Citizens Bankrefusal to close my bank accounts

1
K Review updated:

Elders beware ... I am a 96 year old widow who has accounts with Citizens Bank, who is refusing to close my accounts.
They accepted my notarized letter to change my address, but 3 months later when I sent a notarized letter to close my savings account, they have repeatedly refused, 1st saying my signature didn't match my old signature card then ending with requiring me to get a POA and have the POA send in the request. I am quite capable of handling my own affairs
and this is truly adding insult to injury. I took the non-required step of having my signature notarized because of age related signature variation. I have filed a complaint with the Comptroller of the currency, Administrator of National Banks
and have sent a letter to James G. Connolly, President, Citizens Bank ... stay tuned for the results

Responses

  • Ch
    Chris ABC Nov 23, 2009

    Thank you for taking some action. Too many people sit by and let Citizens Bank ruin their lives. For those who have never opened an account with Citizens Bank, beware, no matter how good their offers sound.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spoodle May 01, 2018

    @Chris ABC citizens made so many errors with my account it lowered my credit rating by 100 points, they did not address the errors in their software... they just became hostile & surly. Terrible banking!!! ...time to close account and file complaint and provide documentation of multiple errors...I'll complain to everyone I can, because they have a bad attitude on top of the errors!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Babymomma1234 Dec 31, 2010

    I opened a checking and savings accounts with them and they let people take money out of my account then they kept charging me for all the overdraft fees but didn't tell me or send me a notice until the fees were up about 100 dollars. When I went to figure everything out they said there was nothing they could do. I literally hate them. My checking account finally closed but they still haven't let me take my money out of my savings but they let my mom put it in there with no problem.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mileysmom09 Apr 01, 2011

    Does anyone by chance know an answer to my question?...My gram has an account at citizens bank and her account had approx. $10 left until her check came on the 1st. Because she didnt use her account they said they deactivated the account because the balance was at 0.00 and hadnt been used for 7 days. Now her check is on hold until later next week. They wont tell her where the money went nor tell her why she was never told about the account having to be used daily. I use my account until the middle of the month then it sits with only cents in the bank and i have never been deactivated. Granted i still HATE citizens bank i just dont understand how they can do this

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Courtney Leivers Aug 15, 2015

    They refuse to close my account. I closed it at a local branch in person. Now my credit is in trouble and talking to them is like talking to a lifeless robot. Hate this bank!

    -1 Votes
  • Fo
    Fordguy98 Jan 05, 2019

    Filed bankruptcy. And they wanted to repo the car but never came to get it its been sitting in my drive way for yr and the fact i dont have title i can not get raid of it looks like it going to sit there for ever

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Chandler Jan 22, 2019

    What a horrible company! You advertise a rate then after the loan is approved you raise the rate by .75% what a joke! You're a bait and switch company!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angie5498 Feb 11, 2019

    I woke up to $2300 in fraudulent charges in my checking account (which does not include the multiple deposits of

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katrina126 Feb 12, 2019

    Citizens bank customer service is completley rude and nasty they talk to you like your a child repeating the same things over and over i've never waited so long for things to clear or be deposited in my account i will be switching banks again

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kimmy Davis Jun 04, 2019

    Took money supposedly owed from a 2013 charge off which was paid a few years ago. No notice, just helped themselves to my money. Said they didn't know how to get ahold of me when my address and phone number is current

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem