The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
ABC FinancialMembership cancellation

It's real simple: The company won't allow me to cancel my membership. And they continue to charge me each month and threaten to send this to a collections agency. See me letter to them below @ [protected]@abcfinancial .com

Dear Customer Care,

With regards to account #[protected], please note that this membership will not be renewed. Back on Sept 2011, I paid in advance for one full-year membership costing ~$430. I have not been to your club since January 2012. Recently, a refund for the 9 months the account was not used was declined my your company. Therefore, under no circumstances are you allowed to keep this account open. This membership will not be renewed. This account was not authorized for automatic renewal.

Your customer care rep named "Tracy"--who reports to "Brenda" (supervisor)--told me there were only two conditions under which you would accept a cancellation. Those reasons were: 1)The member moves more than 25 miles away from a nearby club location (due note I've always lived 25 miles away from your nearest location); 2) You have a medical condition making it impossible to workout. Attempts to call your Jersey City location [protected]) to resolve the "automatic renewal issue" have gone unanswered. And since I live 50 miles away from this location, I will not be stopping in anytime soon.

By virtue of this letter, I am writing to state very clearly, "I do not wish to be a member of your club". Failure to remove my membership and continue "charging" this account will only lead to your practices being exposed via press or court proceeding. There is no court that would allow a business to force customers to stay on "indefinitely" or with such restrictions as to never be able to cancel. You simply can't hold a member "hostage" and force someone to do business with you. Our business together is over. We stopped doing business together back in January 2012.

Having prepaid the required membership fees for one year (~$430) covering the time period Sept [protected], I never agreed to have my membership automatically renewed. Hence, this was the reason for buying a one-year membership in the first place. After the one year has expired, I would choose whether or not to renew. You claim I "initialed" the "renew" box, but I certainly did not. I agreed to be a club member, but I did not agree to automatic renewal.

In addition, by virtue of this letter, you are hereby denied from maintaining any personnel information regarding me, which includes but is not limited to: my driver's license, my credit card, and billing address. This membership is officially canceled and I state this clearly without any of the "requirements for cancellation" mentioned above.

I look forward to your response either through me or through the Better Business Bureau. And I don't mind stating that a "Class Action Lawsuit" will be inevitable.

Regards,

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • ABC Financial Services's response · Aug 17, 2012

    Mr. Pisano,
    You contacted us to discontinue your membership and were advised of the necessary steps as they are stated within your membership agreement.
    As a courtesy, we have deleted the automatic renewal and your account is set to expire on 9/30/12 with nothing further due.
    Please feel free to contact me at [email protected]
    Stephanie Cook
    Customer Relationship Specialist
    ABC Financial Services, Inc.

Responses

  • Mw
    mwanahamisi Aug 31, 2016

    just wanna cancel my account with reason my kids don't wanna go, please hope you help.my full name is Fatma Salim AGREEMENT ;[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ng
    Nghia Ly Feb 15, 2016

    Dear Abcfinancial. I just want to cancel my account with the reason is moving back to Dallas. But i have no way to cancel it, Please hope you help, , ,
    My full name: Nghia Q, Ly
    Agreement #: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Di
    diana bustamante Oct 13, 2014

    just want to cancel my membeship because im pregnant and i dont need to go there.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    diana bustamante Oct 13, 2014

    i would like to cancel my membership because im pregnant. my account number is # [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Funches Dec 17, 2013

    I've Been trying to cancell my member ship since April 20013, I have been getting the run around to cancell, I couldn't do it over the phone. I was told to go to we're I signed up . Every time I went there was no one there to cancell my member ship. Now I'm told to go to this web site. But now that they can' t take the payment out my account. I'm being charge late charges. I still having a hard time to cancell. Agreement number. [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissedoffmofo Aug 27, 2012

    I cancelled my membership, paid them my last payments and they say I never paid them and sent my account to collections. I sent them a copy of the check with there account number and name stamped on the back and even sent them a copy of bank statement and that is still not good enough. They are th reason why I cancelled my membership and will never deal wth any company that uses them as the billing company.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melvin cartagena tavarez Aug 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    mi nombre es melvin cartagena tavarez yo quiero cancelar mi membrecia de mes a mes mi # de cuentas es [protected]. por favor d cancelar lo mas pronto posible gracias.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.