The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Be2theft, unethical practices, scamming

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This site appears to aid and abet the action of on-line dating scammers. I was on this site and received some messages, which unless you are a member you can not access (read or send). I joined the site (6 month membership) and found that 100% of the messages were from scammers and fakes. I immediately contacted the company to complain and to ask about canceling my membership, and getting a refund (with a penalty payment or charge for time used).
The company, delayed responding to me fully until after my money had cleared the credit-card system, then refused to refund my money saying, using the service was acceptance of the entire 6 months membership. Since being on the site is required to subscribe, this happens automatically.

When I complained further to the company, my email address was marked by them as spam! I do not think that this can be construed as the actions of a responsible, reputable business. I believe that obtaining money, by false advertising and dubious practices is unethical, and tantamount to theft. In their support of scammers, i.e. accepting subscription money (obtained fraudulently) from scammers, they are profiting from criminal acts.

I would advise people not to use this company under any circumstances.
Ceri Chisholm


291, route d’Arlon - L-1150 Luxembourg
Commercial Register Luxembourg, B 123206
Authorisation 118042/A
Managing Director: Laetitia Pateau

RESOLVED

I contacted Annabel.[protected]@be2.com and she was able to authorize a partial refund of my subscription. However, despite her insistence that this is a genuine dating site, 100% of the people who have contacted me on this site are scammers. AVOID BE2!

Responses

  • Fr
    Frans_44 Dec 11, 2009

    Le Conseil exécutif BE2 (NL) joue cacher!
    You cann't 'TRUST' them!
    Like they are acting: Look out !!!

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    clinton wilk Jul 25, 2011

    i am writing to u letting u know that i suspended my account with be2 some time ago and i was made aware that yesterday the 24/7/2011 be2 has taken $230 out of my account, i find this very disturbing that they can just take money anytime they want, i want my money back into my account asap

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Briggie Jul 28, 2011

    Hello Victoria

    I hope you dont mind but I wrote to the email address which you provided in your posting.
    Do please get in touch with me via e-mail so that I can assist you further.

    With kind regards

    Annabel Marshall
    Team Lead be2 Customer Services
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Briggie Jul 28, 2011

    Sorry, I should explain, that's what the be2 lady on here did to me, getting in touch like that, hope it's ok quoting her. I got what I wanted, thank God!

    0 Votes
  • Ic
    icedncer Jan 25, 2012

    I thought I was signing up for a 5.00 I month try offer. Till I check my bank and they had taken out 179.88 for a one year membership. That was not what I wanted. And they were very hard to get ahold of. I tried to use their costumer service hyperlink but it would not go through.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Calico1076 Apr 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid for a $5 month trial and now am getting mail from them saying I owe them...I refuse to pay them as it is crap. A few days after I signed up I read that they were taking the six month payment before you have a chance to see if you want it. I cancelled my credit card so they would not be able to charge me for something I did not want. That is the only way you can refuse to pay these creeps. I have received emails from them that they are going to send their collections dept. on me. Whatever!

    1 Votes
  • Wt
    wtf74 Mar 26, 2014

    I tried to bring this company to justice, but was told by the police that it is very had to do so. Which is disgusting, they were trying to scam, as well as the thousands of other people all over the world. As far as I can tell the only country to take a stand against them was Denmark. I still receiving marketing info from them and they are using my picture on there site. Disgusting!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ow
    Owe Feb 18, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have today written a mail to the company to complain of exact same issues you pointed out. I found this out after paying for 6 months. So they scam me of my hard earned money. Wish I read this post before now. It is disgusting to set up a dating site with 100% scammers in mind. All the numerous mails I get on daily basis are from scammers. Some of them like Sandraroos28 use different profile, different picture, different city every day. It tells me that Laetitia Pateau and her gang are the once doing this, or are encouraging this to happen.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stonegem Sep 06, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi

    This site is a total scam!! Im so glad to read i am not the only one who fell into the same trap. I nearly died when a payment of 179 left my bank account unexpectedly. I signed up and paid what i thought was a once off €5 charge . Never used it as i felt alot of profiles were false so i actually took my pics down. I have just sent an email to a contact I seen on this so please god i will get refunded as iv been getting nowhere with the cust service team!!!

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    Feeelyou Sep 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    11 sep 2015 kl. 10:09 skrev be2 Customer Service :

    Hei [email protected],

    Dessverre er en tilbaketrekkning fra kontrakten din ikke lengre mulig. Dette er fordi du allerede har benyttet deg av våre kostnadspliktige tjenester og har hatt kontakt med dine partneranbefalinger.

    Vi har nå sagt opp din kontrakt for deg slik at du unngår en fornyelse av ditt premiummedlemskap. Ditt premiummedlemskap løper ut den 10.12.2015 og det vil ikke bli fornyet etter denne datoen.


    Vennligst informer deg med hva som står på FAQ-siden før du kontakter kundeservice. Dette er som regel den raskesteste måten for å få svar på sine spørsmål.

    Vennlig hilsen
    be2-kundeservice
    ____________________
    Email: [email protected]
    www.be2.no

    be2 S.à.r.l., 291, Route d'Arlon, 1150 Luxembourg
    Commercial Register : B123206
    Managing Director : Laetitia Pateau


    09/10/2015 15:30 - Nema Deen wrote:
    Jeg vil gå fra kontrakten med dere. Nema Toulie Deen. Kjøpt 10-09-2015 for 3
    måneds medlemskap Profile name: Nema. Vennligst betale tilbake pengene til min
    mastercard. Takk

    Skickat från min iPhone

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Feeelyou Sep 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, am writing to tell you about my problems with your B2 dating service. I register 18-09-2015 and when I went and discovered that this service was not for me I sent a message inmediately and request a cancellation of my contract and this happened 10 minutes after I had registered. I have not contacted any mem on the website so I have to use any services. But I got an email back refusing to credit me back my money even though it says on your site that there is a 14 day grace period. Firstly, it never said that you guys take 3 months from my account. I thought you guys were going to take money every month and not all at once. Am a single mum and cannot afford you guys did to me I have attached all info between me and B2.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonjajo11 Jan 01, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have subscribed 6 months trial on the Be2 dating on 30 May 2015 and it has expired. I received a notice of demand via email on 02 Jan 2016. When the automatic payment deduction did not go through. I am very much surprised to receive the Notice of Demand. All the emails I received from the profiles on Be2 were fake and scams. So I stopped going to the website however I continued to receive emails requesting to reply however I never received any replies. It is an unethical practice because if the subscription ends they can only block the account instead of blackmailing the subscriber to make payment to continue the subscription and threaten with legal action using their terms and condition. Never came across a dating website which is as bad as this.

    1 Votes
  • Rb
    R.Basil May 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I joined this site to meet my soulmate only to meet someone who scammed me out of the majority of my savings. Is there some way one can find in the archives that member?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sagittaruis11 Mar 09, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When you are sincere and curious what is ahead, your mind is clouded, but your heart knows what you want. This site sucked my entire heart and gut, and had the pleasure of playing up a poor woman's vulnerability. Call it stupidity, it only takes a minute to check reviews, few days after checking the site, & lured to try, , , , i am now begging for the unauthorised money they took. Godbless you scammers, karma is just around the corner.

    0 Votes
  • 63
    63582 Jul 19, 2017

    i also got scammed, within 10 minutes of joining 2be dating i realised it was scam and email them to cancel my membership however a month later they took 179.94 out of my account also, and i am in contact with transaction dispute team, will i get my money back do you think?
    i am also going to change my account, not risking it again! like i worked hard for that and i'm just out of college also.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stephen ware Sep 07, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Received today from desk of be2
    Managing director : laetitia pateau
    It just gies into a bamboozle nonsense as to why and how they rip people off and scam them!
    Please read and be very very wary of be2
    Thanks for your message.

    On 06.09.2017 you paid for a 6 month premium membership plan for the total price of $239.76.

    This corresponds to a monthly/weekly amount of $9.99.

    When you purchased a premium membership, you saw the different options on the first payment page with the corresponding monthly amount (on the app it showed the weekly amount). this is so you can see that premium memberships with a longer term are cheaper in total. after you selected the length of your membership, you were directed to the payment details page.

    Before you entered your payment data, the weekly or monthly equivalents were displayed for a better overview but the amount was also shown as a single payment, see attached.

    We are sorry that you did not read the information about the full price to be paid.

    We're sorry that you don't want to continue your membership but a withdrawal from your contract and a related refund are not possible. our terms and conditions do not offer a refund for any unwanted or unused premium membership.

    However, we appreciate that you want to cancel your subscription and you can do this by sending an email attachment, fax or posted letter.

    However you choose to cancel, please make sure you clearly mention your email address and name so we can locate your account.

    By email:
    Send your signed and scanned cancellation letter as a pdf, jpg or gif back to this email address.

    By fax:
    Send your signed cancellation to:
    +61 [protected]

    By post:
    Send your signed cancellation letter to: be2 s.à. r. l, 13 rue du commerce, l-1351 luxembourg

    Important you must complete your cancellation at least 14 days before the renewal date of your subscription otherwise it will be renewed for a further period. (the date of your renewal is available under "settings", "your membership").

    Sincerely,
    Be2 customer service
    _
    Email: [email protected] au
    Http://www.be2.com.au/

    Be2 s.à. r. l. 13 rue du commerce, l-1351 luxembourg
    Commercial register: b123206
    Managing director : laetitia pateau
    Show quoted text
    I cancelled the paypal payment plus I lodged a complaint with paypal
    Show quoted text
    Nevertheless your payment system is definitely not clear.

    The internet is utterly littered with complaints against be2 and your scam tactics.

    I cancelled the payment I made through paypal and I have lodged a complaint about the tactics used to ruse people into believing they are paying $9.99 per month for 6 months not $237+

    I don't care what you say your company are lying cheating scammers as per be2 reviews all over the internet.

    As I also said, people would be more than happy to leave good or excellent reviews if you weren't liars but you choose to scam the public and one day you will have to pay for that choice..

    Hide quoted text

    On 7 sep. 2017 6:39 pm, "l
    I cancelled the paypal payment plus I lodged a complaint with paypal

    On 7 sep. 2017 6:29 pm,"be2 customer service"wrote:
    Hi stephen,

    Thanks for your message.

    On 06.09.2017 you paid for a 6 month premium membership plan for the total price of $239.76.

    This corresponds to a monthly/weekly amount of $9.99.

    When you purchased a premium membership, you saw the different options on the first payment page with the corresponding monthly amount (on the app it showed the weekly amount). this is so you can see that premium memberships with a longer term are cheaper in total. after you selected the length of your membership, you were directed to the payment details page.

    Before you entered your payment data, the weekly or monthly equivalents were displayed for a better overview but the amount was also shown as a single payment, see attached.

    We are sorry that you did not read the information about the full price to be paid.

    We're sorry that you don't want to continue your membership but a withdrawal from your contract and a related refund are not possible. our terms and conditions do not offer a refund for any unwanted or unused premium membership.

    However, we appreciate that you want to cancel your subscription and you can do this by sending an email attachment, fax or posted letter.

    However you choose to cancel, please make sure you clearly mention your email address and name so we can locate your account.

    By email:
    Send your signed and scanned cancellation letter as a pdf, jpg or gif back to this email address.

    By fax:
    Send your signed cancellation to:
    +61 [protected]

    By post:
    Send your signed cancellation letter to: be2 s.à. r. l, 13 rue du commerce, l-1351 luxembourg

    Important you must complete your cancellation at least 14 days before the renewal date of your subscription otherwise it will be renewed for a further period. (the date of your renewal is available under"settings","your membership").

    Sincerely,
    Be2 customer service
    _
    Email: [email protected] au
    Http://www.be2.com.au/

    Be2 s.à. r. l. 13 rue du commerce, l-1351 luxembourg
    Commercial register: b123206
    Managing director : laetitia pateau

    06/09/2017 10:00 - wrote:
    I purchased 6 months membership under the belief that I would be paying a total of $60.00.

    My paypal account receipt says I have been charged $239.76!

    Even at $15 per month for 6 months it comes to $90

    What's going on here?

    I am most upset!
    I am recently widowed and I cannot afford a payment like this!

    Please advise asap!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.