The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Access-A-Ridepoor service

L Review updated:

On Wednesday, 09/16/09, my mother made an appointment with Access-A-Ride for Thursday, 09/17/09 at 9:00 am to go to 1916 Park Ave in Harlem and then from there to 2 Lafayette Street in Manhattan. However, she could not go to 2 Lafayette Street in Manhattan because she was not feeling well. I called and explained to Access-A-Ride that my mother was not feeling well and that she cannot go to 2 Lafayette Street in Manhattan. Instead, she would like to go home. Access-A-Ride indicated to me that their policy is that if one makes an appointment to go to a certain destination, he/she cannot changed his/her mind to go to another destination for any reason. Access-A-Ride emphasize that they have to abide by their policy, and that cannot be changed.

Access-A-Ride was to return to 1916 Park Ave at 11:50 am, but no one came until 1:10 pm. When Access-A-Ride came, the driver was told to stop at the nearest train station, which was at 125th Street station in Harlem. I am extremely upset because they don't think about the well being of the customer, but about policy.

This was a very bad service. Can anything be done?

Responses

  • Yv
    Yvette T Oct 29, 2009

    I understand and have been more than distress by this service myself. Just recently in the rain I was kept waiting an 1 hour over pick up time which includes 30 minute window, over and over I was told the driver would be there in 15 minutes. I was hurting, hungry and tired!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penny Sherwin Apr 06, 2011

    My husband and myself have been denied twice by Access a Ride. He is on registry for transplant for 3 years. We have no money for taxies. Because of Nephrology problems he has a host of of other problems. It is painful to walk anywhere because of the neuropathy. He also has curbside eye weakness (two surgeries), hypertension with complications. The quality of life his diminished. He has had diabetes for 50 long years. People at Access a ride look at you and decide your fate. I am afraid without your service, he is missing doctor appointments-which can lead to losing his limbs and LIFE . He has end stage renal failure. PLEASE HELP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JennDR Jun 18, 2012

    This is the worst car service! It is a shame that people who depend on this transportation, who do not have other means of affordable transportation to be subjected to this kind of service. The majority of the persons using this service are either elderly, disabled or have health issues. I am a PCA who has accompanied a woman, which whom is receiving chemotherapy, to her treatments and we use this service. These has not been one trip that not has been faltered in some way. On one occasion the driver arrived at the address slowed down and did not stop in front of the pick location, he continued to go. The woman explained that she saw him from her window. When she called, they informed her that the driver said no one was waiting for him so he left. On our most recent event, They are not punctual at all. As I mentioned earlier, the persons that use this service are our elderly, disabled or are dealing with some health issues why then would you tell them you'll be there at a certain time and then show up 30 minutes later ... it is unfortunate that persons with those conditions to be waiting as long as they do. The other issues, which can be even more frustrating, is that the customer service at Access-a-ride is really horrible. They sound really unhappy with there work and it reflects when you speak with them on the phone. They customer service operators give attitude, do not explain things clearly and I have had experiences with them where the phone is hung up even before I finish. This program was created to assist those who needed transportation that do not otherwise have the means for other modes of transportation and it is poorly services and poorly organized. Whomever is managing this so called service she really analyze what in fact people are receiving!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Miguel Nolasco Jan 10, 2017

    @JennDR I'm a driver for global paratransit and I know how u feel I get treated really bad there at that company they expect me to work more than 10 hours a day without no brakes I'm sorry to hear about your story I wish there was a way to do something about it I need help myself make things right we do not have a union there so they're taking advantage of us.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chocolatetami Jun 15, 2018

    @JennDR And in 2018, nothing has changed

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chavonne Harris Jun 01, 2013

    On 5/31/2013 Access-A-Ride was suppose to pick me up to take me from Yonkers, N.Y. to the Bronx, N.Y. on 5/31/13 at 8:18 P.M., which they did, no problem. On the return, they was suppose to pick me up on 6/1/13 at 12:30 A.M. Please note the dates and time (which may have been the confusion) which I made specific when I made my reservation, P.M. and A.M. Needless to say they did not show up for my return. I really can't believe that this service can actually do business this way. If the tables were turned, and you are not present when they come to pick you up, there are all types of penalties. I really think that those that run this service, need some extensive training, because obviously they don't know what their doing.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Walden Jun 19, 2013

    My complaint is about getting to my doctors apointments on time. My doctors gave me a 5:30p.m. apointment on Tuesdays and Fridays. I seem to have never to make it on time with access a ride service. Then both of my doctor gave me a 6:00p.m. appointment on those days. I always get to them after 6:00p.m, what about, :6:35 or later. I f I could book appointments on Saturdays, I would, but I can't.. This has been going on for a long time, about a month. If this is needed my ID# is 871730. Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carteredward May 26, 2014

    i have been having problems with the service and have lodged complaints and nothing has been
    done . my huband is on dialysis and was told to try and find another way or the disapatcher is
    just rude. i am at the end of the road is there anyone of authority that is willing to help.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bedstynil May 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mother had a pick up time of 6:41 pm in Brooklyn. I called at 6:15 to confirm the pick up and was told that the driver was indicating that he would be 10 minutes late but that I should call back at 6:40 which I did. When I called back I was told that it would be another hour. This continued several more times. At 7:40 when I called to confirm I was told the car would be there in 15 minutes. I asked my elderly mother who is legally blind and has had to strokes to go down to the street to wait for the car. Ar 8:10 I got a call from my mom saying the car had still not shown up. When I tried to call back I was disconnected twice. My mother had to finally take car service home. She got home at 9:30 at which time she was called and asked if she still needed a car. Access a ride needs to look into the contractors it uses. his is a service for the disabled and the elderly, there is no excuse for this.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    KathyV1981 May 14, 2015

    Access a ride is driving me nuts. I am in a manual wheelchair my entire life and unfortunately I need access a ride to travel to my destinations. For the past year, I have given instructions for the vehicle to come into the complex and pick me up because I live in the middle of two buildings and to get to the street its a long push. Lately they have done as instructed, but now all of a sudden there are a few drivers that have a problem following SIMPLE instructions. SO I have to keep calling to make sure they know what to do and at times it goes good and as of late it hasnt. Today and 2 days ago, I had to go to an important appointment and got left behind, The other day the driver refused to come get me inside the complex and left, Then today May 14th, 2015, the driver was at the wrong part of my block and claimed there were "barriers" and couldnt get in. SO I GOT LEFT BEHIND. This is causing me alot of stress because I am missing appointments that are for my health. Access a ride thinks that this is a joke but its not and its not fair, Can someone help me?

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Corinne Grays Jul 17, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My complaint is about the eligibility process. I recently had to rectify in January.A month before Dec. 2014 my service was denied. I appeal it In February my new eligible was received. I was approve but only for 4 months. In June I had to apply again. My new eligibility was basically the same. I reapply in June as instructed and just received a new eligibly. this week .This time with a completely different result. I am a senior with chronic joint disease of my knees and hip. I also have lower lumbar spine issues and problems with disk on my spine. My mobility has gotten worse and is documented from my doctors. Instead of getting service reflecting these issues. These services has decreased. My new status under their guidelines are restricted walking 1 too 2 blocks cold and stairs. They expect me to take a train from a station with elevators. In the past when I was younger these elevators would go out of service. So if this happens during a trip how do I navigate 2 flights of stairs if I can barely walk up or down one. Another issues is I cannot stand long periods of time. Our trains are crowed so I would have to stand for a longer period of time. My pain doctor has stated in his letter too them that these kind of activities aggravates my condition.When that happens I can barely walk the pain is on a scale of ten.This service effect the quality of my life. It means that the things that I have to do will be limited. My social life will change. I have a 81 year old mother who lives in the bronx I live in Brooklyn. During the Christmas holidays I had to take a cab to a express bus. The cab fare round trip cost me $40. Express bus $10 round trip. As a senior on a fix income I would not be able to afford this expense. I am her only child, she depends on me for various things this will effect my responsibly.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    mary helen Feb 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my husband is dealing with Broker Services my major complaint is when the weather is bad there should be someone calling these customers to notify them that there will be a delay. my husband is on dialysis by the time he comes off the machines and then has to wait one to two hours for a ride and I am constantly calling and they are telling me 15 more minutes your driver is on his way. that is totally unfair to the clients. today I was told that it would be at least another hour before he would be serviced I call access a ride and was told the same thing. its a shame when you pay all of these taxes and when it comes to the time when we need these services they are so hard to come by. always a problem excuses excuses we don't matter. so we should just say the hell with it and continue life and wait until we die. maybe then we will get that ride on time

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Simon Kogan Feb 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For a service that is supposed to cater to the disabled, MTA's access-a-ride service is a joke. Instead of servicing the disabled, they abuse the disabled. Last evening, I had a scheduled 5:18 pm pick-up I was outside with my PCA at 5:10 pm. For the next hour, I was continuously on the phine with access=a-ride trying to locate my driver. I was consistently told he was he way to you, he is on site( he wasn't) At 6:10, I was told that I was listed as a no-show and that all I could do was dispute the no show. At 7:45, I was picked up by a rescue vehicle. By that time, IK was tired, cold hungry and wet and in pain. MTA takes advantage of the fact that few in the disabled community are in a position to fight back. I am. I am considering a class action on behalf if myself and all others similarly situated.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria420 Feb 09, 2016

    This system is flawed. Access a ride obtains all these middle men called Brokers which they hand the request for the days too. This Broker hands the call over to a local car Service which then dispatches a Car Not at the convenience of the client but, at the Convenience of their employees. My mother requested a car for the next morning 7:32 am pick up in Brooklyn, for a 8:45 am appointment in Manhattan. From 7:32 am that the pickup was scheduled for it was already 8:40 am and my mother was still sitting outside in 24 degrees weather. She called Four (4) times the cab company that she was assigned for this ride and last call after holding 30 min on the line they told her that the cab would arrive at 9:45 am this making her very later for her scheduled Medical appointment. Cab company offered no explanation for delay at which time she cancelled the call and walked to the subway still arriving later to her appointment and graciously enough the hospital still honored her appointment which is not the case every time. Access a ride needs better options for these elderly people I believe their are too many middle men handling the service. Everyone just wants to get paid but, they do not want to provide the service they are hired to do. I believe we should all start calling Help Me Howard on Pix [protected] to shed some light on these problems or start making people aware of this ongoing poor Service. Please help.

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Chacha Chan May 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Been taking them for 4 years. Horrible service!! Caused me constant stress in my life from extreme lateness to crazy drivers who are often unprofessional. They took over a month to reply to my complaints and did nothing. I cant count how many times I have called to make sure they are on their way/can find me and the drivers leave because I'm their last pickup and they want to go home. It takes about an hour for them to even find you a new ride and another hr for them to get to you, (who knows what time you get home) yet they want you to wait outside in the snow. For the FEW (like 2) times a month it works out smoothly I'm grateful and always compliment the driver.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angel09 Jul 18, 2016

    On July 17, at approx. 9:40am by Lidig ave in the Bronx I was walking up the street I witnessed a Access a Ride driver taking an elderly woman with a walker out of the van when he saw a woman walking in the opposite direction he immediately extended his visual by walking to the corner of the block and leaving the woman on her own. He returned a minute after ensuring that the woman was steady on her feet. I said to him "that's not good turning away from a client to look at a--... it takes a moment for someone to fall" his response to me was "mind your business" I have managed nursing homes and work with the elderly population for 14 years. I've always emphasized the importance of client safety. The young could have said Ms, you are correct simply
    thank you... Instead he said " mind your business "not once but twice.. This is the value that some young people put on their responsibilities. The very sad part is that he was responsible for another human being, it could have been someone's grandmother, mother, sister etc. On too many occasions the elderly have suffered falls in the hands of careless individuals while some recover others don't. There really should more supervision on the road.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeembenigo Dec 01, 2016

    Informative analysis ! Just to add my thoughts if you are wanting a NY Acces-a-Ride Service Application, my business partner edited a fillable form here https://goo.gl/oCDPnp.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Naguira Mar 11, 2017

    Bus Driver 4256 from Access Ride fail to pick up Parent Ms. Ana Gonzalez and the Patient Juan Pablo Valerio from 185 Ardsley Loop, Brooklyn New York at pick up 7pm. Several attempts were made since 7pm

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caroler Oct 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Aunt is 94 years old. She made an appointment for Access-a-Ride to pick her up at 11:15AM to get her to an optometrist appointment that took 6 weeks to arrange. We were waiting approximately 1.5 hours for the driver who never showed up. My Aunt called Access-a-Ride 3 times during that hour and a half. First she was told the driver was a couple of blocks away. Then she was told the driver was on 13th Street (about 3/4 mile away). The final time she called the dispatcher/customer service person told her the driver said he was waiting at her apartment building and at 12 Noon she (my Aunt) had sent him away. That was a blatant lie. They didn't realize I was with my Aunt the entire time. Now we were running late and the customer service rep stated she could not authorize a yellow cab, but she could call their own cab drivers. However, she had no idea how long we would have to wait. Their driver outright lied and my Aunt had to pay for a yellow cab.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patriciawhite Nov 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was approve for access-a-ride but the catcher is they will only take me to a bus stop and I have to make my way to my remaining destination. I was appealing access-a-ride decision so I file an appeal since 10/23/17. I received an email informing me on 11/6/17 my appeal will be on 11/8/17 the problem is I never receive the application so I called access-a-ride to find out what is going on they inform they could not do anything until I received the application. I received the application on 11/7/17 at 5pm when access-a-ride is close. So I called access-a-ride they stated to me that I have to re-schedule. I ask access-a-ride if my request application was dated 10/23/17 what took it so long to reach me in time to schedule a pick up time. I am so sick and tired of access-a-ride and their excuses if I truly did not need them from time to time and I could afford to take a cab I would NERVER deal with access-a-ride.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patriciawhite Dec 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I requested to have my decision re-evaluated by access-a-ride due to updated medical information on 11/28/17 which I found out that I have a discs dislocation in my back which causes severe pain in my legs and my back when I walk or stand too long. I ask to have my former decision change from access-a-ride picking me up from my home and dropping me off to the nearest bus stop. I call on 12/18/17 to find out that they have not reverse the prior decision which is taking me from point A to point B. I had enough of access-a-ride and I will no longer be doing business with them EVER AGAIN.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chocolatetami Jun 15, 2018

    On June 9 2018, the AAR driver lied and said that I was a 'no show' when I saw him, he didn't even slow down, just went pass the restaurant. It's a shame that this treatment is still going on!!! I am sure that so many stories are not being told, AAR should send everyone that uses this service a form to find out exactly how many people are upset about the way we are being mistreated.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patriciawhite Jun 15, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My problem with Access-R-Ride is I requested to have my decision overturn again so my appointment was 5/2018 this I have not heard a thing from them until I decided to call them today they still decided not to overturn the decision from 2017. I provided new information stating that I can not be left at a bus time. The reason was because of the slip disk in my back and the board still said no. I am wondering the reason they denied me again is because of the post I did last year. If that so I do not care because they might be in the same predicament and they might need the services of Access-R-Ride. You are right everyone who has been mistreated by AAR need to banned together because enough is enough.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marylin Reed Jul 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to take this opportunity to thank an Access A Ride staff member. His name is Andy and he took the time to change pick up and arrival times for me. I was very nervous because I will be having biopsies. Andy was patient and gave me advice on how to better structure pick up and arrival times. So often our anger and disappointment causes us to register complaints, however, we rarely take the time to compliment excellent service. Andy was so outstanding until I had to take time to publicly compliment him and thank him. I wish I'd thought to get his last name, there must be more than one Andy working at Access A Ride, he had an accent, African, I think. Andy, you made my day a lot easier. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patriciawhite Jul 11, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to meet with the board who make the final decision. Like in your case they want to drop me off at the nearest bus stop. The first problem I cannot stand up to long waiting for a bus to arrive. 2 Why do I have to pay two fares. The handbook states if the weather is bad the access-r-ride will not drop you out at the bus stop. When you fill out the questioner one question asks you can you walk more then 3 blocks. Do they want me to lie I cannot and will not. I keep telling them due to a slip disc in my back some days I have trouble getting out of my bed due to serve weakness and pain. How many times do I have to tell this board that I cannot stand up on the bus do to severe pain that has cause me to fall. Do access-r-ride want a law suit because I keep telling them the same thing over and over again. I am so sorry how they treated you and your mother.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Wissam Elnaboulsi Aug 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i applied for acessride today they pick me up from my house to the place wheres my interview and then back home in the first trip they didn't ask me about any money when they pick me up to go home the ask me for 2, 75 $ why i have medicaid I'm not spouse to pay

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela Brigante Sep 10, 2018

    My husband had a 4:11 pm pickup yesterday from 101st Street going to 15 Oliver St in Brooklyn and the driver was 1hr and 15 minutes late. Why?

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MsBKxxx7 Sep 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My 85 year old mother is perfectly healthy, except for bone loss, spinal curvature and 2 damaged knees. All of this rendering her barely mobile; was denied access-a-ride the first time she applied about 5 years ago. Unfortunately due to her increasing age and her structural problems worsening, she decided to reapply. She was approved this time, but strangely enough they decided that an 85 year old woman who walks with a cane, but should really be using a walker, should be picked up by access-a-ride and dropped off to the nearest bus stop to continue her trip. However they will pick her up from her destination and take her home. This makes no sense to me. Last December my mother was picked up for an appointment and due to the destination requiring a ride on the subway, they dropped her to the destination. She was supposed to be picked up and returned home at 4:00 PM, unfortunately no one showed up, she called access-a-ride several times and no one could tell her when she would be picked up. Finally at 8 PM when she was told that the office was closing in 30 minutes, she called me and asked me to get her an Uber. I was really upset, because she had been out since 10:30 AM and I had no idea that she still hadn't return home. Access-a-ride called her back at 9:30 PM, 5 hours after she should have been picked up and asked if she still needed a ride, really. What is the purpose of access-a-ride if customers can’t depend on them.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patriciawhite Sep 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am sorry about your mother this system needs to be re-vamp in order for this service to work.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.