The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Citizens Bankoverdraft fees

I have had my Citizens account for over a decade. I have been unemployed for 6 months in this economy and barely getting by. It is a struggle. In the past week, due to my unemployment check getting posted a day late, Citizens allowed 7 charges to go thru for gasoline ($27), groceries ($55), Walgreens ($8), and 4 other charges all of less than $25. I was charged a $39 overdraft fee for each and every one of them totalling $234 and a total of over $300 in the past week. That is nearly one-half of my unemployment check! I asked why they allowed the charges to go thru and they said "With the small amount of each charge, we see it as a customer service to allow them to pass" - even though they charge ME more than any of the charges actually were! Now I don't have enough in my account for my child support check. What a rip-off!! And they refused to credit any of those charges back! THEN they offer me an application for overdraft protection, that they turn down because I have "insufficient income".

Responses

  • Ro
    RonPaul2012 Aug 20, 2009

    dont spend what you dont have, and you will not have this problem, how do u expect to spend banks money and not get charged for it, helloooooo... bank would have never charged you if you hadnt spend more than what u have, and read the account agreement that u were given when u opened the account,

    thank u

    -2 Votes
  • Al
    alonewolf85 Oct 21, 2009

    i overdrafted my citizens account for 137 dollars on oct 13, citizens removed 4 transactions from the previous week and put them into hold status and used my one overdraft to charge me for 5 overdrafts- then put the transactions right back in
    they were already posted, when i called they said that they were not posted that they dont post till night time, all my citizens tranbsactions post early in the am, they were nasty with me
    horrible bank and they steal from the people that are broke

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    T C Anonymous Oct 21, 2009

    A major problem with Citizens is their policy to post debits largest amount to smallest. If there are any errors this will maximize the number of fees charged.

    Further, the bank industry as a whole has stopped declining use of debit cards for insufficient funds, as was the practice when they were first issued a few years back. I was never aware of that policy change until an NPR report last week.

    Dave Ramsey calls this stupid tax... but come on! What ever happened to fair business? Help your neighbor? (greed, that's what)

    Greedy businessmen deserve class action law suits. It's the Unions of the new era. And it's a shame.

    1 Votes
  • Citizens bank are ###.. they just dinged me for 234 today ... and got me before for more about 5 months ago.. i had 82.00 in my savings and the TOTAL of all the 6 transactions was 87.00 ..so none of it transfers over..funny how they see the total as one number and the overdrafts as indivicual ones.. if i had moved that over myself yesterday it would have only been 1 fee... I hope they rot in hell, the loser wimp customer service manager, somehow .. Talk about road rage, , this is much worse!

    2 Votes
  • Re
    rebepa333 Dec 27, 2009

    Hi ! Citizens Bank just stole over $400 dollars from me - 2 days before Christmas nonetheless.Everyone at the bank and from customer service could care less about me and my situation. Anyways, I would like to be invovled if you do any legal action. Please feel free to contact me [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Gi
    ginainRI Jan 09, 2010

    rbepa333, the ssame thing happened to me on christmas eve and the reps laughed at me. I asked for thier corporate office and the kid laughed even harder saying "good luck walking into a corporate office and speaking with someone." I asked for the address and it ws the one 4 blocks away from my house. I told the kid, "check my address on your screen and the address you just gave me." whose laughing now? But I have a formal complaint and will jump on any lawsuit as there are laws which govern the extensive bank fees. They shouldn't pay out what is not in the acct.

    1 Votes
  • Ea
    eamic Jan 19, 2010

    I would ask that all of you take Citizens Bank to Small Claims court and that way they will have to send a lawyer or representative to court to defend themselves in this abusive practice. They may try to settle with you and if they don't and enough of us take them to court it will improve the chances of a class action lawsuit as was done by a judge in Miami Florida against Wachovia aka Wells Fargo. These abusive practices on THE PEOPLE AND THEIR MONEY need to be stopped. We should set up our own Banks and get rid of all these thugs that are ripping us off. TAKE THEM TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT AND GET THEM IN THEIR POCKETS FOR TIME AND LEGAL FEES.
    ELLEN
    RHODE ISLAND

    0 Votes
  • Aw
    awojcik Jan 21, 2010

    I use online banking, I receive direct deposit and I am constantly checking up on my online banking. I stop at the ATM today and notice I am suddenly negative 240.00. WOW. yesterday I checked my account and I had POSITIVE 59.00? Not only was the customer service representative extremely rude she didn't even actually listen, simply told me to get overdraft protection and shes sorry. Sorry for... what...? I am a struggling college student and you say sorry for screwing me over? because you HELD all fees until it was up to 240.00. Horrible company.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alphawolf55 Feb 09, 2010

    i too had a citizens acct. they got me for 500.00 and up per year, for almost 5 years. at first i thought it was a bonus too me that they paid what wasn't there ha ha jokes on me and i am out a total of about 2500.00 dollars .then they added the you carried an overdraft or 10 days or more fee of another 37.00 bucks.if there is a lawsuit, I WANT IN.

    0 Votes
  • De
    debbyjd Feb 09, 2010

    I would love to get on board the lawsuit.
    We were just hit with 7 overdraft fees totaling $273.00.
    All processed on 02/3 the same day a deposit processed but the debits were applied before the credit, deposit which was far more than the debits.
    Let me know how I get on board on this class action suit.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chris8 Feb 15, 2010

    I would love to know more. They have been screwing me for awhile and i didnt think there was anything i could do. I have many different sanarios in which they have done so.

    0 Votes
  • Rk
    rkh54 Feb 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a debit on Friday 2.12 that was actually in the Transaction History and was pulled from the Transaction History to the Outstanding Authorizations and Funds on Hold and then set for tomorrow’s date 2.17. This was to clear way for a larger charge that cleared today so the bank could get double the overdraft fees.
    Unfortunately I did not take a screen shot on Friday to show the correct charges.
    I just got off the phone with the company being paid and they have emailed me a receipt showing that the payment was actually on Friday 2.12.
    This is not do to living above my income but is the bank playing games with deposits and with withdrawals to increase their overdraft fee income.

    SAY NO TO CITIZENS!!!

    I would like to join any class action possible.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sherwoodvt Feb 16, 2010

    I can see that there has been a lawsuit filed against Citizens by someone in Goffstown NH. Does anyone know if the rest of us who have been screwed by Citizens overdraft practices will be entitled to any settlement?...or know how we can get our share from Citizens??

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chssqn Feb 18, 2010

    I messed up this week. I deposited a check on Saturday thinking it was going to clear on Monday but forgeting that Monday was a holiday and a non-banking day. Well, after paying eleven bills online I found myself with eleven overdraft charges on Wednesday. That's $429 that I gave to Citizens bank all because I forgot my check wouldn't clear until after the holiday. Had my check cleared I would have had more than enough to clear my bills but this did not matter to anyone I spoke with. It seems to me their should be a cap on how many overdraft charges a bank can give for this type of mistake. Eleven!!!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruno1 Feb 23, 2010

    My Grand mother just got screwed out of over $300 dollars, and if she doesnt pay it in five days they will add another $39.99 to the fee, and another $39.99 fee in the next five days from that. She ended up using her ATM card for renting a couple of movies from red box at $1.00 each not knowing she had unnsuffient funds. As well as stopping by the dollar tree to pick up a couple of other things. All together ended up spending around $30 dollars . Well for every transaction she did she had to pay a $40 dollar overdraft fee and now is looking to pay over $300 because of it. She gets social security money which is directly deposited to here account and is her only income, that covers for her medications, rent, and living expenses, and now she is going to lose over half of it this month just because of one days misundersting and forgot she had no little to no money left.

    Isn't there any protection for senior citizens? From what she told me they were only suppose to charge her a $5.oo fee, but the rep told me that the rules have changed and that she should of got a letter in the mail telling her so, even though she never did.

    So I dont know what to do or who to go to. I find this to be insane considering the bank will not do anything to at all for her. The least they should do is wave a single fee. I was willing to help her and pay but i can't imagine so many other people that might of got robbed by Citizen and have no one to help them. So thats why I am on here. I want her voice and case to be heard. So no one else has to go through this injustice, especially those on fixed incomes. So if theres a lawsuit going on, or any way to fight this, please contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Garrett09 Feb 23, 2010

    I had a 4.70 overdraft fee and they made me deposit my 400 pay check. i called the next day, and they took the 69 over draft fee from which i got from the the 4.70 somehow and i had about 330 left. I got my gf a bracelet from nordstroms where i work for 149.00 and went to gamestop for 50.00. leaving around 130.00 than i got food which took it down to around 110.00 and i called to check the balance and it said 70.00! than i got a notice in the mail saying i didnt have enough money to cover the intial fee? i deposited 400 how isnt that enough and theres record of them taking it out. so i bought more food and had 59 left. I went to the bank and they couldnt help me, they said a manager would call me, so i deposited my lowsy 300.00 check and they said for securty reasons, i have could only get 50 cash and deposit the rest. i went home to make sure my balance was still 59.00 and it was gone, and i called customer sevice and they hung up on me! so i called agian the guy couldnt explain to me anything and had on idea were the 59.00 went and said to call back tommorow.now i cant go out to eat tonight for my girlfriends 2 year anneversery and i down a nice 140.00 from a 4.00 noverdraft which i paid! i have i could have vengance on them anyway i could i would but im only 18 i cant file a lawsuit agianst them. i hardly make any money and the try to take advantage of me because im young and screw me over. i hate citezens bank and hope they burn in hell =] if anyone has any idea of how to get any money at all back please email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marybeth G. Feb 24, 2010

    The bank has switched transactions in order to charge additional overdaft fees on numerous occasions

    -1 Votes
  • Gr
    Granny70245 Mar 06, 2010

    Citizen Bank is charging $40.00 for overdraft fee an a service charge of $38.00 . Which is a total of $78.00 dollars if you go over. Last month I got charged $78.00 for being .04 cents over drawn. This month I was charged again $78.00 for overdraft and service charges. I'm a 65 yr. old widow with diabetus and asthma. Now I can't afford to get my insulin. Please can anyone help me

    0 Votes
  • Re
    realitycheckgal633 Mar 06, 2010

    I wish I could offer you an advice in your favor but if I'm reading this right, it sounds like you have a bad habit of overdrafting your account. I've had an account with Citizens years ago and they're able to waive the fees as a one time courtesy but they can't help you if you can't help yourself. You need to take better care of your physical and financial health.

    Ask a supervisor to see if they're able to extend a courtesy waiver. If they can't: Pay your debt before you switch to another bank or credit union. Do your homework. Most places will state there is no "monthly service charge" but there may be miscellaneous charges like check orders, etc. Keep a register booklet like Maggie said.

    I hope your doctor gives you a big discount on your insulin but seek alternative therapeutic solutions at the same time. Eat better exercise and take your vitamins too. Good luck.

    -1 Votes
  • FireRam Mar 06, 2010

    Don't spend more than what you have. That will eliminate any and all overdraft fees/charges. Granted, that seems extremely excessive, BUT, if you watch your money, know what you have available, do not spend more than what you have, you will not present them with the opportunity to charge you any overdraft/insufficient funds charges.

    -1 Votes
  • On
    onlylooking Mar 11, 2010

    wow that just happened to me today, they let the purchases go though without funds being in there then charged 25.00 and next day another 37.00 total of 62.00 thats more then my purchases and offered me the same protection stuff no ty a big time rip off . they must do this on purpose to people will pay. anyone have any luck getting their fees back ????

    -1 Votes
  • On
    onlylooking Mar 11, 2010

    i told them that i would close this account and the other accounts we have with them and they didn't care, they don't care about their customers at all sucks

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rac2000 Mar 26, 2010

    Im looking to get on board with this class action lawsuit. I have gone through rough times and good time and been screwed the whole way. in the last 2 years, I have had over $6000.00 in over draft fees. No joke. Holding funds and processing them in the order they want to. Example. I have a $100 in account. I make a charges of $10, $20, $30, $90 in this order. I should only get 1 overdraft of $39.00. on the $90 charge. All the charges were on the same day, and they process the $90 first, and they I get 3 overdrafts for the remaining charges

    Please reply to this post and tell me contact info and I will jump on board ASAP

    Hooksett, NH

    0 Votes
  • An
    anothermadperson Mar 26, 2010

    They just did this to me. I wish I had printed out what I saw online as proof but when I called they had already changed it and wiped out the history and denied it. They also stacked transactions so a check would bounce. Pay goes in at midnight and they put the check through they said at midnight too but instead of putting my deposit first they put the check first and continued to charge me $38 in fees. They returned twice charged me fees, then a few days later took out the second return and showed they paid it a day later along with a ton of charges. I'm closing this account and just went back to PNC. From now on with any bank you are with if you notice activity online make a printout of it, save it, etc. so you have proof.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fallen2xl Mar 31, 2010

    so I too have the same problem: Two hundred and thirty something buck in overdraft fees for each transaction adding to about a dollar to a total of less than $10. FYI, each transaction was within a couple of hours on the same day. $230 in penalties for $10??? That's too excessive, and unjust! I definately was robbed by Citizen's!
    I called the bank and they offered no help.
    I planning to bring them to small claims court, but I'm also interested in that law suit that has already been filed. My email is: [email protected]
    Thanks and good luck everyone.

    -Eric(Derry, NH)

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    ddalpe Apr 06, 2010

    Citizens Sucks my son has an account an works part-time he made 2 purchases both totaling 6.00 he is being charged 78.00 in overdraft fees. I called them to see if I could settle the 6.00 0verdraft so he would not be charged. They told me no its already posted asked if they could waive the fees. They offered me overdraft protection gave all the information guess what he doesn't make enough - NO KIDDING he's a kid. I would love to get more information on any class action suit being complied against them. please contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rickyb44 Apr 07, 2010

    Same nonsense here, I was away on business and had an over draft total of 33 dollars... This caused an insufficient funds fee of 100, which led to another overdraft fee, and so on until I had totaled 500 dollars in overdraft fees... This in less than a four day period. The Bank reps were careless and downright rude. The bank is the worst I have ever dealt with and I work with money daily. I hope they go out of business. Please include me in any class action suit. Ohh forgot to mention that I had a pending cash transfer that they saw and allowed to sit pending while this took place. Nice of them right?

    [email protected]

    Wish you all the best!

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tired of the ripoff Apr 09, 2010

    I have also had the displeasurable experience of being robbed by Citizens. There is a website for the Office Controller of Currency which overseas Citizens because it is a national bank. (RBS Citizens National Association is there official name) The website is: www.helpwithmybank.gov
    PLEASE file a complaint if you have experienced any underhanded banking fees/charges assessed against you by this bank. In March of this year the federal courts ruled on exactly this type of banking robbery and ruled AGAINST the banks involved. Unfortunately Citizens was not named in this class action suit but it should have been. It will take multiple people all with the same dispute to make a difference and make Citizens accountable for this thievery.
    In doing my research I discovered (actually was told by the branch manager at the east side of Providence branch, Ron Bouchard) that debits are deducted before deposits are entered and that the bank starts with the highest debit amount FIRST!
    Good luck to all including myself! If you have any questions/answers please email me at [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Laclair Apr 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i over drafted 3 times totalling 14 dollars and was charged 4 over drafts? For a total of 156. I then deposited a check for 250. The next day it showed on my account online the check had cleared and was NOT IN THE PENDING TRANSACTIONS AREA. I bought gas and apparently it hadn't clear and i was charged another over draft. This is ridiculous. They have taken thousands of dollars from me over the years and don't care... I hope we can get this suit won... Any info email me at [email protected] thank you
    David Beverly MA

    1 Votes
  • Rk
    rkh54 Apr 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LadyScot, if that is who you really are, past employees of Citizens have come forward to tell the inside story of how the bank has manipulated 'debit and credit' dates and times to add extra overdraft fees. I have a mailed statement from the bank stating certain debit and credit dates that do not correspond to the certified time and dates from other institutes. People on fixed income and set deposit dates have had this manipulation put them in serious financial jeopardy. It is well known that a bank will tally at the end of the day from largest debit to smallest and then put in the deposit thus creating overdrafts. Citizens bank has manipulated transactions days and sometimes weeks to get extra overdraft fees. Citizens Bank has taken what other banks are doing to a new low.

    1 Votes
  • Rk
    rkh54 Apr 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LadyScott, read the posts!!! We all have seen the results of debits days later. Citizens will put a debit in 'Outstanding Authorizations and Funds on Hold' yet the merchant has already submitted the charge. I have a charge that was submitted by a merchant on Tuesday the 27th and it is now showing in the 'Outstanding Authorizations and Funds on Hold' with a B. For the sake of all of us who are getting scammed, PLEASE DO NOT SPEAK OF WHAT YOU DO NOT HAVE ANY REAL KNOWLEDGE OF!!!

    1 Votes
  • Rk
    rkh54 Apr 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I missed the end of this sentence;
    I have a charge that was submitted by a merchant on Tuesday the 27th and it is now showing in the 'Outstanding Authorizations and Funds on Hold' with a post date of tomorrow the 29th.

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    Apexpro May 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing happened to me! I guarantee they would have stopped any charge over $39. I guess they need to make money somehow. Thieves!!! It will catch up with them

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    Apexpro May 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me. I guarantee they would have blocked any charge over $39. Thieves! It will catch up with them at some point

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wilhoitw1966 May 08, 2010

    I also got charged overdraft feestwo times by citizens. the last time they charged me 4 charges for a total of $148 even a check was recently put in the bank which would cover the debits but because funds were not available was charged the fees and they refused to remove them. the last time had 5 for a total of $125 of which they only removed $25 but they changed how the money came in to maximize what should of been 1 overdraft to 5. I would like in on the lawsuit if its not too late. I emailed one from earlier.

    1 Votes
  • Rk
    rkh54 May 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LadyScot, it has already been proven you do not know what you are talking about.
    Leave this complaint to those that have true knowledge of what is going on. We will not divulge our financial details here. I have already stated enough without giving details to prove Citizens is not posting debits and credit per their own statements.
    PLEASE STOP SHOWING YOUR IGNORANCE!!!

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wilhoitw1966 May 10, 2010

    ladyscott,

    what you don't get is the reason they give as to why the money is not available is because they don't know if the check will clear yet on the flip side they don't use this same tactic on debits as they are charged even before it is shown to be legit. I have done business with many banks and this is the first that I have seen to charge an od just because their rule says the money isn't available. also understand they change how the money comes in to maximize the od fee.

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wilhoitw1966 May 10, 2010

    lady scott,

    yes I would agree most post from largest to smallest but does that make it right? but citizens is the only one I have done business with (and have been banking well over 40 years) that charges an od fee even you have an uncleared check to cover the debits they go negative then wait till check clears then fix it after the fact that isn't what they did. this is not about people not being able to manage their finances but rather the unfair tactics that banks use to maximize an od fee. this is nothing more then stealing from the customer. I can see an od draft fee if they don't have the money in there but this is not what happened as it is just a bank rule that causes the od fee. as far as the emergency excuse you are using it don't hold up as many would nopt want to spend $50 for $13 in gas. I personally have multiple accounts for diferent reasons which I'm not going to go into fact is it is bank rules that are causing many of the od fees and just cause they say this is how it is doesn't make it right.

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wilhoitw1966 May 10, 2010

    how do we get in on the classaction lawsuit? my email is [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    wilhoitw1966 May 10, 2010

    we need to report them to the bbb and the banking commision I will be doing this.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.