SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Columbiahouse.comWas tricked into a Columbia House membership, which still haunts me four years late

1

I, like many others, was tricked into a Columbia House membership, which still haunts me four years later. After I learned I had to decline their "director's choice" DVDs every three weeks, under penalty of being billed for something I wanted nothing to do with, I began looking for ways to cancel my membership. Needless to say, the company's customer service is a gauntlet designed to keep angry "customers" (a company like this has victims, not customers) at bay. With sites like consumeraffairs and compaintsboard alone you could fill a bookshelf with complaints of false advertising, extortion, harassment, and so on. Thus I gave up on trying to cancel my membership, and dutifully declined my DVDs every three weeks until the cutoff date, the point at which I would be billed for any unfulfilled membership buying requirements. This was when I began getting harassing, sometimes multi-daily, calls from NRA (National Recovery Agency) and more recently the Takhar Group. I have chosen to not dignify these immoral attack-dogs by answering their calls. This was all well and good, but in the meantime this could be damaging my credit and is certainly a nuisance at the very least. Worst of all, I have to experience this slow-motion implosion from the inside, and watch as others get trapped in the web of Direct Brands Inc and BookSpan, and all they encompass. When I think about it, it is clear that the crooks who started these parent companies had no intention fo being in business for the long run. It is perhaps the farthest thing from a "sustainable business model" I've ever had the horror of knowing. The intentionality is clear: They wanted to make a little money off their DVD, book, CD, etc. sales and an exponential fortune off late fees and whatever their collection henchmen could squeeze. To prey on the ignorant, unwilling, and stupid; how sad a company of people that would think to unleash this and call it "business." I hope this is a learning experience for those caught in the wake of this corruption, and a hearty push towards more consumer-centric legal precedents - such that we may prevent future reincarnations of this beast.

Responses

  • Ma
    margaret scroggins May 14, 2007

    I got a bill stating that I own them $43.88. I never sign up for their service. I wrote them a letter and mailed dvd back. Their is know one that can talk with me on or bye phone. All they say is I must write letter and I did, they are still saying I owe them money. I NEVER SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    howard hoffman May 18, 2007

    I sent casino royal back. I did not want it. I will pay for the departed and pursuit of happiness. I'm also ordering the 4400 third season. After I've paid for these movies, I want to close my account.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shellian thompson May 18, 2007

    They sent us these e-mail that the product is free, but all you have to do is pay for shipping and handling. Then you received a bill later that you have two more dvd remain and you are a member, and I have a bill for $52.50. I had problem like this in the past with them, so I would never think of becoming a member. They are a rip off.

    0 Votes
  • Ei
    eileen aragon May 18, 2007

    Re: ColumbiaHouse.com

    I received an urgent message in the US postal mail stating that I had an outstanding past due bill of $54.88, for purchase I have never received, I do agree that when I purchased the internet, I was on a web-site that I did fill out several surveys, and did not by any means expect to order any of the items in question. Why in the world would I pay for something i never ever received, I tried to call your 1-800 # and was unable to speak to anyone. All i received was automated service. This I will take it further, again I am not going to pay for merchandise i have never received.

    Eileen Aragon [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelby J Orten May 29, 2007

    Just like these other folks I was sent a video I did not join this club and they sent me a letter saying I owed them53.04 and I refuse to pay for something I did not order,the letter stated they had received my cancellation notice via e-mail and that I owed the the money. If i continue to hear from them I will turn it over to the better business bureau.

    It is time folks started standing up and close down these places that try to rip off the people. The video I received was r-rated and I refuse to have that garbage in my home. Thank you for letting me state my view.

    Shelby J Orten.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    THOMAS FOLEY May 30, 2007

    Columbia house is charging me 100.70 for dvds i have not yet received.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WILLIAM R. HEMKE Jun 03, 2007

    I received a movie i did not order .it may have been a movie of the week, but was in and out of hospitalin a 3 week period , but don't remember seeing it or ordering it. What do i do for return. Not opened.

    Thank you,
    William Hemke

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    margaret jones Sep 14, 2007

    i would like to drop my membership as soon as possible! member #50404805074 thank you margaret jones.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Norton Sep 19, 2007

    About two weeks ago I cancelled my membership 50469757616.
    I continue to receive product that I didn't order and don't want. The order form says you will ship and bill unless I return the order form. Please cancel my account and do not send anyore product.
    PS I am not sure this is just being registered as a comment or will be directed to someone who will take action. In any case I am not returning any form and will not pay for anything you send

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeff sayers Sep 25, 2007

    I want to close my account with this company. I am tired of wasting stamps & $ to return your order cards.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Lois M. Scannell Oct 01, 2007

    I will no longer order videos from your company again. I had trouble with you people in the past about sending me videos that I did not order and end up paying money out of my pocket to send it back to you. I was under the impression that you had me listed not to send movies unless I requested them. I do not want Directors Selection. I want to cancel my subscription and I am sending back the video that I did not order. You people are complete rip-offs.

    I will continue to buy my videos from Wal-Mart.

    Lois Scannell
    81 Cross St.
    Methuen, Mass. 01844

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PAULETTE BUSGITH Oct 10, 2007

    I REVISER A LETTER SAYING OWNING THEM $111.90 WHICH I DID'NT REVISER NOTHING FROM THEM. I TRY CALLING THEM BUT THERE WAS NO PHONE NUMBER SO I COULD TALK TO SO ONE THEY ALSO SAY THEY GONNA SEND ME TO COLLECTION AGENCY.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rodney Spencer Nov 03, 2007

    Please cancell my membership as of now 11/3/07. Acc no. 50516148637 Do not send any more DVD's They will be returned to you at your expense.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary E Carter Nov 06, 2007

    I been trying for some time since 2006 " Are we there yet" that was change to the NewHoneymooners 06 version (Called (8)262 2100 Now I am missing King Kong that I sent the / and of $22, Deal (the BEST EVER and SAVES me alot) I called several times receiving an BUZZ acknowledgment cellular/ and (outside phone ) Public Phone I been having problem with my POBox 1056 of Identity their of CLCrowe and Prisisllia Andre that I contacted the IRS and Rantoul Police In both cases received complaint number In spite of doing this they continue with other avenue(s) that I called about some dealing funds obtain Illegally There was other in which they gotten hold unknown reasons to an open Resident postal box in Andre's Name / Carter Written Return to sender #504667677808 Misiing (Too Juvinle/ Kin Refused) # # 288616 #817217 TRANSFORMERS / later order straying fund wise now **MEC.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irwinmann Dec 05, 2007

    i get abill for 123.37 of which i never ordered these.
    sent everyone of these back.
    these people are a pain in the butt.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mavis Norman Dec 11, 2007

    I NEVER SIGNED UP FOR ANY DVD AND I RECEIVED ONE TODAY IN THE MAIL I DO NOT INTEND TO PAY FOR IT AS I DID NOT AGREE TO PURCHASES ANY DVD NOR WANT TO. I AM VERY UPSET WITH THIS. YOU MAY DO WHAT YOU WANT BUT I AM NOT RETUNING IT AND PAYING TO DO SO AS I SAID I DID NOT SIGN UP FOR ANY DVDS THEIR HAS TO BE SOME MISTAKE ON YUR PART.
    SINCERELY MRS. NORMAN.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Jainlett Dec 27, 2007

    I jsut Need for you people to stop sending Me them Threatning Letters. Or I will have No Choice but to give this matter to My Company Legle Department. Yes I am the Owner of Dee Son's Plumbing and I do not Make Threats. Your actions will bring on My REACTION. Try Me.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlie Hall Jan 02, 2008

    I am upset with the Service Alert sent. My wife had written the check for $5.00 but was put in the hospital before it got mailed.
    Since then she sent the $5.00 ck #3587 and also check #3641 ($3.00). She tried to clear up this mess when she got home. She called you company and was told that she would be able to get DVD numbers from the catalogue sent when I was enrolled on line. We never have received the catalogue or anything else recording enrollent. She told them in the office that she was sending the $5.00 anyway. Then she sent in the $3.00.
    Now you sent a Service Alert and said that you are reporting to the consumer reporting agency. I don't feel that it's out fault and don't feel that the 7 years on my record is fair. With it is another $3.00 late charge.
    We are holding off the last $3.00 until you get this mess cleaned up and send us a note telling us what you have done about it.
    We had Columbia House records for many years and never had any trouble.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jason smith Jan 04, 2008

    I would like you to take me off the directors selection please.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gail ann rugenstein Jan 07, 2008

    I did not order this dvd and want to talk to a customer service person ASAP!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deanna Crockett Jan 14, 2008

    I was sent a introductory package for review. After reviewing the info. I returned the whole package with my intention NOT to join. Since that time I have received mailings to order DVD's {I did not order} , and I have received repeated billings for the RETURNED package. I would like this straightened out ASAP, before I contact Consumer Protection. I also plan to resign from BMG Music.

    Deanna Crocket
    136 Conantville Road
    Mansfield Center, CT 06250

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bertha rubio Jan 15, 2008

    I AM UPSET BECAUSE THEIR DID NOT SEND ANYTHING AND THEIR STILL ARE SENDING ME BILLS WITH A PAST DUE AND I"VE BEEN CALLING COSTUMER SERVICE AND ITS JUST A MACHINE.PLEASE CHECK MY ACCOUNT# 50513738364 AND SEE THAT YOU HAVE'NT SEND 048081, 047251, 048305 , ERASE IT FROM MY ACCOUNT.

    0 Votes
  • Ea
    E. A. CREASAP Jan 15, 2008

    I canceled my account last month via snail mail, I wrote on your order card to cancel, guess what I got today some more of your junk mail that I dont want. cancel my account NOW or I will report you to the Better Business Bureau.

    I am not going to order any thing from you and am tired of wasting my postage, trying to cancel my account. And DONT send me any DVDs that I dont order, like you have a bad habit of doing because they will be returned to you!

    Also dont e mail me any thing because I will report it as spam..

    It's a shame you dont have people there to service your customers, lets see what BBB can do with this ...

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chryle velardo Jan 30, 2008

    I am tird of retuning dvd's to Columbia House that I did not order and that I not only cancelled on line, but throug the mail. I do not appreciate automatic billing to my credit card for items I refused as soon as I received notification of sdelection I checked hebox of "Don't Send Selection"...on-line it was verified that refusal was on file and the next thing I know I am getting sent & being billed for this DVD. Reading the emails from others, I can see I'm not the only one experiencing this problem. Obviously your Company needs to adhere to sound and ethical business practices. I spoke with George or (Jorge) at office 3512 on 01/30/08 @1:38 est and was advsied send back return to sender. He further advised he was removing my credit card to be automatically billed *in future will bill as I order.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Belinda Harrell Feb 05, 2008

    I HAVE RECEIVE A BILL FROM YOU THE MOVIES ON THE BILL I DID NOT ORDER I WOULD HAVE BEEN LOOK INTO IT BUT I HAD DEATH IN MY FAMILYI DID NOT ORDER THOSE MOVIES PLEASE TELL ME WHAT I NEED TO DO YOU MAY E-MAIL THANK YOU BELINDA HARRELL.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Belinda Harrell Feb 05, 2008

    ALSO PLEASE CANCEL MY MEMBERSHIP AS OF 2/5/2008 THANK YOU.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arturo Diaz Feb 19, 2008

    les mando este email por el motivo de tratar un asunto del bill yo mande pagar las selecciones que recibimos no se si yo quede a deber mas de esas selecciones por que mandamos pagar como $22 dolares y algo de las dos selecciones que me quedan por comprar todavia tengo hasta octubre del 2008 y las quiero comprar emos tratado de comunicarme por telefono pero no e podido mi numero es 5039993983 gracias

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Darryl M. Aldrow Feb 23, 2008

    Yeah you charged my card for things I never authorized, $28.02!! I don't know why you did this but I demand you put my money back and rectify this matter!! A person contacted me a while back for some discounts and I told him I wasn't interested! In fact told him to cancel my membership that I did not want to hear from you!! But you dropped the ball and continue to contact me via E-mails and are charging my card with bogus charges!! Leave me alone!!

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    B. Hambly Feb 26, 2008

    I am severely angry. I thought I cancelled my membership but you guys continue to send unwanted, over priced movies. I told you to quit just charging my credit card. You continue to do so. This is ridiculous. You are not authorized to charge my credit card. I will take legal action if necessary. I have never physically signed anything. I know my legal rights. I have talked to several attorneys already. My next step is to cancel my credit card if one more charge is made. If you continue to send unwanted items after that, you will never receive your money. I am tired of wasting my time with this poorly run company. I would never recommend this company to my worst enemy. ab822

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TRACY MOORE Mar 20, 2008

    I HAVE BEEN DISPUTING THIS ISSUE SINCE LAST WEEK! I DONT OWE THEM 25.94 BECAUSE FOR ON I DIDNT PLACE THE ORDER AND TWO I HAVENT RECEIVED NO ORDER FROM THEM AND I WOULD LIKE FOR MY CARD TO BE CREDITED BACK ASAP!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Valenti Mar 24, 2008

    I have fulfilled my obligation of your dvd club, and I want you to stop sending me any further order submission requests !
    I dont want to recieve anything further from your company...

    0 Votes
  • Is
    isela enriquez Mar 28, 2008

    i want to close my account iwould like you to take me off the directors selection please.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julie bishop Apr 06, 2008

    I ordered several dvd's online and received partial shipments for weeks, when they all finally arrived, they had duplicated my order. I returned the duplicates, but I have not received notice they received them and they continue to bill me for the entire duplicated order

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    william peck Apr 07, 2008

    I have never signed up for anything from your company and resent you sending me a billing for a balance of$119.85. I have no idea what sort of scam you are perpetrating. I want no part of your scheme and refuse to send this amount.acfdb

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jean glazer Apr 07, 2008

    i just got a bill for a move or or music im not shure its says it late but i never receaved a bill or item. if you could let me know what i can do i dont whont to pay for something i never received. thank you jean.

    acc. #50549152796

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carolyn horton Apr 08, 2008

    I have sent back an order they said I ordered. They say they are going to turn me in t a credit agency. They said I would get the cd's for one price and they charged me the whole price for all of them.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angelina McCoy Apr 09, 2008

    I4 Angelina have gotton 3 dvd in less than week i have paid for 1 already, and another payment wil ll sent 4/11/08. I will have full fill my oblgation, please cancel ok. Dont send any more dvds. Whenever i write and ask to cancel it nevre happens thanks again angelina mccoy.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juanita G. Supan Apr 13, 2008

    I have been billed for $35.41 for two dvd's which I have not received. The company says they were shipped on March 19th and it may take 4 weeks. I will not pay for something which I have not received.
    Juanita G. Supan.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JENNIFER ALONSO May 03, 2008

    I signed up for COLUMBIA HOUSE over the internet, i recieved my first shipment that i was alright with but now every time i check my bank account they are taking money out of it for some movie. I did not want that because you never know when they're going to take money out for a movie i didn't even get yet and didn't order.Next thing you know i'll be overdrawn and paying for it because they doing they don't have my permission to do . I also tried to call and there is absolutely no way to speak with anyone, it is ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Gadsden May 04, 2008

    To Whom it may concern:


    This is in reference to Account # 50501206234. I cancelled my membership over 6months ago if not longer. Everytime I receive a movie a send it back, now I have received a bill for $86.82, in which I did not receive. This to me is nothing but a scam, you send out movies, that I have never ordered, I keep sending them back and just keep sending them. Now you want to bill me, for something I've never ordered or received. I am asking that you do not send me anything else, and that you clear this balance from my name.

    0 Votes

Post your comment