place. I don't mind paying my bill but I want my services 24/7. I have a feeling nothing will ever be done about this!!
    signed,

    I WANT SATISFACTION

  • Gr
      28th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    To whom it may concern/ President/Ceo

    My name is Gregory H Plank, acct#8255909367960264

    I have a very simple but concerning complaint!
    On our 11-06 bill I spoke with Ellie i.d number b-87 she assured me that there was a poblem with our reciever or remote, regarding the charges we recieved for adult programming charged to our account after many system checks. and after much discussion she reduced our bill from 140.47 to 116.49 with much appreciation yet with more questions as to why she would remove some but not all adult charges but the first and only one we had ordered. She agreed we had a type of insurance that would replace any defective equiptment if necessary.
    On our1-09 bill we recieved we had the same problem an adult show ordered on 12-15 with three others appearing we did not order. I n the mean time we had recieved a new remote after failure of that certain remote then to follow with a new reciever we had no clue as to why we recieved it until we recieved this current bill. It was replacing the defective one diagnosed by Ellie i.d. b-87. And to verify the validiy of our over billing we set a password with her to prevent any access to our account to block any programs being ordered.which apparently didn't resolve the proplem as I ordered playboy06 and all the ones that followed were not ordered byyself or my wife as there are no children and Kathy is end stage breast cancer. She cannot hold a remote let alone hold her eyes focused on such trash to the extent of extending her life, , the only thought she has in her mind.


    Thank You

    Gregory H. Plank

  • Gr
      28th of Jan, 2009
    -1 Votes

    When will I get a response?


    Gregory H Plank

  • Dh
      27th of Mar, 2010
    -1 Votes

    few years ago dish network raised my rates i called and they reduced to 30 and some change. Feb 2010 i received a bill for 47 and change. i called dish on march 10th 2010 talked to a rep they said do not worry we are not going to raise call us we you see any changes. my bank statement said 47 something dish network. i called dish today march 26 2010. talked to Douglas. i said why are you charging me more. he could not help i said i do not want to pay more please cancel my service. he said sorry you will have to talk to our cancellation department. talked to Nicholas operator ID JX0 he said cannot do nothing. i said thank you please cancel my service. he said dish will send the box please mail the box and the dish on the roof has some thing called ALLAN BF and the DVR plus the remote. I said are you sure i have to go on the roof he said yes we need that ALLAN BF . i said are you sure because if i will fall from the roof that is not good and why will i have to go on the roof when i did not install the thing there. and why will i have to pay to ship it back. i said i need to talk to a supervisor. he put me on hold and then said he is going to make an exception and not charge me for that dish part on the roof. i said i need to talk to the supervisor. but no he would not listen. cancelled my account on the spot. i have already paid till 04.01.10 but no he shut down the programs with one click. THANK YOU MR. NICOLAS YOU SHOWED ME YOU ARE THE BOSS. and than he hung up on me.
    I called back to dish. Talked to Billing department super Curtis Operator ID HF1 in OHIO. told him what happened. asked him to connect me to the cancellation department. he was nice and apologized to me and connected me to Texas. talked to Julio Operator ID QUL told him straight i want to talk to a supervisor.he asked me for a phone number which i gave him. asked me if i was calling regarding the ALLAN BF i said need to talk to a supervisor. so here we are 1hour 02 minute :33 seconds and holding and i am still going to hold until my battery dies in my cell i have my cell phone bill to prove it NO SUPERVISOR AND I AM GOING TO HOLD HERE. THIS IS AMERICA NOT CHINA WAKE UP DISH THIS IS YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE. I DO NOT NEED EVEN FREE SERVICE FROM YOU FOR MY LIFE THANK YOU
    never do a contract with dish other wise be prepared to pay more than what you have been quoted. even if you decide i am wrong have them give you in writing and thank yourself not me for doing that

    AMERICA THINK FIRST BEFORE DOING BUSINESS WITH DISH NETWORK YOU ARE SMARTER THAN THAT

  • Sc
      28th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    I had the same problems. I had two VOD charges to my account. I asked the DISH net rep if I had purchased these VOD why it did not show on my PURCHASE HISTORY on my receiver. she said that it showed on their system that I had purchased them through my remote and that she did not know why it was not on my PURCHASE HISTORY.
    they will be giving me credit for those purchases. I will continue to check each month.

  • Ga
      5th of Apr, 2010
    0 Votes

    I am having the same issues with DISH and getting charged for PPV channel 490. I received the bill for last month which is $40 higher than the previous. Why? Two $17.99 all day purchases for XXX channels! So, I called DISH to dispute the charges. Tiara in the billing department informs me that PPV purchases are non-refundable. After speaking with Tiara AND her Supervisor for 30 minutes, I discover that I have 2 more $17.99 charges in my purchase history about to be charged on my next bill. WHY WOULD I PAY TO WATCH PORN FOR 4 WHOLE DAYS when it can be watched for free on the internet! They both informed me that I could put locks on my receiver. I have already done that and apparently it didn't work. I also hid the adult channels and that didn't work. So now what? Of course no help from either lady. Oh, and did I add that this has happened to me once before and DISH didn't listen to the validity of my claim then either? So, now I am up to $80 in PPV charges that we did not purchase and can't even get someone on the phone that will listen to what I am trying to say.
    Could it be earthly possible that someone has hacked my account and found a way to have me charged? It could be possible! DISH tells me that there is no way that they can download from my history from receiver without it being hooked to the interent. REALLY? Because we DO NOT have any phone line or broadband connection hooked to the receiver and somehow they keep findng a way to download my history. So, couldn't it be possible for a hacker who has nothing else better to do than watch porn all day to hack my account and somehow have me charged for it? Or how about this? If we did watch porn all day, please tell me what channels we watched. I KNOW DISH has this technology, because that's how they sell their advertising slots, by monitoring what channels get watched and when. What? Oh, you can't show me what we watched because it didn't happen! So, YES, I will participate in a class action law suit!

  • Yh
      19th of Apr, 2010
    0 Votes

    We started the service from DISH NETWORK since Sept. 2009. The expereince was good until I received latest bill. Instead of the usual amount ~ $40, I was charged for over $200 PPV, including many program and porn movies, which no one in my house watched. I contacted the customer service, and was told to check the order history through the receiver, there were three porn movies in the order history, whose charge is going to show up in next bill. Another look shows that the activities occured when no one was at home. It is obvious that my account was hacked.
    The CS lady insisted that I should pay for the full amount because all the PPV were made from my receiver.
    For those who have the same issue, I suggest to file complaint via BBB ...

  • Jo
      6th of May, 2010
    0 Votes

    I am having similar issues with Dish and their new VOD. The screen is set up so renting seems to be the only option, not good for kids who are just trying to watch their tv. Called Dish to complain after we got charged for 3 movies we didn't mean to rent and did not watch. We were told there is no way to lock it so we would have to just unplug phone line. They were at first saying they only could refund one movie until I kept arguing forever. Most reps I talked to were either rude or very unknowledgable. I think it is a scam on VOD or Dish becasue that VOD screen shows up everywhere!

  • Rj
      11th of May, 2010
    0 Votes

    Having the same issue with Dish and VOD & PPV charges we have over $150 in charges for shows we did not rent or order, some showing up on dates that no one was home, and according to Dish all non-refundable because they were suposedly ordered from our remote. I specifically questioned the validity of the charges and the possibility of some type of interference or hacking of the reciever and have spoken to supervisor after supervisor who have all refused to credit us for the fraudulant charges. I too will participate in any class action & am filling complaint with BBB, PUC and my local network investigative news reporter. Good Luck everyone...

  • Jd
      19th of May, 2010
    0 Votes

    I got two VOD charges for shows that I never ordered. I told dishnetwork rep that nobody ordered VODs in my home, and it could be the sticky remote control that somehow makes the set top box think that VOD was ordered. The problem of dishnetwork is that their default button is set to "watch VOD" rather than "not watch VOD". Therefore, if somehow the buttons on the remote control are sticky, a few presses later, a VOD charge is appeared on the monthly statement. In my view, setting the default button to "Watch VOD" is a total scam! I will join any class action lawsuit.

    JD

  • Ka
      7th of Jun, 2010
    +1 Votes

    My husband has been on the phone for over an hour arguing with these [censor]s about false VOD charges. Even if my kids actually DID accidentally order them, I certainly would have noticed if they watched them. They refuse to step outside of the little box and void the charges. It too took us FOREVER to get them to give us a supervisor, then he sent us back to one of his little cronies. Good grief! After all that, they say they will credit our account... I'll believe it when I see it.

  • Wa
      8th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    LOOKING FOR MORE DISH NETWORK CUSTOMERS WITH OVERBILLING ISSUES FOR A CLASS ACTION LAW SUITE


    COUNT ME IN! I have had DISH NETWORK since November 2009. I have had a problem EVERY MONTH with wrong billing, charges for cancelling free service (protection plan), and VOD movies I never ordered. It has been nothing but a HUGE headache to call & go over the bill month after month with them. I started only calling every other month but started getting dinged with a $5 late fee.

    VOD charges have NOT been refunded even though I did NOT order them.

    Charges were raised from $5- $7 without knowledge.

    My original order was messed up so badly, I have a $15 monthly credit on the account to cover their errors. But it still isn't covering the continuous wrong on the bill.

    Every other month when I call & complain, the agent "notices" Ive had a lot of probems so they on & off, wave the late charge of $5.

    BUT NEVER CREDIT THE MOVIES I DID NT ORDER.

    I have reported them to better business, consumer reports, AND Clark Howard. It would cost me $270 to get out of my contract.

    Sadly, there is comfort knowing I'm NOT alone.

  • Te
      28th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    After many years of service, I find it difficult to believe that DISH so readily lets their customers leave because of a dispute over 4 VOD movies. We were not at home when the 4 movies supposedly were viewed. I have found many other customers who have experienced the same problem of VOD movies being charged to accounts erroneously when doing a simple search on the Internet. $6.99 x 4 VOD movies charged erroneously versus $1200 per year as a continuing customer just doesn't make sense. Is DISH aware of hackers doing this and they can't control it? Or is their database incorrect and they're simply charging the wrong accounts. Whatever the cause - it is a serious problem that will affect their bottom line.

    I don't know what DISH's problem is exactly, but I am really disappointed in them and I will pass the word to friends and family.

    We canceled our account. We won't be back - we just signed up with cable.

  • Ma
      18th of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    We had 2 VOD charges a few months ago that we did NOT order. My husband called and got the charges reversed.
    We just noticed 2 new VOD rentals supposedly placed at the same time. (10:41pm) One is for a movie we own. We do not rent VOD because they are $2 more than ADTs. My husband called and they insist we ordered them. We were not even up at 10:41pm.
    This is a scam and I have had enough of it.

  • Je
      21st of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    I am going through the same thing now. Two VODs on bills that I didn't notice because of electronic billing. I had a similar problem a year ago and went through the song and dance to reverse the charges and lock all the boxes. Then here comes VOD without my knowledge or permission and it unlocks the ppv lock!!! When I called, the reps treated me like dirt and said I was mistaken that I did order the VOD. I did finally get them to block all ppv of any kind from my account from their system, but no credit given. Even with one movie billed, the book of eli, being billed on May 17, but not released until June 15!!! I would be glad to join a class action to force Dish to get their crap together!!!

  • Fl
      30th of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    I had the same thing, I was out of town and 12 VOD demand movies were ordered it was the same three ordered to total 12. I called and got no where. They told me it was impossible, they were completely rude and basically told me that I was responsible for all charges. I can prove I wasn't even in town when this happened. I would love to join in!!

    [email protected]

  • Yt
      28th of Aug, 2010
    0 Votes

    We had numerous VOD movies that we did not order charged to our account. In some cases the same movie was charged several times in the same week. When I asked the rep why anyone would do that, he said "I have no way of knowing that". Arguing with them was completely useless.

  • Ro
      4th of Sep, 2010
    0 Votes

    I had the same issue happen with my VIP722 after I connected to the internet 2.5 weeks ago. There was a $55 UFC fight ordered that I DID NOT ORDER, a $6 kids movie and just this morning I was listening to Sirius 6023 and had the TV off, just cranking the stereo. Well, the music stopped so I turned on the TV and what was on the screen was a PPV purchase screen for "Diary of a.." with the big RENT button just ready for someone to press. That explains how I couldn't explain how my 5-yr old rented the kids movie earlier this week. I bet anything that the box popped up and she hit buttons until it ordered the movie.
    I called Dish and they are removing the charges for the 2 PPV's and have also set my PPV credit limit to $0 so no PPV can be ordered unless I call them and raise the limit. As of now I can say that Dish customer service was very helpful. There is a problem on their end with all of these bogus charges/rentals popping up on boxes connected via ethernet. My customer svc rep, Matt, also submitted a technical request to their tech department to report the issue. Is there a mainline HACK going on at Dish? Maybe. Only time will tell. Hope everyone gets their ordeals straightened out.
    Peace,
    Ronbo

Post your comment