The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
CitifinancialScam and rip off

C

I am a customer of rooms-to-go and citi financial. On 8-13-06 I purchased items from rooms-to-go totaling $1534.93 which was not due until 1-14-08. On 9-23-06 I purchased items for $2216.96 not due until 4-14-08. On 1-13-07 I purchased items for $639.97 not due until 1-14-09. Total due as of 4/2008 was $3751.89, plus two months of interest and fees of about $117.00 equal a grand total of $3868.89.

In march of 2008 I sent a cashiers check to citi financial attempting to pay the entire amount of $3868.89 off and in full. The check that I mailed was for $4392.00, which left $523.11 to be applied to the amount not owed until [protected]. This should have left an amount around $116.86 which would not be due until january of 2009 in accordance with their promotion.

Instead of applying payment to all amounts owed for the 2008 charges citi financial took it upon themselves to apply only part of all but about $1.70 of what was due for 2008 and all but about $95.81 of what was due in 2009.

Further, citi financial raised my apr to 263.16% and 277.83% for the two 2008 balances which is completely unethical.

I have attempted to correct this error that citi financial employees have admitted is an error on the behalf of citi financial. The employees state they cannot help me and constantly refer me to another person. After six attempts I am being told that I have to give citi permission to fix their mistake. I am told that I should have caught their error four months ago and called then, and "now it is too late. " I am told if I don't agree I can file a complaint, but they will not refer me to an address or telephone number to file the complaint. They told me I can send a fax letter telling my story but will not allow me to follow up on the fax.

My account is now delinquent and past due as a result of citi financials actions. I have also attempted to ask rooms-to-go for assistance, but they have refused.

My account has been blocked and citi is demanding payment.

Final point, the total amount I paid in march 2008 was much greater than the amount I owed up until january 2009. The account should not have any amount due at this time and citi financial states they cannot correct the error. Citi financial states my only option is to pay them the amount due as they have determined even in view of their admission of the error.

8-13-06 purchased 1184.95 (No interest/payment until 1/2008)
8-13-06 purchased 349.98 (No interest/payment until 1/2008)
9-23-06 purchased 2216.96 (No interest/payment until 4/2008)
1-13-07 purchased 639.97 (No interest/payment until 1/2009)

1-14-08 minimum payment came due for the first two purchased, plus interest and fees (About $117.00 in interest and fees).

March 2008 total due minus what was due starting january 2009 was around $3868.89. In march 2008 I paid citi financial $4392.00, leaving a balance of $116.86 which should still be covered under their "no interest/no payment" plan until january 2009.

Again, citi financial is refusing to correct their error. Several dollars in fees and interest have now been added to my account. And, my account is delinquent!

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.