Menu
CarTrawler Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts

CarTrawler
reviews and complaints

www.cartrawler.com
www.cartrawler.com

Learn how the rating is calculated

1.1 467 Reviews

How responsive is CarTrawler's customer service?

12 Resolved
455 Unresolved
Very poor 🤒
We don't know much about how CarTrawler handles customer complaints outside ComplaintsBoard, but what we see here, on our website, is quite disappointing. We think there might be reasons for the company's actions (like not knowing about the complaints), and we would be happy to see them among customer-focused businesses that easily solve customer problems. But until that happens, we ask reviewers to be cautious when dealing with CarTrawler and using their services, and to carefully read the experiences of other customers on ComplaintsBoard, because who is warned is armed, you know! 💪
Verified
The authenticity of the customer service contact information for CarTrawler has been meticulously verified by representatives from ComplaintsBoard using our proprietary verification system.
Share
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews
Write a review File a complaint

CarTrawler reviews and complaints 467

Sort by:

Newest CarTrawler reviews and complaints

ComplaintsBoard
A
11:15 am EDT

CarTrawler auto rental

I requested a car rental made on 2/17/18 for pickup in Zurich. I have several times tried to cancel this rental and not sure if I was successful as I have had no notice or a return of my deposit! The pickup date is 5/23/18. I would appreciate a reply. Thank you. Please respond to my email address. [protected]@gmail.com. We have made other plans and do not needs car.
Would really like to see my payment of $25.00 returned
Alice Veraguth

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
E
3:37 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler unauthorized credit card charges

Booking Reference ES [protected] Elizabeth Stuart.
Confirmation no. 12GJ5X
30 Nov 2017
Aeropuerto Lanzarote, T1, Playa Honda, San Bartolomé, 35509, Lanzarote
16:40
Desk telephone no.
0034 [protected] / [protected]
14 Dec 2017
Aeropuerto Lanzarote, T1, Playa Honda, San Bartolomé, 35509, Lanzarote
05:20
Please note that due to my travel arrangements and a poor postal system the following issue has come to light.
On 14 November I paid €173, 11 for the above referenced car hire.
I notice from bank credit card details that the following money was also deducted:
On 1 December €100 / £88.39 was deducted.
On 15 December €40 / £35.37 was deducted.
I have no recollection of authorising these payments and would like clarification please.
Elizabeth Stuart

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
8:01 am EDT

CarTrawler car rental

I put a name not on the credit card when I made the reservation. When I tried to edit the driver name later in your web, it showed the request is sent but even after 48 hours, nothing updated and no confirmation email is received. My email is rudy.ws.[protected]@pccw.com. Booking no th879038320. I have tried it at least 4 times but the driver name never changed. I will pick up the car next Thu so pls act quickly.

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
A
5:38 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler cancellation refund

ref: IE900349280 march 1, 2018
This booking had to be cancelled due to snow storm and cancellation of the Aer Lingus flight from Paris (booking ref 2R6TEF) also on March 1. Booking cancelled directly on website. Impossible to join any Aer Lingus staff directly as phone calls remained unanswered (staff not available due to weather conditions. I was expecting this cancellation to automatically generate a refund. As this has not happened, am now requesting a confirmation as to when this cancellation will be refunded.
Thank you
Mary OSullivan

Read full review of CarTrawler
View 0 more photos
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
D
5:53 am EST

CarTrawler poor contact and poor service

Dear,

I' ve tried many times to reach you by phone but unfortunately without success because the company is very poor to reach.
I' ve tried to send you a reaction on an email msg which I received from you, but this is not possible, due to the use of a noreply mail address by your company and could no find any other on your site,

Anyway this is my complaint: concerning bookingnr: ES855716640

I have never finished this booking, which is offered/pushed to me via Transavia.com
How is it possible that you've charged me for a booking which I' ve never made or asked for.
I urgently ask  you to refund the amount of 24, 51 euro to my credit card
How can you charge me, without my permission?

I do no appreciate this way of working, and consider this to be very customer unfriendly.

Awaiting your reply

Kind regards
Mr Ajgou

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
7:02 am EST

CarTrawler reservation - it908216240 - cancellation

Dear Sir, Madam,

I have received the cancellation notice but no refund, I had this email instead which seems to be a new reservation which I did not make..

This booking (ref. IT908216240) has been made on Sunday afternoon, not knowing if we will have a car available on Monday morning at 4am; we have cancelled it 20 minutes later.

Best regards
Kalia Tayeb

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
A
5:08 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler location de voiture à algéciras (espagne) le 17 février à 14h

Bonjour,
Le vendredi 16 Fevrier, j'ai effectue une reservation pour une 208 retirer Algeciras en Espagne 14h le samedi 17 Fevrier. Numero de la reservation : ES901967920. Confirmation N° H57931083C2.
Pour information, l'agence du loueur ferme 14h le samedi (de plus, dans l'email de confirmation de reservation, il est note que l'agence ferme 14h30...). Etant au Maroc Tanger, nous avons du prendre le ferry avec une arrivee prevue 13h30 la gare maritime d'Algeciras avec 30 minutes de battement pour se rendre l'agence et recuperer la voiture. Cependant, le ferry etait en [censor] et nous sommes arrive au port 13h50. J'ai donc appele le numero de l'agence bien specifie dans vos conditions mais personne n'a repondu (pour prevenir du [censor]) et j'ai envoye un message sur ce mme numero. Je precise que j'ai bien appele avant 14h avant la fermeture de l'agence (donc qui etait encore censee être ouverte). La dessus, je me suis rendu l'agence et je suis arrive vers 14h05 mais elle etait dej fermee... Je demande donc le remboursement des 89.98 euros de la voiture que je n'ai donc pas eu car j'ai bien passe le coup de fil avant 14h. Je peux vous envoyer les photos des heures d'appel pour justificatif.

Merci de me donner une reponse positive,

Cordialement,

Alexis Burette.
burette. [protected]@gmail.com

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
3:58 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler interrent

Monsieur ramdan julian
35 bd Thibaud de champagne
77600 bussy st Georges
Confirmation N [protected]
Numéro de bon location
FR902357200
Date du 18/02/18 au 04/03/18

Tel:0033/[protected]

À

Cartrawaler

Madame monsieur

Suite à plusieur appel sur votre plateforme qui répond jamais, j'ai effectué une location auto sur l'agance rentlcar Roissy CDG, je vous signale avoir été facturé en plus de 209 e des frais de jeune qui est facturé sur mon contrat de 60 e malgre tous les documents fournis et la CB visa à jour pourquoi cela n'a pas été respecté comme les thermes du contrat selon agance les frais augmenter, je vous demande de me rembourser la somme de 150 e qui correspond à la surfacturation, je le suis rapproché de mon conseiller juridique pour une éventuelle procédure si le remboursement ne ce fait pas dans les 5 jours, merci de régulariser la situation.

Bussy saint Georges le 19/02/18

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
5:04 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler car hire refund

Ref [protected]/ ES [protected] Good morning I hire a car via Ryanair with your goodselves on the 31st of December 2017 until 6thJanuary 2018 at Valencia airport Spain when returning the car all was in order and was assured that all refunds would be returned to my bank account as yet nothing has been returned could you advise kindest regards Mr Keith Salisbury.

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
T
3:49 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler payment not received

Dear Sir / Madam,

When I came Israel and Ben Gurion airport to Hertz to rent my KIA Sorento July 2-2017 that I ordered they started out by giving me a Nissan Qash Qai.

I told them that I ordered a KIA Sorento or similar. I insisted telling them that its not the same size as the Sorento. We then called Car Trawler together to check with them.

Car Trawler then confirmed that I was right and that the Qash Qai was not the same type of car that I have ordered. I then got the Honda CRV instead, this car would normally cost 700 USD more but I got it for the same price as they have made a mistake, and they told us that I didn't have to pay for the difference, this was told both to me and the manager working at Hertz July 2.

When I came home you have charged me additional 700 USD anyway.

Please also see the answer from Hertz below that confirm that I am entitled to the refund promised by you! Also attached rental agreement.

Best regards,
Tommy Wiorek
phone: +[protected]

Dear Mr. Wiorek,

Thank you for contacting Hertz customer service in Israel.

We have contacted the rental branch, and asked them to look into the matter.

According to the branch, the reservation you arrived with from Car Trawler indicated that the car you had booked was from group Q, and would be a Kia Sorento or similar.

However, the vehicles we have from group Q are a Hyundai Tucson, Nissan Qashqai or a Kia Sportage.

As you were guaranteed a larger vehicle when you placed your reservation from Car Trawler, an upgrade to a Volvo XC60 for $100 per day instead of $140 was offered.

Since you did not agree, they offered a Honda CRV, which should be $68 per day; however, the staff was able to lower the price to $15 per day.

Afterwards, we understand that you called the Car Trawler agency along with the staff at the branch, and they found that you were given incorrect information regarding the type of car you will receive.

Since Car Trawler realized that this was a mistake on their part, it was decided that they will issue a refund for the upgrade.

Due to this reason, you were charged $50 per day for the upgrade to a Honda CRV, which the Car Trawler agency has confirmed they will be reimbursing you for.

Please contact Car Trawler in order to receive the refund for the upgrade, in accordance to the information they gave when the branch spoke to them on July 2nd.

I have attached the rental agreement for your review.

Best regards,

Maya Goldian
Customer service centre representative

Hertz licensee for Israel (Kesher-Rent a Car) | | lod
Phone: +[protected]|Fax: [protected]
E-Mail: [protected]@HERTZ.CO.IL|

Read full review of CarTrawler
View 0 more photos
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
H
7:24 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler paid for car but they had none

I reserved and paid for a rental van trough Hotels.com on October 11, 2017 for a van in Zihuatenejo, Mexico for January3rd 2018 through January 11th 2018

I arrived at the airport in Zihuatehejo on Jan 3rd and when to the rental company Europcar and handed him my reservation, he said he see's my reservation please wait, after 20 min I was directed across the parking lot to the main office where I was informed not only did they not have my van but had No Car cars available at all and didn't know when they would, I immediately called the site I booked through at their customer service number [protected] where after explaining the problem I was told they had to have a car for me over and over, when I explained they had no cars I was put on hold for 15 minutes, when the agent came back she told me I would get a refund as they couldn't help me
So instead of paying triple for a rental from a different company we took a cab to our hotel and around the city for our vacation

After 4 days I called and inquired why I didn't have a refund yet and I was told I had to file a special request because it was after my booking, I informed her they had no cars and I called from the airport to their company and was told I would get a refund she said they had no record of it and I had to file a special request

I filed the request and I have attached the answer I received from them
Basically the company practices fraud
here is what they sent me after a month

Thank you very much for your correspondence. I am sorry to learn that you were unable to use the reservation you have made through CarTrawler.

Unfortunately, we will not be able to offer you a refund of the deposit on this occasion. Please be advised that as per the agreed terms and conditions, we are unable to offer a refund of the deposit in case you do not collect your vehicle at the desk:

"If you make a booking but do not collect the vehicle, no funds will be reimbursed"

Please note that if you collect or return your vehicle outside the pick-up/drop-off time and date booked, additional charges may be applicable. Please also note that the vehicle may not be available if you arrive late to the rental desk. If the vehicle is not released due to a late arrival no funds will be reimbursed.

I am sorry that we are unable to provide the solution you were hoping for on this occasion and I apologise for any inconvenience caused by this matter.

Kindest Regards,
Luke

CarTrawler Customer Care

How can you collect a car if the rental agency HAS NO CARS

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
X
3:22 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler car was not delivered

This is a scam, the company at first did not want to deliver the car as I was told (they are close today Friday and will not open) then couple hours they open told me will deliver the car then I handled my credit card for the deposit.
The agent ran the card 3 times and keep saying "no sufficient funds" I told him it's impossible I have the fund he refused and insisted that I bring the deposit in cash.
But he forgot that if "no sufficient balance" 3 things must happened :
1. A print from the machine showing the "no sufficient funds" message.
2. A message from my bank to indicate that the transaction failed.
3. The machine took very long time to process my credit card which is an indication of no Internet connections not else.

Still I ask the guy to try to use next door office machine instead but refused.

I knew that It's a scam because the price was outrageously cheap around $65 for 2 weeks and I've already called this office to confirm booking and car availability and the same agent confirmed my booking.

I went to another rental agency and rented a car at the triple price using the same credit card.
I contacted my bank and confirmed that there was enough funds and tried to get refund from Rhodium but they refused. Requiring evidence that there was sufficient funds
So be aware all travelers if this happened to you don't leave the agency without a written statement that the reason was "no sufficient funds".
Be aware don't rent from them at all.

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
12:34 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler airport transfer that never arrived

I booked and paid for transfer from my hotel to JFK on January 1, 2018. I received confirmation email with the required ref numbers. However on the day of my flight which was on January 3, 2018 no one arrived to take me to the airport. I called the help desk and was told that no driver was allocated to take me to the airport. i was forced to make alternative arrangement at my inconvenience and cost.

I need a refund...the booking number is as follows: US866132200

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
P
8:04 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler cancel reservation.

Hi,
I have a reservation MA856801080 and I cancelled it days ago.
Is the payment back to my credit card or bank account?
Thanks.
My email is
[protected]@hotmail.com
[protected]@gmail.com
My Phone is
+[protected]
We did the reservation on Expedia searching engine.
And the website link to your service.
We think the price is good, however we decide to visit in another way.

Read full review of CarTrawler
Update by pipikachu
Jan 15, 2018 8:43 pm EST

Please help me to close this article.
Thanks

Update by pipikachu
Jan 15, 2018 8:42 pm EST

I got the payment to my credit card.
Thanks

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
T
1:12 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler refund

Hi,

LOCATION collect car : Regensburg, Germany

Due on that day 430pm I go to EUROPCAR collect car, service counter inform me due Germany government rules & I stay here more than 90 day is need to apply Germany type of driving lessen.
So EUROPCAR not give me a car.

So I would like to check with Expedite (carter), when I can get my money refund?

Car hire booking confirmation - Ref: DE844418280

Booking Reference Number: DE844418280
Confirmation no. [protected]

my info:
[protected]@hotmail.com

Thanks

Read full review of CarTrawler and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
A
A
Adileen Ohanaja
, US
Jan 29, 2018 1:52 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I reserved a and SUV to be picked up on 1/26/18 Thrifty located at Medical Center, Houston Texas. I did not pick up the car because that location did have any cars available and were not sure if they will any cars that day before closing. My confirmation number is US885484160 and my reference number is H5571500433, I prepaid and want my refund back. The agent at this location has always been nice and he was very apologetic and kind the whole time, we rent from this location all the time because of his customer relations.
My name is Adileen Ohanaja and I can be reached at [protected] and my email is ngozione@gmail.com.
Thanks.

ComplaintsBoard
N
11:54 am EST

CarTrawler unauthorized debit of credit card by 159 euros 3 months after car rental return

Cartrawler reference number IT775602170

I lodge a complaint regarding the debit of my Visa credit card on 13th December 2017 for the sum of EUR 159.00 by Dimamica Trade Cagliari, Italy, for Target Rent.

Please explain what this debit more than 3 months after the return of the car on 6th September 2017 given that I had paid for full insurance coverage with Axa . I expect a reimbursement of this sum.

Yours sincerely,
Roderick J. LAWRENCE

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
10:24 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler car hire

I hired a car with Alamo through your company. I am owed a refund for the GPS which didn't work. I contacted Alamo customer services and they said you need to contact their Tour department to request a refund.
rental agreement #[protected] reference number for the incident [protected]

Booking number with you US808677480
pick up 26th September 2017 at 15:00
drop off 7th October 2017 at 12:30
Address: 23842, E 78th Avenue, Denver 80249, USA

Platinum package £123.19
car hire £343.64
additional cover £66.11
Paid £532.94

Could you get in touch with Alamo
Thank you kind regards

Sarah Moon

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
9:18 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler invoice

rent a car 14/10-17/10 2017 Lyon airport France
charge my credit card 160, 80€
I need invoice for my company
till today no answer
I have sent e mail more times - no answer
my email: [protected]@gmail.com

booking confirmation FR820115680

INVOICE for name of comp
Slovenske liečebne kupele Piešťany, a.s.
Winterova 29
Piešťany
ICO: [protected]

maria turjanikova

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
P
7:03 am EST

CarTrawler unauthorized card charges and cancellation of insurance without consent

I made a reservation of car in Malaga, Spain via Ryanair Car-hire. During reservation I was clearly told that all I have to pay is 100PLN now and the rest (for car hire and whole insurance fee) until Jan 7th, 2018.
I had to enter my credit card details and submit. Then it turned out that they took payment for insurance as well (282, 01 instead of 100). After complaint they returned the money back, but now my car hire hasn't insurance and I cannot add it whatsoever. They claim that I resigned from insurance, which is not the case. I want that insurance, just they should follow their offer - I had to pay for it later, not half year in advance. They tell me that I can cancel whole reservation for a fee and make it again. But it wasn't me who didn't fullfill the agreement.

Read full review of CarTrawler
View 0 more photos
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
4:08 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

CarTrawler refund for voucher not used

Booking nbr : AN790860610 Name: José SOBRAL
Pick-up St Maarten Airport 29 Mar 2017/14.00
Drop-off St Maarten Airport 12 Apr 2017/10.00
CarTrawler Ref: [protected]
Since that date I'm waiting for your refund! (USD 462.09 - EUR 427.71)
After landing at SXM, I came up to the kiosk showing the Car Trawler logo and the agent sent me to the shuttle outside going to the rental car office.
The driver dropped us to "Francine's Rentals.
When we shew the voucher to the lady, she looked at her list and apparently saw our name, but said that she didn't work with voucher. We were a bit surprised but as far as she gave the guaranty that we'll not be charged on the web, we accepted to pay when we returned the car.
Unfortunately when we came back home we saw that our AX card had been debited by your company...
So as far as we have been misleaded by "your" agent at SXM Airport because as I understood after, apparently he sent us to the wrong rental car, (but how could we know?...) I'm requesting you the refund of your voucher that we never used!
If it is difficult for you, I can accept another voucher for a next rental car.
But definetly I'm waiting for your positive answer
Regards
José Sobral
PS: for your information I'm still waiting for your answer to your mail dated 23may17 in which you said: "as soon as we have a resolution we will be in contact with you"

Read full review of CarTrawler
Hide full review
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service

Contact CarTrawler customer service

Phone numbers

+353 14 999 600 +44 203 582 8218 More phone numbers

Website

www.cartrawler.com

Our Commitment

We stand for unbiased reviews

We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.

We help resolving issues

We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.

We advocate freedom of speech

We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)

We ensure transparent and fair ratings

Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.

We care about your privacy

Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.

We are easy, free and open to everyone

Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.

Is ComplaintsBoard.com associated with CarTrawler?

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with CarTrawler Customer Service. Initial CarTrawler complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for CarTrawler above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about CarTrawler. Discuss the issues you have had with CarTrawler and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.