Big Lotsdeclined check!

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

On 03/01/08 my wife was shopping at Big Lots, and purchased a few items. She wrote a check and had valid Id. The check was declined, she was given a piece of paper with the phone number of certegy on it... she called and they advised here it was declined due to the elevated security. We have money in our account and will not EVER do business at that store again. This experience is a total embarrassment and is very humiliating.

Responses

  • Vo
    Voice of Healthy Septicism Dec 21, 2009

    Certegy denied even having anything to do with Best Buy, though it's clear to me from my own research that they indeed service Best Buy. Another interesting phenomenon that has not escaped my notice is that these checking-approval services refuse to give you a list of the companies that they service. They often tend to claim that these firms (stores) wish to preserve "confidentiality"-an assertion that (if one has chosen a good service of whom one can be proud) is preposterous to say the least. What are these people, financial cowards? I wonder of what companies (existing clientele) they would boast were I to check out the quality of their firm's services as a potential business looking to take on these services. Then, they'd probably babble on and on about how they service compaines such as "Bed, Bath, and Beyond, T.J. Maxx, and John Doe's Sporting Goods"! It makes one wonder who really is controlling our financial information. One thing's for sure, they certainly are able to stay hidden and protected-does this seem wrong to anyone else out there?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lildarlin1 Jan 16, 2009

    I have had the same thing happen to me, and a lot of companys all use the same credit organization. So if you have a problem with a check in any of the stores that they handle it will void out all checks in all the businesses they do business with. Until you call that number and find out if you have a bad check at another and take care of it, you will not be able to write checks with them.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Nov 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Agreed, big lots sucks. The cashier probably did something wrong, I was in big lots a couple times and noticed that no one that works there seems to know anything. I too will not go into another big lots store. That sucks that happened to you. Since the other posters are "certegy experts" and know every single possible thing about it then they HAVE to be 100% right and know everything. What it boils down to is you wrote a valid check and someone else ###ed up. Its not your fault.

    -1 Votes
  • Zo
    zoey Jul 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i forgot to add that elevated security isnt a reason they decline checks.they would have to call in an approval...because of elevated security(amount of purchase, past problems, etc)9 out of 10 times its because maybe 7 years ago u wrote a check and had problems...get it?still not big lots fault

    0 Votes
  • Zo
    zoey Jul 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    all retail stores go through a check and credit card service.i am an assistant manager at a retail store that also uses certegy.If your check was declined it usually means you had problems with either certegy or another company, whether resolved or not.big lots gave you a slip with certegy;s # on it so you can clear it up .Certegy will tell you why it was declined and what you need to do to fix it.Although it may have been embarrassing, it really is of no fault of big lots.Certegy is one of the main check -checking companies...if you dont find out why it was declined i gaurentee you will have problems in the future

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Apr 24, 2008

    It's not the stores fault your check was declined. Guess you might as well stop shopping at all the other stores that use certegy too.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.