The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
AT&Tdoor to door sales

Several months ago a salesman came to our door. We politely said, "no thank you" after explaining to him we were already happy with the services we have contracted. He returned the next day. Apparently he did not take our answer for face value. Understandable, since sales are important. We politely said no again. He left. No problem.

A few days ago, another sales person returned to our house. My husband talked with her explaining that we were again happy with our current services and that we were not interested. She pushed a little harder but eventually left.

Today another saleswoman came to our door. I said no thank you. She left. Not one hour later she came back. I chose to ignore the door bell. She continued to ring the bell and actually yelled through my window for me to come talk to her.

I would appreciate it if they could stop sending sales people to our home. It has become harassing now. We have been clear with our answer. No Thank you. We are already phone service customers of theirs and it was over the top rude how we were treated.

Responses

  • Wa
    wartan Jan 14, 2010

    We had 2 people come by our place TWICE today. They were irritating and the gal with them was dressed like a freakin hooker for crying out loud. The guy saw me in the front yard and said "HEY..MR.x, I were notified that you left AT&T and..." I stopped him and said "I am not interested and I was never with AT&T"...he pressed on and I told him to get lost. AT&T...if you're going to send people out...AT LEAST make them look presentable and have AT&T clothing or SOMETHING to say "Hey, I'm a legit AT&T" person. I own my own IT company and I get FAR MORE complaints about AT&T service than ANY other provider...now they are getting ###s to represent them...don't thinks so. I mean have a little dignity in your company for goodness sake! Door-to-Door is going the way of the dodo...you either irritate people, or get clients that are unhappy with the way they got service. In ALL my dealings with AT&T, they suck!

    0 Votes
  • Jw
    jwdunwoody Jan 30, 2010

    We too have been visited by multiple AT&T reps. While the face to face call can be considered a nice touch, they are down right obnoxious. I've probably had 5 different AT&T reps come by my house, and all of them act like they are shocked I had already said "NO." It's clear they are trying to be as aggressive as possibe, even at the expense of losing customers, or in my case not winning the sale. The ironic part is I really despise my Comcast service but on sure principle I would NEVER switch to AT&T. I hate the aggressiveness displayed by their team. It is my hope that someone from AT&T leadership reads this and changs the strategy.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nandales Aug 18, 2010

    Something to share and hopefully you AT&T Internet DSL users will look into. After 4 hours of Outlook Express issues and phoning 4 AT&T DSL phone numbers to talk to tech support I learned that AT&T will not recognize Outlook Express anymore. You will be charged a fee for there support. You can pay a fee for one service fee or another choice is to pay a yearly fee for support. AT&T absolutely did not send any of there DSL users letters or emails indicating the change. Now the fun part, call Outlook Express and ask for support. This appears to be a independent company with rather rude individuals. Do they charge a tech support fee? Yes they do. The real question is who rules? By the way, I was able to finally find a solution to my issue and paid myself a tech support fee. You can bet I will write a lot of letters concerning this issue of "use my email sites" or I will bill you. The large companies are forgetting who pays there salaries. Change is not always a good thing.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nandales Aug 20, 2010

    I have the distinct feeling you work for AT&T. Know one in his right mind would accept non-communication. I find it interesting a AT&T Supervisor agreed with my thinking. This is all a "greed" issue, you pay my company, consumer get less.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    danadak Aug 21, 2010

    Actually Outlook (Outlook Express even more so) is a simple program to support. And it is the core
    program used in 99% of US email systems, just as windows is core OS. So if you are an email provider
    you need to support the primary program and how to set it up. Note the number of key necessary settings
    in either program to send of receive are on the order of 6 - 8 entries, not rocket science. So I would not defend
    any net email provider that could not set either program up. That’s a terrible business model for ATT
    to be using. Note most server mail systems are either Linux based on MS Win based, would ATT defend its inability to maintain its own server programs ? To not be able to deliver email to any program or account ? Of course not. Regards, Dana.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nandales Aug 21, 2010

    First thank you for being in the military, I might add that my husband spent 20 years in the Marine Corp as my son. You are right it does not make anyone a "freaking employee" because they defend AT&T. I have been with Outlook ever since it began email programs and again my complaint is against a company who took over bellsouth and who supported the Outlook tech support. Then approx a month ago AT&T decides they want you to support there site and starts charging for Outlook support. This has nothing to do with common sense it has to do with the right thing to do for there customers. Send a email with choices and changes. I pay for DSL and expect communication. I find it interesting AT&T put out a 23 page booklet with colored pages explaining there current plans. Television and newspaper ads but nothing states the changes in tech support. I believe AT&T has a responsibility to what the paying consumer wants. Purposely I called and talked to Supervisors plus the main phone number and know one could tell me that a email or letter was sent to notify the customers of there changes in tech support for Outlook. I had one Supervisor agree with me on all accounts. I call this a take-over of assumption. Regards, Nancy

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nandales Aug 23, 2010

    I will not defend
    any net email provider that can not set either Outlook or another program. AT&T this is a terrible business decision.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikey2 May 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ATT just put fiber optic in Leawood, KS, and they are sending out obnoxious and overly aggressive salesmen to pound on your door selling U-Verse. I've had 3 on my doorstep, had to tell the last one to leave. They do not have licenses to solicit, so you can call the police (if your town has rules), and have them sent away (if you are lucky). [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    D Man Jun 21, 2011

    When I call for assistance with DSL, the people want to charge me to help me. This happened on two prior occasions and I had to have a friend come to my residence and trouble shoot my problem on site. They had claimed it had to be done by them. Today it happened again with my Ipad, they wanted to charge me so I can use my DSL. I have used my Ipad on this network in the past. Guess I'm going to have to keep fooling with it myself or bother a friend again. Everything I'm using is AT&T, where's there pride? If they can't properly assist their customers, why should we do business with them. I attempted to write them, but they make that difficult also.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sure shot May 16, 2013

    Just tell them you're going out to pick up your new 12 gauge shotgun & a few hundred rounds of 3 inch magnum 00 buck shot . Tell them to come back in a while & you will be happy to interact with them.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    sk8erboi Jan 14, 2015

    I had two knock on my door last night after dark. Actually they *banged* on my door and rung my doorbell relentlessly. I thought it was a neighbor coming to tell me the building was on fire, it was that hard and loud of a knock. It was 2 people selling AT&T UVerse. I was so angry. They laughed at me and went to the next condo to do the same thing.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.